Home | Reviews | Lenses | 35mm Converters | Kenko

Kenko AF 2x Teleplus 7-element Teleconverter 35mm Converters

4/5 (7 Reviews)


  • MPNmc7afpk
    Product ID21850275
    Weight234 oz.
    CompatibilityStill Photography
    Length1.4 in.
    Magnification2x
    FocusAutofocus, Manual Focus
    Optical Construction5 Groups / 7 Elements

Product Description

KENKO AF Teleplus converter has genuine Gate Array IC. It means that not only the Teleplus's own unique data, but the entirety of data set from the camerabody, needless to say full linkage is also provided for electronic flash photography. Full AF linkage with Teleplus is possible with camera lenses with open aperture of F4 or brighter.


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (7 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by jerry james a Intermediate

Date Reviewed: January 20, 2011

Bottom Line:   
i bought this teleconverter by its reviews without spending allot of money on the canon compared to almost 300.00 bucks. reviews said may have to use it in manual focas. i had it mounted on my t2i with a canon 70-300 EF is usm lens & the auto focas works perfect in daylight which i bought it for, for taking pictures of wild life hand held.if i am going to be taking pictures in low light im going to be using a tripod any way. im very happy with my purchase and dont think the canon can do any better. i would buy this teleconverter again and recomending it to my friends.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   11-20 years

Price Paid:    $149.00

Purchased At:   ebay

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Brett a Casual

Date Reviewed: February 26, 2009

Bottom Line:   
I have a Canon XS EOS, and the 70-300 IS USM.
The Vivitar AF 7 Element 2x Teleconverter works great even with the Image Stabilzation.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

Price Paid:    $9300.00

Purchased At:   eBay

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by ECF a Professional

Date Reviewed: March 29, 2005

Bottom Line:   
GOOD PRO RESULTS FOR MY NIKON CAMERAS.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   11-20 years

Price Paid:    $125.00

Purchased At:   B & H PHOTO

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by bobticoune a Expert from Montreal, Qc, CANADA

Date Reviewed: January 16, 2002

Strengths:    - Well made
- Fully compatible with EOS system


Weaknesses:    None

Bottom Line:   
I use it only on my CANON EF 80-200mm 2.8L

Same as the TAMRON 2x 7 elements Teleconverter. KENKO made it for TAMRON.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   11-20 years

Price Paid:    $200.00

Similar Products Used:   Sigma 2x Teleconverter

Type of photography:   Other


Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:4
Submitted by puchacz a Expert from Lódz, Poland

Date Reviewed: September 6, 2001

Strengths:    1) a relatively inexpensive way of getting an extra lens double the original focal length, with image quality higher than achievable by blowing up and cropping the frame
2) full AF and TTL metering linking for all Nikon users
3) quite good image quality in the centre, corners improve when the lens is stopped down
4) with the Tamron 70-300 LD it compensates the lens's pincushion distortion and produces effectively rectilinear images
5) Quite fast focusing and good image quality with the AF Nikkor 1.8/50 when stopped down two stops


Weaknesses:    The 2-stop light loss is bearable with a fast lens, but with a slow telezoom such as the Tamron 70-300 F4-5.6 one gets a 140-600 F8-11 which requires stopping down one or two more stops to obtain better image quality. At 600mm the shutter speed should be at least 1/1000s to avoid blurring. Now, to shoot at 1/1000s (or preferably even faster) at F16 or F22 requires very bright light and fast, grainy films. Thus, the combination of a slow telezoom and the Kenko, although capable of producing images of at least acceptable quality, is highly impracticable.
When used with the AF Nikkor 1.8/50 produced soft corners when wide open, but improved much when stopped down 2 stops.
Produced reasonable-quality images with a Russian 300mm F4.5 (Tair3) lens wide open and improved when stopped down, but again stopping down the already slow (F9) combination is impracticable
With the Tamron lens AF is both quite precise and relatively fast in bright light at shorter focal lengths, and bearable, despite the effective aperture of F11, at the long end, but is unreliable and hunts a lot when the light and contrast are low. With the AF Nikkor 1.8/50 the AF sometimes drives the lens very fast beyond the


Bottom Line:   
For a Nikon user this converter fills a gap in the Nikon offer: Nikon's AF-I converters (besides being very expensive) are only for the long telephotos with built-in motors, and the MF AI-type ones do not provide the AF and electrical linking between AF lenses and AF cameras, which the users of the F(N)80, 65, 60, etc. need for the TTL metering to work. As a 7-element job it offers reasonable image quality, better than simpler designs. However, it seems to be most useful with fast telezooms or fixed-focal-length lenses in the tele range; the results with slow ("dark") telezooms are not very encouraging.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   21+ years

Price Paid:    $100.00

Purchased At:   secondhand (>$200 ne

Similar Products Used:   Vivitar 2x-3 (MF) - VERY unsharp except in the centre with any lens when wide open, a bit better when stopped down

Russian 2x, 5-element (MF)- just a little bit less sharp than the Kenko MC7, but v


Type of photography:   Other



Reviews 1 - 5 (7 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Holiday Gift Guide 2013

Check out our holiday gift suggestions for these categories!



See All Holiday Gift Guide coverage - Click Here »

 

PhotographyReview Videos

 

PhotographyReview on Facebook