Yashica 635 Medium Format

635

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
jerry jaskula   Beginner [Mar 09, 2011]

I bought this 635 in 1965, and my buddy was into photography, he talked me into buying it so he could use it. I no longer have a use for it and someone can get some great use out of it. I have the 35mm adapter,portrate lenses,leather case with strap, a flash attachment, original book. Please contact me if interested!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Keltic Knot   Intermediate [Nov 19, 2006]
Strength:

Build like a tank. All metal construction less a plastic cap on the focus knob.
Lenses are now the best of the Yashica TLRs with the reliability of an early model.

The Yashica line delivers more bang for the buck than anything out there. The TLR is excellent for portraits, architecture and scenery. If you are after action short go with a different camera. Most of my better shots have been taken using a tripod at f-16 (the sweet spot of the Yashinon).

Weakness:

I forget to advance the film from time to time and double expose in error. But it is my fault not that of the camera.

The $123 included shipping. The camera looked as if it had never been used. Mark Hama told me when he did the CLA that the interior of the camera showed no signs of use. When I sent the Yashica 635 to him I included a shutter and lenses from a Mat 124G parts camera. He installed the Yashinon in favor of the original Yashikor lenses.
Now it shoots as good as it looks. A hand held meter is needed due to the fact the camera has no meter. I use a Gossen Luna-Pro and often use Gossen's Variable Angle Attachment which allows for spot metering are either 7.5º or 15º. The meter itself reads at 30º.

Customer Service

Expert factory trained service can be found at: www.markhama.com
Mark worked for Yashica in their Nagano factory before it closed. His work is excellent, prices are good and the turn around time is fast.

Similar Products Used: The Yashica line delivers more bang for the buck than anything out there. The TLR is excellent for portraits, architecture and scenery.

A Yashica Mat with Lumaxar lenses. This MAT also have no meter. It is from 1958 and uses a film advance crank handle which also cocks the shutter.

It is unlike the other Yashicas I have seen in the following ways:

1) The focus only reads in feet not feet and meters like the others I seen and used.
2) The SEC selections are also unusual and offer the following options:
B, 1, 2, 5, 10, 25, 50, 100, 250, 500

The other Yashicas offer the following:
B, 1, 2, 4, 8, 15, 30, 60, 125, 250, 500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
maxverb   Expert [Jul 27, 2006]
Strength:

Leaf shutter = flash sync at any speed
multiple film formats (with adapter)
huge negative
good lens

Weakness:

non-standard cable release thread
shutter cocking not coupled to film advance (actually an advantage if you like double exposure)

This camera was my mother's when she was in photography school in the 1960's, so I didn't pay anything for it. I did spend $5.00 at a yard sale for a box containing a working 35mm adapter kit and a lens hood, both of which are rather rare. I've used this camera for about ten years, whenever I feel the need to go totally manual or feel like shooting film. I usually shoot with digital, but it's nice to step back in time. The Yashikor lens is probably best at f/8 or so, definitely a bit soft wide open. I've used it with the 35mm adapter for studio portraits and it is excellent in this role, but difficult to switch to horizontal viewing because of the waist-level finder and the mirror-image effect. Shooting 120 in the 6x6 format, of course, there is no need to worry about vertical or horizontal; if you aren't sure, just compose wide, and you can crop either way, given that the negatives are so big and sharp. Best to use it on a tripod or grip. The film advance mechanism and the shutter are completely independent; your best bet is to wind film immediately after an exposure, and only cock the shutter when ready to shoot. If you don't have some sort of procedure for this, it can be easy to either make a double exposure or wind right past a blank frame of film! Finally, this camera is built like a tank. I have to confess that it fell off a moving car once, destroying the metal lens hood. I immediately took it to a local repair sho, and they cleared it as working perfectly. I was very impressed (and I never left it on the roof of a car again).

Customer Service

not applicable

Similar Products Used: Mamiya 645, Fuji GS 645 S
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christian M Fisker   Professional [Oct 19, 2003]
Strength:

Quiet Strong easy to use compared to others sharp optics nice strong shutter good with Vivitar 285 flash gun up to 1/500 of a sec! 6x6 format ..large extension possible its light compared to others med format cams.. need i say more??

