Nikon F4 35mm SLRs

Available At:
F4

This was the top of the line Nikon SLR body. It was replaced by the F5.

User Reviews (77)

Showing 1-10 of 77  
neorebel1   Professional [Jan 23, 2011]
Strength:

Simple to use for Old mechanical Pro Nikon photographers.

You can use auto focus and manual lens with rangefinding and metering as well. (They put those back in the F6 go figure, better late than never.)

Tack on while set on "P" and TTL. Perfect fill flash!

Bright viewfinder! Better than the F3.

Buy the F4s for the release button on the side! You may never think you need it until you shot so portraits!

It's buildt like a tank, you'll probably pass away before it wears out!

Weakness:

None with the Nkion F4s you get everything. Auto, aperature priority, shutter priority, and manual.

As a professional photographer who has shot fo Apple Computers, Hewlett-Packard, too many weddings, and many magazines, I have to say the Nikon F4 is my favorite camera to shoot with!

I used my Nikon SB 16 with the as-9 flash on it. I shoot it with ny F4s on P and TTL on the flash. (Find one with the diffuser on it they're hard to find.) This combination has been fantastic and tack on every time...no kidding here! I mean tack on for exposure EVERY TIME. Wow what a combination.

You can use all of your older non AI lens plus any of the Auto Focus lens except the VR lens...which by the way you can use a mono pod or tripod and get the same results!

The dials are easy to use IF you are used to the older professional Nikon cameras. If you are used to the point and shoot dial type just put the camera on "P" when using a dedicated Nikon flash or "PH" for all other photography.

I have never had an over or under exposed shot with this camera.

It really rocks with the Nikkor 28-85 AF (The newer model with the wide focus ring.) My Nikkor 50-300 non AI and any of my many other Nikon pro lens.

Customer Service

Never it's a nikon tank!! lol

Similar Products Used: All Nikon manual , auto focus and digital pro-cameras
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
runar wessel   Intermediate [Sep 29, 2008]
Strength:

solid built. can use all 3 meterings on old manual lenses. good looking design. enormous many lenses is possible to put on this camera

Weakness:

?? nothing to say.

a solid good kamera. thats it! it is possible to buy a good exemplar,at low prize. autofocus is more than fast enough.with basic photoknowledge,it is easy to use. i have good landscapephotos with this camera.(i bought it for landscape,but i take good portraits too with f-4.)

Customer Service

never needed.

Similar Products Used: nikon fe,olympus om.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
framer   Professional [Jul 30, 2007]

I've owned this body for 5-6 years. It got me started back using 35mm from MF. I'm now using D2h and D2X but have keep the F4 as backup and use it when I need that WA shot. I have no plans to retire it anytime soon. It's the one camera that I can wear if you know what I mean.

The one dumb thing I did was sell off the MB-20 grip and I want to buy another.

These camera are truly underrated. It's a tank.

Similar Products Used: F2 sold when I got the F4 no regrets.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Narsuitus   Professional [Oct 19, 2005]
Strength:

1. Well-built, heavy-duty, high-quality body 2. Seems to be durable and dependable 3. Woks well with my inventory of older Nikon lenses (from 18mm to 1000mm) 4. Provides good balance with heavy telephoto lenses 5. Works well with auto focus or manual focus lenses 6. Uses same motor drive cable connection for Quantum Radio Slave II as F2 7. Very quiet built-in motor drive 8. Reasonably priced (purchased on eBay for $325 in 2005) 9. Auto and manual exposure feature 10. Auto and manual focus feature 11. Electronic focusing aid 12. Exposure meter compensation feature 13. Spot, center-weighted, and matrix exposure meter options 14. Allows matrix, center-weighted, and spot metering with true AI lenses 15. Allows center-weighted and spot metering with AI converted lenses 16. Works in manual mode with pre-AI lenses 17. Works in manual mode with pre-set 28mm f/4 Perspective Control lens 18. Uses standard alkaline AA batteries 19. Has light to illuminate viewfinder information 20. Built-in diopter eyepiece correction 21. Built-in eyepiece shield 22. Mirror lock-up feature 23. Multiple exposure feature 24. Depth of field preview 25. Interchangeable view screens 26. Interchangeable viewfinder 27. Viewfinder offers 100% coverage 28. Manual rewind allows leaving the film leader out of the cassette 29. PC electronic flash connection 30. Uses same motor drive cable release as F2 31. 1/250 second top flash sync shutter speed 32. Quiet operation when compared to my motorized F2 33. Rail system for interchangeable viewfinder is more secure than F2 latch system 34. Accurate focusing is easy with electronic focusing aid 35. User interface not far removed from F2 36. No buttons located at the right thumb position

Weakness:

