Holga 120N Medium Format

Holga 120N Medium Format 

DESCRIPTION

Plastic, fixed-focus, medium format camera. -60mm fixed-focus, plastic lens -Shutter speed: 1/100th sec -Aperture: f/8and f/11 -Flash hot shoe -Flash version available Black tape for sealing up light leaks not included.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Apr 26, 2022]
Kyzer


Strength:

Thanks for sharing this information, it's a great quality camera. electrical services los gatos

Weakness:

It's worth the buy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 14, 2022]
joeanderson


Strength:

It’s the classic, default Holga design i bought in Pearland. although there are versions available that look very similar but have additional features. These are identified by additional letters in the model name, with more additional letters meaning more additional features you get stacked on. The 120GN has a glass lens, while the 120FN has a built-in flash. Simple maths then tells you a 120GFN has a glass lens and a flash.

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2022]
Toddclo


Strength:

Good teaching tool for photographic students. - Something different from your average medium format camera. - Easy to modify. - www.reikiofaustin.com/book-now

Weakness:

A little heavy to carry a camera like this.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2022]
Mary156


Strength:

VERY inexpensive allows for creative interpretation fun to use can come through like a champ on occasion.

Weakness:

Nothing to complain. david

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2021]
Janwil


Strength:

What a very nice product. Thank for sharing Chicago SEO

Weakness:

none so far

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 13, 2015]
David W
Intermediate

Strength:

Cheep, fun, medium format!

Weakness:

Back can fall off! (Secure with tape)

I was surprised how solid the winding knob felt when I loaded some 120 into my $20 camera-swap find. Also the shutter has a reassuring clunk. I've only shot 1 roll of B/W but the results were consistent with shots I've seen online. Definitely a camera for the free spirited and open minded type. Match the film speed to the lighting conditions, over expose rather than under expose and choose dramatic compositions for best results.

Similar Products Used:

Lomo lc-a, Lomo mini Diana.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 11, 2010]
notsert123
Casual

Strength:

Dreamy feel to the photos
Shutter release is on the side of lense
Ease of multi exposures

Weakness:

Cheap (you get what you pay for)
Overlapping Exposures

I bought this camera off craigslist for my first camera. The photos took, were awesome. My one complaint was that with square format, the photos would overlap alot. Which would end up costing me extra money. Despite that, I love this camera and Im glad I bought it.

Similar Products Used:

Diana F+

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 15, 2005]
Scooterist
Intermediate

Strength:

- VERY low cost. - Takes 120 film. - Extremely light. - Lots of fun! - Gives great shots! - I shoot with ISO 100 film in mine all the time!(unless I'm shooting inside) - Good teaching tool for photographic students. - Something different from your average medium format camera. - Easy to modify.

Weakness:

- Being plastic, you have to be a little more careful where you put it, lest it fall or get sat on and break. - Takes a bit of time to get used to the focusing. - Loading and unloading tend to be a bit of a pain. - Film has been a little loose inside the camera, but that could just be user error. - Wish viewfinder was closer to the lens. - Light leaks.

The Holga is a great camera for the medium format beginner. Yes it's cheap, yes the lens is wonky, yes there is vignetting around the edges BUT if you are looking for a dream like quality to your pictures that don't need to be produced using a photoshop like program, then the Holga is def for you. I love using my Holga(s), they are very simple to use and being made of plastic, are very light. I've never gotten a hand cramp from luggin' around a Holga. :) Some folks like the unique light leaks, I for one can't stand them, but after about 5 minutes and a roll of hockey tape, the problem was solved! Everyone has their own opinion of the Holga, but I feel those who call them crap, useless, junk ..Ect. Just haven't really given them a chance. I've seen some extremely cool & beautiful photo's taken with the Holga. Even an award winning shot from a Montreal Photographer! Try it and see! :D

Similar Products Used:

True Vue (Diana Clone)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 06, 2004]
wild_shot
Intermediate

Strength:

VERY inexpensive allows for creative interpretation fun to use can come through like a champ on occasion

Weakness:

plastic of course no options but honestly, they werent designed to be professional cameras, we have to work around their limits and make them work for us.

A lot of people say the Holga is crap, and in the real world. it is. BUT! you work around and with it's limitations and you can honestly produce some amazing images. We have used them on assignment's and while, reprimanded by classmates, our professors were amazed as to what we were able to produce with a holga. also, like the others are saying, it is a ton of fun to experiment with, and just have fun! because that is what photography is about is to enjoy it. besides they are so cheap what is the harm in buying one? also, just for fun we were putting our flashes on the hotshoes. i slapped my 550ex on my holga, man that was a funny sight.

Customer Service

does it exist? haha

Similar Products Used:

Umm.. similar to a holga? :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 05, 2004]
Christiano
Professional

Strength:

light and easy like air-burger crap

Weakness:

pure plastic and plastic and marketing

A piece of crap invented by some very greedy business men( who only think with their wallet and only this,they are ambitious sellers which make idiotic stuff(or better;they let others do the hard work (manufacture cameras(FED):and make the profit by very >good >marketing)pure plastic and nothing else.its like eating a burger and still being hungry! buy a yashicamat rollie or more serious products who are made by the heart of common sense.

Similar Products Used:

yashicamat rollie

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com