Canon EOS Digital Rebel / 300D Digital SLRs

Canon EOS Digital Rebel / 300D Digital SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

  • Sensor: 6.3 Megapixel CMOS
  • Max resolution: 3072 x 2048 pixels
  • Digital crop factor: 1.6x
  • DIGIC Imaging Processor for higher speed and image quality
  • Depth-of-field preview
  • 7 point AF w. One-Shot AF, Predictive AI Servo AF, and AI Focus AF modes
  • Metering: Evaluative metering, 9% of center, and Centerweighted average metering
  • Exposure: Program AE, shutter-priority, aperture-priority, auto depth-of-field, full auto, picture modes, and manual
  • Built-in flash
  • Continuous Shooting: Approx. 2.5 fps for 4 frames
  • ISO 100-1600
  • Storage media: CompactFlash Type I and II
  • Interface: USB

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 54  
    [Apr 17, 2012]
    Alsplace
    Casual

    Strength:

    Absolutely brilliant camera, hard working, non pretentious, does whats asked of it and great way to get into DSLR photography

    Weakness:

    Some ass decided they felt the same way about the camera and liberated it from my locked car, pissed to the extreme as the camera wasnt worth a great deal anymore(dollar wise) and I cant afford a new DSLR at the moment, reluctant to opt for the cheaper and affordable eos1100d, much rather save some dosh and go for the 60d... so at the moment I am relegated to my old canon A430 p&s.... sob sob sob...

    Loved the camera but someone else loved it more.... thieving a-holes....

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 10, 2009]
    alsplace1701
    Casual

    Strength:

    Its still going relentlessly after four years of shooting

    Weakness:

    It doesnt make coffee

    I bought my EOS300d about four years ago now and I have nothing but great photographic experiences with it. It was my first digital camera, I opted for the DSLR EOS because I wanted something a bit more serious than the average point and shoot and also I have an EOS620 35mm with zoom lenses, 2X adaptor and flash gun which of course all go on the 300d no problems. I have used to camera in SE Asia, I used it to get some great pictures at Formula One, I used it to get great pictures of wild life, I used it to get great pictures of ancient buildings and ruins, I have used it to get great pictures of people and heve never ever had a problem with the exception of Cambodia during the wet season when the camera fogged chronicly...
    Even now four odd years on I am still using the original battery, it may not hold the same length of charge anymore but it still takes care of business.
    I wouldnt swap this camera for anything other than a 5dmkII or 1dsnIII, I like the heavet weight of it, it feels like a camera should.

    Customer Service

    Never needed it, the camera is faultless

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Dec 07, 2005]
    climbingwez
    Expert

    Strength:

    Price, EOS system compatability, everything generally.

    Weakness:

    Low ISO range, Slooooooow start up and writing times.

    Great product for the money, and an ideal cam for the beginner. Plenty of options to get you going on the photography learning curve. I did have some major noise issues with longer exposures, even at low ISO settings, but overcame them by using shorter shutter time. Cant use Ansel Adams old techniques with a digicam eh If you have realistic expectations of what an entry level D-SLR can do, then you will not be dissapointed with this one at all.. I shoot only RAW so the write times are rediculously slow.

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon 20d, 10D, Nikon D70.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Dec 05, 2005]
    kool100vr4
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    its an ok cam for any starter fotoman.good batts life, i use w/batts grip.

    Weakness:

    ccd is weak in details contrast, not too sharp, no matter what lens you try.blow hilites.

    i bought this 300d when its 1st came out.ive also bought about 15 diff canon lenses for it thru the yrs.till now its i only use it as my back up cam, its seems to known for blown highlights.colors are neutral, but kinda dull looking compare to my fuji s2 pro.for what it worth, its only good enough for the starter, its an ok cam, nothing to praise about..most canon consumer lenses made for it are also ok..i had both canon IS lenses, like the 28-135mm and the 70-300mm, but i sold them both, they werent worth thier price either.i found that when i've used the nikon lenses on canon 300d w/adapter ring, all manual setting, pics turned out much better.i think canon ccd was made to just good enough in sharpness, never crispy , razor sharp. i always have to fit my pics w/csfotoshop. to add more contrast and help out color saturation, plus add usm.. its an average cam, nothing special about it.

