Pentax K1000 35mm SLRs

Pentax K1000 35mm SLRs 

DESCRIPTION

One of the most basic manual cameras ever made. This is a great student camera.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 129  
[Aug 31, 2010]
Dasferante
Casual

Was looking for a good digital SLR for some casual yet high-quality photographs during my occasional travels (military), and I came across this camera (body only) during my travels to value village.
It's a beautiful camera, being the version made before shifting to china. Looks almost as new as the day it was made, with no damage at all.
Works well with the old Pentax lenses my father had from the 80s, and takes stunning photos of scenery.
Unlike my digital cameras, the feel of the classic manual dials seems to make it almost quicker and easier to set, instead of searching through menus and having automatic settings ruin a shot.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2010]
Kory
Intermediate

Strength:

Rugged, Lasts the test of time.

Weakness:

The exposure meter can be a bit inaccurate at times.

I love this camera. I started on the D300s. After a few months, and what I could call nearly mastering the simplicities of photography, I decided I would expand and try film. I read some excellent reviews and bought this little girl on eBay for about 60 dollars. It is in mint condition with all the original packing and a 55mm f/1.2 lens. Although my first roll was less than desirable I would like to think I have also mastered this craft on an intermediate level. This is a great camera.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon FM2
Nikon FM10

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2010]
Rick Ozment
Expert

The Pentax K1000 was my first camera. I bought it in 1978, it saw me through college and long after. I still use it today for astro-photography, as the battery can be removed and the camera used for long exposure (hours long, with no problems).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 18, 2010]
lwillson0991
Expert

Strength:

Extremely rugged. Took it to some very rough places and exposed it to a lot of extreme environments. It never ever let me down. Pentax manual focus lenses are some of the finest optics in the world.

Weakness:

Not many. Can't think of any. It's not intende to be anything more than it is. And it does it with Style!

My fist SLR Camera (this will date me) Was an East German made Praktica Super TL. This was a very similar camera to the K1000. It was given to my on my 11th birthday. In 1979 I bought a K1000. I found the performance of the K1000 about equal to the Praktica mechanically, The lenses available from Pentax were extremely good value and great performers. I had used older screw mount Pentax lenses on the Praktica and those lenses are the main reason I bought the K1000 when I decided one body wasn't enough. I ended up getting both cameras stolen in the late 1990's and about then I decided to "go digital" I bought a Minolta auto exposure 35mm camera also as I didn't find digital to be useful in a lot of situations (resolution and image quality was rather limited in digital back then. I missed those two cameras so much that My brother found and bought a Praktica on Ebay and shipped ot to me for my 49th brithday! Later I went out on Ebay and bought another K1000. I have over 45,000 images in my portfolio. Over 2/3 of them digital. But I'll never lose my love for the K1000 or shooting film.

Similar Products Used:

Praktica Super TL, YashicaMat, Grafflex, Nikon F with FTn finder,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2009]
Todd
Casual

Strength:

Exceptionally solid camera
Reliability
Takes fantastic pictures
Easy to use for a beginner but can be used by a pro

Weakness:

All manual If you want auto anything it doesn't offer it.

I purchased a K1000 in May of 1980, yes 1980. This is the best camera dollar for dollar I believe you can buy. An amateur can use it and take great pictures and a pro can use it and take fantastic pictures. It has no bells or whistles, but one thing it does do is perform flawlessly. It is a camera a beginner can start with and grow, or just someone who casualy takes pictures and wants to have a good reliable camers can operate and be very pleased providing they don't mind focusing manually and setting the speeds and aperatures manually. This is of course no big deal fo most shots, but you won't reach in and grab your camera and snap a picture in a half second.I have taken this camera, my only camera for all these years, everywhere and have taken countless pictures. Never, and I stress never, have I ever had one bit of trouble with this camera. Not even once. I am looking to buy a digial SLR and a Pentax is what I'll buy and it will probably be a K2000 because it sounds like a modern version of the K1000. I only want to buy something once if I can and the K1000 turned out to be my one time purchase for many years. If it weren't for the convenience of digital I would not even consider replacing it and I think it would last forever.

