Lowepro Micro Trekker 200 Backpacks

Micro Trekker 200

All the features of the Mini Trekker (except the tripod holder) packed into a more compact size. Takes a SLR with attached 80 - 200/f2.8 lens, plus your choice of additional equipment: 4 lenses or an extra body or a flash. The Micro Trekker 200 is crammed with features: large outer pocket, adjustable harness and SlipLock loops for extra pouches.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Sean Lincoln   Expert [Nov 28, 2010]
Strength:

Size layout

Weakness:

Zipper poor, quality of construction.

This is actually a 2 item review one very good the other very bad. I purchased a Lowepro pro runner 200 as i was going to be climbing around some volcanic islands while shooting seascapes for my office, yes it's an excuse to get out of the rain and go to a tropical paradise. I purchased a lowepro pro runner to carry my small camera a Canon 5d mk ll. One day 2 while climbing down a steep path the zipper split open and my camera fell out onto the very hard vocanic rock breaking a neutral density filter but with no other apparent damage. The camera and lens worked fine A testament to Canons wonderful design and construction. I bought a nylon belt to keep the zipper closed for the rest of the trip. I am returning the pro runner. I am going to get the body and the lens checked out but it seems to be fine.

Similar Products Used: older large Lowepro pack
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
luvtotakeaphotograph   Intermediate [Aug 24, 2005]
Strength:

Nothing that other similar packs don't also have. It has velcroed dividers, a pretty decent outer pocket (very roomy) with some pockets, a couple of smaller pockets on the outside.

Weakness:

I think the shoulder harness system and waistbelt could be improved. I suspect that if you were to load this thing down with some heavy fast zooms it might get a little uncomfortable. I haven't done this, though, and have generally been satisfied with this little guy.

Generally a decent pack. It all depends on how much you want to carry. I don't have any fast zooms (which tend to be heavy) or anything else which is all that heavy. Therefore this little pack works pretty well for me. It could hold a couple of bodies if you don't have any really big lenses. The interior seems to be designed pretty well with velcro dividers. The outer pocket is pretty roomy too....there's a place for a good many filters and other items. Overall it's a nice little pack.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: Couple of shoulder bags.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ernest T   Intermediate [Jun 30, 2005]
Strength:

Well built, plenty of padding, good quality for money, internal and external pockets for small items.

Weakness:

A little uncomfortable fully loaded for long hikes.

I got my Micro Trekker 200 used in excellent condition from B&H Photo. I can load my Nikon D70, 18-70 DX lens, 70-200 VR lens, 70-210 lens, SB800 flash, 1.7 TCII teleconverter, plus spare battery, charger, filters, cards, cleaning supplies, etc., in this bag. I recently took the bag on a trip that included 6 national parks to include Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, etc.. I did a lot of hiking with the bag fully loaded. The bag is sturdy and held up well. It will protect your gear from minor bumps. As a backpack, the comfort level is OK, but if you are used to custom fit internal frame backpack you may be somewhat disappointed for long treks. The chest strap is a little too high for me, and I didn't feel that I could get the pack high enouth on my shoulders for maximum comfort. The bag has an external tie to hold a tripod, but I didn't take one with me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Paula Drake   Casual [Jan 09, 2004]
Strength:

Quality and construction. Can move the inside partitions. Able to add extra outside pockets & pouches.make like Loew Alpine's long distance backpacks.

Weakness:

Larger than I really wanted.

What a greta little bag!!! Much better than the description!!So many pockets! And at such a great price $50.00!!! The quality is really better than I expected.I can use this bag as a day hiker bag and know my camcorder will be fine. Very comfortable bag to wear.Therer is a place to keep paper, pens and car keys!!You can take a lot of gear and lunch too.

Customer Service

Photococam has great prices for their products. Fast shipper too.

Similar Products Used: Jansport day hiker bag.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick   Casual [Nov 16, 2002]
Strength:

- Perfect size as a daypack for me - From the outside it looks like a "regular" backpack, doesn't stand out as a "camera bag" - Ergonomics and access to all pockets and main compartments is excellent - Aside from main compartment there are several easily accessible pockets on the outside - Dividers in main compartment allow considerable flexibility in storage configurations - Falls within airline carry-on size limits - Excellent quality of build and material - Tripod strap system works well and does not get in the way of access to the various other compartments (un-like the mini-trekker) - Shoulder strap harness system & oute back portion are well padded and comfortable even with extended use. I am 5'8", 175 pounds and even walking around all day in the South Florida heat with the backpack on its still comfortable.

