Home | Reviews | Lenses | 35mm Primes | Olympus

Olympus OM-Zuiko 28mm f2.8 35mm Primes

4.7/5 (10 Reviews)


  • Lens TypeFixed Focal Length Lens
    Focal Length28mm
    Closest Focusing Distance12 in
    Picture Angle75 degrees
    Attachment / Filter Size49 mm
    Groups / Elements6 Elements in 6 Groups
    Diameter2.4 in
    Length1.3 in
    Weightoz
    MPN103205oly
    UPC659563008
    Product ID21134908

Product Description



Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (10 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by andres esteban a Intermediate from Melbourne Australia

Date Reviewed: February 16, 2003

Strengths:    really compact, colour rendition, contrast and sharpness first rate. stops down to f22

Weaknesses:    not exactly a fault but its less easy to focus with focus screen 1 than a standard lens. something to keep in mind if your eyesight is less than perfect.

Bottom Line:   
I love this lens, the results I have received are excellent. you will not be disappointed

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

Similar Products Used:   zuiko 50mmf1.8 & 135mm f3.5

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by babec a Intermediate from Czech Republic

Date Reviewed: March 28, 2002

Strengths:    Remarkably even performance from f3.5 down to f16. Excellent wide open. Little vigneting, little distortion. Contrasty, very compact, takes 49mm filters.

Weaknesses:    Little darker viewfinder due to f3.5.

Bottom Line:   
Review for the f3.5/28mm. Excellent lens. Unbeatable even at a much higher price level.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

Price Paid:    $55.00

Similar Products Used:   f2.0/35mm, f1.8/50mm, f1.4/50mm, f3.5/50mm Macro



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Philip Canard a Expert from Sherman

Date Reviewed: February 17, 2002

Strengths:    It is an excellent lens even wide open. Since there is no need to stop down to get excellent results, the f3.5 aperture is not as slow as it would at first appear. There is almost no vignetting and no rectilinear distortion on architectural subjects even to the edges of the frame when wide open! Sharpness and contrast is what you expect from Zuiko, which means you compare this to much more expensive German glass. The second best value in the Zuiko line, after the 50mm f1.8. Buy both lenses in mint condition for less than $100 on eBay!

Weaknesses:    You will have a very hard time believing that such a great lens costs so little. It might make you value the lens less than you should. So buy two to make you feel you have spent enough money, and have a spare to use as a backup or to sell to another Zuikoholic. I wish it stopped down to f22, but I really can't complain when looking at any photo it has ever taken.

Bottom Line:   
This review is for the 28mm f3.5 which has been strangely omitted from review. It is the predecessor to the f2.8 version. It was the most popular wideangle in the Zuiko line until the f2.8 version replaced it, so it is very available at a giveaway price on the used market. Mine came with caps, hood, and case for $56 delivered from ebay. This lens is an insiders secret that I picked up from a Leica collector that also uses Olympus gear. He told me it was almost impossible to tell the difference between this lens and comparable Leitz lens.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   21+ years

Price Paid:    $56.00

Purchased At:   eBay

Similar Products Used:   Canon FD 28mm f2.8

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by worldosft a Intermediate

Date Reviewed: September 23, 2001

Strengths:    Sharp, well made mechanically, light weight and compact, multi-coated.

Weaknesses:    None.

Bottom Line:   
All Olympus Zuiko lenses are very compact and very well made mechanically. The 28mm f:2.8 exemplifies this. The optical design is going on 20 years old but this lens still holds its own with more modern 28mm lenses. It's multi-coated and quite sharp. It's a great vacation lens, great for shooting interiors, and a great lens to experiment with. With Zuiko lenses, it's best to buy used. Only a few dealers nation wide sell Olympus lenses and accessories, therefore, they are way too expensive new. My value rating is only based on purchasing this lens used. A typical price for a used one is around $100 -$135 in Excellent + condition.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

Price Paid:    $110.00

Purchased At:   Wall Sreet Camera (U

Similar Products Used:   None

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by John Franklin a Intermediate from Sydney

Date Reviewed: July 8, 2001

Strengths:    Compact, sharp, very little distortion, good contrast. The perfect wide angle for the way I see the world

Weaknesses:    Apature ring gets sticky occasionally (after 20 years with no service) but never let me down.

Bottom Line:   
The right lens for so many travel occasions. Bit too much edge distortion for people shot if they are placed at the extreme edges. Still I love this lens for travel work.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   21+ years

Price Paid:    $150.00

Purchased At:   Sydney

Similar Products Used:   30 odd cameras over as many years but the Olympus system is perfect for me.

Type of photography:   Outdoor



Reviews 1 - 5 (10 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Holiday Gift Guide 2013

Check out our holiday gift suggestions for these categories!



See All Holiday Gift Guide coverage - Click Here »

 

PhotographyReview Videos

 

PhotographyReview on Facebook