Canon EOS Rebel 2000/EOS 300 35mm SLRs

Available At:
EOS Rebel 2000/EOS 300

Canon's tradition for improving its product line with advanced imaging technology has never been more evident than with its newest generation of the world's best selling 35mm SLR camera, the EOS Rebel. The EOS Rebel 2000 is Canon's newest entry-level 35mm SLR camera, featuring a variety of enhancements at an attractive price. Sporting an elegant new exterior design, the sleek EOS Rebel 2000 gives photographers unprecedented creative control, including 7-point autofocus, 35-zone AE metering and a variety of other improvements. With its convenient, built-in retractable flash and 11 versatile shooting modes, the EOS Rebel 2000 lets you get great photos of vacations, sporting events, landscapes, portraits and more.

User Reviews (220)

Showing 1-10 of 220  
Jamie   Casual [May 31, 2009]
Strength:

-settings
-zoom
-focus

Weakness:

I have not found a weakness yet.

This camera I bought used and I have been using for a while. I absolutely love this camera! It takes excellent pictures and I have never had a problem with it. I strongly suggest this camera no matter what anyone else says.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
rafalweb   Intermediate [Jan 05, 2007]
Strength:

Great auto modes
All the manual controls you need
Accurate meter
Accurate autofocus
Batteries last longer than any of us will be alive
Excellent performance with EF USM lenses
Great camera for learning, AND growing into

Weakness:

No aperture ring
Takes time to master the 7 point AF - be careful, you may focus on the wrong thing, and your subject may be blurry......just learn the technique

Fine camera. To all those who claim that it isn't a seroius camera, and will be outgrown quickly, I say, put a fine lens on it (I have a Canon 50/1.4 and 28-105/3.5), put high quality film in, know your composition, know your light, know your subject, and then snap a great pic. People won't be able to tell what camera you took the shot with. I've shot beautiful pics with this camera, and have shot crappy pics with more advanced cameras, so I don't buy that statement.

It has all the manual controls you need, good auto modes, and a good meter. The only thing I feel is missing from this camera is the rear aperture wheel on the Elans and up.......but that's all I'm really missing.

As for concerns about durability, if you're going to bang a camera around, buy a Holga for 15 bucks. I care for my cameras. Plus, I have dropped this one, w/o any breakage or ill effect.

I have no problem with the built in flash......I use my 28-105, keep a distance of abuot 7-10 feet from the subject, zoom in, and I get as beautiful flash shots as built-in flash can be.

Point is, it's the technique, not just the camera, that makes the great picture.

Fully and highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jhodges   Intermediate [May 31, 2005]
Strength:

Good weight with BP-200 Vertical shutter release with BP-200 Easy to use Auto and manual modes Depth of field preview button (I wish the Elan II had that) Good shutter response Precise auto focus Accurate metering

Weakness:

Slow motor AI focus is not intelligent Drive, focus, meter modes not changeable Too small to hold without battery pack BP-200 Viewfinder dark compared to higher-end models

This was my second SLR camera. My first I got when I was much younger and too impatient for manual cameras. But my Rebel 2000 might as well have been my first. I have learned a lot from using this camera. I first got it because I wanted a decent camera for taking pictures of thunderstorms. Now, 3 years later, I'm heading toward a career in photojournalism. It was great to get started with, because of the numerous automatic modes that I relied on at first. Eventually, I wanted to figure out how photography really worked, and this camera let me do that, too. Now, I'm usually in Av or Manual. As time went on, I played with the higher end cameras and began to envy the large wheel on the back of higher-end cameras. Actually, adjusting exposure or aperture with the button/wheel combination on the Rebel 2000 isn't a bad setup. (I don't like how the new rebels moved that button to the middle of the camera.) Another thing I found lacking eventually was the lack of control over meter, focus and drive modes. Each of those functions is linked to the exposure mode you're in. When in an auto mode, you are usually stuck with one-shot drive, matrix metering, one-shot focus modes. Even in P/Tv/Av/M you were stuck with continuous drive, AI focus and center-weighted metering, unless you press the * button. I don't mind being in continuous drive mode or center-weighted metering, but the AI focus was not very intelligent. Even with my 100mm f2 lens it would usually stop focusing on moving subjects after it acquired a focus. Worst of all, if the camera didn't think it was in focus, you couldn't release the shutter. Even these limitations had their benefits, however. I learned to manually focus relatively quickly (though usually I was sitting perpendicular to the flow of action). I did get into using the exposure lock button more. Still, in January I bought a used Elan II and have hardly used the Rebel 2000 since. And now that I also have a 10D, I'm probably going to sell it. I've gotten too used to being in control of more of the functions of my camera. Pretty soon I'm probably going to find I can't live without mirror lock-up and leaving the leader out. The Rebel 2000 has been handy. Last time I used it, I had the short zoom on it and my 200mm lens on my Elan II at a baseball game. The Rebel is light enough to hang from my wrist while I shoot with the Elan. It has been a good camera, but the time has come to let it go, to free another would-be photographer from automation.

