Canon PowerShot D10 Above 10 Megapixel

Available At:
PowerShot D10

For those with a taste for adventure, there's a camera as bold as the active life you lead. It's the Canon PowerShot D10. Waterproof, freezeproof and shockproof; it's tough enough to take what you dish out. Plus it's got all the high performance features you expect from a Canon digital camera. You've got 12.1 megapixels of resolution plus all of Canon's powerful, state-of-the-art imaging technologies so you can capture your epic experiences in breathtaking color and awesome detail.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Tiki   Intermediate [Apr 07, 2011]
Strength:

Rugged, versatile, and underwater of course.

Weakness:

Bulky.

Bought the camera over 1 year ago to use in our newly built pool. It has worked flawlessly and provided several great looking and surprisingly perfectly exposed pictures. Neighbors borrowed the camera to take some pictures snorkeling in the Florida Keys (Salt water) with good results. It’s been banged around and has a few scratches, but continues to work great. No issues here. Never taken it below 2 meters (6 feet).

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Ronnie   Expert [Jul 12, 2010]
Strength:

Good quality pictures specially under water. I wont say it take professional underwater shot, but good enough to brag about.
Rugged, my son dropped it twice and nothing happened to it.

Weakness:

No manual nor A mode, kinda sucks, bit grainy indoors. no cover for the front lens element, though it looks like a submarine window.

Outstanding little camera. Easy to schlep around, feels good in hands. Takes good pictures outside or underwater. Also take quick time videos.

Customer Service

didn't need

Similar Products Used: Casio
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Weskus   Intermediate [May 08, 2010]
Strength:

Looks Good

Weakness:

Leaks

I purchased a Canon D10 on ebay from Hot Digital USA. This camera is rated to 10 meters underwater. It is endorsed by most diving organizations and diving magazines, internationally. I purchased this camera brand new and on first use it leaked in one meter of water.
I have been to canon, written emails to customer care, canon SA and canon America. The response is pathetic as not to be expected from a 'professional global company. I have invoices and all necessary documentation and see no reason why this camera is not immediately replaced.
I thought I was dealing with a reputable company and am deeply disappointed in their response (or lack thereof!).
That their camera is not tested and should leak in the first case is wrong, their response to this is criminal.

Customer Service

Bad

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
NSW_Chris   Intermediate [Apr 23, 2010]
Strength:

Ease of use
Image quality

Weakness:

Battery life is a bit short
RAW format would be nice

Purchased this camera to use snorkelling and have used it about six times so far without any problems. Having said that I did meet someone while on holiday who had experienced a leak with the same model.

I'm pretty careful about rinsing the camera in fresh water (immersion for at least an hour), allowing plenty of time for it to then dry, and checking the seals before closing. I appreciate this may not always be possible if for some reason (eg battery swap) it's necessary to open the camera.

Quite easy to use once familiar with the controls. I assigned the movie function to the print button which made it very easy to switch modes while underwater.

Image quality is good but as with all underwater photography, the less distance from camera to subject the better. I managed to get some macro shots that I was quite happy with.

Enabling the grid lines on the LCD is very helpful with framing subjects.

RAW capability would be useful but it's quite easy to adjust colors in an image editing program.

Movie quality is acceptable but obviously not HD. Think of this as a bonus feature rather than the main reason for buying this camera.

Battery life is a bit short in my opinion. While I haven't checked this closely, I seem to get about two hours out of a charged battery - primarily still images but some movies plus image/movie review. I'd be careful when changing the battery if the camera hasn't had a chance to dry out (after freshwater immersion).

I used it with a 16GB memory card and never had a problem with running out of storage space.

This isn't a camera for 'serious' underwater photographers but can nonetheless provide some quite good quality images.

Customer Service

Not required yet.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Chinky   Casual [Apr 22, 2010]
Strength:

It takes good shots and videos and sounds for video is clear, user friendly and a lot of great features/settings. Cool and unique shape (like a submarine) and color, big lcd screen for viewing.

Weakness:

Too bulky to carry around and disappointingly unwarranted waterproof feature.

I should have read the reviews before final ly deciding to purchase the product. This would have been a big help as these are firsthand experience from the users, rather than just relying on the product specifications/details and claims from the company.

I just find it really absurd to have a waterproof, shatterproof, freezeproof camera (up to a certain feet), and not have a warranty for it. This would be reasonable if it was used beyond the product specifications as to how deep it could be submerged in water and how high it can drop from. I never used the camera deeper than 5 feet and it never dropped higher than 1 meter but my camera's lcd screen does not show any display anymore, just a blank white screen when turned on. Water droplets seeped thru the (suppossedly waterproof camera) lens and the lcd screen which took more than a week to dry out.

