Nikon FG 35mm SLRs

FG

  • Exposure: Programmed AE, Aperture-priority AE & Manual exposure
  • Manual focus
  • TTL flash control
  • Out-of-production - released in 1982

  • User Reviews (21)

    Showing 1-10 of 21  
    Jon Weddle   Beginner [Sep 30, 2014]
    Strength:

    Easy to use. Built in light meter. Audible over/under exposure warning.

    Weakness:

    Haven't found any yet.

    I am a novice and just bought this FG used (9/2014) for $20! New battery and some film and it was good to go. Looking forward to taking many photos with this camera.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    alfie marsh   Casual [Sep 15, 2011]
    Strength:

    its damn sexy!!!!

    Weakness:

    weakness is not an issue here it has none

    just been given one of the noir fg's its in imaculate condition, gotta say it reminded me of when i was youger and had zeniths and canon cameras ,not in a bad way i hasten to add it felt sturdy and reliable ,well balanced and not too difficult to get to grips with. i have just started to collect older cameras instead of the rediculasly overpriced dslrs that are on the market.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Mathew   Intermediate [Dec 04, 2009]
    Strength:

    accurate metering, large selection of lenses, dependable, solid construction, small size and ease of use.

    Weakness:

    none for me

    My first FG was a used noir I purchased in 1997 and used it for travel, etc. I loved the ease of use, dependability and size. I sadly sold it in 2000 in a rush to digital however after a couple different DSLRs I have come full circle and purchased another FG through ebay. I love it. My 16 year old daughter has an interest in photography so I purchased her one as well. It really is a great camera. Metering is dead on. Very dependable. Large selection of lenses available. It has given me back my love of photography, there is nothing like film and this small but solid camera makes it very easy to enjoy.

    Customer Service

    None needed so far

    Similar Products Used: Sigma SD10, DP1
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Ramde ociragal   Intermediate [Mar 29, 2008]
    Strength:

    Small and compact, can used it all weather from cold to hot seasons.

    Weakness:

    I dont know any coz i only exposed 20 rolls for this camera. How long will the shutter last? or the curtain fails?

    A gift from my dad during my college days back in 87. Black noir Nikon FG with 35-105 macro lens and sb 15 flash. Used it for a thesis proj and couple of mountain trips. All i can say it never fails an all wheather small slr. even the battery is out i can use the manual setting at m90.
    I seldom use it during those years maybe around 20 rolls of film only up to now. Now i still love the handling compare with dslr. if you can see my FG still like new all the controls are like new even the strap in full yellow and the lens look like never been touch.from the shutter and the curtain the stainless coatings are all intact.. I love this camera being a part of my own history, scanned all the images i took with this camera.
    I can sell my dslr but never this one. I still use it once in awhile using a velvia 50.
    Not a pro level camera then, but a first nikon try with program mode, very simple, manual and just a 2- Lr44 ?battery is all you need.
    Everytime i look at my Old FG. it feels like back in 87 again coz looks like new even the passed sticker on top of the hot shoe it's still there. and all the screws are still the original. These one is for keeps.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Neiljohn   Intermediate [May 20, 2006]
    Strength:

    Light weight, capable with reasonable manual speed control, accurate meter that can be read easily in low light, able to use most Nikon lenses and a good range of other makers Nikon fit too.

    Weakness:

    None, though DoF would have been nice (the FTN's have it) its not too much of an issue.

    Having bought MY first Nikons (Nikkormat FTN's) in the 70's I bought a couple of EM's in the 80's as lighter carry faster handling snappers, the EM's getting limited use for the last 10 years, the FTN's none at all. Then last year we had a major fire at work, £125M, and having to work alongside the demolition team I started carrying a compact digital to gather data. Compling the photo files for the insurance claims I found some of my shots I'd taken with the EM's of what we did in the labs, and having started taking LOTS of photo's a day again I felt the need to look at my kit again. The FTN's are still good, but HEAVY, and the lenses likewise, the EM's too limited, lets look for something between them: FG!
    Now I've used F2/F3/Mamiya TLR/'Blads and thought long and hard about digital slrs, but a small film slr still seems to suit ME for MY own use best.
    The first FG I got was an almost mint chrome body, I fitted an FA "E" focusing screen (I like the grid and lack of split prism for some duties) and an MDE I already had, great results from word go, the older EM I was using as back-up started playing up (years of motorcycling with it in a pannier have taken its toll). So I went after a second body, this time a black FG, with some of the black polished off on the corners under the straps (Brassing?, more like resin-ing), this will be my main day to day body, with the better EM as back-up. The chrome FG will be kept for other things where the screen is of benefit, the failing EM as a flash/M90 only use expendable with old damaged/cheap lenses bought for perpose off e-bay, no point in wrecking good ones (motorcycle/cycling/4x4 carry is HARD on cameras).
    The FTN's act as final back-ups, they've been well used and though still good I don't feel carrying that weight does my back any favours. Oh and the SB15 TTL makes flash very simple too.

    Customer Service

    Nikon pro-dealers, always helpful. General camera shops, forget it!

    Similar Products Used: Nikon EM, Nikkormat FTN. Pentax MV1.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    johnr55   Intermediate [Nov 24, 2005]
    Strength:

    Superlight weight, good looks, reliability, flexibility, ability to take winder/drive.

