Canon EOS Rebel Ti / 300V 35mm SLRs

Canon EOS Rebel Ti / 300V 35mm SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

35mm focal plane shutter SLR (Single-Lens Reflex) autofocus / autoexposure camera with built-in motor drive and retractable flash.

  • Exposure: Program AE, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Auto Depth-of-Field, Full Auto, Picture Modes, Manual, w. Exposure Compensation
  • Meter: TTL w. Evaluative, Center-Weighted, and Partial Center-Weighted
  • Shutter: 30 to 1/2000 sec. and Bulb
  • Built-in flash
  • Flash synch: 1/90 sec
  • Diopter
  • Depth-of-field preview button

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 41  
    [Jun 20, 2017]
    William
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Ease of use, multiple exposure modes, fast auto focus, lightweight, more than adequate zoom lens

    Weakness:

    Ergonomics and "feel" not great, annoyingly small button to open the back of the camera.

    I was looking for a lightweight, easy to use camera with a built-in flash for general use, and got a very good deal on a used one. I was already using my Nikon N90s and my non-auto focus Minolta X-700 and X-570, but I was becoming more and more unwilling to use these cameras in inclement weather, not to mention that the N90s is HEAVY! This Canon EOS Rebel Ti is a terrific little camera and I am more than pleased. It has a wide variety of pre-set modes as well as shutter priority, aperture priority, and full manual. The auto focus is quick and accurate, except in low light when it can get confused, the built in flash works just fine for most needs. Also nice is the fact that it does not drain it's batteries quickly. Obviously it lacks the super high shutter speeds of more advanced contemporaries, but for value and ease of use, it's pretty hard to beat, AND it won't feel like you have a 15 lb weight around your neck.

    Similar Products Used:

    Nikon N90, Minolta Dynax 5

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 04, 2005]
    CELESTARHK
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Nice Look Fast Autofocus Ergonomics

    Weakness:

    Cheap plastic Color (if you mind the silverish look)

    I came upon this camera by accident. I was buying a spare camera for my wife who wants to take up photography. I was using a EOS1V. Then, I decide to shift to all manual. I am current using F3HP + FM3A. On every weekend, I like to go plane spotting. It is difficult not to use auto-focus camera for this purpose. This camera then become my tool! It has logged more miles than my Nikon now. I am seriously wondering, with the good experience of this 300v, should I purhcase the new EOS30V. I forgot to mention, I hate digital camera. 300V has many good advantages. It is light and ergonomic to hold (I have big hand, even without the battery grip, I still told this camera well) The kit lens, though look cheap and ugly, is actually quite good for general photography. Canon did a good job at packaging this 300v and put a rather futuristic look on the body design. Even after all these years, I still think it looks good. Much better than the 'same mold' look of Nikon. I use this camera with the Tamron 200-400/5.6 Zoom. The other thing I like about the 300V is the ease of use. Every features are easy to access. One short fall, under extreme direct light condition, the metering may not give you the right exposure. You need to add some compensation. Lastly, the best advantage for 300V is its lightening fast autofocus speed. I recommend this camera not just to begineers but all users. This camera represents my best ROI so far. BTW, if you like manual stuff, go to Nikon. If you like autofocus, MUST go to Canon, Nikon is terrible. I have not figure out who is best for digital, looks like Canon has the lead.

    Customer Service

    NOT USED

    Similar Products Used:

    EOS 1V, F100, FM3A, F3HP

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 09, 2005]
    Callalilly81
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Manual and Automatic modes. 7pt. focus. Backlit Display.

    Weakness:

    Focusing issues in dark.

    Have owned and learned on this camera for almost 2 years now. The Ti is a great camera for beginners and capable as a backup.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 24, 2005]
    StevenT
    Expert

    Strength:

    Compact, Lightweight Fast autofocus Large, bright viewfinder Exposure Lock Counter shows frames remaining

    Weakness:

    Silver finish is slippery when wet. Prefer rubberized grip of older Rebels.

    I normally use a Nikon F100 with the 28-105mm zoom lens. I needed a 300mm f4 telephoto and found that Canon's version is lighter and has IS (image stabilizer) and Nikon's didn't. So I bought the Canon lens and needed a Canon body to go with it but did not want to spend a fortune since I will eventually go digital. The Rebel Ti lived up to my expectations and produced many excellent pictures. The auto focus was fast and accurate. Continuous shooting at 2.5 fps was good enough for following wildlife. I wish it had spot metering but only Minolta (Pentax?)offers that feature at this price point. It does have Exposure Lock which I found useful. Used Manual metering mode several times to prevent exposure changing when I was panning the camera while following cranes in flight. The Rebel Ti uses the pop up flash to aid focusing in low light. This is better than the lamp used on previous models since it is high above the camera and the light is not obstructed by large diameter lenses. Nikon's products still use the lamp by the shutter release. The viewfinder is large and bright for a camera in this price range - superior to what's in Nikon's N75 or N65. The Rebel Ti is a great camera for beginners as well as advanced amateurs. It is inexpensive and lightweight and is a go anywhere camera.

