Olympus IS-3 DLX Point and Shoot

Olympus IS-3 DLX Point and Shoot 

DESCRIPTION

Many would call the IS-3 DLX the Swiss Army Knife of cameras because it combines everything you need in one easy-to-use camera. Which means you will never have to fumble around changing lenses. The IS-3 DLX comes equipped with a 35mm-180mm zoom lens (constructed of extra-dispersion glass for superior quality), programmed ESP Auto Exposure, seven creative exposure modes, spot metering, and more. (Sorry, screwdriver and corkscrew not included).

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 34  
[Apr 12, 2021]
ogilview82


Strength:

I have a friend that owns a OLYMPUS IS-3 DLX POINT AND SHOOT and he said that it is one of the best film camera he ever had. greensboro home remodeling

Weakness:

My friend says that it doesn't have any weakness so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 20, 2021]
jackslesly19


Strength:

No doubt, Olympus is one of the greatest brands in terms of the digital camera itself. Have to tell you, this website is great if you love reviewing cameras. Thank you

Weakness:

Nah.. Didn't see one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 30, 2020]
Janwil


Strength:

Love this camera so far. Thanks Crown Sterling leader in Data Sovereignty

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 30, 2018]
Besperus


Strength:

Compact easy to use, autofocus, film not digital, good usable focal length used most often. Built in flash with otf metering like OM2. Somewhat ruggedly built. Uses AA batteries which are easy to find and relatively inexpensive.

Weakness:

Limited focal length? Wide angle adapter? Tele adapter? Flash needs help, but hotshoe is available for more light.

Price Paid:
25
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jul 25, 2009]
johnyknox
Professional

Strength:

Compact, easy to operate, takes a few different filters and quiet to use.

The 180 zoom and close up feature really get some fabulous pictures.

The flash is balanced.

Really affordable to purchase if you get a good used one like I managed too.

People cannot believe sometimes that the photos I show them have been taken on a compact zoom - surely not it has to be a Nikon or Canon big SLR

Weakness:

Wish somehow that it could be digitalised so I don't have to pay for film processing. Would like the zoom to go to 300 perhaps.

I have always had a soft spot for Olympus cameras, ever since my first one when I was a teenager, the Pen FT.

Having had Hasselblads and most of the upper end Nikons in my time as a photographer, I find the Olympus IS 3000 is the only one now that I'll take on holidays or work jobs.

I take it out because it is compact, fits onto a lightweight tripod, and takes incredibly sharp and well saturated with colour photographs of anything - it's amazing.

I do a lot of work in National Parks here in New Zealand , Australia and Fiji and I really need a camera like this in the back pack with a lightweight tripod.

I just wrap it up in a towel in a plastic bag with a small pouch for filters, films and some spare batteries and with that small package I can handle almost any situation - true

Customer Service

Never needed any, it is so reliable.

Similar Products Used:

Nikon F5, Hasselblad ELM, Swiss army knife, Subaru 4WD car, ABU fishing reel, Martin D 28 Guitar, Yaesu SW radio, Citizen Eco drive watch, KTM mountain bike, Pentax binoculars - things that do eveything well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 16, 2009]
mkg
Intermediate

Strength:

Overall design, lens quality, robust construction, simple and intuitive controls, ergonomic "rightness", full auto to full manual options

Weakness:

A faster lens would be nice on rare occasions

I purchased this camera, my last film camera buy, in the late 90s. I have recently pulled it off the shelf as I return to film work along with digital.

This is a terrific camera. The lens, 35-180mm built-in zoom with ED elements, is phenomenal. While the 4.5 F-stop may seem minimal, it really poses no problem at all in actual use. There are numerous ways to shoot: fully automatic including focus, aperture or shutter priority and fully manual. In addition, the manual focus works easily for the rare occasions when it is require. Macro mode works well, also.

