Nikon F2 35mm SLRs

Nikon F2 35mm SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

Out of production.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 78  
[Mar 27, 2014]
Dave Reid

Strength:

Everything about this camera is strong!!

Weakness:

None as far as I can see

I got my F-2AS when they debuted in 1978.I still have it. In the interim I have had 2 F-3s,FM and FE. I am down to the 2 F2AS bodies and the FE. In 2008 I decided to saend thetwo F2s to Sover Wong in England for whatever reconditioning and lube they might need. He checked both out and my original passed ALL shutterspeed tests except the 1/2000,even then it was just marginally out pof specs. My second F-2 had only 3 shutterspeeds out of spec and they were just marginally out.When the history of cameras is told this one will have to have a chapter all it own!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 11, 2013]
Loren Eidahl
Expert

Strength:

Solid Construction
100% viewfinder
accept wide range of Nikon Lenses
dependable
Boring (this is a real good thing)

Weakness:

The camera still does what the original designers intended it to do. It does not do digital, it does not do auto focus. - it was never intended to do so.

Possbile weaknesses around its functionality would be aging of components, however there are a few very talented and highly regraded repairmen that will work on the F2 and it parts. These repairmen give life to a tool that deserves to continue serving photographers.

The F2 is the camera I choose when I want to use film and I need the image right. It gives me total control over the creation process. It is configurable to my needs , whatever they may be. I have used many Nikon, Canon and other brands, but a Nikon F2 will always be in my inventory of tools.

The automation of my fancier cameras does not create any better or any worse images. Automation makes it easier , however you can run the risk of depending upon the automation too much. When I get an image from my Nikon F2 , I know that I created the image and all the camera did was align the film to the lens in a light tight box.

When I show an image created by one of my digitals, very often I will get a response along the lines of "of course its a great image, you have a great camera". Images that come from the F2 and are shown in similar venues never receive that comment and sell the same if not better.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon F
Nikon F3
Nikon F4
Canon F1
Digitals

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2009]
Larry Miller
Expert

Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Not a One

Read all these reviews and JUST GET IT!! If you can. AF & Digital do nothing for me. Digital's for convenience. Film is for seriousness. So is the F2.... Having a computer in a camera make the decision for you is foolish. IMHO

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Too many Nikons to mention over the years.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 06, 2009]
jirish1957
Expert

Strength:

It is the best manual SRL ever made, and with the range of Nikon lenses and accessories, your only limit is your imagination and creativity. I'm not a Ludite and enjoy using my Canon digital, but for me there is something special about loading up the F2 and shooting a roll of film...

Weakness:

People complain about the weight, but I find that the typical digital camera with a typical zoom lens weighs about the same. I also have several Olympus OMs which have superior metering capabilities (which are are negated by my own experience using the Nikon for so many years) and are better at using flash. On the othe hand, I take most of my pictures with available light.) Parts and service are getting harer to find, but I suspect that there will continue t be folks out there who love these cameras and will continue to service them.

I've had mine since I was a teenager and using it is as natural as breathing. I've found that I am enjoying it more as I get older. Classic Nikon lenses that were out of my price range when I was younger are now readily available used on E-Bay along with Nikon filters, so I now have a great (circa mid-seventies) system. I'm having fun with shooting black and white and color, and, as many others have noted, using a manual camera forces you to think about what you are doing. My F2 continues to be my "go to" camera when I really need the shot and when I want to have fun with photography.

Customer Service

I had the meter recalibrated and had it cleaned and lubed by a local repairman.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon F, assorted Nikormats, Olympus OM 2, OM 4, Leica M3.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 30, 2007]
Bryan Rieth
Intermediate

Strength:

-Heavy, durable all metal constuction
-Wide array of lenses and assessories
-Plenty of pro features such as mirror lock-up and detachable viewfinders

Weakness:

-Many of the photomic finders are at the end of their lives, and lack of repair parts means having to cannibalize other F2's for parts.
-Many would state wieght and lack of automation...light cameras and AE are for wimps though, so not really a downside.

Hands down best mechanical SLR ever made; nice heavy and durable. The camera has a nice solid feel to it, and all the controls are in the right place (for me anyways). The camera has a wide array of pro-features and assessories that put it a notch above the rest in the ranks of the cameras of its age, and even above many of todays. All and all, a camera that I will continue to use as long as it functions, which I have no doubt will be my lifetime.

Customer Service

Sover Wong in London. Just google him and see for yourself.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon F
Nikon FM
Canon AE-1
Canon F-1
Minolta X-700

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 11, 2004]
AChester1977
Intermediate

Strength:

Best mechanical pro body ever made with pro features, extensive list of accessories, compatiblity with most lenses.

Weakness:

Mint and like-new conditions cost a fortune, dissapearing repair parts & accessories, but if you are investing in vintage cameras then you should know the downside.

I have been using the F2 for over 10 years now. It was the most reliable camera I've used and has a distinctive feel that other better cameras lacked. It is quite heavy and slightly larger compared to other mechanical cameras, the controls are big and feels robust; one can compare the feel and precision of an F2 to a classic Swiss clock. Contruction is incomparable, as the F2 represented the best 35mm body at its time, as well as after its time. Those who now appreciate as well as are learning the fundamentals of photography should make the F2 as their first and primary body; besides reliablity, the features on the F2 are rare: compatibity with old and recent lenses, 100% viewfinder, fully operational wthout battery (but no metering), titanium shutter, mirror lockup, multiple exposure, and access to the most comprehensive and mind-boggling photographic system ever created in the history of 35mm cameras, from motordrives to interchangeable finders and many other specialized accessories. The F2 is as much part of history as the photos that it has taken. Unfortunately, this also increases the high collective value of the F2 its accessories. If you are looking for and F2 ro use, my advice is to visit a few camera shops and look for good and fair condition F2 bodies, and skip the collector-quality ones. Try them out and inspect carefully; feel the buttons and levels, make sure it's not loose, but not too tight, inspect the finder and make sure its meter is accurate and as minimal dirt as possible, the inside foam that cushions the mirror should be in good condition, and try them out with a few lenses. If possible, you can request to mix around with other F2 models (ie. the finder is in better condition on one, but the body is no good, so you get a body from another).

