Nikon D1X Digital SLRs

D1X

  • Sensor: 23.7 x 15.6mm 5.3 Megapixel CCD
  • Max resolution: 4,024 x 1,324 pixels
  • Super high-speed image processing
  • 3 frames per second for up to 9 consecutive shots
  • Storage media: CompactFlash Type I and II
  • Flash sync speed to 1/500 sec

  • User Reviews (28)

    Showing 1-10 of 28  
    Chris   Professional [Jan 17, 2015]
    Strength:

    Excellent color, true to life. Fast response with quick AF with a body build that could be used as a weapon. Remember this was Nikon's top of the line.

    Weakness:

    Long been surpassed, weak flash system. Battery life is miserable (Replacement batteries are cheap)

    Although its old,out of date it's still me go to cam for most of my picture taking. It can be had cheaply these days and because of the build quality still a viable option. Shoot Raw and it's basically a 10mp cam.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    brittstokes   Professional [May 21, 2004]
    Strength:

    Speed of autofocus, lens selection, great image quality - I have made 20x30 inch enlargements from images shot in fine JPEG mode that turned out fine - much better than blowing up a 35mm image to that size. With the buffer upgrage (included in newer production cameras) you can shoot a lot of images in a hurry.

    Weakness:

    TTL flash is miserable. Inconsistent. I tried the SB28DX first, now use the SB80 which is somewhat better but still not consistent. I find that for indoor shots, setting the shutter speed to about 1/30th to 1/60th and setting aperture to f/4 or f/5.6, manual exposure mode, flash set to TTL, will work fairly well most of the time. I am suddenly having a major problem - the camera is dropping images when shooting in RAW mode. I shot about 200 shots last weekend for a band - there are about 25 missing images that didn't record to the compact flash, no missing numbers. Doesn't seem to happen shooting in JPEG modes, so off to Nikon it goes this week...

    This is a wonderful camera. It has great strengths - excellent resolution, good color fidelity (shot in Adobe 1998 mode), ability to use manual focus lenses (I shoot a lot with specialty lenses). I have shot 20,000 + images with this body, several thousand of which have been published in print or on the internet.

    Customer Service

    Overall Nikon's technical phone service has been adequate. My original call was a disappointment - the technician told me that Nikon would not support anything if I wasn't using a Lexar brand CF card. Ridiculous. Since that time, they have been very helpful. Service has always been performed in reasonable time.

    Similar Products Used: I previously shot with my trusty F5. After getting the D1X, I almost completely quit using the F5 in favor of digital - the only time I used it in the last year was when the D1X was getting the memory buffer upgrade at Nikon. Previously used the N90, and the FA before that. I still own a bunch of Nikon F2 cameras that I will probably never sell...
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    jzuffoletto   Intermediate [May 13, 2003]
    Strength:

    Rugged construction Excellent ergonomics Excellent autofocus performance Excellent battery life

    Weakness:

    Poor flash performance No useful software bundled with the camera - Photoshop is a must LCD cover should be clear, not milky CCD gets dusty very easily Easy to lose the LCD cover and other protective caps, and expensive to replace them

    Overall this is a great camera, with a solid, professional feel. Construction is excellent, with great material quality and heft. Except for the LCD on the back, the D1X is rugged and durable. If you buy one, READ THE MANUAL, especially concerning the 30+ options settings in one part of the menu system (I don't have my camera with me for reference right now). My outdoor photos had a strong blue cast because I discovered the Hue/Saturation setting was set that way out of the factory. Once I set it to the neutral setting, the color cast went away. Also, especially if you're using Photoshop, set the color space to Adobe RGB, not sRGB (the default). You'll get much better color. I agree with the comments about poor flash performance. I have yet to take even a GOOD flash photo with the SB28DX without making massive exposure adjustments. This has been a major disappointment - even fill flash in sunlight looks terrible. I'm happy with the D1X overall, but it takes a lot more work than my N90S to get great exposures in all conditions. I've gotten much better at Photoshop since buying this camera.

    Customer Service

    Haven't used it, but Nikon's web sites are terrible. They look bad, load slowly, lack organization, and contain little useful information.

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    prophoto_sg   Professional [Jul 30, 2002]
    Strength:

    Firewire for fast download. 6 frames buffer is more enough for me. Sharp picture which can be enlarged to 20"x24".

    Weakness:

    Inconsistent flash exposure. Very weak software interface.

    Used the camera mainly for location wedding photography and studio portrait. The shutter failed after about 7 mths of used during a studio shoot. Nikon Singapore repaired it under warranty in a week and gave me back with a dusty CCD. Otherwise the camera seem to be of very solid build and handle very well. Need to use flash in either Auto or manual mode for consistent result which is where the Quantum Qflash comes in.

    Customer Service

    Not customer oriented, just provide service enough to get by.

    Similar Products Used: Fuji finepix 6900.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    titanium   Expert [Jan 17, 2002]
    Strength:

    accurate color; fast preview; easy transition from the F5;

    Weakness:

    a little light as it doesn''t balance as well as the F5 with a 17-35; small viewfinder image; short battery life (about 200 jpgs with heavy preview and 2 firewire transfers); overpriced; multi-af & 1600/3200 options should have it''s own dedicated buttons instead of thru the menu

    This camera and the Fuji Frontier are the final components to complete my digital darkroom that can produce the same quality prints as film-based photography. And being a web developer, I can share my work with the rest of the world in as little as 15 seconds. The added flexibility to set ASA rating (125-3200) and white balance (WB) greatly expands my options. So far, I''ve done prints on Fuji Crystal Archive Paper at 8x12 and it is excellent. I encountered dust on my 10th day.