    Customer Service

    None needed yet

    Similar Products Used:

    Rebel G Nikon N65

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 26, 2004]
    SF Rebeldude
    Beginner

    Strength:

    Ease of use, Large LCD Panel, Auto Focus, Auto Exposure Functions as well as Manual, Included Flash and E TTL. Number of lenses compatable with this camera.

    Weakness:

    Its not a digital SLR.

    I purchased this camera brand new with two Sigma Kit lenses (28-80mm AF MZM and 100-300mm AF DL). I had a Canon AE 1 some 20 years ago, but a great deal of time has passed since I used a 35mm SLR. This camera has been a fantastic introductory camera. I just love all of the Autofocus and Auto Exposure features. I am now using Aperture Control and starting to work with Manual Focus. I love the wide availabilty of lenses that I can use with this camera. I quickly purchased a Canon EF 28-200mm AF USM, Sigma 50mm AF Macro, Tamron 19-35mm Super Wide Angle AF, and then a Sigma 105mm AF Macro to use with this camera. I also purchased a tripod and a cable release switch. I shoot mostly Macro (close up photographs of Flowers) and landscape photographs. However, I have also used my camera to shoot Major League Baseball photos at SF Giants Games. It has been some 20 years since I used a 35mm SLR and this camera has really made me look good. The large LCD Panel has been fantastic. I love this camera.

    Customer Service

    I really have not had to use Canon Customer Service, but I have conversed with Canon Customer Care via email and they have been fantastic.

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon EOS Rebel 2000 (my back up and I also love this one), Canon AE 1 (20 years ago).

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 22, 2004]
    stephen_lumsden
    Beginner

    Strength:

    light Cheap Red autofocus confirmation lights AEB Easy to read LCD Fast autofocus. 2.5 fps (at this price)

    Weakness:

    None at this price.

    Bought this for £95 off the Canon outlet on E-bay. Along with the 28-105 3.5/4.5 (£150 boyught separately) lens it focuses fast, produces clear crisp images with print, b/w and slide film. Bought the 220 battery pack, whcih is useful for potrait shots. Will buy some primes and the 220 or 420 ex sppedlite also and may be another 300v to replace my older eos 500, especially at this price and hold off on didital til Canon make a full frame eos at a reasonable price.

    Customer Service

    Eos 500 and 35-80 lens Canon 24 mm EF lens

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 12, 2004]
    Phactor
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    LCD panel full manual mode price Great for the price!

    Weakness:

    Feel Wanted seperate aperature and shutterspeed wheel Flash sync is at 125 Flash doesnt work on objects farther then 10 feet

    Camera works great. I like the totally manual feature. The lighted LCD panel on the back is a great asset when using the camera in dark situations. I do not like the plastic feel; I would like something heavier and more sturdy

    Customer Service

    None needed

    Similar Products Used:

    Nikon n2020 Olympus point and shoot digital

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 29, 2004]
    TommyP
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Big backlit LCD. 1 hand operation. Flash high above body to reduce red eye. Metal lens mount.

    Weakness:

    Only 1 wheel for changing exposure settings as opposed to 1 for apeture and another for shutter speed. This makes it annoying to use in Manual mode. No mirror lock up. No spot meter.

    This was a great purchase. The camera is small and lightweight. It is very user friendly thanks to the large LCD and 1 hand operation. I added the BP-220 battery pack to it for the vertical shutter release and to be able to use AA's. It makes the camera even easier to handle than it already is. I was a little worried about the plastic build, but it has held up just fine, you shouldn't be abusing your camera eough for this to be a problem. I would move up to one of the pro-bodies (Eos 1 or 3), but I'm not sure it would be worth the investment at this point because of all the new digital SLR's hitting the market. I plan on building up some nice glass and then maybe upgrading to a new film body once they drop in price. I would go digital, but I love the smell of fixer to d*** much!

    Customer Service

    Very friendly until they found out that I had a Sigma lens on the camera....which was the only reason that the camera wasn't functioning properly. So in reality this product is solid and hasn't needed any help or fixing.

    Similar Products Used:

    Canon Elan 7e Nikon N65 Minolta XG-7

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 31, 2004]
    ah207
    Expert

    Strength:

    - Fast auto focus - Ergonomic design - silent frame wind - beautiful shutter - smooth mirror action - Full manual capability - Very light - excellent metering system

    Weakness:

    - the door button: hopelessly small, inadequate and poorly placed. - The LCD panel is on the back - danger of your nose pressing against it.

