Nikon N70 35mm SLRs

Available At:
N70

User Reviews (180)

Showing 1-10 of 180  
Javid   Expert [Apr 26, 2006]
Strength:

Solid well made body, which is also light enough to carry easily.
Balances big zooms well (my 80-200mm f/4 AIS handles well mounted on the N70)
Very soft shutter release sound for discreet, quiet shooting.
Will provide center and spot metering with manual ais lenses.
Electronic rangefinder/focusing aid when using manual focus.
5 segment 3D matrix balanced flash like the later N 75 and N 80 when using D lenses.
AF-S lenses will work.
Built-in flash.
Crazy low price these days.

Weakness:

No matrix metering with MF AIS lenses. However same is true for the F100. If you have the N75 or N80 or even the D70/D70s, the meter will simply not work!

No DOF preview. I almost never use it anyway.

G lenses will only work in Program or shutter priority auto.

No high speed synch flash.

The N70/F70 has received criticism due to its graphic interface. In my opinion the interface is quite good, just by looking at the oft condemned 'fan' shaped display you can immediately know what settings have been applied. It also has the 'quick recall' function, which allows you to program a set of custom fuctions. I use this to instantly change the settings when I switch my AF to MF lenses without wasting any time. Example: when I mount a MF lens I need to change matrix metering to center weighted, and switch Program to Aperture priority. These settings are saved as Quick recall #2 setting, and I just select this.
The prices have dropped to a crazy rock bottom, and if you need a highly capable film camera, this is it.

Similar Products Used: Nikon N75
Nikon N80
Nikon N2020 (F501)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Elkmeister   Intermediate [May 07, 2004]
Strength:

Solid Very inexpensive for the functions.

Weakness:

No DOF Feels a bit dainty if you have large hands The function screen can be hard to read

I purchased this camera over 5 years ago despite quite a few negative reviews and articles at the time. Glad I did. I feel it is a very underrated camera. I also own an N90 and keep the two loaded with different film speeds. As to the difficulty with the controls and interfaces on the N70- if you can operate a kitchen range and the microwave one after the other you can handle it. It is not that difficult folks. Yea you might have to actually spend an hour or two reading the manual-so what. I don't even have to think about which camera body I am using. As I jump between the N90 and the N70 the main difference I note is the more solid feel of the N90 but this is pure personal preferance. The N70 lacks a DOF which can be a pain but that is the only real functional difference that bothers me. I have tested both side by side and you would need to be a major anal retentive to find any differences. I have not detected any consistent tendency to hunt with longer lenses. It will hunt on occasion but so does the N90. Finally, the price of these on Ebay, Keh and elsewhere has reached a ridiculous bargain level in my opinion.

Customer Service

haven't needed it

Similar Products Used: Nikon N90 Nikonos V Minolta x-370 Zeiss (ancient)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
one2free   Intermediate [Apr 22, 2004]
Strength:

Controls are very easy to understand and use. Very nice solid feel in the hand compared to the newer and smaller N65, 75, 80. Meters manual focus lens for those who has them, unlike the newer N65, 75, 80. Built-in flash is great plus for casual use.

Weakness:

As someone has pointed out before, some settings require two-handed operation. LCD is not lighted.

The N70 is a very nice camera. I got the QD version which is great since for casual people pictures, it is very hard to even remember the year, let alone the month when the picture is taken when you look at it later. Some users do not like the way the controls are laid out, but I find it very easy. Anyone who uses a computer should find the N70 easy to use since it is based on the same logic by using menu-driven commands. For example, by selecting Exposure Mode in the main menu, you have narrowed the next set of available choices, which will be Programmed, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Manual, i.e. these are the submenu within the main menu. By selecting Flash control in the main menu, you then have the submenu to choose among flash on, flash off, red eye, etc. Just like using any Microsoft Windows-based software where selecting 'File' from the main menu narrows your focus and brings you to the submenu where you can then select New, Open, Close, Save As, etc., or select 'Edit' from the main menu brings you to the submenu to choose among Copy, Paste, etc. You really do not need to memorize anything. Just make your selection from the main menu first, then make your selection from the submenu. I gave it 5 stars especially considering anyone buying it these days as 'used' at a very attractive price.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Used FE for many years before changing to autofocus.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Taj Deluria   Professional [Mar 04, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent build quality. Dead-on-the-money metering. Full manual control. Auto-bracketing. Easy manual EV compensation.

Weakness:

No DOF preview, which can be a hassle sometimes, but once you get to know your lenses, you rarely look for it. Autofocus is starting to show its age. No LCD light. No AF-assist illuminator. Requires an electronic cable release.

