Kodak DCS 330 Digital SLRs

Kodak DCS 330 Digital SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

The new KODAK PROFESSIONAL DCS 330 Digital Camera combines Kodak's most innovative digital technology with the precision and sophistication of a single-lens reflex camera. So, whether your photography is catalog, government, or medical the DCS 330 allows you to easily integrate professional digital photography into your daily workflow.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Mar 10, 2010]
sfpeter
Intermediate

Strength:

Will work with AA batteries in a removable tray. Stock up on these as you'll need them. I personally hate NIMH batteries but a battery is better than none at all.

A 1.9X crop factor sounds extreme but in actual use doesn't seem that much different from the 1.5X DX Nikons.

The camera was intended to use PCMCIA flash cards or mini hard drives, I've been able to use a 1GB SD card in an adapter with no problems.

Will work with almost all F mount Nikon lenses. I honestly don't know if it will work with manual focus lenses but AF (autofocus) ones are just fine. Will not work with the IX-Nikkor lenses it's little brother the DCS 315 uses, but that's not a big deal.

As with all these old cameras can take good photos in the right, but very limited circumstances. Web shots are fine, but don't expect to make large prints.

Weakness:

Uses IEEE-1394 to connect to the computer, just put the card in a reader.

Saves photos in Kodak's proprietary TIFF format. Either DCRaw or Kodak's own software can convert and read these, both can be downloaded for free.

The trade off for the bigger sensor and higher resolution over the DCS 315 is much slower operation. Forget action and burst shots, stick to landscapes and portraits.

The LCD display lets you know a photo was taken, but the color/resolution is laughable compared to today's cameras.

Has an anti-aliasing filter in front of the sensor. At first I thought it was a brilliant idea to keep dust off the sensor, bu the filter itself is very hard to clean.

The DCS 330 is about the most practical of the early Nikon/Kodak combos, which isn't saying all that much. In practical use it's about the equivalent of a circa 2002 3MP camera with the bonus of interchangeable lenses.

Customer Service

Drivers, manuals, and utility software are still available on Kodak's website

Similar Products Used:

DCS 315, DCS 420, Minolta RD-175

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 25, 2000]
Don Schenk
Professional
Model Reviewed: DCS 330

Strength:

I had the interesting chance to test a DCS330 along with a Nikon D1...side by side...on the same subjects with the same lighting.

After using both, tyring the software, and looking at the images, I bought the Kodak DSC330.

The skin tones with the 330 were beautiful, Kodak's software plays rings around other software, and Kodak makes regular upgrades to both the software and the camera's firmware. These are an easy download from www.kodak.com and simple to use.

I have even tested the DSC330 photographing some large groups of people. On a comparison shot of a group of 75 people shot on an RB67 with Portra 400 film and on the DCS330...at 8x10 the digi image looks better! I keep showing these images to people not telling them which is which and everybody has picked the digi image from the 330.

I'm printing on a Kodak 8650 dye-sub and the color is right on the money.

Weakness:

The anit-aliasing filter softens the image. It's fine in portraits, but for added detail I must remove the filter. (It's an easy remove.)

It's a great portrait camera. Several of my friends have purchased them and are getting wonderful results.

Customer Service

A few of the early DCS330 cameras had a purple haze problem in one corner of the images...especially at 400 ISO. My camera was one of them.

Kodak didn't realize the problem existed until several of us sent them images. Andrew (review above) tried 4 cameras before he got a clean one.

This was in the camera's early days. Kodak has solved the problem for new cameras and does a mighty fast repair for older ones that have the haze.

I sent my camera to them overnight, and 3 days later Kodak sent me an email to tell me they had repaired it, shipped it back, and I would get it the very next day. Wow! Talk about great service!

They installed a new imager and circuit board.

Similar Products Used:

As I already mentioned, I tested the 330 againgst a D1 and put my money on the Kodak after seeing the cameras and the im

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 09, 2000]
Joe Stair
Professional
Model Reviewed: DCS 330

Strength:

Kodak software is tops in the digital world. Camera combines ease of use with high quality images. Dual card slots make the camera more useful then most others out there in this price range.

Weakness:

I'd like to see a locking connector for the ac adaptor/external battery connection.

For studio/event work, the camera/software combination can't be beat. Since I bought it in November, kodak has upgraded the firmware once and the software twice. I'd buy again

Customer Service

Haven't needed them yet.