Customer Service

none so far (on any Canon product)

Similar Products Used: Canon Elan II, 10D Olympus C-60 Several point-and-shoots
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
SF Rebeldude   Beginner [Nov 26, 2004]
Strength:

Ease of use, Multiple Autofocus and Manual Functions, Number of lenses available that function perfectly with this camera. Price.

Weakness:

Doesn't have the larger LCD Panel of Rebel Ti. Its not a digital SLR.

I bought this camera body used as a backup to my Canon EOS Rebel Ti and I have loved it ever since. I love to put Macro Lenses on both my cameras and walk thru Botanical Gardens and parks. This camera has taken razor sharp pictures from day one. All features seem to be working perfectly. I have put together a little collection of lenses that both my Canon EOS cameras can use. Both cameras seem to work equally as well with the different lenses. Lenses used are Canon EF 28-200mm AF USM, Sigma 28-80mm AF MZM, Sigma 100-300mm AF DL, Sigma 50mm Macro AF, Sigma 105mm Macro AF and Tamrom 19-35mm Super Wide Angle AF. I like to shoot a variety of Landscape, Macro (close up photos of flowers) and Sports (Baseball). I eventually want to upgrade to a Canon EOS Digital. I like to post photos on Webshots, so I scan a good number of my photos. If I went Digital I would save a great deal on developing cost. I have been very pleased with Canon Products so far. Even though I had a Canon AE 1 20 years ago, I am basically starting all over again with 35mm photography. The Rebel 2000 is a great introductory camera. I am now getting into Aperture Control and Manual Focus Options. This camera is a very worthy backup and a nice primary camera.

Customer Service

Canon Customer Service Email Response has been great.

Similar Products Used: Canon EOS Rebel Ti, Canon AE 1 (20 years ago) Fugica (20 years ago).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lthlwpn1979   Intermediate [Aug 25, 2003]
Strength:

Many, many lenses can be used with it. Easy to change settings. Light, easy to carry Depth-of-field preview button

Weakness:

Can't use infrared film because the infrared sensor used for film advancement causes foging (bottom part of film turns white). CR2 batteries not everywhere, bring spares. A cover for the flash mount wouldn't hurt

After a year of frequent use, I must say that I am very impressed with this camera. It is the first SLR I've used and I plan on keeping it for some time. To begin, the number of lenses you can use with this camera is staggering. Canon has many lenses; and other companies like Tamron, Sigma, Vivitar, Tokina, etc. make lenses with EOS mounts. There are several programed aperature and shutter speed settings and automatic settings which are adjusted by turning a knob, fairly simple and easy. The internal light metering system is very accurate. The autofocusing system is also accurate and fast. Canon's Ultra Sonic Motor lenses work great in any environment but on occasson in outdoor areas where that one twig gets in the way frequently. The depth-of-field preview button is a great feature because you can adjust the aperature size and see what will be in focus before you take the picture. It takes a little experimenting to get use to because what the viewfinder shows gets dark. The body has a sleek design and is fairly compact and light. There are several add-on flashes available on top of the built-in flash which works fine. I also found out that older flashes (such as Speedlite 199A) desinged for Canon FD cameras work with the Rebel. Canon could include a flash mount cover like many other companies. I have produces pictures of wildlife that I have been able to sell because of the cameras versatility and reliability. Canon did good with this model. Lenses used: Canon 28 f/1.8, 28-80 3.5-5.6 II, 28-105 USM, 75-300 IS USM Tamron 70-300 4-5.6 1:1 macro Sigma 170-500 APO

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
systemerror909   Intermediate [Aug 08, 2003]
Strength:

-Ammount of picture taking modes: from point and shoot to fully manual, it has a mode for any situation. -Light weight: paired with canon's EF 50mm f1.8II, this is canon's lightest camera and lens in the lineup. Doesn't seem to weigh anything, and takes incredibly sharp pictures you can greatly enlarge. -Decently fast autofocus: good enough for most situations when paired with a good lens. -Accurate metering: Evaluative and partial spotmetering are really great. -Cheap price: Great value camera, especially as a back up body for someone owning a more professional EOS camera.

Weakness:

-Viewfinder: due to mirror construction, it is a bit dimmer and smaller than an all glass one. Not painfully noticable unless in dim light. -Midroll rewind: winds film leader into film, so you can't swap from one film to the other midroll. This is a custom function on the elan 7e, one of the reasons' I didn't get another rebel. -Lack of custom functions

