Home | Reviews | Cameras | Digital Cameras | 4 to 5 Megapixel | Canon

Canon PowerShot S45 4 to 5 Megapixel

4.38 star rating
                      4.38 / 5 (13 Reviews)
MSRP : $0


  • Image Sensor TypeCCD
    Resolution4.1 Megapixel
    Optical Zoom3x
    Camera TypeStandard Point and Shoot
    Interchangeable LensNot Interchangeable Lenses
    35mm Zoom Lens35 - 105 mm
    Digital Zoom3.6x
    Focus TypeAutofocus & Fixed Focus & Manual
    Focus Range19.2 in. to Infinity (w)
    Macro Focus Range4 - 19.2 in. (w) / 12 - 19.2 in. (t)
    Focal Length7.1 - 21.3 mm
    Camera Resolution4.1 Megapixel
    Image Resolutions640 x 480 • 2272 x 1704 • 1600 x 1200 • 1024 x 768
    Video Resolutions320 x 240 (QVGA) • 160 x 120
    Video Speed15 fps
    Max Movie Length180 Seconds
    Video FormatAVI
    Aperture Rangef4.9 (w) - f2.8/f4.9 (w/t)
    Shutter Speed15 - 1/500 sec
    White BalanceAuto
    Frames Per Second2.5 Frames
    Memory TypeCompactFlash Card Type I
    Compression ModesFine • SuperFine • Normal • Uncompressed
    Compression TypeJPEG • Raw Image
    File Size (High Res.)3.78 MB (34 images on 128MB card)
    File Size (Low Res.)0.08 MB (about 1,600 images on 128MB card)
    ISO SpeedsAuto • 50 • 100 • 200 • 400
    Flash TypeBuilt-In
    Flash FunctionsFlash Off • Auto Flash • Red-eye Reduction Flash
    ViewfinderOptical (Through-the-lens)
    LCD PanelWith LCD Panel
    LCD Panel Size1.8 in.
    LCD Screen Resolution118,000 pixels
    LCD Protected PositionWithout LCD Protected Position
    Interface TypeUSB
    Video InterfaceVideo Out
    Battery TypeProprietary Lithium
    Battery Life210 Images
    Self Timer2 Sec. • 10 Sec.
    Mp3 Built In
    Built-in MicrophoneWith Built-in Microphone
    Built-in SpeakerWith Built-in Speaker
    Tripod MountWith Tripod Mount
    Operating SystemApple Mac OS 9 • Apple Mac OS X • Microsoft Windows 2000 • Microsoft Windows 98 • Microsoft Windows 98SE • Microsoft Windows ME • Microsoft Windows XP
    Width4.4 in.
    Depth1.7 in.
    Height2.3 in.
    Weight0.58 lb.
    Warranty1 Year
    Exterior ColorSilver
    Included AccessoriesSoftware • USB Cable • Video Cable • Hand Strap • 32 MB Memory Card • Lithium Battery • Battery Charger
    MPN8117a001
    Product ID20260881

Product Description

  • Sensor: 4 megapixel CCD
  • Max resolution: 2272 x 1704 pixels
  • Lens: 7.1-21.3mm f/2.8-4.9 (35mm equiv 35-105 mm) w. 3.6x digital zoom
  • Exposure: Program AE, Shutter-priority AE, Aperture-priority AE or Manual, w. AE lock and Exposure Compensation
  • JPEG, RAW, and AVI movie recording
  • Storage media: CompactFlash Type I and II
  • USB interface


  • Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

    Reviews 1 - 5 (13 Reviews Total) | Next 15

    User Reviews

    Overall Rating:5
    Value Rating:4
    Submitted by vinayak a Intermediate

    Date Reviewed: August 7, 2004

    Strengths:    Execllent clarity....
    Execellent while capturing moving objects....


    Weaknesses:    kind of bulky...

