Home | Reviews | Lenses | 35mm Primes | Olympus

Olympus OM-Zuiko 50mm f1.8 35mm Primes

4.88/5 (17 Reviews)


  • MPN103300
    Product ID20723962
    Weight5.8 oz
    Length1.25 in
    Lens TypeFixed Focal Length Lens
    Closest Focusing Distance18 in
    Diameter2.4 in
    Camera Format35 mm SLR
    Attachment / Filter Size49 mm
    Focus TypeManual Focus
    Min Aperturef/16
    Picture Angle47 degrees
    Focal Length50mm
    Groups / Elements6 Elements in 4 Groups
    Lens Max Aperturef/1.8
    Macro LensWithout Macro Lens

Product Description



Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (17 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by rong hua a Expert

Date Reviewed: October 1, 2014

Strengths:    * excellent mechanics: firm aperture clicks, and very smooth focus ring
* excellent image rendering: sharpness, colour, contrast, control of chromatic aberration, bokeh, very low barrel distortion.
* lens has "character"


Weaknesses:    * coma

Bottom Line:   
I am using a 5th generation F.Zuiko1.8/50 lens on an A7R camera. This lens surprised me for its overall excellent quality. The images are excellent and have a texture to them that is very different from the lenses designed specifically for digital. Long ago when the lens first came on the market, I recall many experts telling me this lens was the equal or better to all other lenses, including the German brands. I am now not surprised by this assessment. Since purchase recently, I was able to find the MTF chart (in German) that displays the performance at f4. The MTF results compare very favourably or exceed to other lenses. imho, surpassed on the A7R only by the Contax G2/45 lens, which has higher resolution and followed the Zuiko by about 10 years. I see prices are now rising quickly, and Zuikos in excellent condition are very rare. The Zuiko 1.4/50 will cost about double the Zuiko 1.8/50. The extra f-stop may not be worthwhile, as I find f1.8 to be more than adequate for speed, and gives very good bokeh. and the lens seems to be a better performer all round. Overall, the images are excellent and the lens is a joy to use. People are most welcome to view and download images from my Flickr gallery. If you consider one, get the 5th gen lens, with S/No starting at 500,000.

Expand full review >>

Price Paid:    $45.00

Purchased At:   store for used gear

Similar Products Used:   Zeiss Contax G 2/45

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by ausser a Intermediate

Date Reviewed: June 10, 2006

Strengths:    Sharp, even at f/1.8, gorgeous bokeh, cheap a sin (or so cheap it ought to be a sin, take your pick), built very solidly, small and light, renders light beautifully.

Weaknesses:    OM mount is film-only so you'll need a mount adapter for digital, no autofocus (obviously) so you'll have to MF through the tiny viewfinders on today's DSLRs.

Bottom Line:   
Wow, what an amazing lens for the price of a pizza delivery! I'm using it mounted to an Olympus E-300 digital (8 megapixel) with an OM adapter bought on eBay for half the price of a pizza delivery.

The lens renders light beautifully. Contrast and tonality are subtle and lovely, while in-focus areas are sharp. Bokeh is lovely. To a one, images from this lens have a timeless, clasic look that you don't often see anymore--even the "snapshots," especially at f/1.8.

I'm more than happy to sacrifice autofocus to have the opportunity to shoot a lens like this on a modern digital body. What a joy!

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

Price Paid:    $20.00

Purchased At:   Adorama

Similar Products Used:   Sigma 24mm f/1.8 EX DG
Sigma 28mm f/1.8
Nikkor 28mm f/2.8
Haminex 40mm f/1.8


Type of photography:   Other


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by ethanl a Intermediate

Date Reviewed: July 13, 2005

Strengths:    Build quality, size, cost - all OM photogaphers should have one of these!

Bottom Line:   
My Zuiko 50mm f1.8 lens came with my OM1n, which was purchased back in 1982. I have used it regularly since then, and am still impressed with the images it delivers. The fact that I have been using it for so long is testament to its build quality. The only signs of use are a few insignifican dust particles between the elements, which do not affect picture quality. This aside, it is as good as new! These lenses are very inexpensive and their usefulness should not be underestimated.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   21+ years

Purchased At:   Local Photo Store

Similar Products Used:   Zuiko 50mm f1.2 lens.

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by jack carden a Expert from nyc

Date Reviewed: February 21, 2003

Strengths:    Optics that deliver on all the technical measurements and something beyond. Will remind you of Leica lenses and the great Konica lenses. Ridiculously low prices.

Weaknesses:    Sometime focus gets stiff on older ones. Best to handle before buying.
The demise of the camera line isn't good, but not really a weakness of lens


Bottom Line:   
This is my favorite lens along with the following: 55mm Nikkor 2.8 macro, Leica Summicron 50 f2 R, Voigtlander Nokton f1.5, the 40mm Summicron from the Leica CL, the 35 f2 on the Konica Hexar AF. It is up there with them.
Why? This lens does all the measured stuff right--resolution, contrast (high but not harsh) and anything else the lens testers at the magazines can throw at it. In addition, I find that the pictures are beautiful esthetically. It renders the roundness of faces superbly and reminds me of Leica lenses I have owned and loved. There are lens qualities that cannot easily be described in test targets.

I have shot my wife (elegant cheekbones), my kids, freinds' kids and the results are beautiful. Bokeh is very nice. Mine is the latest MC model, but I have good results with earlier lenses.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   21+ years

Price Paid:    $20.00

Purchased At:   adorama used

Similar Products Used:   50's from Nikkon, Leica, Canon, Zeiss, Pentax. Oh, yes, the 50mm 1.8 pentax AF lens is superb too.

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by andres esteban a Intermediate from Melbourne Australia

Date Reviewed: February 16, 2003

Strengths:    colour rendition, contrast, compact size
easy to find and good value. legendary zuiko lens, a must have for any OM user


Weaknesses:    aperture ring feels cheap. Mine has dust inside though it doesn't seem to affect picture quality.

Bottom Line:   
there were several design changes to this lens so they are not all the same. The last type with 'made in japan' on the front is the one I own. I cannot fault picture quality whatsover,I have taken some breathtaking shots with it. I have a single coated zuiko 50mm f1.4 and its clearly inferior to this f1.8

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

Similar Products Used:   zuiko 50mm f1.4

Type of photography:   Outdoor



Reviews 1 - 5 (17 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Holiday Gift Guide 2013

Check out our holiday gift suggestions for these categories!



See All Holiday Gift Guide coverage - Click Here »

 

PhotographyReview Videos

 

PhotographyReview on Facebook