Despite being termed as a "beginner camera," this is actually quite a capable camera. I bought this camera with the standard kit lens for $400 in the summer of 2000. Since then it has come down quite a bit in price, making this camera quite an incredible value. The beauty of the EOS system really shines through with this camera, because any of the lenses in the EOS line up will work with this camera, as well as highly sophisticated eTTL flashes that actually communicate with the camera to provide accurate exposure. Overall, the camera's light metering system is very accurate, even in tricky situations. Very oftentimes I find that I didn't have to spot meter a scene, because the camera's evaluative metering has already come up with the same exposure values. Overall I would say that the autofocus is very fast for a camera in this price range, and much much faster than earlier autofocus cameras. This camera does have an autofocus fast enough to do sports, however you have to have a lens with a fast motor or you will miss your shot. I'd suggest using internally focused USM lenses if you want to do sports. I have canon's 75-300mm f4-5.6 III lens, and because it has neither of these it is practically worthless for sports photography ( though it manually focuses fine for action). The other main concern people have with this camera is the polycarbonate body and lens mounting ring. Some people believe that these will not hold up. I disagree, after three years of hard abuse, in rain, poor camera bags, up the mast of tall ships, and through the streets of many cities, this camera does have some wear to the finish, but is still very solid. It will take a good amount of abuse. I have upgraded to an elan 7e recently, but not because I have grown out of the features on this camera. The rebel 2000 has a ton of different modes for almost any situation. I purchased the elan because I need a second camera body, one for black and white, and one for color.

Customer Service

Had a canon digital camera go in for service about a week ago. Waiting to see how it comes back.

Similar Products Used: Canon Elan 7e Canon 10D Canonet GIII QL 17 Canon A70
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Igor Gorgievski   Beginner [Jul 13, 2003]
Strength:

weight exellent design easy to use great camera for beginer

Weakness:

only one: manual focusing point selection

I use my camera mostly for photographing scenaries, nature, landscapes. I'm mountain-hiker, so I like it's weight of no more then 600g. The design of the camera is impressive, I like the combination of silver and black, much more than the new 300V. The only button that is not in right place is that of manual selection of focusing point(which is corrected on 300V). You have to take the eye away from the viewfinder, if you like to select focus point manualy. Everything else on the camera is exellent(here I'm not talking anything about the kit lens 28-90DC).

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
PHOTOMONKEY   Professional [May 24, 2003]
Strength:

1. Weight. 2. Price. 3. Canon EOS system. 4. Good buiild for all plastic body. 5. Fun body that doesn't feel scary to use under extreme conditions - relates to price. 6. Buy used for real value!!!

Weakness:

1. Film advance speed. 2. Heft witnhout battery pack. 3. Lacks some advance functions found on more expensive models (DUH!).

The Rebal 2000 is a backup body to my backup body to my main body. It goes from EOS 3 to Elan 7 to Rebel 2000. I have had this body since I bought it for my wife as a Christmas gift a few years back. She failed to latch onto it and I seized it and made it part of my kit. Is it a worthy backup body? You bet it is!!! This light, inexpensive EOS body (even more so now that the new Rebel is out and the Ti is on the shelves) is ideal for the beginning photog or someone who just nneds a quality, light-weight body. I have had ZERO problems with this body and have used it under extreme conditions - timjes when I was afraid to sacrifice the EOS Elan 7 or EOS 3. I love the feel of the body with the battery pack attached. Fits in bigger hands very well. Ultimate advice...don't hesitate to plunk down a little money on this fantastic little Canon body. You will NOT be disappointed. Sample images: www.carosephoto.com

Customer Service

Never needed!

Similar Products Used: 1. Canon EOS Elan II 2. Canon EOS Elan 7 3. Canon EOS A2 4. Canon EOS Elan 7E
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
apc23   Intermediate [May 06, 2003]
Strength:

A very good photographic tool for all ages and use.

Weakness:

A querry about the battery usage.

Bought this camera as a backup to an older EOS 650. It is a superb choice as it is fully loaded with modern electronic features with night scene mode a bonus. However, I found that the two CR Batteries drained fast without even taking any picture whatsover; All I used the camera for at the time was to familarize myself with the dials and various buttons and the next day the batteries were well drained. I am not sure if there is a problem with the camera itself or the batteries or neither of the two. Could someone please advice.

Customer Service

Contacted Canon about above problem. Was asked to try some more new CR Batteries. But bought battery pack instead to see if this would last longer

Similar Products Used: Canon EOS 650, old but outstanding results throughout.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
ChrisWhaley   Intermediate [Mar 10, 2003]
Weakness:

Perfection would have been a spot meter.

I have enjoyed this camera since spring of 2001. It's light and easy to carry so you can take it most anywhere without it becoming a cumbersome issue especially with the 50 1.8 on it. All manual or you can put it on program and let others use it who only know to point and shoot. Tons of lenses to pick for it and you can slap the same ones on it you would on any pro body. Exposures are accurate and once you get the idea of how it works you can work around it to get more creative results. It is sturdy and can take some tumbles onto carpet and some floors but I wouldn't go trying to test the integrity of it on concrete. It's gotten wet from light rain several times but haven't had any problems from that. Good camera..others similar to it in the price range with similar options so the big selling point is the access to Cannon lenses. I would suggest it to anyone looking to grow in photography. It will serve you well and give you results according to your skill level.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 220  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com