    This camera - known by the name EOS 300V in Europe replaced my 8 year old EOS 1000NF. And in those 8 years, technology had changed. Also on those 8 years, I used various other cameras - Nikons, Olympus OM's, older Praktikas and Minoltas. So why when I felt I needed a change of camera did I go for the 300V ? First of all, I didn't really need to purchase a new camera at all - even a 25 year old OM-10 would have served as well. I changed because I travel a lot - and my cameras get a fair amount of use and occasionally abuse. What I needed was a modern camera that could take auto-focus lenses and not cost the Earth. After much home-work, there wasn't a lot in it between the Nikon F75, Pentax MZ6 and the 300V. I chose Canon because my previous 2 Canons (the 1000NF and the older AV-1) had been exceptional! I never had any mechanical or electronic problems with them and they never once broke! The 300V is amazingly light. The plastic body is beautifally designed, ergonomic and small - perhaps a bit too small! The 7-point autofocus is great - and you have the option of selecting each of the 7 points of you don't want all of them to assist with the focusing. The auto focus itself is very fast - on par with professional cameras. The other specifications such as the shutter speed range, the 35-zone metering system (evaluative, centreweighted and partial) etc all add to up hefty bundle of features - all for a mere 219 pounds (body alone). I purchased a seprate lens - the 28-135 IS. Together, the system makes a powerful set-up. So far, I have only run 4 rolls of film and the results have been devastatingly good. As spring and summer approach, the camera will be put through its paces in all sorts of conditions - so I'll have a better idea of its performance. But to be honest, this is as good as film SLR cameras can get in the modern age. Buy with confidance. Perhaps the only qualms that I do have is with door release button. Its badly placed (half way up the side) and its small too - so you can't really operate it with one hand. Perhaps you shouldn't ? The other snag is that the LCD panel is now on the back. True, its larger and more informative (probbably unexcessarily so), but again, its badly placed - and you have to constantly make sure your nose doesn't rub against it.

    Customer Service

    Never needed it in the past 14 years!

    Similar Products Used:

    EOS 1000NF, other SLR's including Nikon, Olympus, Minolta etc.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 19, 2004]
    Art Czepczynski
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Lightweight, Fits the EOS line of accesories, METAL lens mount, very cheap and useful battery pack.

    Weakness:

    Well, for what you are paying none really, except no mirror lock-up.

    This is a bit of a lengthy review so hang in there. Also this is my opinion, remember beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Let me clear up some photography myths concerning anyone in the market for a first SLR camera. First and foremost, the camera BODY has very little to do with image quality. When a FILM camera is in the process of taking a picture there is nothing but AIR between the lens and the film, yes this is true of the most expensive FILM camera body you can find. Look to the lens and film that you use. What the camera does do is meter the light, wind the film, and when in AF mode, focuses. Minus a few other things that's it. The Camera: The Canon Rebel Ti, is a wonderful camera body, it has almost all of the features of a professional camera. What I will concentrate on is what the camera does NOT have compared to a professional grade body. Quality of build, since professional photographers don't buy this body, it stands to figure it isn't going to be built to withstand environment where pro photographers will find themselves. High top shutter speed. The Ti has a top shutter speed of 1/2000 of a second as opposed to the EOS 1 series of 1/8000. In reality many pros don't use the top shutter speed on their equipment minus action/sports photographers. 1/2000 is sufficient. Mirror lock-up, if you don't know what it is for, then the Ti will suit you just fine. If you are curious, it keeps the camera from shaking when using certain slow shutter speeds. High speed film advance, once again if you find yourself needing more than the Rebel Ti can offer, you wouldn't be reading this. 100% viewfinder coverage, and frankly unless you really go top-of-the line you won't find it very often. The Ti has 90% coverage which means that if you plan on shooting precise compositions, be aware that when you get your negative/slide you will see more than what the viewfinder showed you. Other than some minor differences, that's it. For a pro, the absence of these is everything, for the serious amateur this is truly a wonderful camera with MOST functions of a professional camera. On a personal note: Please take every review with a grain of salt. (including mine). I've seen a review for this camera that stated the reviewer was a expert, yet complained of grainy images. An expert knows that if you mix low lighting, and high speed film indoors, not to mention blur, you will get grainy images. Also, the only way to evaluate how good your personal photos are, shoot a roll of slide film. Photo labs can ruin beautiful images. Slides take a lot of steps out of the process. And you were about to blame the camera! I have used the Rebel Ti to capture some breath taking images. When a photo is truly good, nobody ever counts grains. In Conclusion: I would recommend this camera to anyone. If you are a serious amateur, I would still recommend this camera because the savings in price can be invested into some quality lenses and a TRIPOD! Sure, there are some little things that I would like to see added to this camera, but then you can always UPGRADE if you really start to enjoy photography. BTW the kit lens works just great, but there is always room for improvement.

    Customer Service

    Fingers Crossed

    Similar Products Used:

    Variety of manual SLR cameras

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 41  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com