Fujifilm DL-Super Mini Zoom Point and Shoot

Fujifilm DL-Super Mini Zoom Point and Shoot 

DESCRIPTION

An ultra-compact camera filled with high performance features like a 2x zoom lens and Multi-Programmed Flash.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 33  
[Jun 10, 2019]
Bo3b


Strength:

Super sharp. Great lens. TOUGH case (my wife ran mine over with the car, heard a thump and pulled forward to see what it was, running it over again. IT STILL WORKED!!! The finest mini 35 Fuji ever made. Excellent even for shooting Velvia film, so you know it's metering was excellent.

Weakness:

Never found any in MANY years of shooting with it.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 14, 2004]
ugi
Intermediate

Strength:

sharp lens beautiful build manual controls

Weakness:

rare cases of electrical malfunction

I was always averse to buying a zoom point-and-shoot camera because of the purported decline in lens quality. But I've heard so many good things about the DL Super Mini Zoom that I decided to pick one up. Well, in the past month that I have been carrying it around, it has completely earned my trust. At the wide end, it is just as sharp as a lot of single focal length P&Ss. And the fact that the zoom length is so conservative is proof that Fuji wanted to maintain lens quality. The 56mm zoom is short, but its purpose seems to be in aiding you when you just need to get a little bit closer but can't physically move there; it's not really there for telephoto purposes. As such, I think this is the camera I'll be taking on vacations from now on. This camera also happens to be one of the best looking I've seen. There are a lot of cameras out there that claim to be made of metal, but they don't look like this. The DL Super Mini looks very finely constructed, with an elegant, minimal design. Short of the Posh P&Ss, I haven't seen a compact camera this well made. However, I have heard one or two cases of electrical failure starting with the LCD, which is unfortunate, so beware. This camera offers a host of controls that aren't normal on a compact. At first I didn't understand the point of offering "manual focusing" (by setting the distance in meters beforehand), but I've found it very useful in situations using the self timer. And the 3-shot self timer is great for situations when you need to put yourself in a group shot, and don't want to have to run back and forth from the camera to get "just one more".

Similar Products Used:

Olympus Stylus Epic, Ricoh R1, Pentax UC-1, Konica Big Mini, Konica Lexio 70

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2002]
Douglas Henderson
Professional

Strength:

Nice aluminum body and sliding lens cover. Guessing exposures for print film would be satisfactory

Weakness:

Substantial light fall off well into slide images. Image quality didn't seem very good by SLR standards--perhaps unfair comparison.o

Bought this camera early this year, tried it out, was disappointed in the results and returned it to B&H. Perhaps I'm be too accustom to SLR results, because this Fuji DL Super was my second effort at finding a satisfactory P&S, my first try was a Rollei Prego 90 a few years ago--which I also returned because of a lens flaw. The Fuji DL Super looked so nice and was quite optimistic will taking pictures in daylight and overcast exposures with 100 ASA slide film. All the slide images from the single roll shot showed light fall-off well into the image--in both bright daylight and darker overcast exposures, especially at wide angle, as much as a third of the whole slide image looked as it shot at another, slower f-stop. That by itself doomed any desire to keep the camera. Since I used to take an old Minotla Hi-matic F rangefinder camera with its 38mm lens all over the country on backpacking trips with outstanding exposure and sharpness results with slide film, it amazes me that this sort of result would now be difficult to duplicate with today's $100 to $200 point and shoot cameras.m

Customer Service

B&H refunded purchase price--do save all the contents and leave all paperwork blank.t

Similar Products Used:

Olympus SLR system--OM 1's, OM-2000, Contax SLR system--167MT, RX, S2, mostly macro copywork and landscape photography.o

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 25, 2002]
Rick
Intermediate

Strength:

Excellent focal length - 28mm at wide end. Manual focus override, exposure compensation, superb Fuji's EBC lens coating, compact carry everywhere design.

Weakness:

Lens is a bit slow so best to use 400 ASA speed film. The flash almost always activates even in bright scenes - gotta remember to set the camera to flash off setting.

Excellent carry everywhere point and shoot camera. Capability wise, this camera is equivalent to the high end Contax TVS at fraction of the price. Great focal length starting at a wide 28mm. Nice all aluminum construction. And most of all with Fuji Electronic Beam Coated lens, the pictures come out excellent.

Customer Service

Haven't used service yet.

Similar Products Used:

Olympus Stylus Zoom, Pentax IQzoom, and others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 18, 2002]
Alex
Intermediate

Strength:

-Excellent quality lens -great photos -small -Zoom -Wide angle

Weakness:

-Have to remember to turn off flash. -Dentable lens cover

I have been so consistently impressed by this little camera that I can''t reccomend it more to anyone looking for a high quality P&S compact zoom. The lens is everything reviewers have said it is. Last year I took some photos of the aircraft I fly and had a flight attendant take a picture of the pilots in front of the aircraft (28mm) When I gave a print to one of the pilots he was flabbergasted at the quality (unprompted) The print quality is well defined and saturated all the way across the field. I have removed all the batteries from my SLR because I literally havent used it in the two years since I purchased this gem. We used to use a Minolta Cappios Zoom (What a piece of overpriced CRAP!!!) and were so disappointed with the quality we were getting from prints (light falloff, cropping, out of focus and poor AE)that we finally had to somehow lose it. The Fuji was $100 cheaper and I must say that if it ever gets lost I may be brought to tears. From the first roll of film I had keepers of my daughter at the beach and everyone was asking what kind of camera I was using. We develop at Photoworks and sometimes send in several rolls from both the Fuji mini and my wife''s Nikon SLR. We often can not tell which camera was used if we can''t remember. I hope that there is a good supply of these somewhere, because I would get another one if mine ever failed. The only problems I can see are the slightly noisy zoom, the goshdarned fill flash which sometimes washes out the background and the ability of the lense cover to sustain dents. I used to carry this camera in my flight bag untill I noticed one day the lense cover had been dented (no problem) the camera still functions normally, it just looks dented. Now I have a premium Lowepro padded case for it which I highly reccomend.

Customer Service

None required yet

Similar Products Used:

Minolta Crappios Olympus RD35

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 11, 2002]
mrbilla
Professional

Strength:

looks nice,metal body.

Weakness:

slow zooming,slowest shutter speed is only 1 sec,night portrait mode incorporates red eye reduction and cancels after each shot???? flash fires even in the brightest sunlight.

i bought this to replace my pentax espio mini which i used to photograph gigs and club events until i left it in a taxi. i have only used this camera for a few events but i must say i am really disapointed with the end results. available light photographs are all grey and underexposed due to the limitation of the shutter speeds,slow sync flash is a pain on this camera because you have to reset it after each shot.all in all i wish i''d invested in the konica lexio 70 which my girlfriend bought a couple of days after i got this,(i tried getting her to swap but she wouldn''t have any of it).

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

nikon f4,olympus om4,rolleiflex tlr and gone but not forgotten my pentax espio mini.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 29, 2002]
Dusty Slides
Intermediate

Strength:

High-quality lens, very good metering, good flash control, nicely made, wide-angle, exp.com +/- 2 stops in 0.5 steps, manual focus override.

Weakness:

No flash indicator, sounds like an electric screwdriver when zooming, supplied case is elegant but useless

This is a superb camera with a very sharp lens and an excellent metering system at a giveaway price. It also has a well controlled flash. The 28-56 range might put some people off but it''s perfect for general outdoor shooting. 200 speed film seems to suit this camera well though the fairly small apertures may require 400 on a gloomy day. It is also a nice camera to own as it looks and handles nice. Great stuff Fuji. May not suit spectacle wearers as the viewfinder is small and sometimes difficult to quickly locate. There is one idiotic feature (or lack of) that winds me up though - no indicator that says "I need to use the flash". When it''s getting towards dusk and you''re about to take a picture of some building or mountain in the distance, what you want to know is IS THERE ENOUGH LIGHT? Most cameras will pop a little light on to say that they will use flash if you shoot. This way you know you can''t hand-hold with the flash off and have to support the camera somehow to take the shot. With this camera you don''t know! Even when you''ve taken the shot and the flash has fired you still don''t know because it fires the flash a lot anyway! Now the Konica Lexio 70 is around the crown is slipping, but this thing takes fantastic photos and you can''t ask more from it than that!

Customer Service

Never needed.

Similar Products Used:

Ricoh GR1, Olympus MJU-II (aka Stylus Epic)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2002]
trondsen
Intermediate

Strength:

Great lens for a P&S camera. Nice wide to normal range. Good looking metal body. Portable.

Weakness:

A little noisy when zooming lens in and out.

I bought this camera to carry with me when I''m on the go, riding my bicycle and other times when I don''t want to carry a lot of equipment with me. This camera takes very good pictures and is very fun to use. I found myself taking this camera instead of my two Nikon SLRs to family gatherings, and other short trips.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used:

Nikon L35 AF, Contax T, Konica zup 70, and others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 28, 2001]
Johann B
Intermediate

Strength:

pretty much as stated below, this camera gives a nice zoom range including a real wide angle (note that the zoom is not continuous like on many SLRs, but is in steps)... awesome picture quality for the price, outshines every other P&S I''ve used (I''ve not used any contax or leica P&S, tho) ... I bought this for my wife, but I''m using it more and more... nice contrast for B&W pics, too..

Weakness:

controls a little fiddly, but you get used to it; i wish the settings (no flash,esp.) would stick around after turning it off

great little camera, and an incredible value

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

other fuji P&S cameras, many many other P&S''s

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 24, 2001]
Professional
Professional

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

I bought my Fuji DL Super Mini Zoom four years ago in Tokyo as second small camera. Before it I have checked all market to compare Contax G2, TVS, TVSII, Leica Minilux and of course Minolta TC-1. The most I liked were TC-1 and TVSII. The last camera, which I tried, was Fuji. I was very surprised with this camera: small metal body, zoom 28-56, passive AF and MF, expose compensation, clear window and at last the film goes from left to right as in SLR!!! The Super-EBC Fujinon zoom lens quality is beautiful, very sharp and gives nice details in shadows. During four years I have shot hundreds of films and never had problem with Fuji. And now you could buy in B&H for only $120. I highly recommended this model for professionals especially for reporters and serious amateurs. Why not for everybody? Because as for me this camera is just like small friend for professionals and many amateurs don''t need a lot of features with it. Good luck.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com