Nikon D5000 Digital SLRs

D5000

Entry-level, video-enabled digital SLR with a 12-megapixel sensor and 720p HD video. The Nikon D5000 is Nikon's first DSLR to feature a Vari-angle LCD for multi-angled Live View or video filming.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
M A K   Intermediate [Sep 13, 2010]
Strength:

Much better or near same picture quality as compared to most cameras of the same or even 300$ more price range cameras.
The D5000 is the smallest, lightest Nikon that has technical image quality indistinguishable from Nikon's best D3 and D700 in good light.

Weakness:

Not many, I'd like to have DOF preview button , and LCD should have side hinge , but these are just wishes not serious flaws.

The Nikon D5000 is a camera for people who want to upgrade to a reasonable DSLR from a digital compact , for people who want to use it for everyday or occasional normal photography, and a good starter camera for people like me who are into film and want to try a DSLR , the flipping LCD screen comes handy sometime , the kit lens 18-55mm is above average good lens , but one should either get a 50mm 1.4 or 18-200mm VR normal zoom for good sharp pictures, otherwise the kit lens is just as good.
It is a very quiet camera and offers the technical image quality of Nikon's best DX cameras like the D300s and D90, with the smallest size, weight and price.
The meter is very accurate.
The D5000 has the same Automatic Dynamic Range (ADR) Settings as the D300, D3, D3X, and D90, and includes the newer Auto setting of the D90
The D5000 has the D300s' sensor, the D90's AF sensors, the D300s' superb Gen 2 image processing smarts and the D90's crappy movie mode. The D5000 shares the same Picture Controls as the D300s and other Gen 2 expensive cameras..
Live View is easy to use (just press the [Lv] button), but autofocus is slow.
The INFO panel rotates as you rotate the D5000.
Automatic lens distortion correction works great.
The lens mount is metal, and lenses feel very smooth coming off and on.
In short, if you can't afford D90 , D5000 is the camera to have.

Customer Service

Not contacted yet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sandee Kurtz   Casual [Jul 02, 2010]
Strength:

The camera works well in manual and with all the preset settings. When I'm confused, or know that I don't have a long time to get a shot, Ill use one of the settings on the camera. The option to do some minor editing on the camera is interesting. I like the ability to overlay one photo over another.

I love the GPS ability. I purchased the GPS device before a trip to Europe and it worked very well. Sometimes it was hard to get a signal, but I blame that on the country, not the device.

Weakness:

I purchased a remote to use when I use a tripod. the remote works well, however, I always forget how to set it up. It's not that straight forward. Also - the remote or the sensor, not sure which, is not very sensitive. I have to point the remote directly at the front of the camera.

I've had my Nikon D5000 for almost one year now. I've taken two different photography courses using this camera and am very happy with the camera. The camera is very good for a first time DSLR user, like me. The instructions and other books make it easy to figure things out. The menu system is not at all over whelming. I've been happy with the photos that I've taken too. I also like the weight of the camera, it's not too heavy, and is comfortable to use. I recommend the D5000 to beginner and intermediate photographers.

I recommend getting the GPS, a good tripod and the remote.

Customer Service

I haven't used customer service so I can't comment on that.

Similar Products Used: At work we have a Nikon D80. This is quite similiar, but I find the D5000 easier to use. It may be because I am used to the D5000. I've also tried the D3000s, and was quite overwhelmed. I had trouble focusing on that camera and it's quite heavy. All of the Nikons I use take great pictures.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex Fell   Intermediate [May 23, 2010]
Strength:

Swivel screen.Live view.4fps.HD video.12.3 megapixels.11 autofocus points.

Weakness:

No Autofocus during video all manual unless u lock onto a moving object before starting.

I love this camera, this is my first SLR and its amazing. the 4fps is nice for sports.i would suggest buying this cam with the 18-55 vr AF lens its really usefull for family events.

Similar Products Used: NIkon 55-200 AF Lens,18-55 Nikon AF and VR lens
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
STEVE STEINBERG   Casual [Jan 19, 2010]
Strength:

Price (?); ease of use; video; live view.

Weakness:

Size, not too great resolution, Nikon image processing software is difficult to use and not up to the qualify of others. To pay $100 for better Nikon software is silly, at best.

There is just nothing special about this camera. By trying to provide a less expensive D90 Nikon hasnt much improved on the entry level dslrs and has degraded the D90 level. Of course, the live views and video functions are nice, I just dont use the video and thel live view only rarely (as I am still stuck with old fashioned viewfinders). In my view, unless you are going to buy the real prosumer cameras--D90, Canon 50D etc. a purchaser should consider the new micro cameras. Although the D5000 is lighter than the prosumer cameras, it is still a moderately large camera when compared to the micros from Pana, Olympus and now Samsung.

Customer Service

None, but one email to the President of Nikon about their pricing policies was never answered.

Similar Products Used: Canon Xsi
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
James Morgan   Intermediate [Jan 19, 2010]
Strength:

Hard plastic over Stainless steel body should take lots of abuse, uses SDHD cards (unlike my old D50 which has to have the old SD cards which are slowly disappearing off the shelves).

Light, doesn't tire your hand. Doesn't use those rubber coated handgrips that slowly 'peal away' over time and heavy use.

12 mp sensor, no lag time, fast focus (even with the kit lens), a manual in "Layman's language", Nikon Quality

Movable LCD screen, and ablity to shoot video (although I haven't ever used it)

Weakness:

Would have perferred LCD screen to be hinged to the side, hard to use with a tripod

Older Nikon lenses require manual focusing (requires AS-S lenses to work automatically)

manual focusing of video necessary even with AS-S lenses

LCD menu a bit confusing (make that overwhelming) at first

only $50 less than a D90, which is slightly more capable.

no vertical shutter release (until a good Battery Grip Frame comes out).

