Canon EOS Rebel GII 35mm SLRs

Available At:
EOS Rebel GII

35mm SLR (Single-Lens Reflex) AF / AE camera with built-in winder and built-in flash.

  • Autofocus: TTL with 3 selectable focusing points
  • Focus modes: One-Shot AF, AI Servo AF, Manual Focus
  • Light meter: TTL Evaluative, Centerweighted average, Partial Metering (approx. 9%)
  • Exposure: Intelligent program AE, Shutter priority, Aperture priority, Depth-of-Field priority, Full auto, Picture modes, Manual, Auto exposure bracketing, and Exposure compensation
  • Built-in flash, 1/90th sec. sync

  • User Reviews (8)

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    Joel   Casual [Mar 13, 2016]
    Strength:

    - Easy to use
    - Lightweight
    - Good size (I have small hands)
    - Takes the EF lenses of today
    - Accurate meter

    Weakness:

    - Can be slow to get to the next shot
    - Pretty noisy motor (but bearable)
    - Batteries are getting harder to find in my country

    Been shooting digital for a while now but got interested in film after I got bored with digital. Started taking film photos in 2015 with regular viewfinder cameras which I found to be working. Soon after found out about SLRs. Bought this from a total stranger at a bargain price. Loaded some film in and with my 50mm lens, took some pretty good shots. Still have a long way to go to get better at film. But a very user friendly camera to use for beginners looking into shooting film.

    Similar Products Used: - Canon EOS 600D
    - Olympus Trip 35
    - Olympus Trip MD
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Master Phoenix   Intermediate [Sep 10, 2005]
    Strength:

    a very versitile, easy to use camera.

    Weakness:

    Only three AF zones, but I tend to use manual focus anyway.

    I was going though some drawers at work, and found the former display model Rebel GII sitting there. It had been clearenced out to be replaced by the old models, so I was able to get a screaming deal. I had been wanting to get a new SLR so I could get back into photography, and this was my chance. I jumped at the chance to get a Canon Rebel for $70. When I started shooting with it I was not disapointed. It is a great camera. I have only used the included 35-80mm lens thus far, but it has suited my purposes. I know that the GII is last year's model, but if you see one laying around somehwere you can get a great deal on a very good camera. the only drawback I had was that since it was aa display model, it did not come with the user manual. But thanks to the help at the Canon 800 number, I was able to figure the thing out quite easily.

    Customer Service

    The Canon Customer Service rep was awesome in helping me to get over the no manual problem.

    Similar Products Used: Olympus OM-10 and a Ricoh (I dont know the model, it was a gift from an exgirlfriend.)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    icanthackit   Casual [May 24, 2005]
    Strength:

    The camera's built in meter is GREAT! The partial metering is a wonderful option as one bright point of light in a photo or one dark part can really mess up the whole photo. The manual is very clear as well, though you may want to read it a few times while holding the camera to work on things. All of my pictures for my class were taken in the "Creative" zone, including P, TV, AV, and M. I use AV mode the most. It's very light and isn't bad to carry around with a good camera bag. Look for one by Canon.

    Weakness:

    Autofocus in lowlight isn't always good, even with the assist beam. You can't turn off the autofocus beam unless you use manual focus. Frames per second is low. Shutter is somewhat loud for quiet times.

    I was originally going to go for a Minolta of similar price but the walmart that I was working at didn't have the Minolta. They had a Nikon but the technician recommended Canon. I also asked them to check how many of each of them they have sold recently. They had sold more of the Canon Rebel GII's and after that, I got the camera, a bag, and a tripod. The camera is light enough that it would fit on even their most lightweight camera provided there wasn't a huge wind. I mean HUGE wind. I used the camera for a while in some of the auto modes but I tended to find them restrictive and wanting to learn more about photography myself, I read up on info at betterphoto.com and experimented while using up a LOT of film. The camera came with Canon's 35-80mm f/4.0-5.6 lens that was fine for outdoor pictures but not as good for indoors. Something else that you HAVE to get out of our head with SLR cameras is the generalizations for which speed of film to use. ISO 100 is not just for outdoors and with a flash. I would recommend buying a Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens for under $90. Even though it's a fixed lens and does not zoom, it immediately upgrades the photos that will come from the camera. I used this camera for a slide photography class at my college (Indiana University: Bloomington) and had some of the sharpest slides in my class with this camera and lens.