    Weakness:

    No aperture in finder, no full info in program mode, cannot use non-AI lenses (will damage camera)

    I bought my first FG in the early 80's when I still had an F2AS. This little body felt like a store dummy compared to that F2! I fell in love with its light weight and ergonomics. At the time it was a drawback that I couldn't use any non-AI lenses (I still had a few). My biggest gripe at the time was lack of aperture in the VF, which I was used to. I got over that. Even though I also had an F3 I found I used the little FG more and more when I wanted something small and light. It would just happen to be the Nikon I carried with me. I found the metering spot-on, never used the compensation button. I bought the little winder that it shared with the EM and it was still relatively light. It truly was the perfect second body. I sold it in the late 80's along with the other Nikon equipment when I switched to Leica-R. However, a few years ago I bought a mint used one and fell in love with it all over again! A few AI lenses and I had another perfect little traveling outfit. I just used it for a two-week trip to California on business, took a dozen rolls of slide film and every exposure returned perfect. It's quiet, attractive, and an attention-getter in this age of slick molded bodies. I've since bought two other FG bodies and will be keeping them this time. Incidentally, should opportunity arise, don't overlook the FG-20 either. It's the same basic camera, only without program (which I don't use) and with a meter needle instead of LED's (battery lasts longer).

    Customer Service

    Never needed any

    Similar Products Used: Just about every major 35mm brand over 30+ years
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Bill50   Intermediate [Feb 04, 2004]
    Strength:

    dependable doesn't take up much space in the camera bag cute fun to use

    Weakness:

    FGs are getting old now

    This is a good, compact, lightweight body for general purpose photography. The LED's are easy to read in low light compared to match needles. It offers bulb, M90(1/90 shutter) if batts go dead, aperture priority, program mode, and TTL flash capability. If you need mirror lockup, 1/2000 or 1/4000 shutter speed, or multiple exposures, the FG won't do that.

    Similar Products Used: FM3A
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    mark555   Intermediate [Jul 17, 2003]
    Strength:

    nikon build quality, access to nikon optics, multi exposure modes, good viewfinder, compact size, uses standard LR44 batteries, affordable.

    Weakness:

    More mechanical speeds beyond 1/90th would have been the icing on the cake.

    Here is a serious camera in a compact, lightweight package. It has 3 metered exposure modes plus TTL flash. Even a 3 fps winder capable. Mine has withstood years of abuse in rain and spray while outdoors walking or fishing. Bright viewfinder, clear speed indication. Solid metal frame, mechanical parts, back up m90 shutter speed inspire confidence to take out on extended trips. Try that with a digital! With a small prime lens it is as easy to carry as a cheapo compact and will deliver far superior pictures. If you want an affordable versatile SLR with great optics available where YOU control the picture, this has got to be one of the best. A pity they still dont make them this way...

    Customer Service

    not used

    Similar Products Used: Nikon FM2, Olympus OM1, OM2,OM10, EOS500, pentax spotmatic
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Kyle   Intermediate [Jan 22, 2003]
    Strength:

    Small. Program mode on top of the adjustable shutter.

    Weakness:

    No multiple exposure.

    I had a Nikon EM for several years, but I decided I wanted a more flexible camera. This is certainly that for me. The adjustable shutter, with aperture priority, and the program mode are great features. Yet the best part of it all for me is the meter. On the EM and many other cameras I've used (AE-1, AT-1), the meter is hard to read in low light. The LED system on the FG just blew me away, an LED system I could afford! Though I haven't used it much yet, as I got the camera just a few days ago, as of so far I love it. Still carry the EM for other speed films and such, but the FG is definately my primary film camera now. I paid as much as I did because I got a winder and a 75-200mm lens with it. I beleive that $145 for the body and winder would be worth it.

    Similar Products Used: EM, AE-1, AT-1
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    pburg_slimm   Intermediate [Nov 29, 2002]
    Strength:

    TTL-OTF metering, M90 and B modes are mechanical, no battery drain, tough as nails build,and Hey it's a Nikon baby. Totally manual, with a few little lights, and a warning beeper, kool little addition, which warns you of pssible underexposure.

    Weakness:

    Load mirror slap, 1/90 synch speed. Hey!! 99.99% ain't bad.

    This is a little "dynamo". This "mini_mite" of a camera is top of the line. A Nikon, no doubt. Metering, handling, toughness,and quality build, and feel in such a compact package. The picture quality, blew me away. I have runat least 3 rolls thru, this little dynamo, and I haven't been, one bit disappointed. I own a N70, a N80, a Pronea 6i, and a Canon AE-1(also a sleeper). But, his little Nikon has just taken over my attention. I shoot basically with 200 speed Agfa, or Fuji. With this FG, the color quality has not been nothing short of "spectacular". Manual metering, automatic aperature-priority, all are on the money. This is a true Nikon.

    Customer Service

    Nikon customer service, is top of the line. Used many years ago.

    Similar Products Used: Canon AE-1, another manual dynamo. Yeah a Nikon guy using a Canon, shhhhh, and my other above mentioned babies.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 21  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com