Customer Service

I don't know. In over 29 years the camera has never malfunctioned. Caution, Pentax service may not know how to work on one because they've probably never seen one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2009]
Emilie Stone
Intermediate

Strength:

It's a great tough camera, last for a long time even through the rougher times.

Weakness:

No self timer.

Great student camera

Customer Service

Haven't had to use customer servive for this product

Similar Products Used:

Canon Rebel XSI

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 14, 2008]
Jack
Beginner

Strength:

all most everthing about it

Weakness:

not anythink i can think of

I have had this camera for 1 week and after seeing the first prints i knew this was going to be a great camera for everything this is one that is a perfect for a leaning camera and also one great for a pro

Similar Products Used:

I tryed out a similer lieca but this was a much better value

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 22, 2008]
amhildreth
Intermediate

Strength:

No automatic settings means you have to think about the picture before you take it.
Lenses are plentiful and relatively inexpensive. An excellent student camera. The steel body is well-suited for outdoor or extreme photography, and can take a great deal of bangs and scrapes while still performing well. In-camera light metering works well in most situations and will last for several years between battery changes. Battery affects light meter only, and the K will continue to shoot even with a dead battery. Classic looks. All necessary controls are easy to use. Most available lenses are of a high quality.

Weakness:

No automatic settings - may intimidate or confuse those with a limited knowledge of photography. Light metering needle is non-illuminated, has no on/off switch, and is almost impossible to read in dark shooting situations. Lens cap must be kept on when camera is not in use, or the light metering battery will die prematurely. No autowind or self-timer. Shutter type dictates a 1/60 setting only for flash photography.
Camera has a "dated" look to it (although some prefer the term "classic"). Button battery compartment door screws in to bottom of camera, and can become lost if not occasionally checked for tightness. Due to camera design, available accessories are somewhat limited as compared to other SLR's. Proper focus can be hard to acheive in low-light situations.

The K1000 is an excellent "all-around" camera that is at home in the hands of a student, as well as in those of a seasoned professional. The camera has no automatic settings (not such a bad thing), and is a tool that can be used to take great photographs.. The K's have a steel body and are able to withstand a ridiculous amount of punishment without complaint. The K1000's have a staunch following, and earned a place as one of those camera that everyone should own at least once in their lifetime. If you've never owned one, you are missing out on one of the best used bangs-for-the-buck still available in photography.

Customer Service

I can't comment on Pentax customer service, as I've never had a problem with my K1000 that required repair.

Similar Products Used:

Canon A-1, Mamiya C220, Olympus Infinity Twin, Fuji SLR

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 20, 2008]
Andrew
Intermediate

Strength:

Completely manual settings. Extremely durable. Easy to use. Lenses are plentiful and easy to find in good condition. Will continue to shoot even if battery for light meter is exhausted. Film is easy to load, even while in the field. Body is well built, and can withstand a great deal of abuse without faltering.

Weakness:

Although a plus for many, the camera has NO automatic functions. All settings must be done manually before shooting. No autowinder option available. No self-timer. Light meter uses button-type battery, and it will die quickly unless lens cap is kept on when not shooting.

The K1000 is an easy to use all-around 35mm SLR. With no automatic settings, it makes you think about your shot before taking it. Clean-looking, classic, and plenty of lenses available for it. Earlier models have all-steel body with little plastic. A great student camera, or for those that like doing outdoor photography. This camera will withstand an unrealistic amount of abuse and still perform well.

Customer Service

I can't comment on Pentax customer service, as I've never had a problem with my K1000 that has needed attention.

Similar Products Used:

Canon A-1, Pentax A3000, Fuji

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 23, 2008]
kurttarvis
Professional

Strength:

simple and easy to use, good features, long lasting shutter, this camera is built like a tank.

Weakness:

fully manual

A simple beginner's camera yet also good enough for the serious amateur. This is a fully manual and fully reliable SLR. It's so basic yet to awesome.

Similar Products Used:

Pentax ME Super, Canon EOS 1N

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 129  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com