Canon EOS 30D Digital SLRs

Available At:
EOS 30D

The EOS 30D incorporates a host of new features with Canon's highly acclaimed 8.2 megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC II Image Processor. The EOS 30D includes enhanced operational features such as a new 2.5 inch LCD monitor, true spot metering, a durable new shutter mechanism and Canon's Picture Style feature, all in an sturdy, magnesium-clad body.

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
digital1   Intermediate [Apr 18, 2008]
Strength:

-Camera feels great in the hands
-Superior build quality
-Fast cycle speed
-Accurate focusing
-Low noise levels at high ISO levels

Weakness:

-A bit heavy
-White balance not always accurate indoors

This camera has an excellent build quality which in my opinion clearly exceeds the entry level DSLR offerings of Canon, Nikon, etc. I have 3 lens, the 50 mm f1.4, 28-135mm stabilized lens and the 70-300mm stabilized lens. The camera captures beautiful photos with all of these lenses with consistent results across the lens array. The 50mm 1.4 is outstanding for indoor family photos and portraits without a flash. The low noise level of the D30 at ISO 1,600 allows this lens to work beautifully in low light.

The camera cycles quickly, focuses fast and functions exceptionally well. The image noise level at 1,600 and 3,200 is quite low compared to other cameras I've used. The image sharpening of the camera, noise level, cycle speed, feature set and build quality are hard to fault. The 30D's pixel count makes excellent poster size photos. This makes me question the need for higher pixel counts.

Similar Products Used: Nikon D200
Canon Digital
Nikon D80
Olympus 510
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Adriana   Intermediate [Sep 13, 2007]
Strength:

well constructed
easy to use
has picture styles
shoots great at 1600 with min grain
can shoot fast in RAW
preview is fast and easy
screen is big enough to see image clearly
can use tons of lenses

Weakness:

none so far

This is by far the best camera I have used since I got it. Its well constructed, easy to handle, accepts many lens. I can go on. The quality I get from it was worth the price. Its very easy to use and the buttons are in the right place. Its not heavy and it fits nicely in my hands. I have better control over it than my last camera. I shoot in manual mode mostly and it works flawless. Has several metering modes, picture styles and so forth I really can't explain everything about this but all I can say it is one of the best out there.

Customer Service

never had to deal with them

Similar Products Used: Canon Digital Rebel XT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Danny   Beginner [Jul 24, 2007]
Strength:

* For the money, this is the greatest camera you can buy as it is equally suited for portraits, wildlife, sports, whatever.

* Good noise control on higher ISOs.

* GREAT ergonomics - Can't be stressed enough

* 5 FPS shutter speed.

* Maybe the most versitile DSLR around $1K

* Solid Feel

Weakness:

Some weather proofing would be nice.

I felt a bit guilty when I bought this camera. I had an old Maxxum5 film SLR that I played around with but wasn't what you would call a photographer. But being a beginner and the lack of instant feedback via digtal pictures, my photography hobby quickly flamed out.

Well, that was a little while ago. New Job, better money, and I wanted get back into it. I shot around a lot with a friends 350D. Good camera, but it just didn't feel right to me.

So, I opted for the 30d. Most people would probably tell you that it is not the best camera for a beginner, especially at it's price point and that is why I felt a little guilty purchasing it. But when I put my hands on it, it just makes me want to take pictures. It really instills confidence in the picture taker. I can't think of a situation where this camera would let you down. And believe it or not, there is confidence knowing that when you have a bad photo, it is YOUR fault and not the camera's.

Anyways, after a couple of weeks you get so used to the controls that you can change setting in literal seconds. The ergonomics on it are great, although I would recommend getting a grip for it as well.

I have taken the best pictures of my life with this camera, and I have only had for a little more than 3 months! I am shocked that even up to 1600 ISO, it is still highly usuable. It is great for low light shooting as long as you have a reasonably fast lens.

This camera is just a great camera. Right now it is the reason why I love photography. I can grow with this camera but I will never outgrow it. Great piece of consumer electronics.



Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: Maxxum 5 Film
Canon 350D XT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   Expert [Jul 10, 2007]
Strength:

Comfort in hand
Multiple frames
Durability and
Relatively good price!!

Weakness:

None that I've found yet, though I do a lot of winter photography, we'll see how it performs in very cold weather.Kodak P850

I have used Canon cameras for about 40 yrs., starting with my Canon EOS SLR, moving to a PowerShot A50 and then eventually to the EOS 30D. I between I used a Kodak P850, which was a nice camera but in lacking in the areas I most needed from a digital camera. The 30D does it all and the multiple images within a .5 sec burst is awesome to say the least. The picture qualiity is excellent, the lack of noise in blown up photos is surprisingly nice, and the sturdiness of the camera is perfect for me, being an outdoor photographer. Also, since I have a 35mm Canon I already had a good selection of lenses!!
Many might hold out for the 5D, but for me the 30D is peeeerfect!!!

Customer Service

No need for customer yet!!

Similar Products Used: Kodak P850
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Professional [May 09, 2007]
Strength:

Low cost
Cropping for sports
Light Weight

Weakness:

Construction is not waterproof
Loud Shutter
Shutter lifetime is only 50k
Gets dusty easy
1.6 crop is annoying for event work.

Although not as heavy duty as I would like in a body, this camera serves me well for wedding and Bar Mitzvahs as my main body. It's cheap enough that I earn back the money I've spent on it in short order (I'm now on my third) but don't have to obsessively worry about it getting damaged. I would recommend to any photographer unless you are doing studio work due to it's low pixel count and 1.6 cropping.

Dave
Dave Blake Photo

Customer Service

I've had this camera broken and Canon was quick in their service, if not a bit pricy

Similar Products Used: Canon 10D, Canon 20D
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
h2oskierc   Professional [Jan 06, 2007]
Strength:

-Crop factor when commbined with a full-fram camera
-Canon Customer Service
-Image Quality
-Low-Light Shooting
-Price

Weakness:

-As a previous poster said, the public perception that this 8MP camera is inferior to the 10MP D-Reb

I purchased this camera as a backup to the 5D that I use for most my shooting. I am a wedding photographer, and got nervous having just one camera, but I didn't want to spend the money for another 5D. I was amazed from the first time I used the camera. It functions almost identically to the 5D, with the exception of the high-speed "drive" mode. At the first wedding that I did after buying the camera, I found that it wasn't a backup camera, but a supplemental camera because of the crop factor and the high speed of its continuous shooting.

Image quality is fantastic, noise is low at most ISOs, and I have found that even shooting in low light during ceremonies, fabulous prints can be obtained.

The crop factor is a huge plus for me, as I also carry the full-frame 5D. I get two lenses out of each lens in my kit! I have an 8mm circular fisheye lens that produces awesome pictures on the 30D, as the picture fills almost the whole frame, but you still get the beautiful distortion of the fisheye lens. I also love the extended length this camera give the 70-200mm 2.8, which becomes a 112-320mm 2.8 equivalent.

The only issue I have had with the camera is that an assistant bent some of the CF pins in the camera. Canon should have designed that slot so that it is impossible to install the card wrong. I will say that it is difficult to do so, but it is possible. Canon took excellent care of me, even covering the repair under warranty! I had the camera back in about a week, absolutely thrilling!

Customer Service

FANTASTIC! Covered a repair I totally expected to pay for with a FAST turnaround.

Similar Products Used: -Canon 5D
-Played around with the first D-Rebel a bit
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
shamanjp   Professional [Dec 08, 2006]
Strength:

Low light high ISO image quality compared to other cropped sensors.
Shooting speed and quick controls for action shooting.
Quality of build and access to the fine EOS lenses.
This camera line has proven itself, each generation, to be a fine, reliable tool.

Weakness:

Marketing: 8<10 (public) perception.

