Konica Minolta Maxxum 9, (Dynax , Alpha ) 35mm SLRs

Konica Minolta Maxxum 9, (Dynax , Alpha ) 35mm SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

The Maxxum 9, from Minolta. Our finest photographic tool, designed to meet - and exceed - the demands of professionals. Featuring extraordinary toughness, for true reliability even in difficult situations. Superior speed & precision, for creating the shots you've envisioned in your mind's eye. And the flexibility to individualize its operations to best match your unique shooting style. An ergonomic design ensures that the Maxxum 9 rests comfortably in your hands.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 79  
[Jan 11, 2017]
Andrew Hillier
Professional

Strength:

Incredible build quality. Reliability. Ease of use. Very comfortable to handle even though its weight can startle the uninitiated. It is completely weatherproof. A proper professional's tool. Innovative in its day and actually has stood the test of time well. Excellent for full manual shooting. Built in flash surprisingly useful for daylight fill-in purposes. Works well covering fast action sports. Excellent bright viewfinder.

Weakness:

Somewhat heavy. But - taken for what it is - a true professional grade 35mm film stills camera - not many weaknesses at all. Of course - lack of a dealer support network now will be a major problem if it needs repair or maintenance. Professional, quality processing and printing (I stopped doing my own years ago) is hard to find and expensive. Rubber covers on electronics sockets on the body are starting to show their age, hardly surprising.

I shoot digital full-frame and APS-C (Canon and Fuji) for work. And I still shoot with my Dynax 9 for 35mm. It is a joy to use. And actually, as I use it almost exclusively on full manual settings, reminds me of the essentials for good shooting - the discipline of not being able to simply upload an image into PhotoShop or Lightroom and edit tends to concentrate the mind when framing through the viewfinder etc.

Luckily I bought from new, trading in two Olympus OM2Ns and an Olympus OM10 and several Zuiko lenses. The two superb quality Minolta lenses I bought at the same time as the body are excellent as is the vertical control grip, flash etc. All pretty much in perfect condition. Bought this on the cusp of the introduction of digital photography. I can recall my first commercial shoot with the new setup in place of the Olympus. I ended up using the results from the new backup digital camera I took along as an experiment. a sign of things to come!

Have resolved this year to use it more. The convenience and performance of the Canon and Fuji mean that this will be personal shooting. I do hold out hope that someday a client will ask: "You don't by any chance know of anybody who'd shoot a 35mm film job for me?" Now that would be fun!

Customer Service

Is there any? Not convinced Sony would want to know.

Similar Products Used:

Olympus OM2N. Olympus OM10. Canon EOS 7D Mk ii. Canon EOS 5D Mk iv. Fuji X-Pro2.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 03, 2011]
cgarrard
Expert

Strength:

Build (Stainless STEEL, not magnesium)
Comfort
Ease of use
Intuitive
Ergonomic
Reliable
Capable
Fast
Metering
Frame rates
Forgiving
Long customizable function list
Weather Resistant
Great battery life
Built in wireless flash/trigger
AF in complete darkness up to 7 meters
Glow in the dark controls
All you need, and nothing you don't.

Weakness:

Weight, perhaps
No longer in production
Limited AF points
Limited to camera shops for repair

Still like film? Have any Minolta lenses? Treat yourself to a Maxxum 9, you won't regret it. You won't get a better full frame experience for the dollar, used or new, than the Maxxum 9.

Comfortable, easy to use, intuitive, ergonomic, reliable, capable, the Maxxum 9 is genius design made practical. Built like no other film camera I've ever held, it's a hefty camera yet confidence inspiring. If a Sherman tank had a camera cousin, the Maxxum 9 would be it.

There isn't much to say but accolades for this camera, it has few if any weaknesses as a film platform and to this day still has features that other SLR's or DSLRS cannot rival (it's sync speed and worlds fastest 1/12,000th shutter speed for example).

This is a camera that will last generations in a family household, and if you believe celluloid is your choice for memories, I can't think of a more perfect camera to do the job. It's just as happy doing sports/action and outdoor photography as it is doing wedding events and family snapshots.

