Pentax IQ Zoom/Espio 115M Point and Shoot

IQ Zoom/Espio 115M

Weighing in at a mere 7.6 oz., the only thing big about this camera is its features. With a power zoom lens that ranges from a wide 38mm to true telephoto at 115mm, the 115M delivers razor sharp photos.

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
Steen Navrbjerg   Casual [Aug 10, 2000]
Strength:

Small, nice looking.

Weakness:

Too small for big hands; small viewfinder; noisy zoom; trigger 1 second delayed - very difficult to take spontaneous pictures. Picture quality not impressive.

Never really got into this camera. Maybe I should have bought a bigger one, considering I'm not a small person. Probably I got, what I paid for - just don't like the slow and noisy electronics.

Similar Products Used: Olympus, Konica BigMini, Canon Prima 115.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Laim Teo   Intermediate [May 23, 2000]
Model Reviewed: IQ Zoom/Espio 115M
Strength:

Pocket size. Reasonably good quality pictures with zoom.

Weakness:

Very loud mechanism with zooming function.

Good price performance and portabilty; I use it as a second camera when I travel.

Similar Products Used: Contax T2, Yashica T5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jeff Lim   Casual [Sep 20, 2000]
Strength:

This camera is really small considering that it have a 115mm zoom. Viewfinder have different diopter settings. Built quality. Battery life. Reliable.

Weakness:

There is some lag in the shutter. The zoom is also quite noisy but acceptable.

If you want a compact camera with a decent zoom and built quality, this is the camera. Although the pictures are not that fantastic as compared to my other compacts, it should cater well to the average, casual photograher. I have shot many rolls with this camera and results are 95% OK, but again..nothing fantastic, but you won't go wrong with it.

Customer Service

None Yet.

Similar Products Used: Yashica T3, Leica Mini-3, Canon AE1 etc
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Johann Gan   Casual [Oct 03, 2000]
Strength:

Really small for its capabilities. Fits in my wife's bag! Almost aps camera size. The pictures that were taken during our honeymoon came out quite well. Couldn't tell them apart from the ones taken from my slr.

Weakness:

Not an slr.
Also, some dirt got in the lens viewer thingy...

A really good camera for its price and size.

Customer Service

haven't tried. Although I asked how much to clean the camera and what they quoted me was too much for me!

Similar Products Used: Pentax 140
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Butterfield   Casual [Oct 11, 2000]
Strength:

Very small and light.

Weakness:

Awful response to zoom lever makes it difficult to frame shots without a few prods. Excessive delay when shutter button is pressed. Forget action shots. Exposure easy to fool.

Bought this as the best of a bad lot to replace my previous first-generation Espio. The old camera was much better to handle. The delayed action zoom and shutter release were too awful to bear after a while so I swapped to a Canon Sure Shot Classic 120 which is in different league!

Customer Service

Not required

Similar Products Used: Everything!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
M.J. Salcedo   Intermediate [Oct 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great "Small" Camera that can take a beating. I snowboard all winter, and Mountain Bike all summer, and the camera comes on the slopes and the trails with me. It has been dropped in the snow, run over with a bike, crashed with me on the board and bike, and I've never had a problem with it.

Weakness:

No, this won't give you world class quality pics, but for its size, its not bad at all.

If your looking for a "small" camera, and/or you need one that can take a beating, this camera fits the bill

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Klaus Lechler   Expert [Oct 26, 2000]
Strength:

Ultra compact size, great for carrying in pocket while travelling.

Weakness:

Power zoom jerky compared to a full size manual zoom camera. Viewfinder could be clearer.
Camera malfunctioned right after purchase: micro-switch in back cover kept advancing film 3 frames everytime the camera was handled, thinking a new film had been inserted.
In 3rd year camera failed completely in mid film with the lens exposed. Everything locked up and film had to be extracted in a darkroom.

Aside from the problems experienced I would say it's a great little camera. It stands to reason that a full size quality camera with manual zoom, depth of field preview etc will get slightly better results but is also heavier to lug around.

Customer Service

Friendly and fixed first problem under warranty. 2nd time they managed to get camera working again at no cost but told me they did not know what the problem was and that it might or might not happen again. The only alternative: replacement of the whole electronics was ruled out as to expensive since the warranty had expired.

Similar Products Used: None in this format
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
RD Kenwood   Intermediate [Nov 16, 2000]
Strength:

Decent lens, albeit slow (like most p&s zooms)

Tiny size.

Fairly quick zooming action with an intuitive zoom control.

Weakness:

Zoom wobbles visibly at full extension.

My mother bought one of these when they first came out, and the little rubber buttons kept sticking. She went through two different samples, and eventually gave up and got the much larger Olympus Stylus 115. Mine is a newer one, and the little rubber buttons are larger and more-rounded. They have not stuck.

Its 38-115mm zoom is a bit on the wobbly, fragile-feeling side, but mine has held up well for several trips (and my wife carries it without its protective pouch), so I wouldn't worry about its robustness. Photographically, results are very good, with accurate focusing and good performance throughout the zoom range. I don't use this camera for critical shots, so I haven't critically tested it. For what it is, a point-and-shoot, it works exceedingly well. An inside trick: the removeable remote from the Pentax 90WR also controls the 115M.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: Olympus Stylus 115, Pentax 90WR
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Art Silver   Intermediate [Feb 07, 2001]
Strength:

Very small & light, sharp lens, decent zoom range, landscape mode, bulb mode, remote control

Weakness:

long shutter lag, poor response to zoom lever, blurry viewfinder

This camera stands out for its remarkably small size, especially considering its zoom range. The picture quality is good. However, the poor zoom control and extensive shutter lag do get in the way. It's a good compact for shooting landscape, but not so good for taking pictures of children or pets.

Customer Service

Not needed so far

Similar Products Used: Canon Sure Shot 115,
Olympus Mju Zoom 105,
Minolta Riva Zoom 115EX
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Jim Ellis   Casual [Feb 07, 2001]
Strength:

small size. Very sharp & well detailed pictures.

Weakness:

It seems that the light meter on this is easily fooled. A bit slow on zooming.

My camera is the 115G. Seems the same as the "M" to me. Took several hundred pictures at Disney World with it. I was quite pleased with the results. If you are a "point & shoot" kind of person, This camera is one to consider.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Samsung 115 and 1450 autofocus with samsung lens.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com