Canon EOS Rebel T2 35mm SLRs

Available At:
EOS Rebel T2

The most advanced SLR in its class with latest automation, a "souped-up" selection of powerful features, expanded shooting modes and state-of-the-art E-TTL II autoflash. A masterpiece of form and function, its luxurious design is both lightweight and ergonomic to make it truly user friendly.

  • 7-point High-Speed, Wide-Area Selectable AF w. 3 AF modes
  • Advanced 35-zone Metering
  • Exposure: Full auto, program AE with program shift, scene modes, shutter-priority, aperture-priority, manual, w. exposure compensation and auto exposure bracketing
  • Built-in flash w. advanced E-TTL II flash metering
  • Compatible with over 50 Canon EF Lenses

  • User Reviews (8)

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    chas   Professional [Dec 03, 2007]
    Strength:

    Same as reported below.

    Weakness:

    Same as in prior review. Handle and store with care. Don't know how many cycles the shutter is rated for and am tempted to buy a second one as insurance, before they discontinue it. Not a rugged camera but not a toy, either. Really wish it had a built-in eyepiece blind. Make one as an accessory, Canon, and I'll buy it. The separate little eyepiece cover provided is not practical.

    A follow-up review after a lot of use. Glad Canon continues the film camera line and you can't beat this one for value. Just love it. Featherweight (both an advantage and disadvantage, but for myself, the former). Excellent film point-and-shoot, providing it doesn't have to be truly pocketable for you. Actually have been using this with 200mm f2.8L. Sounds crazy but it balances well the way I hold it. You can take it anywhere with the 50 1.8 and forget about it if you don't want to take pictures. Not a burden at all. Replaced the 7N I mentioned had been stolen, below, but usually prefer using the T2!

    Customer Service

    Haven't needed it.

    Similar Products Used: See review below
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Sharon   Intermediate [Jun 26, 2006]
    Strength:

    The photos are colorful and clear

    This is a good camera. It is durable, and takes a good shot. Invest in the lenses to give you the variety and you won't be disappointed.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    besnond   Intermediate [May 01, 2006]
    Strength:

    1/4000th shutter capacity, 1/125th x-sync for fill flash. 7 pt auto focus points (but I use strickly on center point --most sensitive. Accurate ETTL-2 flash and accurate exposure = good photos.

    Weakness:

    None. Not at this price.

    For film users, this camera provides a great balance between weight and performance. Its ultra reliable and great on battery life.

    The built-in ETTL-2 pop up flash gives excellent "fill-flash" for people protraits--it's always dead on accurate and beautifully-filled. The flash-synch speed doesn't go all the way to 1/250th, but 1/125th is quite excellent for entry level SLR. For candle shots during birthdays without flash, the exposure meter is dead accurate (even in auto mode).

    What I really love about this T2 is that the exposure of the photos come out really perfect 99 percent of the time (even in auto mode), considering it uses Canon's 35-zone evauating meter system. Using plain old ISO (any) Kodak or Fuji negative film availble at any local store, the included kit lens takes excellent photos. Photos taken with the bundled lens come out sharp and well exposed, with accurate color-rendition. No comparison to L lenses, but good enough for 4x6 photos.

    This T2 is accurately capable of taking 3 frames per second in the "One Shot" AF (auto focus) mode, but in "AI Servo" AF mode the frame drops to 1.5-2 fps because it has to track the moving object to get proper focus. HOWEVER, this frame rate dramatically changes with you switch from the kit lens (uses ADF motor inside the lens to focus) to the USM lens (it's so much faster and smoother and focuses rapidly faster than ADF (non-usm) lenses).

    In "AI Servo" focus mode, the Canon T2's autofocus is waaaay faster than my Canon A2e's autofocus system (both using the 28-105mm USM Lens). The T2's autofocus system is very, very sensitive to light changes in AI SERVO mode, which I love (USM motor re-focuses rapidly like crazy).

    I've used the T2 with my other Canon 28-105 3.5/4.5 USM lens and compared it to the included kit lens bundled with the T2, and I can comfirm that there's virtually no sharpness or color-redition difference. Obviously the weight of the 28-105 is heavier than the bundled lens, considering its superior build quality (both use same filter sizes). Oh, and the front element of the bundled lens kit rotates, so don't even bother buying a polarizing filter for it, unless you get something like the 28-105 f3.5/4.5 canon.