Excellent. The body has a very well-rounded and well thought-out set of features for the price bracket of a camera. Think of it as a poor man's F90x/N90s, and a successor to the 8008. After shooting with it for six years (and several hundred rolls) now as an amatuer and occasional professional, I've still been hard pressed to justify to myself the purchase of a "better" camera. The camera provides full manual control, so is actually a great product for beginners who wish to really be creative in their photography. When set to full-auto the thing does as advertised: take very respectable shots while you focus on composition. Build quality is still very much up to Nikon standards. I've dropped this thing twice from a height of around 1 meter / 3 feet. I broke the SB28's foot, but the camera just glanced it off. The built in meter (3D Matrix) is remarkably spot-on for such a "cheap" camera. I'd say around 80-90% of my good exposures would follow the cameras recommended exposure. The body is also quite robust yet light enough to lug around all day. The more expensive features have been omitted of course: DOF preview, Mirror lockup. Despite some reviews saying the contrary, the F70/N70 CAN be used with a cable release. The confusion sometimes stems from the fact that it does not have a provision for a mechanical release and uses what Nikon calls a three pin "electronic remote release". That's marketing for you. It does exactly the same thing. Autofocus is decent, but in my opinion is starting to show its age. Focus sensitivity is excellent. Focusing speed can be (relatively speaking) slow with longer or heavier lenses. Built-in flash is decent. I rarely use it if I have a speedlight nearby. Great for parties when you just want to point and shoot. The flash sits relatively close to the lens, so be ready for occasional red-eye if red-eye reduction is turned off. You'll want to do that if you want the thing to just shoot fast with no lags or delays. The camera has no AF-assist illuminator, though. In dim conditions the AF will tend to "hunt" for the focus and sweep back and forth across the range of the lens. Having a speedlight (I use an SB28) on will resolve the issue, but it forces you to use the flash. If you're doing low-light work with natural light sources, your better off using manual focusing. As for the interface (which so many people seem to complain about), it is easy to use IF you read the manual. However, it does require two hands to operate, and requires you to locate a blinking arrow on the LCD screen. During the day this is no real problem. However, the LCD has no backlight of any sort, and using it during the night can be a nightmare. Working with the thing in low light conditions takes a bit of getting used to because of the last two issues. But it hasn't really stopped me from enjoying the camera or doing low light work. Aside from those little quirks, I think I'll considering moving up in a few more years after I've maxxed out what this thing can do. It was cheap when I got it six years ago, I can imagine how much cheaper it is now. I'm considering buying another one as backup AND THEN I'll think about saving up for an F5. I'll give it five for value. I would have given it five stars for overall rating IF it had an LCD light and the AF assist light, which is probably the only gripe I can toss the engineers who designed the thing. Otherwise, it's a great piece of equipment.

Customer Service

In six years of outdoors, I've never had to use it for this camera. The flash went back to Fotokina, got it back in 3 days.

Similar Products Used: Nikon FM10, FE, F60D,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
David Yong   Intermediate [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Fast top shutter speed, 3.7fps built-in winder, reliable metering and autofocus system, good built quality and ideal weight.

Weakness:

No built-in autofocus assist (infra/light beam) in low light.

After reading all the negative comments on the handling aspect of this camera, I decided to take up the challange when I spot this camera on an auction site. I won it for the above stated price together with a Sigma 28-200mm zoom! Despite being more than 6 years old, the camera is still relatively new and working flawslessly, a testimony to the built quality of Nikon cameras. I just need to spend some 2 hours going through the user manual and I am up and running using the camera like I had been using it for years. Frankly, I don't know what is all the fuss about the fan-shaped LCD screen. To me, its unique and beautiful. The camera's metering is reliable and autofocus speed with the long zoom lens is good. This camera has features that are more than I ever will use but I know they will be available whenever I need them. I have no regrets buying this camera and I know it will stay with me for some time to come.

Customer Service

Good and reliable.

Similar Products Used: Nikon F-60D, Canon EOS50E, Pentax P-30T.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Lexmouth   Intermediate [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

* Clear pictures * Great metering in program mode * Great for all manual control * Light-weight body * Great feel in your hands * Well covered in previous posts * Bright/Clear HP type Viewfinder * Excellent racketing/compensation options * Very durable * Fast and quiet * Meters manual lenses * Very Good TTL/Fill flash accuracy

Weakness:

* Requires both hands and several steps for most settings * LCD is not backlit * Flash syncro is only 1/125 (N/A when additional flash is attached!

