Canon CanoScan FS2710 Film Scanners

CanoScan FS2710

  • Optical resolution (maximum): 2720 dpi.
  • Density range: 3.2.
  • 35mm and APS.

  • User Reviews (31)

    Showing 1-10 of 31  
    Traja Chrobaci   Intermediate [Mar 25, 2002]
    Strength:

    Price, Included software has great automatic color correction. Manual adjustments not so good, but usually not needed.

    Weakness:

    DMAX

    Good scanner if you know how to install software for it (Windows 2000). SCSI needs some tweaking and driver downloading. Also must be turned on before the computer (still talking about Windows 2000. Scans very well. Using Canon softweare - no further color correction needed for slides as well as negatives and B&W. Requires properly exposed film to get best results.

    Customer Service

    N?A

    Similar Products Used: Flatbed scanners
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    bobticoune   Expert [Jan 16, 2002]
    Strength:

    - Speed of prescan - Speed of final scan - Color rendition - Exposure - Easy to use - Easy to install

    Weakness:

    Fonctions not available with CanoCraft software: - No batch scanning - No Multipass

    I have this scanner since august 1999 and I never stop to love it. You can increase is performances if you use the Ed Hamrick software called «VueScan» who provide long exposure pass and multiscan pass (fonctions not available with Canocraft software). Always with VueScan, you will get outstanding color management et exposure (same as the oroginal slide). VueScan is operational with all OS (Win, Mac OS and even Linux). The FS 2710 is the best scanner from is category.

    Customer Service

    No request needed

    Similar Products Used: - DÃŽmage Speed Scan - DÃŽmage Scan Elite - DÃŽmage Multi Scan II - LS-4500AF
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    evending   Beginner [Nov 15, 2001]
    Strength:

    cheap price, easy to use, easy to install

    Weakness:

    speed is too slow, resolution is not good enough

    cheap price, it is SCSI interface, but take only 15 min to install, can scan APS film

    Customer Service

    not yet

    Similar Products Used: non
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    billbillw   Intermediate [Sep 16, 2001]
    Strength:

    Low price, fast scans, sharp images, APS adapter included.

    Weakness:

    Lousy software included. Colors didn''t match well with negative film. Canon doesn''t seem to support thier scanners as well as Nikon, Polaroid, and Minolta.

    A good scanner for the price, but far from perfect. The scanner is quite fast and images are very sharp. Installation was a breeze and had no hardware/software conflicts. You must make sure you download the latest (3.6.4) driver from Canon website. Colors were a problem with this scanner and negative film. Using the Canon software as a stand alone application was frustrating. The 24 bit color rendition was terrible. Using the Canon software as a TWAIN plugin with Photoshop provided much better color quality (36 bit). I had the best luck doing all curve/historgram manipulation in Photoshop at 16 bit, then convert to 8 bit and applying filters. You can plan on spending several minutes with each scan trying to get the colors to match the original. Several tough scans proved to be beyond the capabilities of this scanner. I was not able to get the colors to match no matter how much time I spent. I tried Vuescan to see if colors would be better, but Vuescan was even worse in my opinion. Overall, If this is all you can afford, get it. It is the best scanner in this price range (don''t pay more than 350 for it). If you aren''t critical of color matching you probably will be happy. I wasn''t so I returned the scanner after one week (scanned 50 or so images) and purchased a Sprintscan 4000.

    Customer Service

    Web-based support is pretty weak. I didn''t use any other.

    Similar Products Used: Sprintscan 4000.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Dexter Legaspi   Intermediate [Jul 16, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: CanoScan FS2710
    Strength:

    A lot of features packed in a decent price (~US $500). Accurate color/brightness/hue rendition most of the time.

    Weakness:

    Shadow noise is annoyingly visible when scanning films with indoor subjects or night-time/flash photography. I'm not quite sure if this can be corrected with a better driver. You can't do without Photoshop for correcting the scans.