Weakness:

- Like all back packs, you have to take it off to access your gear. - The "waist" level straps are useful only for very short people - they ride up way too high on the stomach, not the waist. I don't use them at all.

The PERFECT daypack for me. This bag is almost exactly mid way between the size of the Mini-Trekker and Micro-trekker 100. I looked at all three EXTENSIVELY before deciding on the 200. Right away I ruled out the 100 as too small. Mostly I picked the 200 over the mini-trekker for the following reasons: The 200 has almost as much USEABLE storage space as the MINI but is about 10% less bulky and most importantly has more and more easily accessible outer pockets. The 200 has SEVERAL more outside pockets than the Mini and they are also are MUCH more easily accessible due to the mini's tripod mounting system. All the trekker series have several external mounting points to hang additonal components and accessories. The main compartment of the 200 is only slightly smaller than the mini-trekker's. It too has multiple dividers that can be repositioned in a variety of ways. Just like the mini, the inside "lid"/flap of the main compartment has large zippered pockets. The 200 has straps on the bottom to mount a tripod horizontally - it works fine. I don't always take the tripod on daytrips though. The mini-trekker has a more cumbersome system for mounting tripod vertically on back of pack that includes a fold down pocket for the base. Frankly I found the system on the MINI to be much too cumbersome and when not bringing the tripod along all those extra straps, buckles and bungee cords just get in the way - especially when trying to access the external zippered pocket compartment. The build and material quality of all three Trekker series bags I looked at is excellent. I live in Miami Florida and got the black colored bag. Heat absorption due to the color has NOT been a problem. Black is less conspicuous and this looks like a plain, regular backpack. It doesn't stand out as a "camera bag" so its less likely to get the attention of potential thieves. The bag easily is within airline carry-on size limits and will fit under seat. For an idea of what the bag can carry, I am able to pack all of the following in the main compartment - leaving ALL of the outside pockets available for other stuff: 1 Canon Powershot G3 1 Canon Optura Pi Mini-DV recorder 1 LADC58B Telephoto Lens & Lens Adapter 6 Canon BP511 batteries 2 Battery Charger units & cables 1 mini 7" tripod with telescoping legs 1 each wireless remote for the G3 & Pi 2 AV cable sets 1 6 foot firewire mini-dv to PC cable 1 Canon VL-3 video light 2 Compact Flash memory cases 1 Canon Speedlight 420-EX Flash unit When on a day trip or travelling I bring a second small zippered bag (a cheap, zippered, black colored insulated lunch type bag) and toss in all the stuff I don't need while actually on an outing like cables, chargers, etc. This then stays in the car or hotel room freeing up even more space in the back pack. I supplement the backpack with a small-medium sized waistpack for quick and easy access to frequently used items so as not to have to take off the backpack constantly.

Customer Service

None needed so far. Build & material quality seems excellent.

Similar Products Used: Lowepro Mini-Trekker Lowepro Micro-Trekker 100 Plain old backpack
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nikon User   Intermediate [Nov 14, 2002]

I have been using this backpack for nearly two years. It packs a lot: Nikon F100, Flashlight SB-28, Nikkors f2.8 80-200mm/ f2.8 24-85mm/ f3.5 18-35mm, several filters, battery pack and penlty of film. It still has enough room for my passport, wallet, keys, etc. I can't figure out how such a small pack can hold so much. Moreover, my gear is well protected from the weather, knocks and the odd fall. Highly recommended. Regards Ian

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Laika   Intermediate [Sep 09, 2001]
Strength:

Well made, comfortable to wear even when stuffed full of gear.

Weakness:

Waist strap might be too high for medium to large people.

A very compact backpack that fits a suprising amount of gear. I have fitted : F3HP/MD-4/50mm/1.8, F2/24mm/2.8, 75-150E/3.5, PN-11 extension tube, 6x P size Cokin filters & holder, cleaning gear, 12 rolls of film, misc items.

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jsteeno   Intermediate [Sep 05, 2001]
Strength:

Tripod straps, comfortable shoulder straps, LOTS of pockets, expandable with S&F accessories.

Weakness:

Waist strap seems built for someone 4 ft tall, I don''t even use it.

Excellent all-around smaller sized backpack. Compared to similar bags from other brands, this one is much better, and more functional. Tried Tamrac Expedition 3, for about $15 more, this pack is much larger and has a lot of pockets. The Tamrac had virtually no useable extra pockets.

Customer Service

Not used as of yet. Hopefully will never need to.

Similar Products Used: Tamrac Expedition 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com