Pentax 645N Medium Format

Available At:
645N

6x4.5-format autofocus single-lens-reflex camera with multi-mode TTL auto-exposure control.

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
gavant   Professional [Dec 02, 2004]
Strength:

Handles like a 35mm Built like a tank

Weakness:

1/60 flash sync small weakness

This is my forth medium format system, I started in 1986 with a Mamaya C220 and then moved to a Hasablad 500c I traded that for a Bronica ETRSI with more lenses and backs but now I have found the perfect camera. 1. Very bright viewfinder 2. Focus is fast and accurate 3. Three different types of metering which are "spot" on. 4. Host of lenses to cover everything from 33mm to 600mm and everything in between. 5. Handles like a 35mm 6. Built like a tank

Similar Products Used: Mamaya C220, Hasablad 500c Bronica ETRSI
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Stan M   Professional [Jul 23, 2003]
Strength:

Focus is quite fast and very decasive. Well build. Wonderful bright viewfindwer. Dioptria correction. Back is not removable (weakness to some).

Weakness:

Synch speed with flash 1/60. I use slow films to offset this.

This is my second MF camera. The other one is Bronica GS-1. I also have EOS 3 with L lenses and a few other cameras. I use ths camera for weddings and portraits. After a few weddings, I can say that I finally found my perfect camera. Sure, EOS 3 is great, but does not produce such a quality. That is why pros use MF. The most important are the results of my work - and these are excellent.

Customer Service

Just sent a few items for cleanining. In the past they were good.

Similar Products Used: Bronica GS-1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  Casual [Jun 27, 2002]
Strength:

Providing all round functions and easy to use. The AF is fast and accurate for most shooting conditions. The light metering is very accurate. Pricing of 645NII is still similar with the old AF version even more extra functions are added. Data printing on film is very useful to evaluate my photographic habits. Batteries last for a long time.

Weakness:

No polarid and digital film back. Flash sync speed is only 1/60sec.

I am now giving comments on new Pentax "645NII" body, the second version. This new body provide mirror lock up and 2sec time delay mirrow lock up which is very useful when I forget to bring along shutter cord. The surface finishing of this new body is a different from old AF body, looks more durable and high class. Several custom functions are also provided.

Customer Service

Nil

Similar Products Used: Pentax 645N(first version) and 67II. Rollei 6008i, Contax AF645.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Albert Rupisan   Intermediate [Aug 04, 2000]
Strength:

Inexpensive compared to other AF medium format cameras. Great AF, sharp lens and easy adjustment knob (quick learning curve). Metering is dead on sharp, easier to use than the Canon Eos.

Weakness:

Limited AF lens selection (plenty or manual focus lenses), interchangeable backs, slow flash shutter speeds. Tight adjustment knobs. Flash is not as technologically advanced as the Canon, but Canon is in a different league and it is 35mm.

The camera has impressed me. The AF is precise, the dials and functions are easy to use. Not as much selection in AF lens as the Mamiya or other major brand Med. Frmt lenses, but then again the lenses are reasonable in price comparatively speaking as the others, the lens are sharp though. It was a excellent AF Medium Format camera for its price and capability.

Customer Service

Have not tried yet.

Similar Products Used: Mamiya Tlr and Canon Eos A2, Elan 2e and 3 bodies, L Lenses and accessories.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
KL Prager   Intermediate [Jul 21, 2000]
Strength:

The P645n is relatively small, light weight and quick & easy to use. It's a simply designed camera w/ great layout of controls. It's supported by a good selection of high quality & reasonably priced lenses. And, it's based upon the very successful and time proven P645 design incorporating several design improvements.

Weakness:

It doesn't have interchangable film backs, or mirror lock up, neither of which is very important for my purposes. Flash sync is only 1/60th which I find is a greater disadvantage, especially for flash fill outdoors. The motor drive is also a bit noisy.

This camera is unquestionably my favorite that I've used in over 20 years regardless of format. It is a remarkably capable machine, yet can also be used as a very high quality point & shoot. It's really amazingly versatile making it a top choice for an "all purpose" camera, in as much as any camera can be.

However, photographers who absolutely need interchangable film backs, mirror lockup or a higher flash sync will probably want to look elsewhere. I'm hoping Pentax will upgrade this model w/ a higher flash sync in which case I'll buy a second body. Even adding a second body will make it competitive w/ other brands given how reasonable Pentax pricing is.