    The built-quality is sufficed to bring you a light weight camera. But the dial is strong and firm, and best of all, its got a METAL lens mount (not plastic). Also, eyeglass wearers will love the dioptic eye adjustment on the t2 (which I use).

    Similar Products Used: Canon A2e pro SLR. Canon A510 budget digital camera (excellent pocket cam)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Firedemon   Expert [Mar 19, 2006]
    Strength:

    Light weight, great functionality, 7 point auto focus for those of us who just want to point and shoot. Pretty good starter lense in the kit.

    Weakness:

    Fairly slow burst fire, but still not bad. Plastic construction, makes it light weight but a little flimsy

    The Canon Rebel T2 was basically the only camera that I considered buying when I decided to purchase a camera. I did my research and checked around at local shops and with all the information that I got it seemed that this camera was the way to go. Prior to this camera I had a point and shoot digital Canon that worked very well for very simple things and basically I was looking for something with that ability but with more adjustability and function. Thats when I decided to move to SLR and found that there was a whole new world wait for me there. The body is extreemly light and easy to handle which makes hauling it around all day not a problem. The auto focus is quick and acurate when shooting from a distance, but when you get something less then 3 feet away it has a little bit of trouble in my experience. The lense it came with was ok, just a basic Canon Zoom EF 28-90mm with a 58mm filter mount, gave me alot of crisp clear pictures for the price that I paid. After I straped on a wide angle lense it really showed what this camera can do with the proper motivation so to speak. I know not everyone is looking to use a wide angle lennse but it really made this camera sing. Also with the burst fire being as it is, 3 fps, I'm able to do alot of high speed shots shootting an 800 speed film, well multiple high speed shots. I've run a few tests shooting speed skating and I was able to get alot of good shots basically taking stride after stride. For any photographer this is an amazing camera, pro's can use it for just an inexpensive back up and amatures can use it for a great entry level camera. This camera has everything that you can find in some more expensive pro cameras with the price of a beginners camera, great buy for the money!

    Similar Products Used: Nikon F50
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    charles stewart   Professional [Aug 13, 2005]
    Strength:

    With few exceptions, it will do everything the popular and more expensive 7N will do. Not limiting for serious workers the way earlier Rebels were. Very lightweight and small.

    Weakness:

    Cannot leave leader out when rewinding; an annoyance. Cannot select any of the three metering modes in any operating mode, but by understanding the default modes as described in the manual, the problem can be easily worked around. You have two of them available at all times. I don't like having the LCD panel on the back; prefer it on top. Very light plastic construction; not made for punishing pro assignments. Mirror blackout time a bit longer than I'd like, but the fastest of any Rebel. Only 3 FPS, fine for me, adequate for all but the most frantic action.

    I thought I should take the time to review this camera - for the 6 or 8 people left in the world who still like working with film -, as it has been said that it's the last film rebel, depending on sales, and judging from the number of reviews here, I imagine it's true. It's really an excellent and capable lightweight tool which can be used for serious work. It replaced an EOS 7e that I had stolen, and is quite an adequate replacement, by far the most advanced rebel, incorporating the usual 3 metering modes, continuous AF, and one feature that improves on the EOS 7's: it is set up for one-hand operation. ALL normal shooting functions can be manipulated with fingers and thumbs of the right hand, which is just great for snapshooting. A wrist strap and a lightweight lens are all you need and you can carry it comfortably all day. Try the 50mm 1.8 with it and you'll be amazed. The manual should be read carefully, to learn how the systems work and interact to get the desired results with ease. If you waste a set of batteries practicing it's worth the expense. Five stars for its class: it's no EOS 1V for durability and speed but just look what I paid.

    Customer Service

    Haven't used.

    Similar Products Used: Lots of plastic SLR's for carrying around without a burden. This is by far the best.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    @gwe   Casual [Aug 04, 2005]
    Strength:

    Great ergonomics. Full feature set. Metal lens mount. Lightweight. Lighted LCD at the back a lot easier to view. Prewinding film feature is nifty.

    Weakness:

    None.

    I received this camera as a gift from relatives returning home from the USA. I had read several reviews of its predecessor, the Rebel Ti but not too many of this model. All I can really say is that I was impressed with the full feature set, great grip, and easy to carry weight of the camera. I mounted a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 and I had a compact SLR set ready for travel. It's great for casual shooters who want to learn about photography, and since it's an SLR, it will grow with you so long as your budget can support the lenses you require. I shoot mostly in P-Mode since I have yet to take formal photography lessons to get a grasp of the correct apertures and shutter speeds, yet the results I get are better than expected. I shoot mostly with FujiFilm 400 Superias just to give me some flexibility for any situation. I'm very happy with the product and anyone looking for a lightweight SLR to get their feet wet in photography should definitely consider this one.