Similar Products Used:

None - this was my first venture into digital, and thus I wanted a fine studio/event camera, and found one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2000]
Andrew Adams
Professional
Model Reviewed: DCS 330

Strength:

For the money, currently the best digital studio portrait camera. 8 meg file , with aspect closer to 5x7/8x10 than D1 means it makes use more pixels for standard photo crops. Raw format is best for image storage. I wouldn't dare let a camera convert to jpg my images. Kodak software vastly superior to anything currently out there.
Can do anything as good as film up to 8x10 without the AA filter. 11x14 awesome as long as not a large group of people with small headsizes. I have 16x20, and 20x24 that look breathtaking of single 3/4 subjects.Despite criticism, pronea 6i is not that bad. I only expect the technology to be good for 18 months until vastly superior digicams come out, so I don't care if it isn't built like a tank, it is sturdy enough for my needs.

Weakness:

only 1/180 sec flash sync (new fuji will only have 1/125 argh!)
I went through 4 cameras to get one with a clean 400 iso image, but my dealer & kodak kept sending me new cameras to try (now if nikon did that...) and the 4th one I got has produced real clean images.

The cost effective camera for specific people photography, outstanding results without the AA filter, and a little moire cleanup in pshop for enlargements.

Customer Service

Excellent - and gee new firmware and 2 new acquire revisions since I bought it. yay!

Similar Products Used:

kodak 460

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2000]
Gene Ho
Professional
Model Reviewed: DCS 330

Strength:

For the price it's pretty good. This is my back up to my 620. See my other review. I think the best part is the file size.

Weakness:

The battery system is a joke. If I accidentally leave it on "ON" overnight, it competely drains out the battery. Then to recharge it, I have to individually remove each battery and put in a recharger that takes forever. Other cameras like the 620, you have a battery "stick." You put it in the recharger and it's done. Also the body is not a pro body.

If you can afford the 620, get that. Camera does have it's limitations, but overall it's a good buy.

Customer Service

Kodak has great customer service. REAL good.

Similar Products Used:

620. See my review.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2000]
David Morel
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: DCS 330

Strength:

Great image, produced in a raw format allowing post capture/pre-acquire adjustments to whitebalance and exposure(+/- 2 in .1 increments!). Never have to wait for the camera to save images, large internal buffer.
*.6meg resulting file that has great colors.
ISO ranges from 125-400.
Two full size pccard slots.

Weakness:

Not a pro body, thus no 4.5 fps...only 1 fps. Image softened by the internal A/A filter, but it is removable if aliasing is less of a problem.

Probably the best studio digital camera in the sub-10,000 price range. The D1 from nikon is more versatile but problems exist when it comes to colors, especially facial tones. Great camera!

Customer Service

Excellent...treated me like a pro...

Similar Products Used:

All the top prosumer digicams, but this is in an entirely new league from them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 12, 2000]
Michael Davis
Professional

Strength:

I have been pleasently pleased with the image quality, color fidelity and gentle learning curve of this camera. The anti-aliasing internal filter has not presented itself as a problem, as in portraiture a bit of softening is appropriate in many cases anyway. I like the fact that the camera utilizes readily available AA Cells for its power source, and not a proprietary battery pack. The documentation which comes with the camera is excellent and is supplied in both written form and as PDF files on the included CD-Rom. Upgrades to the firmware are free and can be accessed via Kodak's website for download. My primary use for this camera has been for studio business portraits, High School Senior yearbook images and for wedding candids. 1-4 persons in 3/4 to upper body shots and printed to 8x10 are indistinguishable from an image taken with a traditional 35mm when viewed at a normal distance.

Weakness:

Not a weakness really, so much as an observation. I am using a 340MB IBM Microdrive with the camera and it will depleate a set of rechargeable Nickle Metal Hydride batteries fairly quickly. So, a few spare sets are a good thing to have in the bag. Kodak was certainly aware of this as a spare battery holder is included with the camera.

I do not hesitate to recommend the DCS330 for professional use. While not as robust and "indestructable" as the Nikon D1 being used by press and sports photographers worldwide, in my opinion it is a very usable tool for the studio, location portrait and wedding photographer. The recent price drop makes it even more attractive as an addition to one's bag of tools.

Customer Service

I have not had to use Kodak customer service up to this point in time, but I can say that customer service from the folks at Precision Camera was friendly, professional and timely.

Similar Products Used:

Kodak DCS420. The 330 is a vast improvement over the 420 in size, weight, image quality and connectivity to a PC.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2000]
Rob Kunda
Professional

Strength:

lot beter than the 420, speed of the camera is relatively quick and yhe ease of trading out old batteries moves fast

Weakness:

this camera's resolution does not out perform a conventional film camera, and images one want to make an 8 by 10 image out of it is not too hard to see the digital pixals. And mostly the built in flash is a really poor at filling a subject properly, but the hotshoe allows a seperate flash to take its place

this camera is great for snap shots and documenting, perfect for jobs that need low resolution like for a newspaper but i would not use it for portraits or igh detail things.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

420

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com