Home | Reviews | Lenses | 35mm Zoom | Sigma

Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8-4.0 UC 35mm Zoom

4 star rating
                      4 / 5 (10 Reviews)
MSRP : $170.00


Product Description



Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (10 Reviews Total) | Next 15

User Reviews

Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:2
Submitted by Hank Wilson a Intermediate from Ocean Springs Ms

Date Reviewed: March 2, 2002

Strengths:    Sharp pictures, good color.

Weaknesses:    Slow to focus. Questionable build quality.

Bottom Line:   
This lens served me well for a year or so, but it completely crapped out on me about amonth ago. The electronics went bad and the lcd on my Canon Elan IIE doesn't even show up when this lens is on the body.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   6-10 years

Price Paid:    $145.00

Purchased At:   beach

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by kinetickyle a Intermediate from Dallas, TX

Date Reviewed: January 17, 2002

Strengths:    Price.
Feels solid.
Very large maximum aperature for the price.
Focusing scale printed on the barrel.
Autofocus works well with my Tamron 2x teleconverter (the only lens I have that does).


Weaknesses:    Plastic mount.
Some distortion at 28mm.
Depth of field preview on my Elan 7 will not work with this lens (it does on my EOS-1n).
Lens extends past the lens hood at 28mm.
Autofocus is a tad slow compared to a Canon USM.


Bottom Line:   
This is very good, very fast lens for the money. While there is some distortion at 28mm, it is minimal. The lens does move in a strange way, however. The shorter the focal length, the longer the lens gets...strange.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   2-5 years

Price Paid:    $112.00

Purchased At:   eBay

Similar Products Used:   Canon 28-90mm f/4-5.6 USM

Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Ron Van Santen a Casual from Australia

Date Reviewed: August 3, 2001

Strengths:    Surprisingly sharp even at 28 mmm
Very good contrast


Weaknesses:    Front lens moves in an out.

Bottom Line:   
A surprisingly good lens and certainly excellent value for money. I blow the shots to A3 size and it compares well with some prime lenses. I was hesitant in getting into zooms with bad experiences with Tamron 28-200 for example, but this lens provides quality and a modest price.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   11-20 years

Price Paid:    $80.00

Similar Products Used:   Sigma 24mm
Tamron 28-200mm
Pentax 50mm


Type of photography:   People


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Tomas Cihelka a Expert from Czech Republic

Date Reviewed: October 3, 2000

Strengths:    >Contrast: very good.
>Sharpness: very good from f/5.6, for lights or contrasty structure in corners from f/8 (for all focal lengths, @70 is a little bit better; for real apertures, i.e. f/5.6 @70 means f/4 on ring).
Color shift: none.
>Flare: resists well.
>Vignetting: noticeable but not disturbing when open wide; @28 only one filter can be mounted, second or more possible only with bigger diameter
>Finish.
>Excellent output/price ratio.


Weaknesses:    >Distortion: high @28
>Halves of the lens are taped together by (metalic?) self-adhesive tape. This connection can became a little loose after time or when exposed to high temperatures (when left all summer in car on sunshine).


Bottom Line:   
I test sharpness on stars or distant lights, errors are more noticeable.
This is very good lens for excellent price, which will serve you well. At f/8 or f/11 there are no problems with 8x12 enlargements or with projected slides.
After I returned back to manual Nikkors, this is the only AF lens I keep.
Ma rating: 4.0.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   11-20 years

Price Paid:    $150.00

Purchased At:   Frankfurt, Germany

Similar Products Used:   Nikkor 2.8/35 K-type
Nikon 1.8/50 E
Nikkor 3.5-4.5/35-70
Soligor 3.9-4.8/28-70


Type of photography:   Outdoor


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Rolf Trondsen a Intermediate from Salinas, CA

Date Reviewed: July 29, 2000

Strengths:    This lens takes very good pictures. Fast lens for a zoom. Nicely finished, Price

Weaknesses:    None encountered.

Bottom Line:   
This is a very good lens for the money. When I decided to buy my Nikon N-60 body, I spent a little time trying to decide to which lens to buy for it. My first thought was the Nikon 28-80. So I tried one out at the camera store and was suprised to find out how cheap it felt. The Nikon lens had that very plastic feel(the better Nikon lenses are very expensive). The sigma lens is faster, better finished than the Nikon and at about the same price. I checked popular photograpy magazine on the performance of both lenses and it appeared that the Sigma lens performed better. I blow up my best shots to 11x14 to put on the wall, and this lens has performed well. I also bought the Sigma 70-210 and am pleased with it also.

Expand full review >>

Duration Product Used:   21+ years

Similar Products Used:   Olympus 35-70 zoom, Nikkor 35-70 & 70-210

Type of photography:   Outdoor



Reviews 1 - 5 (10 Reviews Total) | Next 15

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Holiday Gift Guide 2013

Check out our holiday gift suggestions for these categories!



See All Holiday Gift Guide coverage - Click Here »

 

PhotographyReview Videos