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used:

Nikon FM-2n, Nikon FG, Minolta SRT-101

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 24, 2004]
Christian M Fisker
Professional

Strength:

all

Weakness:

none! i mean it.

Let me put it this way;There is no other SLR product that have such a high level as this (rate 4.92)for a number of reasons it is still used by many people every day both by pros and amateurs. One of them is that this cam is very very strong and durable even compared to digital SLRs.! You cant make such good looking BW photos yet,as with an Old F2 and a nice 50 mm 1,8 and a trix film put into the chamber. or an Agfa pan ..etc..my clients love the way it looks,whether they are newly married or just ordinary portraits made with my F2 and 85 or 100 mm. I also use this with an PB-4 bellow,attached with an DR-3 finder and my famed 55 micro nikkor in front and the results of this combi is amazing!for classic work like this it seems that the F2 can go on and on for ever! I use the DP-2 (A2) meter which is absolutely stunning,last summer i went for Lisboa,Portugal and brought this F2 with me and a Vivitar 17 -28 mm Lens! wau! the pics we made together is and will always be linked together as part of a dream come true.It Does only slow down the moment YOU NEED to Think and Catch the pic in your head.The tool is a Nikon F2,how can you get it wrong?? Love Christian M Fisker

Customer Service

nope

Similar Products Used:

many

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 16, 2004]
Larry Cuffe
Intermediate

Strength:

All mechanical if the bateries go all you loose is the meter, and meters are for wimps anyway. A what you see is what you get (100%) viewfinder. This is a lot rarer in SLRs than youd imagine.

Weakness:

All are now quite old.

If your looking for an all metal mechanical workhorse, look no further. Classicly the only camera to use to photograph the riot, fight off the looters, and hammer the nail into the wall to hold up the picture.

Customer Service

fine for a camera this old lots of people know how to play with them.

Similar Products Used:

OM2n, OM10, Zeis Icarex, Revueflex, Rico

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 06, 2002]
Scott Warn
Expert

Strength:

Suberb build quality and design, some shockingly beat up examples still work well with accurate shutters. The camera bodies are simple to work on with the exception of replacing the shutter curtains so any qualified techician can clear most jams or fix minor problems. Most repairs can be done in 1-2 hours or less. Parts have become available on ebay. The best meters for these camera are the DP-3 and DP-12, they are capable of reading in near dark (ev -2!!), they did not use the ring resistor, and will last a lifetime. Many consider the weight to be a problem, I consider it a plus, more mass to reduce any mirror slap. Will work with almost every F mount lens ever made, the only exception being the new economy G series lenses that lack an aperture ring.

Weakness:

Age, the mirror foam should be checked and replaced when it starts to crumble. The motor drives MD-2 and MD-3 used Nylon gears on the motor shaft that are starting to split due to age, look for the MD-1 which had metal gears. The MS-1 battery holders tend to develop corrosion problems, complete disassembly and cleaning will solve this for 2-3 years, then a new cleaning will be needed. The DP-1, DP-2, and DP-11 meters used a ring resistor which is prone to buildup that will cause a jumpy meter needle, or flashing lights in the DP-2. Frequent use and exercise of these meters will minimize this problem, letting them sit makes it worse. Repairing the light meters is a very delicate task and parts can be difficult to find, plan on 4-12 hours of labor for a meter repair. These cameras require exercize, if you just let them sit things can get gummed up. Any storage should be done in a closed small box in a temp. controlled room, don't let them sit in a smoke filled room on the shelf, the smoke will gum up the works.

A great camera that slows you down enough to force you to think about your photo's. My best pics have been taken with the F2, Mamiya TLR and 4x5 View cameras, the slower pace makes me think about what I am doing. With practice one can work quickly with this camera so I do not mean to say that it will slow everyone down. It just is not a simple point and click snap shooter like the new F5. The mirror is very well damped and the design of the camera body is very durable. My first F2 purchased in 1973 is still going strong and the shutter has tested accurate for almost 30 years without adjustment. The only repair that I have ever required on an F2 (1 out of 5) was to replace a contact spring for the meter switch, a simple 30 minute repair.

Customer Service

There is none, unlike Leica, Nikon would rather forget that they ever made a camera this durable, planned Obsolescence has become Nikon's business plan.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon F, Nikkormat FTN and FS, N8008S Nikon F5.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 18, 2002]
mayokevin
Intermediate

Strength:

Build quality, all mechanical, Nikon lenses

Weakness:

For a left eyed photographer there is a tendency to push the wind lever in with your forehead shutting off the meter.

I have the F2A. I like the match needle metering. I find it easier to make small exposure adjustments with tne needle. I find that I take better pictures with this camera. I stop and think about what I am metering then after the exposure is set I concentrate on the compsistion.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

F,FM2N,FE,F3, Olympus OM2n,Yashicamat, Mamiya RB67,Canon Elan,Canon AT1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 78  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com