1. Unable to vary the amount of time viewfinder turns itself off due to inactivity 2. While slightly pressing shutter release button to activate built-in light meter, it is too easy to accidentally press shutter release too hard and waste a shot. 3. Large size and heavy weight (however, smaller and lighter than F2 with motor) 4. Not an inconspicuous camera 5. Auto focus is too slow for fast action (but I don’t shot a lot of fast action) 6. Camera will not operate without battery power 7. Standard cable shutter release connects to camera in an unusual location 8. Unable to change viewfinder shutter speed increments from 1/2 stop increments to 1/3 stop increments or to full stop increments 9. Unable to change f/stop increments from 1/2 stop increments to 1/3 stop increments or to full stop increments. 10. No provision to store camera with an un-cocked shutter 11. Cannot use bulk film loaded in Nikon F2 AM-1 film cassettes 12. Cannot use F2 view screens 13. Unlike my F2, I am unable to reduce the size and weight of the camera by removing the motor drive and battery pack 14. Does not have the classic motor drive sound of my F2 15. With my right thumb, I can sometimes feel the vibrations of the film moving while holding the camera in my right hand 16. Difficult to manually focus using standard B screen (had to replace with a screen that had a split-image focusing aid) 17. Center of standard B screen darkens when shooting macrophotography 18. Inability to change size of auto focus area 19. Inability to change the location of the auto focus area 20. Continuous Silent Speed (CS) setting is not silent. It would be more accurate if it were labeled “Continuous Slow Speed” because all it really does is lower the firing rate to 1 frame per second

As a lover of manual/mechanical cameras, I was seriously considering the FM3a as a backup to my three aging F2 bodies (I have been using one since 1971). However, I changed my mind when I discovered that the price of film cameras had dropped so low that I could purchase a used F4 body in excellent condition for a little over $300 compared to the price of $500 for a new FM3a. The strongest feature for me is that, like my F2, the F4 can handle every manual-focus, auto-focus, AI, pre-AI, and preset lens in my inventory. Even though some people complain about the size and weight of the F4, I was surprised when I compared the weight of the F4 body with its built-in motor drive and add on battery pack to my F2 body with add on motor drive and battery pack. Even though the F4 felt heavier, it was actually lighter by 12 ounces.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used: Nikon F, F2, F3, EM, N70 Asahi Pentax Spotmatic Miranda Sensorex
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Claudio   Casual [May 13, 2005]
Strength:

Trusty, trustworthy, reliable, easy to use, ever ready, strong, high quality: made with the best materials.

Weakness:

Quite heavy.

I bought a Nikon F3HP two months ago. It was heavily used: it is from a rental shop. Maybe it has made thousands of rolls, it misses all the caps and it is badly scratched. I bought it because I'm always afraid to bring my best (conditions) camera, a Nikon F 801, in "dangerous" situations like beaches, tours for monuments in Rome, mountains and so on... I was very wondering about its real performances: it was an old design and old project camera, with years of hard use on its neck, but it was cheap, very cheap. The seller told me it was broken, because the shutter didn't work... It had a bad dent near the charging lever: the charging lever didn't work. 75 US$ for the body. 25US$ for the MD4... I tried to charge the camera... it really didn't work. But maybe my technician could repair it, I told to myself. The prism was ok.... Let's buy it. Just after mounted the MD4 it started to work perfectly, with the MD4 shooting button. Shooted three rolls, the images were perfect with all my lens: AF, AI, AIS!!! In every conditions and situations results were PERFECT! I tried to dismount the MD and... the body was perfectly working, once again, like it was new!! No problem at all! I had no time to bring it to my technician! It has became my favorite camera: a real workhorse, everywhere present and ever ready at my side. The F3 Balances very well with the MD-4 attached. I've left it permanently: I've big hands so it fit much better in my hand. Now I use only it...! My F801 will be sold, I think... i've never used a F4 or a F5, but I cannot image they're could beat the F3 in its own field: strenght and reliability. Maybe they could have much more frills, but the F3HP is the best Nikon camera, I think.

Customer Service

Why? Not needed any more... Maybe a service for clean and oil it will be useful... when I'll have money enough.

Similar Products Used: Nikon F, F2, F 801, F801s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
azipuff   Intermediate [Jun 19, 2004]
Strength:

Traditional interface Lens mount compatibility Metering system Quiet

Weakness:

Not as rugged as their reputation claims Annoying dial interlocks Heavy & bulky Poor resale value (if that's important to you)

The F4 is a camera that unfortunately has not aged as well as some other top-line 35mm SLRs. I found the bodies not as strong as their reputation, and easily cracked baseplates & prism housings, snapped dial interlocks & wore off markings in the course of their use. They are very bulky & heavy, even with an MB20 battery grip. The exposure compensation dial interlock & AF-L / AE-L button location makes the use of AE metering difficult. On a more positive note - there are features that Nikonians love, such as broad lens compatibility, accurate metering system & traditional interface. It is also very quiet for a motorised camera - something not talked about enough. Canon EOS-1 series cameras are boisterous in comparison. In summary - a flawed classic.

Customer Service

Very expensive to service.