Customer Service

Haven't needed it for any problems whatsoever, but have called several times with questions. They're simply the BEST!!!

Similar Products Used: Hassie 501CM; Mamiya 645ProTTL & M7; Fuji GA645Zi AF; Pentax 67II & several others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Timothy Kiger   Professional [Jul 15, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 645N Medium Format Auto Focus Body
Strength:

The Pentax 645N has amazingly crisp AF and offers a crystal clear finder. In addition, the camera is quiet and performs excellent in a "location" environment.

Weakness:

Hard to say, I haven't really found any, except of course the inability to change film backs in mid roll, which rarely comes up, but is a pain when it does.

I've used this camera extensively over the past six months in various locales and it's performed like a winner time after time. My preference before I bought this camera was a Contax 645 System, but it was too pricey. I suspected the image quality was better with the Zeiss lenses, but to be honest, I really don't see how they could...and I'm sure nor do my customers. Buy it if you want a great medium format with minimal investment...

Customer Service

Superlative! I called Pentax after inadvertantly purchasing a "gray market" 645N, and the company rep was very forthcoming in explaining to me the differences between US and foreign markets and also adding that it didn't matter where the camera was purchased, because Pentax stood behind its medium format product as long as a receipt was provided. Try to get Nikon or Canon to do something like that!

Similar Products Used: Mamiya RB67, Nikon F3, F4, 8008S, you name it, I've tried them...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Roy Borghouts   Intermediate [Jul 01, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 645N Medium Format Auto Focus Body
Strength:

Great handling, superb optics, reasonable fast AF, as heavy as say the Nikon F5, but better results in terms of sharpness and contrast.

Weakness:

Not being able to change films midroll and slow shutter speed when using flash.

Truly a magnificent camera that delivers sharp images, almost on pair with the larger MF. Feels great, looks good and is reasonably priced. I traded my extensive Nikon F5-system for the P645n with 45-85mm and 80-160mm zooms. I have never regretted this change! With this camera, you have the benefits of pro 35mm-systems as high quality zoomlenses, easy flash, autofocus and a very capable metering. The slides with this camera and zooms beat my 'old' F5 in every aspect. All slides have a 'golden glow'. I highly recommend this camera!

Customer Service

Not so good; arrogant and uninterested. Perhaps more friendly to dealers.

Similar Products Used: Pentax 67II, Mamiya 7II, Leica M6, Nikon F5, and other.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick Oelkers   Professional [Jun 26, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 645N Medium Format Auto Focus Body
Strength:

Fast autofocus. Easy to use controls.

Weakness:

No Midroll film change capability

I have use the camera for two weddings so far everything has been tack sharp with no misfires.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
adam forrester   Expert [Jun 02, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 645N Medium Format Auto Focus Body
Strength:

bright screen,spot AF
very well balanced
handholding and on tripod due to side and
bottom tripod mounting
threads

Weakness:

no mirror lock up means camera shake between 1/30 to 1/4 halfs potential resoluton in
macro and long lens shooting(to see this put
a leveling bubble on camera and see the amount of movement when mirror raises or tape
a lazer pen onto lens and project onto wall.

no shift lens available
like mamiya 55 mm.

no good for landscape work at slow shutter speeds
due to camera shake but a great hand held camera
for people and action photography.
good metering and AF is accurate.

Customer Service

?

Similar Products Used: contax 645
mamiya 645af
hasselblad 501c
linhof master technika
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
marty pelletier   Expert [May 26, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 645N Medium Format Auto Focus Body
Strength:

autofocus is accurate, quick, 3 metering modes are superior to most any other, data imprinting is wonderful feature, as is Depth of field preview lever and ease of Auto bracketing and Exposure compensation. prices of lenses are much more affordable than every competitor but are just as sharp and contrasty!

Weakness:

Hard to find one. maybe a full manual overide in autofocus position in AF lens would be nice

this camera body is quite affordable conidering the amount of excellent options it extends to medium format photography. If you have two grand to spend on a camera, look into the pentax 645N before you purchase anything!

Customer Service

did not ever have any problems

Similar Products Used: leica IIIC, Leica R4sp, Canon eos3, eos elan IIE, Canon A1, nikon 6006,Hasselblad 500cm,Besseler pinhole camera, yashica
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com