Very good camera. It has a stronger flash than F65 or F80. I have this camera for 2 years and overall the F70 is a very good camera. If it wasn't for the following weaknesses, I would have given it 5 stars. I agree that it User Interface takes a bit to get used to. But once your used to it, it not too bad. And if you use the built in QR settings, you can quickly change from one setting to another. Most of the times the exposure comes out fine in matrix mode. However, there are times when your subject will come out underexposed with a brighter background. Just need to make sure that you use the fill-flash for those type of situations.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Canon EOS300 Pentax Compact
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nikondude   Expert [Nov 28, 2002]
Strength:

light weight, compact size, price.

Weakness:

exposures not always correct, slow film advance, lack of flexibility, no depth of field preview.

a decent camera for the price, but nothing special.

Customer Service

good. I had a problem with the automatic rewind, where it never stopped rewinding. I took it to the authorized nikon repair shop (in san diego) and had it repaired within the space of 1 day. not bad.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
nazirdelma   Intermediate [Nov 05, 2002]
Strength:

metering.. reliable flash power.

Weakness:

no cable release( manually) lack of dof

i must have write this review before 2 years when i had own f70 .now i am using f80. generally speaking..most of the af slr bodeis performance in manual mode are little weaker compared to the auto mode.this i noticed with pentax mz7,minolta dynax 505 si(maxum?),nikon f80.but with f70...believe me..there is no differnce in performance between auto and manual exposure modes atall.. this is major feature to consider about this camera.i know that many experienced photographers never trusting on the metered values of exposure while cicking..regardless of whatever camearas they are using.one veteran photographer told me 'metering is a basic instinct(this is what realy i lacks)..actually it should happens in the photographers mind..the values getting from the camera's exposure meter only secondary ' ...so a perfect meter means there will be a minimum deference only between the actual scene and photograph. i feel the f70 's metering is one of this kind.u can rely on it on 95% of situations..both in manual and auto.the sucsessor f80 found to be far behind in this matter.even though there is a mind straining interface is there (if u giving some attention in the beggining its not a big deal to understand)in total conclusion f70's plus sides are more than the drawbacks.about built in flash; i believe that no built in flashes are perfect.. a seriuos photographer canot rely them absolutely..but this one with a g/n 14 is not asimple thing to neglect..as the same flash with f80 only g/n 12 (there is nothing to comment on that..i am using sb 28 allways.when using sb28 as slave flash in remote operation,i use the built in flash just to trigger su 4).i had taken beatiful fillflash closeup portraits of children using this pop up flash...but with f80's built in flash i am not brave enough to do the same.now i think of one option..(please dont laugh at me..if nikon is incorporating the best functions of f80 into the current f70 without omitting its elegant functions like metering and responsiveness ..and making a new version of f70..i am sure that it will be a best af body everbuilt.(on the prize performance ratio).good bye.

Customer Service

not yet needed

Similar Products Used: f60,f80,fm2,pentax mz7,dynax 505 si afd nikor 20mm af nikor 70-300 ed af nikor 28-200mm sigma 28-70mm ex.2.8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sripley814   Intermediate [Sep 27, 2002]
Strength:

* Great metering in program mode. * Great for all manual control. * Light-weight body. * Great feel in your hands

Weakness:

* Inside ISO reminder would be helpful - camera doesn't default back to DX after film is taken out. * LCD is not backlit.

Great camera. Some say that the LCD interface is confusing, but I don't think so - give it a chance. The LCD isn't backlit, so using in dim light or at night is difficult. Otherwise, the button placement is logical and very easy to use. And since it got poor ratings (I don't know what they were talking about) to begin with this camera is a great value!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Previous camera was a Pentax 1000!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pieter   Intermediate [Jun 05, 2002]
Strength:

User friendly Many options High quality Well built (Used) Price

Weakness:

No backlit display (but that's the ONLY thing!)

I think, judging by all criticism on the interface, that this is a camera for intelligent people. It really isn't all that difficult to use! Besides it lets you preprogram three (!!) settings, that you can do at home with the owner's manual on your lap. Then there are no less than eight factory preprograms for your convenience. What the $%#@ more do you want?! A trendy round turning knob, because all your class mates' camera's have one...? Don't be childish. This is a very good and user friendly camera. One of he best features is that the F70 allows me to use it as an aperture priority camera accepting my old AIS (and alike) lenses. What I like best is the high value, the quality and sturdiness for this low price!

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used: Nikon FM2 (also VERY GOOD camera!!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 180  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com