Canon Powershot S110 Digital Elph 3 Megapixels and Smaller

Powershot S110 Digital Elph

  • Resolution: 2.1 megapixel CCD
  • Lens: 0.4-10.8mm f/2.8-4 (35mm equivalent: 35-70mm)
  • Exposure: Program AE w. +/-2.0 exposure compensation
  • Memory: CompactFlash

  • User Reviews (18)

    Showing 1-10 of 18  
    Greg   Intermediate [Apr 10, 2002]
    Strength:

    Small Size, Large image output, Movie capability, and really fun underwater case is available for this unit. Point and shoot heaven!

    Weakness:

    Rubber flap on side which protets the slot for USB download cable. Needs cleaning as dust particals can get inside and fog viewfinder. Flash length is limited to a few feet in low light.

    What a great little camera. I looked at many before I made my purchase and this one won out on many levels. I''ve had the camera for many months now and I''m still glad I bought it.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    MarcusB   Casual [Mar 11, 2002]
    Strength:

    Solid metal housing. Ease of use.

    Weakness:

    Rubber flap on side. Memory card only 8 meg. (Toss it and go buy a 128M).

    Great little camera, it''s small enough so you don''t mind taking it everywhere. I have been amazed at the great quality of most of the pictures. I like the movie and sound features. This camera is tough and well-built, I accidently dropped it on the cement ( 3 foot fall) and it suffered barely a scratch.

    Customer Service

    None yet

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Mike   Professional [Mar 04, 2002]
    Strength:

    - Super small and lightweight - Very compact and durable - movie mode with sound is great and handy - decent resolution for size and price

    Weakness:

    - limited accessories(no case, adapter) - comes with only an 8mb flash card - suffers from the "orb" anomoly persistantly in night-time or lowlight shots.(white spots appear scattered over image - very frusterating)

    When I bought this camera I was looking for something compact which the S110 undoubtfully is. I also wanted decent resolution without going above the $1000 range. So the S110 made sense. I would recommend this camera for people who want super portability (with quality) and who desire decent pictures.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    bassay   Expert [Nov 09, 2001]
    Strength:

    Small size, Clear, sharp quality photos, Automatic settings cover at least 80%-90% of casual photo situaciones. Well built, everything feels solid and tight

    Weakness:

    I miss the roundness of the Fuji 40i. Canon software is very, very basic you must use a program like Adobe Photoshop or Corel photo-paint. I don''t think that the rubber cover over the digital conection is going to last very long. Canon should include at least 48Mb memory, (it only comes with 8Mb)and a bag

    Wow!! What a difference from the Fuji Finepix 40i. The S110 is small, I mean really small, it´s comfortable and easy to hold, all sensors, flash and viewfinder are away from your fingers, so it''s almost impossible to block them. Unlike the Fuji where you have to break at least 2 of your fingers in 4 parts so the don''t get in the way. Very easy to use, it took me about 6 minutes to get the first shots and 10 more to get them printed. This camara will get a lot of use.

    Customer Service

    I haven''t used it yet.

    Similar Products Used: Fuji Finepix 40i
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Malcolm Not Likely   Intermediate [Sep 29, 2001]
    Strength:

    Size, quality, ease of use, everything comes in the box. Battery is good. International power adaptor and TV format

    Weakness:

    Memory supplied is too small (but easily fixed).