Our family went home to my hometown for a 2-week vacation and went swimming twice at the beach and once in a cold spring pool. For those 3 times, the camera was not submerged longer than one minute. We only submerge it in the water when a shot will be taken. After the second swim we had, the shots started to get blurry. It lost it's display on the lcd in the middle of our 3rd swim in the cold spring pool. The water was not even freezing, it was just plain cold. I guess it is the frequency of use in water that made it leak... 3x in a span of 2 weeks as compared to when I use it previously where it would be used in one ocassion in water and then be used again after 2 or three months. I don't think it was stated in the manual that it should not be used consecutively in water.

The only good thing about it is that it can still take shots but you would not be able to view the shot taken or change the settings as you could not view anything on the screen.

I will be taking the camera to a Canon Service Center here in the Philippines to see whatever warranty I could claim for it and have it fixed in time for our next swim on May 7. I really hope it could still be fixed as I have only used it for 10 months and it wouldn't be value for my money. I wouldn't be upset if this happened after 3 to 5 years of use and not to a prestigious brand as Canon but it has been less than a year and it is a brand trusted by most consumers like me.

Customer Service

Will still find out when I visit the service center...

Similar Products Used: Olympus waterproof camera (borrowed from my collegue)...which is already 4 years old but is still in great shape and function.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
jsson1224   Intermediate [Dec 08, 2009]

Do not take this camera into the water too much. The waterproof issue is a bit touchy. I have 3 in use and all are water damaged. All were used in the surf whilst the photographer was standing, ie the cameras were not below 10 metres! This is just a warning as Canon says that the warranty does not cover water damage!

Similar Products Used: All my other in water cameras I have in housings with Ikelite having the best housing on the market. These new "water proof" cameras are still a gimick.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Brian   Expert [Nov 20, 2009]
Strength:

Nice fast 2.8 lens 3X optical zoom. I liked that Canon designed the lens to zoom in and out, and not internally like the other thinner models, like Fuji or Panasonic. This is why the D10 must be shaped like a diving bell. Battery life is not bad. I was able to fill a 2gig card with videos and stills without having to recharge.

Weakness:

Canon crammed 12 megapixels in a small 1/2.3" sensor which produced 43 MP/cm² pixel density. This reduces the dynamic range and it shows in some of my pics. Fortunately, this can be resolved in post processing, specificly appying hdr to enhance the details.
The D10's unusual design makes it difficult to use with only one hand. With no grip, it's easy to drop.
Accessories are expensive.

My pictures were generally good, The LCD screen is bright enough even in the sun. I took it on a whitewater rafting trip and the pics came out fine. Underwater shots were clear. I have a mount on my handlebar and shot some video clips while cycling. The video was well balanced, but because I was moving, the mic picked up alot of wind noise.
Menu interface is well designed. Large buttons in the back that allows the user to select auto, program.scenes and video modes quickly. Programable button allows users to appoint a function. I chose to set it to ISO.

Similar Products Used: Canon 40D
Nikon Coolpix P5000
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
efraimw   Casual [Jul 13, 2009]
Strength:

I was excited to get the camera while in Hawaii as the disposible underwater cameras are awful. Picture quality was very good. Easy to transfer pictures to computer.

Weakness:

It leaked water into the lens the 2nd time in the water. It no longer worked after that.

Camera leaked second time in the water, three days after purchasing, and no longer worked after that.

Be very careful of the warranty on this product. I contacted Canon support and after being transferred to a supervisor I was told the warranty does not cover "water damage, sand/corrosion damage ... dropping the camera." I could not believe this so I looked at the warranty card included with the camera and sure enough that's exactly what it says. Canon does not warranty a camera that is designed to go in the water against water damage??? Or against dropping when they say the camera can survive drops of up to 4 feet??? My only choice right now is to send the camera in to Canon and hope they will fix/replace the camera or I'll have paid $350 for one day in the water.

Customer Service

They did send me an expedited pre-paid shipping label to send the camera to their support center and the people I haven spoken with have been pleasant and as helpful as they can be. I guess I will see how the support goes over the next couple weeks, but was hoping to be able to use the camera next weekend.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tissy2cute   Beginner [Jun 21, 2009]
Strength:

Large button and large viewing screen. The auto focus and face detection is a nice feature.

Weakness:

It is a little chunky in size but that can easily be overlooked unless you are looking for a very slim camera body.

I purchased the camera for a trip to the Bahamas so I could take pictures snorkeling, I think it did a great job underwater. The menu is very easy to change and the large screen is easily viewable under the water.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com