    Customer Service

    none so far

    Similar Products Used:

    nikon

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Jan 18, 2005]
    IngoZ
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Image quality Ease of use Status LCD on the BACK! Almost everything!

    Weakness:

    Grey body Higher flash sync would be nice Buttons (only the 4-way) feel cheap ISO not indicated in viewfinder.

    Its great to have an SLR again after using digital point and shots for a while. After the photo lab shut down I switched to digital, only now, could I afford a DSLR. This camera is wonderful. Its very easy to use for those used to SLR cameras, is quite fast shot to shot, and is just pleasure to use. A lot of people reading this review are also think 'bout buying a Nikon D70. This is how I see it, 300D has much better image quality, the D70 has better features. Personally, I didn't need the extra features, for me, image quality was more important. Though I wish the Canon had the start-up time of the Nikon! And the Canon is a lot cheaper. Honestly, the biggest thing that bugs me with my 300d, is the 4-way and "set" buttons. They feel cheap. They don't articulate smoothly, yes thats the worst of it! Oh, and if you on the fence with DSLR versus point and shoot. I almost always use manual, never would use Auto on a camera like this. Don't let plastic body haters get to you. The body is great, ugly grey color, but great. As for the 18-55 EF-S kit lens. Image quality is pretty good. But the lens feels rough while zooming, and the manual focus ring is poor.

    Similar Products Used:

    Old film SLR and a bunch of digital point and shoots

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 28, 2004]
    just_me
    Professional

    Strength:

    Others already said

    Weakness:

    Others already said, also the creaky body, lack of external sync port.

    Please note: I am a pro photographer and not the intended audience for this camera. I am also a long time Canon user...close to 15 years now and still loyal to the brand. However this review is my opinion, and I know it is going to run counter to what others have said. That said, this camera is showing its age now. It's target market is solely for the amatuer and it is not the best in its class. Build quality is very poor. Feels OK with a plastic lense on but put a heavy L on and you will soon hear the creaking. If you are an amatuer looking for to buy a digital SLR look VERY carefully at the D70 from Nikon. It is a pro level camera. Several pros I know leave their heavier D1x's, Fuji S2's and D2H's at home because the D70 is up to most of the tasks of pro use, as well as being much lighter than their heavier bodies. Sadly the 300D is not in this league at all. Therefore, if you are an amatuer without $10,000 worth of lenses, seriously look into the D70. If you are a pro canon user looking for another body...you don't need my advice ;-) Get the 10D or 20D.

    Customer Service

    Outstanding in Malaysia

    Similar Products Used:

    1D, 10D, 20D

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Nov 03, 2004]
    ystasino
    Casual

    Strength:

    Best Value for beginners Good build for the price Accepts all Canon lenses Noise free compared to digicams. Noiseless ISO 100, very acceptable ISO 200 and 400, and somewhat useable ISO 800. 3rd party firmware that enables Mirror lock-up, selectable one shot focus, RAW-embedded JPG selectable size. Thousands sold so there is an abundance of knowledge about this camera, even instructions of how to salvage it if you drop it in water and examples of the angles at which dropping the camera doesnt break it !

    Weakness:

    6.3 MP will not quite cut it for landscapes. AF system and shutter lag are worse than in every other dSLR (but better than digicams). Unable to select AI Servo. AI Focus, where the camera chooses whether to track or lock a subject is the Digital Rebel's mostly criticised weakness. Exposure and light metering is usable but may be tricky to get used to

    I believe that after 4500 shots I can now tell the good and the bad of this best seller with relation to my needs. This camera is very good value and very good for those who start learning about (digital) photography. Coming from any of these angles this camera is a great learning experience for those who wish to learn about optics. The image quality is very good and 6.3 clean MP are always better than overprocessed, oversharpened 8 MP from any digicam. And you ll learn not to need live preview either.

