Canon T-70 35mm SLRs

Canon T-70 35mm SLRs 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 32  
[May 31, 2019]
n17man


Strength:

Excellent camera for anyone with some knowledge of photography. Because it is an auto exposure camera it does all the thinking. All you have to do is focus and frame correctly. If you understand how photographic exposure works you have a very refined tool at your disposal. The build and design quality is of a ver high order.

Weakness:

It is noisy. The motor drive really whines. I also find the shutter electronic button trigger overly sensitive.

Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1984
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 06, 2004]
taylorje84
Intermediate

Strength:

One of the first (if not the first ever) 35mm SLR body to have push button controls instead of switch dials, such as those featured on the earlier Canon AE1. These buttons are easy on the fingers and simple to use. Of course, the main advantage of this body is that it accepts Canon FD lenses and it has to said that it is the quality of the lens that makes the camera and not the body. The fact that the body accepts AA batteries is convenient, not to mention cheaper and more commonly available than most other camera batteries. The body is not very heavy and sits nicely in the hands, so handling is fine.

Weakness:

For all of its convenience, the 0.7 fps motordrive is slow and decidedly conspicuous.

Essentially a Canon T50 but more versatile with the option of manual exposure control, as well as the fully automated option. Before using the T70 I was a longtime Canon AE1 user, so I found the partial metering and the motordrive a welcomed new feature. This is the body to go for if you cannot afford the T90 (which I have found is a million times better). I cannot really comment on the fully automatic mode because I never used it. Instead, I used the T70 in manual mode using shutter priority and partial metering. I found it performed excellently.

Customer Service

Never needed it. I used it for six months without fail before selling it to buy to a T90. Oddly enough, I had more trouble with the T90 than I had in the six months of owning the T70. The T90 malfunctioned early on, but thankfully a replacement was given by the camera store. I had no such problems with the T70.

Similar Products Used:

Canon AE1, T50 & T90 bodies.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 04, 2003]
Kathy T
Intermediate

Strength:

Reliable

Weakness:

None that I can think of

I purchased my T70 for $237.00 back in 1985. It is still kicking and my main camera to date. No problems with it ever! I love it.

Similar Products Used:

Cannon AE1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2003]
-Jacob-
Intermediate

Strength:

+ reliable and rugged design + uses AA-batteries + FD-system + simplicity + compactness + good metering

Weakness:

- no shutter speed display in viewfinder!! - no depth of field preview - doesn't read DX-codes (this really started bothering me when I got the CB70 which doesn't have a film check window) - no exposure compensation - slow and noisy winder

I've had one since 1998. A very good and rugged body with lots of great lenses available at relatively low prices. You can get excellent results with it but it has some downsides that eventually led me into buying a T90. First of all there's no shutter speed display in viewfinder and this really bugged me! The shutter is very slow and noisy. A depth of field preview would also be nice. The longest available exposure time is 2 secs which means you have to have the command back 70 or the expensive 60T3 cable release for time exposures. You can get around the lack of exposure compensation by using the film speed selector but then you should also remember to reset it... But as said it is of very good quality and feels (along with the FD-lenses) very different in hand compared to modern-day all plastic bodies. And it's simplicity makes it a very good choice for a beginner while it still is diversed enough for serious use. A good second body to go along with my T90!

Customer Service

None. But who cares, they obviously made it too durable.

Similar Products Used:

Canon T90

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2002]
Niels De Boissezon
Casual

Strength:

- Ruggedness (ligthyears ahead of modern consumer SLR's) - Viewfinder - Good and acurate focusing - It takes AA baterries and they go on and on and on... - CHEAP! - good cheap lenses

Weakness:

- No aperture priority mode - No jog wheel - Noisy and slow winder

Bought this one as a replacement for my earlier camera; my dads old T50. Compared to the T50 it is MUCH more useful - you really get control of the way you're taking pictures. It has THE basic tools for serious photographying, that is: A manual mode, a reliable meter, a rugged body and an excellent line of FD lenses - so it is theoretically capable of making outstanding pictures and hence does qualify as a good student camera. And then it has some functions that do make your life easier and some functions for when you're feeling lazy. That is: A shutter priority mode, a good view-finder, average and partial metering, a (slow) motordrive, 3 diff. program modes and few unimportant extras. The main catch with this camera is its handling - The camera feels good: well balanced, rugged and ready for extensive use. But I often end up drooling over that little jog wheel on modern EOS cameras. The two little "up" and "down" buttons are SO annoying. And don't even start thinking about changing program modes (well that isn't so bad - in my case this camera is stuck on Tv mode, and automaticaly shifts to manual mode when turning the aperture ring). Finally, I really do miss an Av mode and some bracketing capabilities - *sigh*... Conclusion: This is a very capable camera - really a bargain when considering the quality. You do make really good manual focus pictures. But you'll eventually grow tired of its semicrummy handling. I'm still saving up for that T90. PS.: Flash photography is not its/my strong point. Bring a 50/1,4 along instead.

Customer Service

Non existent, but not needed :)

Similar Products Used:

Canon T50 Canon EOS 500,EOS 630

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2002]
Wes Dobson
Intermediate

Strength:

It takes Canon FD lenses Light Powerful metering Nice control layout Runs on AA batteries!! Simply looks sexier than the AE-1

Weakness:

No depth of field preview (There are markings on the lens that will help you work out this problem.) It's noisy Cable release mechanism is kinda weird and it was hard for me to find a cable for it. (I usually use my FTb if I know I'll need to do a time exposure) I don't think it's possible to do a double exposure

I bought this dude as a backup for my AE-1 and FD lenses, but the T-70 is so much fun that now my AE-1 is a backup. Let's get a couple things straight here: This camera is as high a quality camera as you can slap a lens onto, but it might not be a professional's first pick because it's missing stuff like a depth of field preview and it might not advance the film fast enough for a sports photographer. But this camera's cool in every way that counts for me. The metering system is quite a bit more sophisticated than the AE-1's, with a partial meter that's pretty swank. It runs on AA batteries!! (I'll take this feature over a depth of field preview anyday) This camera's pretty light too, but it's still plenty durable. The manual mode seems powerful enough to me. The guy below says his camera tries to change the shutter speed on him when he's trying to do fully manual stuff, but that only happens if you have your lens on the "A" setting. Otherwise, you pick the f-stop by moving the aperature ring on the lens and the camera doesn't have a say about the shutter speed anymore. If it doesn't think you have enough light or something, it'll protest in the viewfinder that you're using the wrong aperature, but it won't actually change anything. Basically, the manual mode on the camera works like this: you pick the aperature, and then you pick the shutter speed, and then you press the button. How else is manual supposed to work? Bottom line, I think this camera's a great body for Canon's excellent FD lens line. I think it's a better camera then the AE-1, anyways, and the AE-1 is already considered by most to be a pretty sweet camera. A pro will want a T-90.

Customer Service

Doubt if Canon would be helpful. These are cheap enough that I'll just buy another if I bust it.

Similar Products Used:

Canon FTb Canon AE-1 Canon A-1 Nikon FM Pentax MX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 06, 2002]
Aki Dick
Expert

Strength:

spot-metering!!! takes AA-batteries and is thrifty. solid build, small and slightly. great variety of cheap used fd-lenses. used body is really cheap (about 100$)

Weakness:

see above, and furthermore: noisy in almost every action (shutter, winding, rewinding, alarm signal). mount ring tend to get loose with heavy lenses or through often lens exchange.

I got a used T70 as a present 9 years ago when i started taking pictures and used it until two years ago. in the beginning i was quite satisfied with the camera, due to its idiot-proof programm mode there was not too much to be done wrong to get nice pictures. but as soon as i wanted to learn how to control manual exposure i encountered the restrictions of this camera that i could not live with anymore (therefore it was replaced by an EOS5 which was replaced by a F1N. now i''m glad). 1) even in manual exposure mode the camera seems to correct the speed setting when the metering system indicates under- or overexposure. 2) controls for manual settings are too circuitous. 3) no shutter-speed or exposure-metering shown in viewfinder. 4) no DOV - preview. therefore i would suggest this camera only to beginners who want to concentrate on image formation first. otherwise it is probably the best point-and-shoot camera with manual focus you can get.