    Bottom Line:   
    Really satisfies with the camera.The clarity is simply fantastic even with M2 resomution.
    Only disadvantage is it is kind of bulky...But not really a big issue...Red eye can cause a problem sometimes.
    But overall I think its worth the price I paid and I am satified

    Expand full review >>

    Price Paid:    $299.00

    Purchased At:   Amazon.com

    Similar Products Used:   -NA-



    Overall Rating:1
    Value Rating:1
    Submitted by Bob_Budding a Intermediate

    Date Reviewed: April 14, 2004

    Strengths:    Solid build quality

    Weaknesses:    Soft lens (edges)
    Red eye
    Horrible shutter lag
    Inaccurate and arbitrary autofocus
    Weak flash


    Bottom Line:   
    Really disappointing camera. So-so image quality. And I've missed lots of shots due to shutter lag.

    Expand full review >>

    Price Paid:    $450.00

    Purchased At:   B&H

    Similar Products Used:   This camera has me back using my film cameras.



    Overall Rating:5
    Value Rating:4
    Submitted by pajgo a Professional

    Date Reviewed: April 8, 2004

    Strengths:    Possibility of all manual settings.
    In manual mode slow shutterspeed.


    Weaknesses:    Taking photos towards the shining light you will find some CA on sharp edges between light and dark. Red eye reduction works very good if the person is in straight line with the flash/lens-axis and looks towards the camera. See review dcresource.com, if you follow the hints, it works fine.

    Bottom Line:   
    Hello,
    I bought the S45 in August 2004. I paid 435 EUR in Germany. The purpose was to have a compact camera with me while I'm biking. Now I'm having the camera all the time with me. I wanted to have the possibility of manual setting. The S45 gives all of this to an experienced user. In general the automatic mode produces already very good pictures. The S50, if one looks closely, does not have the same overall quality of photos. I really can recommend the camera for beginners as well as for experienced users. But keep in mind, it is a compact camera, that has by nature its limitations, i.e. size of lens.

    Expand full review >>

    Price Paid:    $435.00

    Purchased At:   m&mphoto

    Similar Products Used:   No digital camera.



    Overall Rating:5
    Value Rating:4
    Submitted by brianc a Intermediate

    Date Reviewed: January 26, 2004

    Strengths:    Menu sytem to access controls. very intuative

    Bottom Line:   
    I bought my S45 about 7 months ago. I do a lot on mountian bikig photography. So I need to have a camera that can fit nicely in my pack and not weight me down too much. The S45 combines load of control in a small sturdy package.

    I picked up a 256 MB flash card at the same time and now shoot exclusively in RAW mode. The images are amazingly sharp and the metering is very good.

    I am very happy with my purchace.

    b

    Expand full review >>

    Price Paid:    $450.00

    Purchased At:   B&H



    Overall Rating:5
    Value Rating:5
    Submitted by Michael Allen a Expert

    Date Reviewed: October 29, 2003

    Strengths:    Solid build. Convenient. Very good images. Good battery life. Easy to use; intuitive menus if you are used to Canon. Raw files. Full auto to full manual, and in between. Great ability to customize, creative control. Better images than S50.

    Weaknesses:    No diopter. Average viewfinder (like all this size). No topside LCD. Fidgety main control, takes some getting used to.

    Bottom Line:   
    An excellent "carry everywhere" camera. A little heavy, but solidly built. You can shoot fully auto (usual dummy modes, or program AE), partly manual (shutter or aperture priority) or fully manual, which I like. The Raw files are a big plus. I generally turn the flash down a stop, get better results in fill situations. The charger is easy to use (no cords!), and the software is OK. I prefer this to the S50, as the greater number of pixels in that model have merely translated into reduced dynamic range and more noise - go with the S45 if you like this design. You can do a lot with this camera, in terms of creative control - even has an intervalometer!

    Expand full review >>

    Similar Products Used:   I have tried almost every reasonable digital camera. Presently use Canon 1Ds as main camera.




    Reviews 1 - 5 (13 Reviews Total) | Next 15

    Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


    Canon Powershot s45 vs a560

    Hey everyone, I'm somewhat inexperienced with cameras and have been in the market for a digital camera. I've been looking around and found some guy selling both these cameras (the s45 and the a560) used, for nearly the same price. I've looked at the specs and reviews for both and both seem to be hig ... Read More »

    Read More »



    Holiday Gift Guide 2013

    Check out our holiday gift suggestions for these categories!



    See All Holiday Gift Guide coverage - Click Here »

     

    PhotographyReview Videos