Some cameras have everything right, the Maxxum 9 is one of those. From the moment you pick one up, you'll understand, don't believe me or the words I've written. If you get a chance to hold one, and look through the beautiful viewfinder, maybe you'll agree.

Customer Service

Non-existent anymore.

Similar Products Used:

Sony Alpha A900
Canon 5D MK II

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 26, 2009]
hecker01
Expert

Strength:

-Extraordinarily inexpensive for its level of features. Camera and motor drive can often be had for $100 or less, comparable to the cost of a plastic toy digicam. And this is a professional camera!

-Built like a brick; with a little care the camera should stand up to many years of heavy use.

-Uses common AA batteries; no exotic or expensive "photo" cells.

-Controls, once you learn them, are nicely intuitive and fall readily to hand.

-Compatible with modern lenses and some other modern accessories.

-Has manual film advance and rewind capability, one of the few autofocus cameras ever to have this.

Weakness:

-No mirror lock-up.

-No automatic exposure bracketing.

-No shutter speeds faster than 1/4000 sec.

-Loud--loud shutter, loud autofocus, and the motor drive is noisy, too. This is not a camera for stealth situations.

-Primitive, temperamental autofocus. Not the best choice for fast follow-focus work.

-Big and heavy, especially with the motor drive mounted.

-Parts and service hard to get if it breaks down.

-Usually comes with only a basic (blank) focusing screen. Manual-focus screen (type PM) very rare and hard to get.

Historically, this camera represents a transitional phase between the older, metal-bodied mechanical manual-focus cameras of the previous era and today's lighter-weight, more sophisticated all-electronic gear. It was state-of-the-art in its day (24 years ago), although in some ways time has passed it by.

If you are not bothered by its limitations, this camera is an outstanding value; for the price of a few rolls of film, you can get yourself a real professional machine. But if you want something more up-to-date and capable, you would probably be happier with a Dynax 9.

Customer Service

.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 24, 2007]
Johnny
Intermediate

Strength:

Rugged and well built body
Accurate and fast autofocus
Accurate metering
Many lenses to choose from (many bargains to be had)
Simple and intuitive controls
High performance overall
Product supported by Sony now (a company big in cash like this one won't go away anytime soon)

Weakness:

Camera circuitry needs to be updated to use untrasonic SSM lenses
Ultrasonic lenses not readily available

Looks like I am the first person to review this camera since 2005. I shoot with a Sony Alpha 100 when I want to go digital and need convenience, but when I need to get high resolution prints I shoot film and scan with my scanner. Though many people are selling this camera on Ebay and other similar sites, this camera is nowhere near obsolete, for there are plenty of buyers gobbling them up. I bought 2.

Compared to my Sony Alpha 100, the Maxxum 9 has better weather sealing, a more rugged body, 1/12000th shutter speed vs 1/4000 for the Sony, 5.5 fps vs 3 fps, accurate auto focus and metering, professional capabilities easily accessed with intuitive controls (no tons of buttons), and a flash synch of 1/12000th vs 1/250th. Come to think of it, there aren't any digital cameras that can match its capabilities yet.

The body is made with steel, heavier than magnesium (which most pro cameras are made of today) but also stronger. The weight does not bother me at all.

I use Sony 50mm f1.4 and Carl Zeiss 135mm f 2.8, and though the Maxxum 9's AF is fast to begin with, with lens having large apertures such as these it is even faster. Autofocus speed was as good or better than my sister's Canon Digital Rebel XT - which is one of the fastest AF around. Metering is 14 segment honeycomb - though not as "advanced" as the 40 segment honeycomb in the Sony Alpha 100 or multiple segment metering in the Canon Digital Rebel XT, it tends to give more accurate readings - my guess is that 14 segments are enough and simplicity has it's advantages.

In addition to those features, it is the only professional body that uses infrared to assist focusing (great in dark situations) and has a pop up flash (Sometimes I need flash and may not have time to put the accessory flash on).

All in all, I highly recommend this camera - it makes great exposures, has all the features one will ever need in a camera, and now that Sony took over Minolta's camera business there is great product support for this camera again.