    Customer Service

    None needed. I got everything I needed from reading the manual, looking online, and checking out betterphoto.com.

    Similar Products Used: Canon 20D digital SLR
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    NatureGirl   Intermediate [Sep 12, 2004]
    Strength:

    Great Quality and Clear Pictures The TV Mode Is my Fave...For exp. I took a picture of a waterfall with an original cam and it looked choppy once I manually put it on a lower shutter speed it looked beautiful like a smooth painting.

    Weakness:

    The weight of it...But alas it is because of the heavy duty 300 mm lens. it can easily be changed with a more lighter EOS lens they are most compatible

    Never can Go Wrong really with a rebel series their all fantastic but I really enjoy this one. Its rather simple to use and you also have a creative zone where u choose the shutter speed. plus many more options..very great detailed manual...

    Customer Service

    Wont be needing it any time soon.

    Similar Products Used: Eos rebel x.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    jdeezer   Casual [Jul 31, 2004]
    Strength:

    Ease of use

    Weakness:

    I have not found any

    I bought this camera to take to Hawaii on vacation. I just got the picutes back. UNBELIEVABLE! Almost every pic turned out perfect. I did have a couple of dark ones, but they were my fault - should have used the flash. Very clear pics, I even played with the shutter speeds during some action shots - They really were "freeze frame" quaility! Easy to use, even my 13 year old took great shots.

    Customer Service

    N/A

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    camerakid88   Casual [May 19, 2004]
    Strength:

    Cost to benefit ration, good auto focus, good automatic settings, good manual settings, easy to use right out of the box

    Weakness:

    No weaknesses!

    Great camera for the price. very easy to use, but has lots of functions that you can grow into, so you wont get bored with it :-) Great staff at walmarts photo center, they answered every question i had and treated me great. I would go back there for anything.

    Customer Service

    Excellent! Thanks Wal-Mart!

    Similar Products Used: minolta, canon
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    iMacMike   Intermediate [Aug 10, 2003]
    Strength:

    Fast auto focus. Easy to use Auto modes. Easy to learn Manual modes. Works with any EOS compatible lens. Well written manual.

    Weakness:

    A little heavy to carry all day, especially with a 300mm lens.

    I bought the Rebel GII kit with Quantaray 28-90mm and 100-300mm lenses to replace my trusty old Kalimar manual, which had developed a light leak. The Rebel is without a doubt the best camera I've ever picked up. I should have spent the extra money years ago and got a Canon instead of the cheaper Kalimar. The auto functions are very handy and exposures are accurate, whether shooting outdoor action, indoor portraits, or night scenes without flash. The manual controls were easy to learn and are well designed. The autofocus is fast and accurate, but does sometimes get confused between foreground and background objects, especially if they are high contrast. A quick flip to manual focus solves this. I've run about 20 rolls through the Rebel so far and I've not been disappointed. This is a great camera!

    Customer Service

    Haven't needed yet.

    Similar Products Used: Kalimar K90, Pentax, and RichoFlex.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Hurleyjock1982   Intermediate [May 30, 2003]
    Strength:

    good focusing, controls easy to use and a nice lay out

    Weakness:

    Lcd display could have a light on it for night shots..weird grip at first but get used to it

    Great Camera, Easy to learn...Wanted the rebel 2000 but bought this one because they were out of the 2000 and im glad they were..this is alot better.

    Customer Service

    To pushy for me..rather went to walmart

    Similar Products Used: Pentax
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-8 of 8  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com