Lowepro Nova 4 Soft Case

Lowepro Nova 4 Soft Case 

DESCRIPTION

A bag with all the features of the Nova 5 in a more compact format. Film and filter changes are easier with the No Drop Pocketâ„¢ and Overlap Zipperâ„¢ adds extra weather protection. Carry it on the padded, contoured shoulder strap or the padded handle or slip the belt loops onto you belt and use the Nova 4 as a belt pack. Fits 1-2 35mm SLRs, 3-5 lenses, flash and accessories.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jan 03, 2004]
Debby
Professional

Strength:

It's very durable and save.

Weakness:

No.

Nova 4 is a very good camera bag and it's can fully protect my camera from being harm wherever i go for shooting any where.

Customer Service

Good.

Similar Products Used:

canon.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 15, 2002]
Trevor Little
Intermediate

Strength:

-sturdy -roomy -good material and zipper. -customizable

Weakness:

-needs more velcro -zippered pockets on the sides would be nice, instead of the mesh.

Good bag for a basic kit. I don't know what everyone else is talking about because I find the strap very comfortable (compared to my old bag). Hold 1-2 SLRs comfortably. It is fairly customizable, but there is room for improvement. I wish they made the velcro go all the way up the sides. Can be pretty complicated to set up with what they give you. Very heavly duty construction. Holds 2 cameras, if they both have 50mm lenses or one with a larger lens and one just a body.

Similar Products Used:

misc bags ffrom here and there.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 23, 2002]
tennisbumbishop
Casual

Strength:

-Cost is low -Quality is HIGH -Well-padded -Highly adjustable -Plenty of space for EVERYTHING -Looks good (got navy with khaki) -Lifetime warranty

Weakness:

-Hard to work with velcro at first, but once you get the bag the way you want it, you won''t be messing with it anyway.

Best Bag on the market to carry your basic photography gear. I am able to put the following in the Lowepro 4 easily: Elan 7 with 28-90mm lens attached, 50mm prime, another prime, 75-300mm zoom, Canon 420EX flash, with still enough room for another zoom lens. It has plenty of pockets to hold: filters, hoods, pens/pencils, notepads, film, cleaning supplies, extra batteries, remote switches. I looked for the perfect bag for my gear for over 3 weeks, looking at reviews, pictures, figuring deminsions to make sure all my gear now (and in the future) will fit well. This is the one! I looked at other more expensive Lowepro bags (AW) but none of them seem to be worth the extra $50 to $60. The interior is adjustable in so many ways it is unbelievable. You can rearrange things to accomodate almost any system you have. With all the velcro on the interior you are able to create any size hole are are also able to create "shelves" so you can place a prime lens on top of another prime without them touching. The extra flap on the front is great in helping to keep out the "elements." The flap also has a zippered pocket where I store all my cleaning cloths. The interior has a zippered pocket in the top which is creat for storing filters, hoods, etc. It''s see through-mesh so you can know what you have in there. There is a zippered pocket in the back where your camera owners manual fits nicely. The pocket in the front is a great place to store plenty of film, extra cleaning supplies, pens/pencils, notepads, hoods, etc. It has 3 divided sections from seperating items (I use it for a notepad and a blower brush). It also has a zippered pocket for anything else you want to carry. Overall this is an outstanding bag that I feel is the best value on the market!!!

Customer Service

Have not used

Similar Products Used:

Tenba 104i Image

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 07, 2000]
JEFF JOHNSON
Casual
Model Reviewed: Nova 4 Verticle Camera Bag

Strength:

INEXPENSIVE, HIGH QUALITY BAG. SOLID CONSTRUCTION. ROOMY MID SIZE BAG. COMFORTABLE FOR 5 HOUR LIGHT OUTDOOR HIKE.

Weakness:

I WISH IT HAD THE RUBBER FEET OF THE NOVA 5.

A GREAT BAG FOR SMALL TO MODERATE SIZED KITS.
I HAVE NOT TRIED THE "NEW" NOVA 5 WHICH HAS A MORE COMFORTABLE STRAP.

Customer Service

NOT NEEDED.

Similar Products Used:

NO NAME & STORE BRAND BAGS.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 29, 2000]
Alex Loudermilk
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: Nova 4 Verticle Camera Bag

Strength:

The bag is great for carrying ; camera with lens, telephoto zoom, wide angle, normal lens, flash, and has plenty of pockets for; filters, notepad, batteries, tape, cleaners, step-up rings, anything Cokin, penlights, reference cards, and has a handy film holder. The compartments can be customised to some extent and are padded well. The shoulder strap is confortable and adjustable. The single fast-clip buckle on the front is a life saver when your in a hurry and need to secure the bag quickly. All the pockets are well protected from the light rain and dirt of field work.