Similar Products Used: Canon EOS-1V Nikon F3 & various other Nikons
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jason hall   Professional [Aug 03, 2003]
Strength:

Robust build and very ergonomic design plus all the outstanding features of a true performer.ie:removable meter,mirror lock up,6fps advance,seperate AElock/AF lock etc etc.

Weakness:

Can't fault this model,some say AF is slow but it hasn't been my experience.Heavy weight is a bonus as far as I am concerned, especially during long exposures,hand held slow shutter speeds etc.

Since purchasing the F4s 4yrs ago and using it relentlessly year in and year out I can honestly say it is the penultimate 35mm slr.This camera has been thrashed in every sense of the word and comes up smelling like roses every time.Whenever I test a new/different model some of which I have purchased, they always get relegated to backup status and I reach for "old faithful" as I call it.All the functions are well founded and functional- it is the most ergonomic slr ever made.F5! I am constantly told,well you can generally purchase 2-3 used F4s for the cost of 1 new F5,need I say more?.

Customer Service

Unlike nearly all other brands I have never had the need for customer service with Nikon slr's.

Similar Products Used: F601,F801s,F5,F90x,Canon eos 3/5/1v,Pentax Z1p.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
shaunlawes2   Intermediate [Apr 14, 2003]
Strength:

Its a Nikon from the old school - What more can be said.

Weakness:

None that i have encountered.

Ihave not owned this camera for very long,and was just about to take the plunge and buy a good second hand F5 from my local camera shop in Bath (LCE-Very good)When i noticed in the window a new arrival,a mint one senior citizen owned F4s,It had had less than 30 rolls of film through it,and it was £300.00 cheaper than the F5.I took both cameras out of the shop and tried them both,It soon became apparent that the F5 was the inferior camera with regards to build quality and ease of operation,so i bought the F4s.I have been delighted with this camera.It is built like a tank,does everything that i will require from a camera.I have already burnt 100+ rolls of film through it and have had not one single incident to marr this excellent piece of equipment - Auto focus to slow-Pah!! nothing wrong with mine

Customer Service

Never ever needed it with any of my Nikons

Similar Products Used: Nikon FE2,FA,F801s,F90x,F50,F65 as well as Leica M111's,Rollieflex and Ricoh's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  Casual [Jan 29, 2003]
Strength:

In my own opinion, it is the most beautiful designed SLR. All those mechanical knobs makes it looking like a great machine. Lots of secondhands in the market, but be careful when choosing. Its battery consumes very very long~~ especially compared with F5. Really durable and tough body, very reliable.

Weakness:

Cannot use G and VR lenses. The surface finishing will easily become "shiny" after used for a period of time. Heavy. Quite troublesome to change the battery for F4S.

Its AF accuracy and speed is still surprising fast even though it is a late 80's product. Of course, slower than F5 and 100, but surely fast enough for sports shoots with AFS lenses. Thus, I can still use my AFS lens with it. My body was bought from secondhand shop at HK$5000 which is cheaper than F100, but F4 provide all the top functions like mirror lock up and different kinds of viewfinders like F5. Thus, it is too expensive to buy a brand new (over HK$10000), but if you can find a good condition secondhand, it is really valuable.

Customer Service

Nil.

Similar Products Used: F5, F3, F100, F80, F70.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Abigail   Expert [Nov 22, 2002]
Strength:

While this camera is 1988 technology, it offers faster AF than all but the more recent Nikon and Canon offerings. Only a select few MANUAL cameras are tougher and mor durable than a Nikon F4. I have yet to find a more solid, durable AF camera. This camera is the only camera that offers Nikon's matrix metering, as well as spot and center-weighted on MF as well as AF lenses. This provides an additional incentive for those who have MF lenses, or who wish to save a few dollars by buying MF lenses on the used market. While this is an early AF camera, it has been called the best Manual Focus camera on the market by many pro reviewers, and I agree. You could almost think of it at the world's best manual focus camera-- but with the option of auto-focus. The exposure metering on the F4 rivals or tops the best of Canon's lineup. Not bad for a camera introduced almost 15 years ago. Pricing on the used market is well below the level of new 'pro' cameras from Nikon, Canon, or Minolta. (Pentax, as far as I'm concerned, has yet to produce a professional AF 35mm camera.)

Weakness:

The AF features, while state-of-the-art in 1988, do not hold up to the latest offerings from Nikon, Canon or Minolta. (I still don't have anything nice to say about Pentax. Sorry.) The newer AF Nikons (N80, F100, F5, etc...) have an easier-to-use dial for shutter speed control when in manual mode.

This is my main camera. While I can afford a 'better' camera, I have not been able to find a camera that better suits my needs.

Customer Service

I've never dealt directly with Nikon-- I've only bought used camera bodies. If you live in the Sacramento area, Action Camera has lousy customer service, but the best used photography selection I've seen. They offer a one year warrantee on used bodies.

Similar Products Used: N65 N80 F5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 77  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com