    Customer Service

    Not used.

    Similar Products Used: Nikon F50
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    bensonmachine   Beginner [Apr 04, 2005]
    Strength:

    Performance and accuracy of this camera's metering and autofocus system (excellent and ultra-fast). ETTL-2 blows away my old Canon A2E's flash system, and there are endless "add-on's" for this camera--making it very capable for amatures to learn just about everything of SLRs.

    Weakness:

    light-weight construction (plastic), but this is mainly due to its protablity (but sometimes light-weight cameras are great for traveling VS my Canon A2E (heavy on the neck). 3rd party flashes (Sunpak, etc) will not work with this camera due to it's need for a ETTL-2 capable flash.

    Excellent camera for the price. This camera is extremely versitile, as it will go completely manual, or simply use it's EOS program modes and let the camera do everything, so you can just point-and-shoot. Has built in "dept-of-field" preview, and flash-on-demande button--aslo capable of 3 frames/second (3 photo shots per second). All with a huge, back-lit LCD display on the back of the camera body. The 3 factors that I found have effected picture quality on this camera (as with all other cameras) are the Shutter speed, apreture, and of course ISO speed/quality of the roll of Film you are using. These will determine your pix quality (along with the lens optic quality). At this price, the technology offered is unheard of. Take for example, the 35-zone metering system (the Canon T2 SLR uses Canon's famous CMOS sensor--found in their expensive Digital SLRs to calibrate the subject(s) you are pointing at (which automatically sets the metering/contrast system). It should also be known that the Canon T2 utilizes 7 points of "autofocus sensors" (red-dots) in the viewfinder(all individually selectable to the desired selected area where you want more focus) . When you are in manual mode, you may use these 7 auto focus "points" to "focus-lock" into the camera's "Spot Metering" system--this helps to get you perfect contrast balance between light and dark areas before you make the photo shot (helps with over and under-exposing). But what trully makes this T2 camera so remarkable is its flash system: Canon's infamous ETTL-2 flash system (Evaluating Through-The-Lens II). The ETTL-2 flash system of the Canon T2 SLR automatically pops up the built-in flash in dim-light situations and preflashes multiple burstes of flashes to help the camera set correct exposure and focus in dim lighting)--an excellent feature compared to my old Canon A2E's A-TTL flash system. The avaiable shutter speed on the Canon T2 is maximized at 1/4000--which should be fast enough to freeze almost anything (6-second drag-race cars require only 1/1500 shutter speed to be "froze" on the picture shot--and this Canon has 1/4000 available!). It should also be noted that the Canon T2 SLR has very similar specifications to it's bigger brother Canon's Elan 7N (the 7NE has "Eye-controlled Focus"). It is required that you use a EX series Canon Speedlite flash instead of the other line of flash(EZ, E, etc) to take advantage of the camera's ETTL-2 pre-flashing flash system. Also, recommended to use canon's BP-220 vertical-grip because it makes the T2 camera look more perfessional and gives it weight--and at the same time lets you use AA batteries instead of the expense C2R lithium batteries ($10) and...this makes the camera capable ot 3 Frames Per Second.

    Similar Products Used: Canon's infamous A2E EOS slr with 28-105mm USM (f3.5-4.5) Also used a 75-300mm (f4.5-5.6) Canon EOS lens on this T2 camera
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    AndrewS   Expert [Dec 20, 2004]
    Strength:

    Does everything well. Fast, accurate AF even in low light, accurate metering, bright clear viewfinder, remarkable suite of features for the price including a very sophisticated flash capability.Metal lens mount, it's a real camera.

    Weakness:

    At this price none but I wish it could do mirror lock up.

    What a nice surprise ! This little wonder does almost everything its big brother the EOS1V can do but costs only 8% as much and is super light as well. This must be one of the best photo bargains of all time and a compelling argument for staying with film. I would give this one a 6 rating for value if that were possible.

    Customer Service

    Not required yet but usually excellent from Canon Australia.

    Similar Products Used: EOS 630, 10, 30, 33V, 1V
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:
    Available At:

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com