    Customer Service

    n/a

    Similar Products Used: fm2 f50 f100 f5
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    christmas   Intermediate [Dec 09, 2001]
    Strength:

    Detail, colour rendition, excellent control positioning, quick, good battery life, well balanced, excellent view finder.

    Weakness:

    The terrible main LCD. Too small, poor resolution, difficult to see in sunlight. The other LCD panels. Again, too small. Adjustment of white balance deserved an ''up front'' control. Shame it doesn''t use ''normal'' batteries

    An Amazingly straight forward professional camera to use. Well balanced, Superb detail, excellent colour rendition. Clear menus, well positioned controls. Can''t yet quite work out how to get SB28DX to work with it consistently to give the correct exposure (but I think it this is my problem - not the cameras). Terrible LCD. Too small, poor resolution. Other LCD Panels could be larger too, with better sized icons. Main LCD cover is pathetic. A cheap opaque plastic affair. Surely Nikon just forgot to actually design this item!!! It is an unforgivable oversight on such an expecnsive camera. Just how do Nikon expect you to view the LCD screen throught it? White balance adjustment could be more straight forward and obvious, but it''s not a severe problem. Battery life is good. Memory access (image recall/store) is very quick. So far, no dust problems on the CCD. The viewfinder is excellent (not always so on all cameras). However, the images produced are nothing short of excellent. Correct colours. Loads of detail. Not as ''in your face'' as the Fuji S1 Pro, but just simply accurate - what more can you ask?

    Customer Service

    Not yet had reason to approach them.

    Similar Products Used: Fuji S1 Pro (the Fuji doesn''t even come close!!!)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Anselmeek   Professional [Nov 13, 2001]
    Strength:

    Image quality, image quality, image quality. Nikon flagship construction. Easy operation, auto focus, metering system and battery life. Accepts almost all Nikon lenses.

    Weakness:

    With D1X none, price should be around $4000. But the 1.5X factor redefines the bottom end on the Nikon lenses. They need a high quality Zoom in the range of 24 to 85 . The quality found in their 20-35mm. The current 24-85 is not and should not be addressed as a professional lens or even carry the Nikon name. Nikon should not have placed their name on that lens. They should sell the lens to a department store and let them place their name on it. on it. Nikon make us a quality lens in the range of 24-85 with silent wave tec. I do not care if it over $1000 we need something of high quality to hang off the front of this camer

    Everything about this camera is belong my expectations. I have been shooting night high school football with and without the SB28X. And the prints at ISO 800 are killer. I have also shot a swim meet and soccer game, along with a Mardi Gras crew( with studio lights). And have been blown away with the results. The move back and forth from my F5 was a breeze. I find the Auto focus and metering to be equal to the F5. The fire time seems to be only slightly and I mean ever so slightly slower than the F5. I fought with the price for a while but the payback will be about 6 mts in film and processing. The instant learning factor of this camera is priceless. Not sure of the setting under extreme conditions, shoot, preview and reset. The 1.5X factor is great on the top end, 300 becomes 450 without a stop loss, but it is tough on the bottom end 20MM becomes a 30MM. I love the camera

    Customer Service

    In 25 years of shooting Nikon I have never had a service issue.

    Similar Products Used: There nothing similar to the D1X
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    efltmd   Professional [Nov 09, 2001]
    Strength:

    Unless you have a perfect negative, this camera blows film away. I don''t care about numbers, I am talking about results. Stunning 11x14 prints are easy if cropping is done in the camera.

    Weakness:

    Bulk, flash exposure problem that many photographers have reported, possible service problems, dust on the ccd. QApparently only some cameras have the exposure problem.

    I am very pleased with this camera. First, I thought it was too big and heavy, but I have gotten used to it. I will never use film again. I used about 100 rolls of film per week, so this camera has paid for itself many times over already. I also have a problem with underexposed flash pictures. Other people have commented on this as well. I seem to get the best flash exposue with the camera on "manual." Any suggestions? I have had no service problems, but have had to blow dust off the ccd several times. I am VERY careful when I change lenses, so I don''t know how to stop this problem. I hate that at some point, blowing off the ccd may not be enough and I''ll have to send the camera in for service. As a professional, I guess I really need two bodies. I am looking forward to a new line of lenses for the digital format. I need wider wide angles, and the current lenses must be much bigger than they have to be since they were designed for 35 mm. Overall, very happy. Unbelievable images. Better than film.

    Customer Service

    don''t know yet. I did lose one of the caps for the electric connections and was able to get a replacement easily enough.

    Similar Products Used: Cannon D30
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    purrie   Expert [Oct 10, 2001]
    Strength:

    Color and Resolution

    Weakness:

    none

    Very nice. Perfect exposures (as expected from Nikon). The amount of detail captured by this camera is simply amazing - you will need good glass. I haven''t seen any other digital SLR with white balance and color quality. The camera body feels solid - similar to F5.

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    ottomonster   Expert [Oct 07, 2001]
    Strength:

    high resolution solid construction excellent metering accurate color

    Weakness:

    Can''t select ISO 1600 with wheel - need to set with custom function buttons.

    Excellent image quality. Low noise at high ISOs including up to 1600. The noise characteristics are very fine and film-like - even more so than Canon D30 or D1H. Nikon''s rating of up to ISO 800 is very conservative. The resolution is extremely high, it will make you rethink about some of the cheaper lenses you might have. Solid construction and awesome Nikon auto-metering. Nikon got the color right with this camera. You can select output in sRGB or Adobe RGB colorspaces. Only thing I wished it had is the ability to dial in ISO 1600 without having to press some custom function buttons. (ISO 125-800 can be selected with the wheel). The D1X basically addresses all the problems and complaints about the D1.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon D1 Canon EOS D30
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 28  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com