The viewfinder is bright and clear. The TTL meter works with near flawless precision - including in the provided spot metering mode. The built-in flash is superb, though a rather costly external flash may be used for greater control and affect.

The shape of the camera contributes to its overall ease of handling, fine balance and ability to shoot at slower shutter speeds than one would anticipate. It is an extremely well engineered device from every aspect.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2005]
afshalders
Expert

Strength:

Excellent metering, spot, full manual override, WONDERFUL flash, good grip and one of the finest lens on the world. Good finder and very easy operation.

Weakness:

Lens is a bit slow. Heavy.

This camera is one of the finest I ever had. This is a very advanced camera and the lens is fantastic (Zuiko ED, the finest)

Customer Service

After near 4000 pictures, still no service needed.

Similar Products Used:

IS-10, IS-50

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 13, 2004]
kalizzi
Intermediate

Strength:

About everything, and no greater value for money.

Weakness:

Discontinued, hence less supported. Mind you, the current flagship of Olympus (IS-5/IS-5000) doesn't even come near this baby.

Olympus IS-3 DLX Excellent all-round camera, reliable, great quality pictures, despite the fact that the lens is fixed (ZLR). Has all you may need for 99% of shooting situations. With adapters you can have a zoom range between 28 and 300mm, an external flash of GN-40 will increase the range and battery life. Very accurate metering, 2fps motor drive, you name it. I have taken this camera through extensive travel and have come back with breathtaking photos. I have Olympus OM gear for when I am in the mood for serious shooting, but using my IS-3 does not mean in anyway that I am comprimising on quality. The typical SLR outfits are a wee bit more customizable, thats all. It is discontinued but S/H are always available on eBay. Feel comfortable about buying it S/H as this is a very sturdy and durable machine.

Similar Products Used:

IS-5, IS-2, IS-10 Super.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 16, 2004]
dpriest
Intermediate

Strength:

Lens Auto Modes Built in Flash

Weakness:

Discontinued Plastic construction (don't drop it!) Accessories are expensive

This is a excellent camera for the money. It has been discontinued, but you can stil find examples that are used. The lens and shooting modes are excellent. You can use manual control if you desire. The built flash and redeye reduction also work well. If you are looking for a film camera that will make you look good as a photographer and is capable of handling 95% of the situations you will encounter in a one piece package, this is your camera. I don't care for the new IS-5 which is cheaper and has less capability. This is a excellent camera for travel and for the photographer that wants versatitly without buying a lot of lenses. I will enjoy this camera for a long time.

Customer Service

I haven't needed it!

Similar Products Used:

Olympus IS-2, Canon SLR's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 27, 2002]
Intermediate

Strength:

Sharp lens. For better sharpness, we should rather use 6x7 because of the limitation of 35mm film size, not only the limitation of the lens. Lens aperture fast enough for such zoom range Zoom range suitable for me Fast enough AF for general use (Far better than IS-30!) beautiful look Points comfortably down when hang on the neck. can use G40 flash All P A S M mode available IVP flash, give exact flash no matter how the back ground is. It is one of the best flash other than Minolta ADI FP flash with G40 Power focus available, I use it as focus lock. Macro available

Weakness:

Can't attach more than one flash unit for TTL metering. I like the lens cap of IS-30. Internal flash can cause redeye. I hope that can create a longer flash beam to hold the internal in a higher position. Power focus move too fast. Can't use AA NiMH battery. LCD doesn't have light. No DOF preview. 1 point AF only.

Excellent all around camera. The lens alone worth the price. I don't like their introduction of IS-5000. It is no better than IS-3000 and can't attach G40. I upgraded this camera from IS-30 because IS-30 can't attach G40 and has slower AF, and IS-30 doesn't has so much manual override. I will use this as my main equipment.

Customer Service

Repaired IS-30 in the past. Service in Hong KOng is ok.

Similar Products Used:

IS-300 (IS-30 in USA) Minolta Dynax 5, Pentax SFXn, Minolta XG-1, some P+S

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com