Customer Service

Spoke with Sony and they will honor any warranties and will provide repair services. Customer service was responsive and knowledgeable.

Similar Products Used:

Canon A2E SLR, Canon Digital Rebel SLR, Sony Alpha SLR, Minolta X700 SLR

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2005]
Raindogs451
Intermediate

Strength:

Rugged. Well built. Responsive. Fast shutter speeds. Bright viewfinder. Great lens selection. (although not as complete as Nikon/Canon will be MORE than sufficient for 99% of users) Great "G" lenses available. It's HEAVY, especially with the VC-9 grip, but for many that will be a weakness. I like the feel and don't mind the weight.

Weakness:

The company. Believe it or not, I will rate the camera a "5", and if I could I would rate the KM company "-5." They NEVER supported this camera and allowed the Maxxum 7 to come out with better technology than the 9, without progressively upgrading the 9. On this web site, the Maxxum 9 has higher ratings than superstars EOS 1V, EOS 3, F100, F5 and Contax RTS. Can you believe that? And the Maxxum 7 is as good! Yet both the Maxxum 7 and 9 are discontinued! Minolta's engineers are the cat's meow. The sales, marketing and management are as imcompetent as it comes. This camera, despite being one of the best, is now discontinued, as has it's little brother, the 7. I would think twice about sinking big money into a product that they've discontinued and have proven they can't market/sell. It's a crying shame. GREAT products, designed by apparently GREAT engineers, mishandled by POOR managers. It's a love/hate thing.

The best camera I've ever held or owned. I like it better than the Nikon F100, or even the F5. Fantastic ergonomics. Well thought out. Well built. Looks like the camera that a photgrapher would design/build. It's a professional camera that doesn't get the publicity or respect it deserves. If you have this kind of money to spend on a film SLR, and want to use it as a pro or advanced amateur you will not be disappointed by the camera or KM's lenses.

Customer Service

Poor. I have had questions about the product---not for repairs---and they generally don't answer. Or, they direct you to their web site.

Similar Products Used:

Minolta MF bodies and lenses.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 01, 2004]
ichiu
Intermediate

Strength:

Rugged body. Good seeling of the body against environmental elements Fast autofocusing Accurate metering 5.5 fps, 4.5 with continuous focusing Bright 100% viewfinder Mirror lock up Wireless flash capability(most minoltas have this feature)

Weakness:

3 auto focus points, the Maxxum 7's 9 point AF is perfect. Shutter release button a little too sensitive in continuous shooting mode. You need a manual to figure out the all custom mode settings. Minolta lens selection not as comprehensive as Nikon or Canon.

What a TANK! The first thing you'll notice when you pick up this thing is that it's built like an M-1 Abrams tank. The metal body is rugged and sturdy. The shape of the grip is perfect for my hands. The controls are very simple. One dial for exposure compensation and one for shooting modes. Very intuitive. With the bright 100% viewfinder means your eyes never have to strain looking through it. By far the best 35mm film camera I've used. Perfect camera for a combat photographer.

Customer Service

never used

Similar Products Used:

Minolta Maxxum 7 Minolta Maxxum 800si Canon Eos 1n Canon Eos 3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 15, 2004]
stevemark
Professional

Strength:

robust stainless steel body, buildt-in flash system, perfect handling, AF, 100% viewfinder, ... and: excellent lenses, especially 2.8/200mm APO

Weakness:

heavy ;-)

My third generation of Minolta AF professional cameras, after several 9000's and 9xi's. By far the best Minolta camera, very robust (still working perfectly after falling down 2-3 meters on concrete), fairly fast AF, perfect handling (in combination with VC-9 grip); nique power management, no battery change necessary after finishing accu's => just switch from the VC-9 to the camera batteries (ever had failing batteries while taking important shots???); easy-to-manage built-in flash system, and much more.

