Nikon FM2N 35mm SLRs

Nikon FM2N 35mm SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

If you want manual focus and manual exposure control, here's the way to get it - with proven Nikon performance and durability. The FM2N is the choice of traditionalists everywhere.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 144  
[Jul 21, 2006]
John Douglas-Reed
Expert

Strength:

I once dropped a Zenith 12XP smack down on the concrete paving of a platform at Sheffield station in South Yorkshire; remarkably, it survived, but I cannot guarantee that had it been an FM2 then the platform would have done likewise ....

All metal construction, very reassuring

Superb handling, generally speaking

Nikon pose value

Weakness:

Nothing really very important, except that the viewfinder LEDs can be all but impossible to read in bright light. Well, no, let's face it, they're just impossible. As I live in northern Scotland, 'bright light' isn't really too much of a problem for me, but readers in Tuscany might have something to say about it.

Wind on lever very nearly gouges out my right eye at each and every exposure which it might be convincingly argued is rather problematic for any photographer. But then, it's an eccentric camera. Which is why I love it dearly.

The Nikon FM2n was my fifth Nikon body, and although it knocked a big hole in my miserable finances I have never, ever had cause for complaint. I had tested just about every camera in town beforehand (if only to claim some sort of half hearted market research, as I had already decided many months and even years earlier to go for the FM2), including the Canon EOS 3 whose build quality I found curiously lacking by way of comparison. I just knew as I held the Nikon in my hands that it was 'the one.' Beautiful, even timeless; it's a crying shame that Nikon decided to axe it in favour of the rather lukewarm hybrid that was the FM3, and surprising that Nikon of all people should have so badly assessed the market with its pronounced tendency towards digital (even then).

It's not really very much use me recommnding the FM2n to prospective buyers as of course it is no more, but for those photographers who are less fussy than myself I would wholeheartedly give it the thumbs up second hand. There are always plenty on eBay. Buy one - you know you want to, and believe me you will never regret it.

Incidentally, I do not work for Nikon Corporation. Honestly, I don't!

Mr Nippon Kogaku, Tokyo

Customer Service

Nikon FM2n? Excellent, especially as they were running a price match system at the time and I managed to knock them down to just £425 for both body and standard Sigma zoom. Yes, Sigma; the only Nikkor lens to which I could stretch at the time was a boring 50mm f1.8. I know the good old standard lens is probably the only lens you'll ever need, etc etc. Yawn. Zzzzzz, indeed.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon Nikkormat FTn, Yashica FX-3.

I'm not particularly proud of my Nikon FTn purchase, which was something of an impulse buy; there it was, on my dealer's shelves with an £80 price tag
Tempting? Of course - it was a Nikon, right? Well, sort of. Within just two days I had taken it back to my local dealer and bought a Yashica FX-3 from an old school friend of mine.

Yashica FX-3; nice. Very nice, in fact. But it wasn't a Nikon. So it had to go. Sigh.





OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 28, 2004]
mohawk51
Professional

Strength:

Strengths? Many times over!!!

Weakness:

None that come to mind.

I've used this jewell as a back up for my F3 for many years. I used to have the FM2 with the titanium shutter and sold it (big mistake). Years later I got the FM2N. They say the aluminum shutter is better. I'll take their word for it. But I still miss that titanium shutter! Anyway, the FM2N has been through the deserts, on the oceans, jungles, deep down in caves(love those LED's), and on top of some of the mountains of the world. This mechanical marvel has never failed me unlike the F3 once. It is a rather small camera to grip but then again I have small hands so it's not bad. This camera and I have seen some interesting places in the world. I enjoy matching this camera with the Nikkor 28-50MM F3.5, the 24MM F2.8, the 20MM F2.8 and the 75-150MM F3.5 Series E lenses. I've been shooting for many years and was raised with everything being mechanical. Don't own anything AF and don't have the desire to since I shoot landscape and can take my time. This is one reliable piece of equipment.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Nikkormat FTN, Nikon FE2, Nikkormat FT3, Nikon F2, Nikon EL2, Nikon FE and even the Nikon EM!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 19, 2004]
coyneholum
Expert

Strength:

Small and light, but durable All mechanical, not dependent on batteries High flash sync Most of the usual pro features.

Weakness:

Viewfinder only shows 93%, so beware of surprises. Prism/Viewfinder not interchangable (no waist-level for macro, etc.) (I really can't think of anything else; MLU is available through self timer, & I like the LED exposure indicators.)

I agree with all the superlatives I've read in the previous reviews of this fine camera, but I would like to add a slight corrective. The FM2N seems to be very sturdy and durable, and appears very well made, but it's not "built like a tank" as so many have written. The Nikon F2, for example, is "built like a tank." The FM2N is actually quite small and light, and feels considerably more fragile than the F2 (although both are all-metal). Actually, that's the reason I bought the FM2N. When you photograph someone with an F2, everyone within one city block becomes aware of you because of it's deafening shutter sound and mirror flap and its sheer size and professional "aura." It probably looks aggressive & threatening to most. And as for its weight, the F2 is really too much camera for one man to bear for any length of time, although it's the perfect studio camera. Probably the same goes for all the other F models. But the FM2N is small, light, agile, unobtrusive and easy to carry, and probably looks toy-like to the general public. And since it has most of the features of a professional camera (and the high 1/250 flash syc that the F2 lacks), it's really an ideal camera for those who like to travel light and not draw too much attention to themselves. Think of it as being "built like a WWII Jeep," and just as companionable.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Nikon F2AS, most Leica M models, Contax II & IIa, Rolleiflex TLRs, Bronica S2A, other dinosaurs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 02, 2004]
pgirvan
Intermediate

Strength:

All manual 1/250 sec flash syncronization 1sec to 1/4000sec shutter speeds With md-12 it is a comfortable unit Great backup camera or beginner camera

Weakness:

no eyepiece curtain......but for the amount I use that on my FA I think i'll live!