Kit lens isn't up the the capabilities of the camera.

NIkon makes a great camera, but their customer service takes forever if it does actually break.

A recall has "tainted" this camera.. luckily, mine is one of the ones made after the problem has been corrected.

As a freelance photographer for different magazines (biker events, paintball, civil war re-enactments, weddings, birthday parities, senior pictures.. the list goes on) I have to buy all my own equipment. I looked over the D90 and the D5000 before choosing the D5000. I love the moveable screen ( allows me to place the camera over my head to get shots that I usually missed from my old digital SLR (a D50).. for that reason I sorely missed the ole Coolpix 4500 I used years ago). quality and color saturation of the picture are good.. no surprises there.. it's a Nikon. The 12 megapixel sensor is the same as on the D90.

It's very quiet operation doesn't disturb wildlife (birds and such) like my older cameras. I expect a lot of good use to come out of this camera for the next five years.

Customer Service

Best Buy sells the camera, but doesn't service it.

I buy insurace to cover my cameras, I know Nikon makes a great camera, but when the do go bad, it takes forever to get them repaired.. so few nikon authorized repair centers

Similar Products Used: Nikon D90, D50, N90s, N50, Coolpix 4500, Coolpix 995
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Anthony Reiss   Professional [Oct 06, 2009]
Strength:

1. The swivel screen is ground breaking. You have to USE it to appreciate it. There are so many innovative uses for it.
2. A D90 disguised as a D40x with the price of a D60.
3. Same CMOS sensor and other features as the D90 but lightweight and easy small fit on travel bags.
4. Flip out the screen and literally SHOOT FROM THE HIP. This reminds me of my Hasselblad and Rolleiflex days. You look down at your waistline to take a photo. The subject never knew what hit them.
5. Flip the screen backward and raise the camera above your head to shoot over the crowd. The monitor helps a lot in framing!
6. When you are in a War Zone, attach the D5000 on a monopod and shoot the action over the wall or on the side of the wall. SEE all the action via the swivel screen! The camera may well be smashed by a bullet but you can still recover the SD Card and claim your Pulitzer Prize.

Weakness:

1. No auto focus on MOVIE mode. I’m in good company. Hollywood films used MANUAL FOCUS cameras for the last 50 years...No! wait! Since the INVENTION of cameras! Yeah... and they still gave us great movies!
2. Relies on modern lenses where the focus motor is on the lens (AF-S). You can still use old lenses but AF is not enabled for those lenses.
3. When you hold the camera, be careful not to PRESS on the monitor with your thumb because it is moveable and not fixed!

"How do you know this will work?"
"Because it's never been done before."
Perhaps those were the conversations between the engineers at the NIKON Lab where they designed the D5000. Much like what Neo said to Trinity in that awesome Office Lobby scene in THE MATRIX.
Well, this innovative swivel screen by the D5000 has got to be the most radical improvement of the SLR era. Much like the FLIP Phone by Motorola, The SLIDE phone by Nokia, The digital music iPod by Apple.
People who complain about the awkwardness of the swivel screen on photo gear forums and chat sites obviously NEVER had used the real thing and are doing just knee jerk judging and forming their opinions from their armchair computer monitors. Well, I have bought the D5000 and used it everyday since unboxing it and I would say it is the most radical SLR I have ever used. Forget about megapixels, resolutions, FPS and those lame technicalities. Almost every other DSLR are offering the the same reportoire, regardless of brand. This camera, the D5000 stands out. It’s design will be the first of many innovative gears to come from camera manufacturers, be it Nikon, Canon, Olympus, etc.
This is a camera where “You Have To Use It To Really Know How Good It Is” comes to play. No amount words or camera reviews will convey to the reader the pleasure of owning such a newfangled toy! If you can save for Christmas, this should be THE ONE on top of the WISH LIST.
“Someday, ALL DSLR’s will have a movie function.”

Customer Service

Too new to say on this product.

Similar Products Used: I'm a NIKON and CANON junkie...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rahul Rallan   Intermediate [Sep 16, 2009]
Strength:

Picture Quality / Swivel LCD Screen / Photo Edit Features / Ease of Handling / Nikkor Optics

Weakness:

None that I can think of except maybe non-pro build quality.

This is not only a GREAT camera but is also great VALUE for money. I dont think that any other camera in this price bracket comes even close. It has everything you need, whether you are a beginner or seasoned hobbyist.Unless you require the extra-rugged construction of a 'Pro' camera, my advice is to GO FOR IT !

Similar Products Used: Nikon D70 & D90
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ratansinghdeo   Intermediate [Sep 08, 2009]
Strength:

1.Excellent image quality with good colour tone.
2.Easy to learn for beginners and gradually step up to creative side.Since from scene mode lot of great settings can be learnt by a beginner.
3.D-light mode is very effective and can be used after snap.
4.High ISO and low light shooting is really great like any high end camera.
5.Picture control mode is really creative which can be modified by user and saved.Good thing is that these setings can be transferred from camera to SD card and from card to camera.
6.The live view mode is slow in face detection mode,but with this price its effective.Other DSLR with this range also slow.
7.11-point and 3-D tracking are good like any high end camera.
8.Battery life is very good.
9.For novice its a fun,for enthusiast a lot are present.
10.User interface i like,with less button,because all buttons have atleast 2 uses.For this please refer user manual.
11.Absolutey no chroma and peripheral distortion.
12.Nikor 18-55 kit lens uses ASPHERICAL element which is present in other manufacturer.

Weakness:

1.Low dot LCD,but battery life is good.

Quality and quality!!!An excellent camera with very good price.After use you may feel D90 quality.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com