When Canon announced the double rebates this fall (my price paid was after rebates) I sold my 10D and 20D and purchased the 30D and 5D. The 30D is a fine backup camera to the 5D as the controls are nearly identical. When I move my lenses from one body to the other the difference in perspective because of the different size sensor increases the versatility of this setup. There are many situations where the denser pixels and shooting speed of the 30D over the 5D give it an advantage, and yet having this combination seems to give me the best of both worlds. Having used this body type for so long I really love the quick control that the dual dial and joystick provide. The 10D took beautiful pictures, the 20D did also but bumped up the performance. The 30D is a further refinement of what was already a very good camera. Having the larger screen, the spot metering, the larger buffer, and the fact that the shutter is rated for 100,000 shots made the upgrade worthwhile. The prints made from my 30D files are fantastic, and although the 5D has an edge in photo quality, I feel that the 30D is more versatile and a real value at it's price point. If you frame your shots carefully 8 megapixles are plenty, and I have made many very large and beautiful prints that have proven this to me.

Customer Service

Never needed it, hope I never do.

Similar Products Used: 10D, 20D, 5D
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rca8733   Intermediate [Nov 30, 2006]
Strength:

Read the Pro User Reviews....way to many to rewrite here.

Weakness:

For me....NONE. If you read the pro reviews and such, you will see some "cons" listed, but how can you say their weaknesses if you bought the camera anyway.

I finally made the switch to digital and wish I had done it 5 years ago. Without a doubt, the manufacturers of today have simply made taking pictures a pure joy and have made it easier than ever to obtain sharp, long lasting images as long as the photographer does his/her part.
The Canon 30D I purchased has been nothing short of amazing to me. I have been a loyal Canon photographer for years and all my equipment is Canon, so for me anyway, purchasing anything but Canon would have been a serious waste of money. Since Canon has made all their EOS equipment compatabile, it was a no brainer.
I have found that no matter what camera you have, good glass is a must. I shot many pictures using lesser Canon lenses (non-L series) and found that they cannot compare to the higher end L-series lenses. I am sure this is also true with NIkon, Minolta, etc.
I am sure that any readers of this simple review have read all the bells and whistles the 30D so I won't waste the time by being echoing all those. I will just simply say that the 30D is everything I expected and much more. It is very user friendly, especially if you are already familiar with EOS cameras. It just plain feels good in your hand.
IMHO, if your a Canon user, and want to go digital using an SLR, then the 30D is th camera. Unless of course you can afford to upgrade to the 5D or the high end pro bodies.

Customer Service

Not needed for this unit, but have used them in the past.....No problems, great customer service when I needed them.

Similar Products Used: Canon 10D, 20D, Elan 7e
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ActionBuddy   Casual [Nov 08, 2006]
Strength:

hi quality pics with the cmos sensor
not too expensive for a professional 8.2 mp
nice software utilities for your computer
its a Canon

Weakness:

nothing worth mention

I work for a company that sell retinal cameras (machines to take a picture of the inside of your eyes) and we use the eos 30D on it. the retinal camera itself act as a huge lens for the 30D. with the combination of our retinal camera and the 30D we blow our competitors away. the pics we get are much sharper, require less flash and we can zoom in the pic and see more details than our competitors that use 10 MP nikon camera because the 30D use a big hi quality sensor. the sensor is easy to clean. I cleaned at least 100 of em the last year with dry Q-tips and i never came close to scratch one.

Customer Service

It takes a while to get our camera serviced by canon. usually more than a month but we had very few issues with our cameras and i never personally had to deal with their service so ill leave that open

Similar Products Used: eos 5D
1 Ds
some nikons i dont remeber exactly
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
crisillo   Casual [Nov 08, 2006]
Strength:

Quality build
Speed
Great battery life
Great lens avialability

Weakness:

Maybe a little expensive for some

I have had the 30d since it came out. I upgraded from a Digital Rebel (300d) and the firt thing I noticed was the speed of the 30d. It is also able to focus in really low light and picture quality is awesome.
The big LCD screen in the back is great and the RGB histogram gives you a good idea of what colors you are clipping or blowing. It is a little heavier than my old Rebel, but I like that, it feels very robust.
Another great feature is the Spot meter, if you like shooting in manual mode, the spot can be very handy for tricky exposures.
In general, I love it!

Customer Service

INone so far

Similar Products Used: Canon Digital Rebel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com