Home | Reviews | Lenses | 35mm Zoom | Sigma

Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC 35mm Zoom

4.1 star rating
                      4.1 / 5 (10 Reviews)
MSRP : $110.00
Focal Length : 18mm - 50mm | Max. Aperture : f/3.5-f/5.6  | Focus : Manual Focus  


  • Camera FormatOther Format
    Lens TypeZoom Lens
    Focal Length18mm - 50mm
    Lens Max Aperturef/3.5-f/5.6
    Min Aperturef/22
    Focus TypeAutofocus • Manual Focus
    Macro LensWithout Macro Lens
    MountCanon EF
    Closest Focusing Distance9.8 in
    Diaphragm Blades7 Blades
    Picture Angle31.7 - 76.5 degrees
    Attachment / Filter Size58 mm
    Groups / Elements8 Elements in 8 Groups
    Designed for Digital CameraYes
    Diameter2.6 in
    Length2.3 in
    Weight10.9 oz
    MPN521101
    Product ID22706151

Product Description

Compact, lightweight zoom lens designed to match digital SLRs with APS-C size image sensors.
  • Aperture range: f/3.5-22
  • Min focus: 25cm (9.8in.)


  • Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

    Reviews 1 - 5 (10 Reviews Total) | Next 15

    User Reviews

    Overall Rating:4
    Value Rating:5
    Submitted by Dougjgreen a Expert

    Date Reviewed: January 26, 2009

    Strengths:    Surprisingly solid build quality. Decent little lens at a fantastic price

    Weaknesses:    Small maximum aperture, no built in focus motor (won't AF on D40 / D60)

    Bottom Line:   
    I just switched back to Nikon for DSLRs, and I bought this lens because it was cheap, and I needed something to get me below 24mm on a Nikon DSLR as a stopgap before I make a major ($400-600) investment in a serious, high quality wide angle (My Nikon-mount AF lenses were left over from my 35mm film days, so naturally, I had a gap in wide angles when moving to a smaller sensor). I was pleasantly surprised with this, especially it's build quality, which is quite substantial and noticeably better than the Nikon 18-50mm kit lens. It's definitely a decent inexpensive lens across it's range, and a reasonable wide in the 18-24mm range that does what I need it to do, and for under $50 I have no complaints. Distortion is not too noticeable, and it's reasonably sharp across the field. It's no $500 lens, but I think it's as good or better than Nikon's 18-50 kit lens in the wide range.

    Expand full review >>

    Duration Product Used:   21+ years

    Price Paid:    $49.00

    Purchased At:   Cameta Camera

    Similar Products Used:   Nikon 18-50mm kit lens, Tamron and Sigma 28-80mm zooms

    Type of photography:   Other


    Overall Rating:1
    Value Rating:1
    Submitted by Vaterland a Casual

    Date Reviewed: May 23, 2008

    Strengths:    Price

    Weaknesses:    Dark... Contrast... Sharpness...

    Bottom Line:   
    This lens is unsharpness, especially in corrners. Contrast is very weak.

    Expand full review >>

    Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

    Price Paid:    $100.00

    Purchased At:   Allegro.pl

    Similar Products Used:   Nikkor 18-50

    Type of photography:   Outdoor


    Overall Rating:3
    Value Rating:3
    Submitted by faditech a Intermediate

    Date Reviewed: June 11, 2007

    Strengths:    • Light weight
    • Cheap price
    • Fine results
    • Short Close Up distance (25cm)
    • Average to good results


    Weaknesses:    • Relatively Slow
    • Focusing Clunks from one end to end

    Non Serious Weaknesses
    • Difficult to put lens cover (if hood installed)
    • Can't ocus manually with hood in reverse
    • Difficult to remove filter


    Bottom Line:   
    I got this lens from an auction site, with the box, a uv filter, manual and singapore warranty.
    Although I agree with all the reviews I read about the lens, but this lens for such a price is good to have.
    You can get close to an object as short as 25cm (10 Inches) which is almost a macro distance.

    I took close ups of dolls, watches, purses, pefumes, water bottles, juice cans and all found their way to magazine and newspapers ads.

    I used it on a Nikon D80.

    Finally, for such a price, even if it was made of window glass, its good to have.

    Fadi - http://www.webandmedia.com

    Expand full review >>

    Duration Product Used:   6-10 years

    Price Paid:    $48.00

    Purchased At:   Auction Site

    Similar Products Used:   Nikon 18-135

    Type of photography:   Other


    Overall Rating:5
    Value Rating:5
    Submitted by Dietmar Koch a Expert

    Date Reviewed: June 2, 2007

    Strengths:    Sharp, no visible CAs, very good contrast, well built, no rotating of front lens during zooming and focusing (pol filter use!)! Fast lens 2,8 helps AF to find its focusing points.

    Weaknesses:    No! HSM is not important for landscape and for wide-angle.

    Bottom Line:   
    Great lens! I have the 4/17-40L (on the 5D), but on the 30D the Sigma 2,8/18-50 is sharper and has no CAs. And the sigma is only a crop lens! I ever was a Canon fan (because they were and are the first with good ideass lik USM , and a "L" lens fan (because the L lenses are built very well). But in last time they have problems to keep their promises - they have big problems with quality, especialy with the expensive L zoom lenses. But I have great lenses like 24 TS-E, 2,8/28-70L, 4/70-200L IS too!

    So I looked for an alternative zoom lens possibility for lightweight 30D equipment. No even it is neccessary to take the heavy fullframe camera. I tested some lenses, and yes, the Sigmas (2,8/18-50 DC EX and the 2,8/50-150 DC EX HSM) were the sharpest, lightweight, well-built and low-priced lenses for my 30D.

    Expand full review >>

    Duration Product Used:   21+ years

    Price Paid:    $370.00

    Purchased At:   Gruenwald Steyr Aust

    Similar Products Used:   Canon 4/17-40L

    Type of photography:   Outdoor


    Overall Rating:4
    Value Rating:5
    Submitted by tangwong a Expert

    Date Reviewed: July 22, 2006

    Strengths:    Light, compact, sharp and reasonably well built

    Weaknesses:    Would not recommend for high quality, pin-sharp, high resolution applications. None otherwise

    Bottom Line:   
    Excellent value for the money. It is actually very sharp but at the expense of some distortion and resolution. Very good walk-around and general purpose lens. It is a temp solution until I know what I want to fill this gap in focal length.

    Expand full review >>

    Duration Product Used:   21+ years

    Price Paid:    $50.00

    Purchased At:   eBay

    Similar Products Used:   Tokin ATX 28-70 Pro II, Penatx FA 20-35.

    Type of photography:   Outdoor



    Reviews 1 - 5 (10 Reviews Total) | Next 15

    Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

    Holiday Gift Guide 2013

    Check out our holiday gift suggestions for these categories!



    See All Holiday Gift Guide coverage - Click Here »

     

    PhotographyReview Videos