I purchased this camera to back up my trusty Nikon FA. This camera is a very versitile and reliable camera. I attached an md-12 motordrive to mine and I sometimes would rather take my fm2n than my FA!! I sometimes get lazy with the FA's program mode. This camera keeps me diciplined in manual exposure and forces me to take more creative control.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon FA Minolta srt101x Fujica slr

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2004]
mcphotog
Intermediate

Strength:

-Build quality is excellent -Very useful shutter speed range -Meter is very accurate and predictable -Better current system compatability compared to Canon FD -shutter fires without batteries

Weakness:

-Forced me to become right-eyed because of the winding crank... ;)

After becoming tired and frustrated with digital non-DSLR cameras I went hunting for a vintage 35mm SLR. Was tetering between a Canon AE-1 and a Nikon FM3a when someone recommended I look at the Nikon FM2n. It was much cheaper than a new FM3a so I grabbed it. Never regretted the decision. The build quality is superb, the film winder is very smooth. Pure joy to use and so simple to operate. All the controls are intuitive and once familiar with them I have no complaints about their placement. For the beginner it does force you to learn exposure, focus and creative effects provided you have the will to do so. Despite having a digital camera, this one gets the most use.

Customer Service

None required as of yet

Similar Products Used:

Canon PowerShot S30 Canon PowerShot G3 Canon AE-1 Program

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 03, 2004]
Bryan
Casual

Strength:

Built like a brick outhouse, Nikkor lenses superb. Massive range of accessories. Makes your photography better by forcing you to slow down.

Weakness:

None.

I bought this camera after I had wasted money on a Minolta Dynax 5 with two zoom lenses that were just truly awful. The whole thing felt like a toy that would fall to bits given a good knock. No regrets. The camera is superb, the lens I use (Nikkor 50mm f2 AI) is sharp as a tack. This is the best thing I have ever bought. (Lucky enough to find a black body in absolute mint condition with box and manual - didn't look like it had ever been used).

Customer Service

Not needed yet.

Similar Products Used:

Cosina PM1 bought for 15 pounds around twenty years ago. Another manual camera of good build quality (obviously not as good as the Nikon), still going strong and batteries last forever in it. I've only replaced them twice in twenty years. A great "go anywhere" camera for such as beaches, bad weather and rough terrain where damage is a possibility and you don't want your wallet hit too hard.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 14, 2003]
beatsme
Intermediate

Strength:

Brings you back to basic photography Built like a tank 1/4000 max shutter and 1/250 synch Battery? What battery? Never needed to exchange in the 3 years I use it. Easy to focus with fast lenses (forget about slower than f/4) All the features you expect from a camera. Works with most Nikkor lenses (besides the G-stuff, but who wants that in any way?)

Weakness:

Compared to the Pentax K-1000 a bit pricey. The winding crank can be a pain in the eye. Could need a better handle to pound nails in the wall easier.

Wonderfully built mechanical masterpiece. Perfect for street photography. Ok, it doesn't have the snob apeal of a Leica M6, but doesn't obstruce much more (besides the mirror slap). The simple C/W metering is as accurate as most of the moderner idiot proof auto everything cameras. My main camera - the F90x is rarely used.

Customer Service

what for?

Similar Products Used:

Mamiya ZE, Pentax K-1000 (also a very good self defense weapon)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2003]
mircea
Intermediate

Strength:

Simple yet complete -- no redundant functions like "Idiot mode" you can find on new AF models. Very reliable construction and shutter. Build quality is excellent. Great feeling of an indestructible camera.

Weakness:

Grip is hard to achieve without the MD12 motor -- sometimes, when my left hand moved between the focusing ring and the aperture ring on the lens, the other hands looses grip on the body. The MD12 makes it more comfortable to use. Yes, it gets heavier, but a bit of a workout never hurts. Me personally I like to work in Aperture priority mode. On the FM2 I don't have this mode, so I therefore I have to adjust exposure from the shutter speed dial -- this is difficult a bit because the rewind crane is in the way. Finally, there are just some minor weaknesses, the camera is great, buy it and you will never regret doing so.

I bought this camera based on the fact that I want a simple tool for photography, yet one that is extremly reliable. This camera has the very basic functions you need and when you make a good photograph, the merit is entierly your own. The same, for a bad photograph, you alone are to blame...This leads to an extremly steep learning curve and after a few weeks I almost forgot about my autofocus Nikon...

Customer Service

not used. not available in eastern europe!

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 20, 2002]
dan
Expert

Bought an fm2n on ebay which was described as mint. Shutter started jamming after 1 roll. This is a know fault for the waffle shutter. Also not good with glasses. Never had a problem with nikkormat or pentax k-1000: the tanks.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 10, 2002]
rayrobinson
Expert

Strength:

I thought my other FM2n was built like a tank but this one is REALLY built like a tank!!

Weakness:

none what so ever

I liked my first FM2n so much I recently bought an FM2/T (titanium) from a friend who purchesed it new but never used it. It is a beautiful camera that is virtually indestructable. I think Nikons quality control on this version must have been a bit tighter than normal. My T version seems to have a smoother film advance crank as well as a smoother shutter speed dial. It is aslo a bit lighter due to the titanium.

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used:

F2, Fe, FM2n, Nikkormat FTN

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 144  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com