Weakness:

The belt loops, for use with the optional 2" webing belt, are not cut out for hauling your gear on your waist. It sags due to the pocket on the rear of the bag. Shoulder strap hard to remove.

For hauling my AE-1 outfit around the Nova gets the task done. The single buckle closing the lid has saved my gear from disaster and time on the run. All the compartments are where I need them and easy to get to. If you have a moderate outfit and need a bag to cary it in, then the Nova 4 has what your looking for.

Customer Service

Unused

Similar Products Used:

Vanguard
OutPack
Tamron

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 23, 2000]
Peter Jung
Expert
Model Reviewed: Nova 4 Verticle Camera Bag

Strength:

1. Compact;
2. Light;
3. Relatively inexpensive; and
4. Durable exterior material.

Weakness:

1. Lacks rubber legs unlike the Nova 5; and
2. Camera/lens cradle does not suit larger standard workhorse lenses.

I used this bag for five years to house my Nikon F90X, Nikon MB12, Nikkor AF 35-70 mm f/2.8 D, Nikon SB-28 Speedlight and minor accessories. The bottom of the bag was bending but I felt the bag was structural adequate for my equipment. It was suitable until I sold the F90X,. MB12 and AF 35-70 mm and upgraded to a Nikon F5, Nikkor AF-S 28-70 mm f/2.8 D IF-ED, Nikkor AF 80-200 mm f/2.8 D N ED, Nikkor AF 20mm f/2.8 D. I needed a Nova 5. The Nova 5 was still too heavy for my shoulders. I'm looking at a backpack. Anyways, the Nova 4 is perfect if you have similar equipment to what I use to own.

Customer Service

Have not tried.

Similar Products Used:

Various unknown and known brands but they were either more expensive or inadequately designed for my purposes.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 07, 2000]
Frank Evans
Intermediate

Strength:

Tough, reliable, roomy and just enough space for an average camera system.

Weakness:

none

After trying various bags from various makers I finally tried a lowepro Nova 3 and it was almost perfect for what I needed to haul my Olympus OM4t with 4 lens and a flash unit plus about half a dozen filters, spare batteries and at least 6 rolls of film. After switching to a Minolta 800si system I found space lacking and switched to the lowepro Nova 4 and so far it has been perfect.

Customer Service

never used

Similar Products Used:

other Lowepro bags in the Nova series, Tenba
Nikon brand and Motorola brand bags and various no name bags

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 28, 2001]
Chris Brennan
Professional

Strength:

Compact, low profile, very well padded, excellent for small medium format kit

Weakness:

lousy strap

Excellent value for the money. I've used Domke bags for years but after acquiring a heavily electronic medium format camera, found the Domke's lack of padding disturbing. There is lots of room in this bag for a body, a couple of lenses, external meter, filters, and a ton of film. BUT the strap is really cheesy. I took one of my Domke "Gripper" straps and put it on. NOW the bag is ideal!

Customer Service

not yet

Similar Products Used:

Domke

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 04, 2001]
Raye Grigsby
Intermediate

Strength:

nice zippers heavy duty. seals good.

Weakness:

not made sturdy enough for big lens,not enough velco options.Belt loops no good too much sag.flap strap snap needs to be two not one.Also needs to be heavier material.

I got thinking it would be a Great camera bag because of all camera shops carried them. Big let down for me. I guess I expected more for the money.

Similar Products Used:

CN found at Wal-Mart excellant camera bag

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 07, 1999]
Dan Wolfgang
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: Nova 4 Verticle Camera Bag

Strength:

Excellent value for the money, contoured and grip-coated shoulder strap (comfortable), separate film bag

Weakness:

None yet, aside from that the bag is now too small for all my stuff!

This is an excellent bag for the money. Quality construction and good padding allow you to throw the bag over your shoulder and go, without worry of damage to your equipment.

The separate film bag (and many pockets) allow you to easily keep track of (un/)exposed film, filters, caps, etc.

One note: the bag is just barely large enough to hold an 80-200 f2.8 Nikkor. By "just barely," I mean you will see a bulge in the bag where you have this lens. If you intend to carry a lens of this size, buy a larger/different bag.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com