Weakness:

paralax a little clumsy

I must review this med format Yashica 635 again,please forgive me,in this wonderfull sunny copenhagensummertime of year 2003..i have fallen in love with this Old beautifull great box of quality and pure photographic joy.It is the best 75 dollars i have spend,my clients is so happy with the prints i get from this pearl,and when i scan my negs from Agfas wonderfull RSX 100 colourslides and/or Agfas Pan 100 B/W film on my beloved Epson 2400scanner and print it on the Epson 915 the clients is amazed.!!**** And when i go into the darkroom they cry.*****....so use it for wedding, parties or whatever job youll go for; You will never be dissapointed,but remember to bring a good Meter with you!and a monopod..and..and ..time.. Before You buy one please clean all of it ,especially the lenses.get a yashinon lens and or the yashikor,both types are good and on par with rolleiflexes,mamiyas and even better in my opinion IF you get a good sample.Im amazed how you can get the best bang for the bucks for less than 100usd. Good Luck! Best regards Christian Maldonado Fisker

Customer Service

nope

Similar Products Used: many from others.. mamiya hassies rollei e.q
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  Professional [Apr 22, 2003]
Strength:

Almost all-get it -buy one.

Weakness:

Very few

This Yashica is the best value for money medium format camera you can get. Compared to other brands and similar types this is the one to get. The optics is very good and the prints youll get is very sharp or soft..you can simply choose what to do.(F8,F11 or 3,5) Its a little masterpiece of a true workhorse and very strong built.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Mamiya Hassy Rollie and others..
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mark campelli   Expert [Apr 06, 2003]
Strength:

lens is sharp at f/8..f/11 solid body indestructible!

Weakness:

soft lens at wide open aperture but sharpens up as you close it down

I bought a 635 to enter medium format and was amazed at the extra quality from the very first film! I recently did a black and white portrait shoot using Ilford FP4 and my own home-made soft boxes etc. The photos were "soft" because I was using f/3.5 (this actually suited the female model really well) but at f/8 or f/11 the yashicor lens is very sharp! I find it very hard to go back to those fiddly little 35mm negatives now! after being spoilt with 6 x 6cm. The camera takes some getting used to..totally manual but is a joy to use once you,ve mastered it. The viwefinder is dim indoors but OK outdoors. An excellent camera!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
PETER ZORLAKKI   Expert [Dec 22, 2002]
Strength:

VERY TOUGH CASING...ALMOST UNDESTRUCTABLE. TOTALLY MANUAL.

Weakness:

MOST DON'T HAVE STANDARD CABLE RELEASE SOCKET.

EVEN WITH THE OLDER YASHIKOR LENS, THE RESULTS ARE AMAZING! USING A MAMIYA C330 AND YASHICA 635 ON THE SAME SESSION AT F/8 TO F11. I LATER EXAMINED THE NEGS UNDER A HIGH QUALITY 8x LUPE. COULD NOT NOTICE ANY DIFFERENCE AT ALL!!!!!! THEY ARE ALWAYS A LITTLE SOFT WITH APERTURE FULLY OPEN.

Customer Service

NOT REQUIRED.

Similar Products Used: MANY TLR'S
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
euskera   Intermediate [Sep 11, 2002]
Strength:

Rugged construction Sharp lens COST!!!

Weakness:

Viewing screen a bit dim For $35, what do you expect?

I didn't know what to expect from this camera. I bought it as a first attempt to get into Medium Format and I was looking forward to the challenge of all-manual photography (I usually shoot with a Nikon N80). It is simply the best $35 I ever spent. I recently went on vacation to Cape Cod and shot with the 635 extensively. The results exceeded my wildest imagination. Having to use an external light meter made me slow down and ponder each shot, which made for a much more rewarding experience.

Customer Service

None...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
faceonmars   Intermediate [Jun 11, 2002]
Strength:

Sharp, contrasty lens (I have one of the rare Yashinon examples), very rugged construction. Heavier than most TLRs, but this is good. Forces you to slow down, go back to basics. Capable of gallery-quality prints if you do your part. Oh, very cheap to aquire one.

Weakness:

The only weakness is the timer. Never use it. You'll regret it. Take a piece of masking tape and a marker, write 'Danger! on it, and stick it next to the timer lever, or better, cover the lever so you never use it. You'll kill your shutter, guaranteed.

The best 'Bang for the Buck$$' in Medium Format, in my humble opinion.

Customer Service

Only if you use the Self-Timer Lever. I warned you.

Similar Products Used: Seagull (What was I thinking?) Rollei Kiev
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ed brdison   Intermediate [Feb 26, 2002]
Strength:

ALL PICTURES ARE OUTSTANDING.

Weakness:

NONE

THIS A 635 COPAL-MXV WITH YASHIKOR 1:3.5 F=80MM IN EX CONDATION, WHEN I SEEN IT ON THE SHELF I PICKED IT UP AND AND SEEN THAT IT WAS ONLY $8.00, AND OF COURSE I GRABED IT UP. I HAVE HAD NO PROUBLEMS WITH IT AND AS STATED IT IS IN EX CONDATION.

Similar Products Used: NONE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com