    Customer Service

    Not needed

    Similar Products Used:

    FUJI FINEPIX 4900Z

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 11, 2004]
    Christiano
    Professional

    Strength:

    many many..its so much a CULT camera so if they make a RED version and call it the HOT cake..it will be sold for years to come! its seems that the little brother (rebel) will kill the D10 !

    Weakness:

    its silver..it should be black

    This Digital Rebel is a real true winner!! we(my assistent)and i have just went back home from Athens Olympic Games and we have used this besides my beloved D 10 and D1,and have found out that this is a remarkable good camera with more than very good characteristics.! It even focus proberly!! (better than its big brother D10!) and my assistent used this with a 70-200 L lens with very good results.No probs with blur or alike.Canon what have you done right? is it the same chip?= or have you simply become better to make the chip?the files we get seems to be better too!! as a user i dont know,its a little mystery. As a consequence,we have know sold the D10 as a result and waiting for the D20 and pray its better than the D10. Meanwhile we have kept the DIGI REB and work with it every day,with very good succes-we also use the little 18-55 lens and our newspaper customers are very satiesfied with the pics this combo gets! we think its best buy a combo only costing .1000 EUR ! wauw. Time passes and the Digital DSLR gets better and better,i still remember the D30 this Rebel is much much better ! well,you can even make it better ! right now somebody download improvements(alternative software) on the Rebel that makes it almost as 92 % close to the D10,and it works they say!i mean time will show if these guys out there outperforms even new products on the market by making different kits and software to the existing cameras! who knows? in the meantime i use this Rebel with more and more pleasure! ITS fantastic! Canon= thank you for this product!

    Customer Service

    Nope

    Similar Products Used:

    D30 D60(good too),D1 (wau) D1 mk 2(No 1)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Jun 25, 2004]
    dw9262
    Professional

    Strength:

    Easy to use (read manual carefully) Fast Focus Great Pictures

    Weakness:

    A bit heavy, that's usually the case for a SLR body. Focus in low light is a little tricky. Built in flash is not powerful enough when subject is more than 10 feet away.

    Before buying this camera, I was using a compact digital camera, Fujifilm A260. Because of its size, it was convenient and easy to use. Canon EOS rebel is a lot bigger and heavier, it does take great pictures and fast. Multi-continuous shot feature is great when I'm taking my 7-months' pictures. Point-and-shoot camera has no comparison for this feature. Preset modes are great when you want to compose picture fast. Review screen let you know if you need to retake another pictures. Great value for the price you pay for. Highly recommend it.

    Customer Service

    Didn't use

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon EOS5 FujiFilm A260 Digital

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Jan 31, 2004]
    IDIGPHOTOS
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Fast focus.(i must confess I am using the 28-135mm lens) Life like color reprodution.Real camara feel.Easy menu navigation. Love the ease of the play back mode.No more multi button pushing.The list could go on forever.

    Weakness:

    If I had to find one fault it would be the little rubber door where the video connections are. Just looks like it will not last with excessive use. Bought a card reader to get around that problem. Thats it.

    I had to write a review after getting this camara. Read a lot of reviews some postive some negative. Most of the negative things listed by people dealing with focus issues and white balance issues ,flash exposure indoors can all be corrected by a few things. First read your instruction manual they sent it with the camara for a reason. Second develop your photography skills before you complain. Photography is an art. The Rebel is a joy to use and absoultely a fantastic camara. Buy it and you will love it.

    Customer Service

    never used.

    Similar Products Used:

    Olympus C- 4000 zoom. ( A great point and shoot camara.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 54  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com