Customer Service

not exactly perfect (at least here in Switzerland ==> they have to send everything to Germany first)

Similar Products Used:

Minolta 9000, 7000i, 9xi

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2004]
HKF
Expert

Strength:

As note by the others. Great layout, a wide enough range of quality lens to choose from. Interchangable focusing screen (M or ML; slightly darken viewfinder; but much clearer on what's being focused.); a joy to view.

Weakness:

Although I generally like their products; shops do not carry as many accerories as the other brands; need to wait forever to ship from Japan. 3 months later, still waiting for the VC9 grip... Website not globally updated ... its excellent 70-200 f2.8 SSM is not even listed... very disappointing... Bad policy not shipping all Dynax 9 already upgarded. (I believe they change only one circuit board)

A upgrade user from Dynax 7. Camera body need updated to use its SSM lens. In HK, 1 SSM lens entitles 1 Dynax 9 update only... otherwise cost you HK$1800@ (US$230)... The update also give you ADI flash metering free as a bonus. However, in this digital age, all Dynax 9 should've been updated already... what kind of policy is this...? Felt much more responsive than Dynax7. Sort of miss the LCD panel. Otherwise, how do you remember all the custom functions? Although 90% of them are not needed to reset after you 've set it once. The main reason for using Minolta is the quality of their lens. Color is more natural to the eye, second to Lecia. If you like color very clean and snappy, or even cartoonish; please choose other brands. Focusing not as fast as F5; however, it is still very fast. I shot my friend wakeboarding on a moving speed boat (shaking in all direction) with the new 70-200 f2.8G SSM and 1.4X attached; no problem whatoever. Photo come out tack sharp with excellent color. When I bought the Dynax 9, people around were surprised... At this point, DSLR with 6MP+ is definitely killing negatives in the amounts of details; however, slides still have an edge... Using a Minolta Dimage Scan Multi PRO scan 35mm slide (up to 4800dpi), you will get a 80+mb file: details are amazing, natural color, and very little film grain (no noise / pattern issue). For the price, I may get another medium format camera. Unless I got jobs that require a DSLR, I'm not buying yet...

Customer Service

Very good and helpful in HK. Upgraded for free with purchase of a SSM lens months before. (Don't throw away your proof of purchase!)

Similar Products Used:

Dynax 7; Nikon F5; medium format to 4x5. Lens with this Minolta system: 17-35 f3.5G 28-70 f2.8G 70-200 f2.8G SSM 35 f1.4 85 f1.4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2003]
raminolta
Intermediate

Strength:

-solid and reliable. - user interface - user interface - did i say userinterface? - exposure data saving - metering system is almost always giving me the right out-put. - many features

Weakness:

nothing that i can say

well i first acquired to Minolta by maxxum7, the younger semi professional brother of maxxum9. They share the same philosophy in userinterface and control layout. In one hour or less i was so comfortable using the camera that i had not gotten into after about seven years using EOS cameras! simple and intuitive. And data exposure saving which i had always dreamed about when using EOS cameras now in my hand. Exposure and flash exposure system are so accurate much better than my previous EOS cameras.

Customer Service

not used on maxxum9. Used once for maxxum7. Good service.

Similar Products Used:

maxxum7, maxxum9xi, EOS100, EOS elanII, minolta XG5,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2003]
photocrazy
Casual

Strength:

Build like a rock. Well designed. Simple features. Extensive capabilities.

Weakness:

Maybe the weight.

Due to an unfortunate robbery, I was forced to repurchase my photography equipment. Being very interested in a long relationship with the art of photography I decided to repurchase more professional grade product. Before purchasing anything, I did what any good consumer would do and did my research. Although the research pointed to the fact that all the good lenses were being produced by Nikon and Canon, this same research pointed to the fact that the Maxxum 9 beat its rivals in both capability and quality. I also believe as do others in this review, that the G lens by Minolta rivals those of its competitor. Having used this for a couple of months, I find it to install confidence in my photography. It feels steady and is straight forward for those who are serious about photography not technology. Although heavy, I have not found the weight to be a problem. I would recommend this camera to anyone from the beginner to the pro.

Customer Service

I haven't needed to use it.

Similar Products Used:

Minolta HTSi Maxxum 7000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 79  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com