Customer Service

never needed any

Similar Products Used:

Canon EOS5, F1, F1N, Nikon F3

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 20, 2000]
Lex Jenkins
Expert
Model Reviewed: T-70

Strength:

-Most of the best features of the vaunted T90 in a smaller, lighter, less expensive package.
-Ergonomics - this is one very grippable camera, nearly identical in size and style to the Rebel, altho' more substantial in feel.
-Ease of use in the three basic program modes. Pick a lens genre - wide angle, normal or telephoto - and the meter chooses suitable combos of shutter speed and aperture.
-Durable, reliable, dependable.
-Bright viewfinder.
-Long service on two AA batteries. Use Kodak Photo Life for best results.
-Built in winder.
-Evens meters beautifully with old preset lenses!
-Centerweighted averaging and fat-spot metering modes.
-Locked and unlocked autoexposure modes.
-Can overcome lack of aperture priority mode with FD lenses by using preset or mirror lenses.
-Can overcome lack of depth of field preview by using preset lenses or by using the Canon FD breechlock mount 50mm f/1.8 S.C., which features a lever on the rear to disable the automatic diaphragm.

Weakness:

-You'll need the owner's manual to wring everything out of this camera.
-Getting the hang of manual metering isn't intuitive, but works OK after some practice.
-No aperture priority mode with FD lenses.
-No depth of field preview
-No mirror lockup
-Built in winder ain't fast, about 1 fps, and no upgrade option. Fresh batteries help winder speed.
-Metal collar for lens mount tends to loosen, probably due to different expansion rates of the metal collar and plastic body. Keep an eye on those screws and all will be well. Don't let 'em get so loose they strip the threads.
-The main weakness: Canon didn't make 'em long enough. The T70 is far, far superior to the overrated AE-1.

A sleeper in the Canon arsenal. I pack two, one in each holster. The T70 was the AE-1/AE-1 Program of the 1980s, only better. No mirror box squeak, no deterioration of light seals and mirror bumper pads. If your AE-1 has developed problems, don't waste money getting it fixed. Keep your lenses and find a T70. Once you get the hang of the no-dials interface you'll find it a friendly camera, one that's easiest to get along with using the three AE modes. Despite that, I often use mine in manual mode with preset lenses, for which there ain't none better. The bright viewfinder and quick-responding meter really revitalizes those old T-mount preset lenses from Vivitar, Lentar and a zillion others.

Customer Service

Never needed.

My first T70 developed an odd problem with the mirror sticking up after the shutter had fired and closed. Then it fixed itself and hasn't had a problem in two years. Not many self repairing cameras around.

Similar Products Used:

Canon FTbn, Canon TX, Canon AE-1, Minolta XD-5, Miranda Sensorex, Pentax Spotmatic, too many others to list.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2000]
Thomas Cannon
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: T-70

Strength:

It's still a good camera ... that takes very nice photos ... even though it must soon be entering it's third decade. For it's day it was a great innovation to the mostly manual-dominated market. But, if you look at magazines/ books that list the equipment the photographer used for each image ... you'll discover that a surprising number of those images have been successfully taken with a T-70. I personally don't believe that it's necessarily the camera that takes great pictures ... (although it is definitely a big part of the equation) I believe it is the photographer who makes the camera & the image, what it is !

Weakness:

Metering system was elementary by today's standards. Fairly easy to fool in special lighting situations.

There's alot of great older T-70's still around ... at very reasonable rates. Pick one up & give it a "shot". It will be a good learning experience ... & you just might surprise yourself at the terrific images you come up with.

Customer Service

No contact

Similar Products Used:

Nikon, Pentax

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 08, 2000]
JON UTLEY
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: T-70

Strength:

good work horse dont like auto focus cameras have had this body for 15 years no problems

Weakness:

none

i have owned many different brands but the only 2 bodys i use now are my ftb (almost 30 yeras old) and my t70 (about 15 years)GREAT CAMERA !!!

Customer Service

never needed with any of my canons

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com