    I''m an SLR photographer with lots of years under my belt and pretty good Nikon 35mm gear. I still love my SLR stuff, mostly for outdoors photography, but decided it was time to try digital - I live overseas, and the ability to E-mail snaps home is a great way to keep in touch. So the usual traumas of which camera to get. None of the digitals currently can match SLR quality, and as the photos are mainly for e-mailing, I decided that size of the camera was the main factor. Then came the trauma of what quality to buy - cheap low res, which would have a novelty value then probably get discarded as rubbish, or hand over some serious dosh and get one with decent optics and res. A mate had an Elph S100, and I had a play. Must admit that sold me right there. So Ive now had an S110 for about 6 months, and have been throughly impressed. Optics and quality of pics is great, resolution is much better than I realised it would be. Occasionally a photo seems a bit out of focus, but that may be from rushing the photos. Zoom is good, but after SLR''s, a 2 x zoom seems like nothing. Another real plus is the thing is really simple to use. Ive lent it to friends for the weekend with 5 minutes of explination on how to use it and theyve been fine. Panorama/stich function is amazing - you can barely tell where the seams are. Make sure you shoot on the horizontal or the photos don''t work so well. The movie mode is cool, and quite fun. Only real gripe I have about the camera is that the movie mode shoots Avi''s, but you seem to need special software to view them (which comes with the camera), but it means you can''t send them to other people. Need to do some more research on this. Also as everyone states - get a bigger memory card. I got a free 32 MB with my camera, and it''s just adrequate - gives me about the same as a roll of film. Battery is great, and the charger will work anywhere in the world, on any voltage, as lo as you have a socket converter. Similarly the camera can put out NTSC or PAL,so is truely international. battery will take around 50 photos, so a second battery is a good idea, but not a must. Overall this is a great product. Everything you need (except more memory) comes in the box. Definitely would buy another

    Customer Service

    Not used

    Similar Products Used: Lots of SLR gear. Played are read lots with other digitals
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    El Jefe   Intermediate [Sep 27, 2001]
    Strength:

    ULTRA compact, stylish, easy to use, surprisingly good image quality.

    Weakness:

    Surprisingly good image quality, but not as good as it can get. (35mm prints scanned on my flatbed scanner show better detail.)@

    I was immediately impressed by how user-friendly this camera was. Within an hour of powering it up, I had figured out all the menu options and put 50 pictures on my hard drive. Downloading pictures is quick, easy and reliable via USB. The battery system is cool. One of my friends'' complains about his digi-cam that it''s very power hungry. At the rate it goes through AA batteries, he actually finds the expense to be a barrier. The S110 has no such issues. The battery takes about 2 hours to charge, and provides enough juice for at least 50 shots (complete with flash). That''s plenty of shooting for me! (You can always buy another battery if you need it.) The 8MB card can hold about 11 shots at 1600 x 1200. At 640 x 480, it holds about 50. With a 128MB card, the possibilities are pretty spectacular. Portability is obviously the strong point. There''s really no reason not to bring this thing anywhere, anytime. It is THE ultimate shirt pocket camera. The results are impressive, especially given the size. The flash works well at close distances. Some shots showed an impressive amount of detail, others weren''t quite so great. This is an outstanding snapshot camera. It also kicks butt for pictures for web sites. I''ve used some of the images on 8 1/2 x 11" flyers with acceptable results, but when blown up, you can tell there''s something missing. Definitely not the best choice if you''re mostly into landscapes. If you''re looking for a good spontaneous "people" camera that takes up very little space, this is a great way to go. The stainless steel is a nice touch, by the way. This is easily one of the best-looking gadgets out there, and several people report that the digital ELPHs will survive more than their fair share of physical abuse.P

    Similar Products Used: Sony DV camcorder.o
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    kennyr73   Casual [Sep 20, 2001]
    Strength:

    Comes with recharger (unlike Nikon cameras)! Excellent design/ functions all practical and easy to use! Great software - compatible on W2K, no problems.

    Weakness:

    Only 2.1 MP. Cannot accept CompactFlash2 Microdrive cards. Cannot recharge battery while in camera.

    Excellent camera! Very intuitive design/menu functions. Extremely durable and compact. (Droped my ELPH2 APS camera several times and it worked like a charm!) Super cool camera. My ELPH2 APS had one issue: the battery latch did not have a hinge. No worry, the S110 has a hinge and does not come undone easily!

    Customer Service

    ?

    Similar Products Used: Nikon Sony MVC diskette Kodak DC290 Kodak DC40 JVC MiniDV camcorder (with still camera mode)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 18  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com