    The scanner is pretty good for its price. You can't expect too much from this device, though. Unless the shadow noise is lessened by improved firmware or software or a new hardware altogether (FS2720 or something), i cannot recommend this scanner, you are better off with a different scanner.

    Customer Service

    I asked for a product brochure before buying this product. Three months later after purchasing the product I still haven't got the brochure.

    Similar Products Used: None.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Garry Q   Intermediate [Jun 19, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: CanoScan FS2710
    Strength:

    Can use 35mm and APS film. Adjusts itself most of the time for the correct exposure of negatives/slides. I like the way it drags in the film and scans it, as it takes up very little space on my desk. Having recently used APS (looks like I'll be using it more and more) I just love the way you don't have to worry about handling the film and can dial up the frame you want so easily, and then insert into the scanner.
    Works with Windows 95/98/NT. Twain works well with Adobe Photoshop (came with LE version), Paintshop Pro, Corel PhotoPaint and ULead Products (they are all I have used).

    Weakness:

    The supplied twain driver software could be improved so that better control of the scan can be obtained and easier to use as in the Microtek Twain Drivers.
    Flimsy Neagative film holder that is difficult to use - slides and APS are no problem.
    The SCSI card was not used as I haev a few SCSI devices and needed a better card that could cope with 4 devices. The scanner now works faster and with no problems. Not really a problem of the scanner - just the packaging. Sell without the SCSI card and the cost would have been a bit cheaper, which you could put towards a decent SCSI card.

    If you have a decent shot it will give an excellent result in the scan. The first few scans just blew me away with the quality. Now after 1.5 years I have got used to the excellent results that this scanner gives. I do not see the need to purchase a scanner any dearer than this for my purposes. I only print up to 10x8 or A4 size images on my EPSON Photo Printer; with Photo Paper you cannot tell the difference between true Photographs and these Printed Photos. The printed photos are always better as you have full control on the output by manipulating the image in Photoshop. I am very pleased I bought this device.

    Customer Service

    Haven't needed

    Similar Products Used: Microtek 35mm Scanner
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Michael Hung   Intermediate [Jun 12, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: CanoScan FS2710
    Strength:

    Good feature for the price
    Clean image
    SCSI card, APS adapter included

    Weakness:

    No batch scan functionality

    Very good for the price. Higher resolution/color depth than the Minolta Dimage for only a little more. Of course, if I have a little more $$ to spend, I will go for the Nikon.

    Similar Products Used: HP Photosmart
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jacques Leonard   Intermediate [Apr 29, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: CanoScan FS2710
    Strength:

    I bought the CanoScan FS2710 after studying most of the film scanners offered on the market. I am glad I did. The scans quality is even better than expected. I mostly scan b&w and Kodachrome and it also makes great scans of Kodak E100VS.
    Price is excellent.
    I also like it's small footprint.
    Works great with Apple G4 and Photoshop 5.5.
    Very easy to install.

    Weakness:

    None for the moment!

    I recommend this scanner for anyone not really interested in spending twice the price for similar products.
    The quality of the scans is excellent.

    Customer Service

    I called them prior to buying to enquire about specs etc...
    Got very good and polite answers.

    Similar Products Used: Older Kodak scanner.
    And flatbed scanners (Umax and Agfa) wich are not really made for scanning 35mm neg & slides.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Randy Harper   [Apr 22, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: CanoScan FS2710
    Strength:

    HIGH QUALITY OF SCANS. EASE OF SETUP WITH SCSI INSTALLATION. SOFTWARE IS GOOD ESP. THE ADOBE PHOTOSHOP. MULTISCAN IS MADE EASY WITH ADD ON SOFTWARE FROM VUESCAN.

    Weakness:

    NO MULTISCAN CAPABILITIES AND WISH CANON WOULD ADD SCRATCH AND DUST REMOVAL SOFTWARE

    I SEE NO REASON TO SPEND MORE MONEY ON A SCANNER. I GOT MINE FOR ONLY $459.00 W/ FREE SHIPPING. UNLESS YOU MUST HAVE SCRATCH AND DUST REMOVAL[ A CLEAN CLOTH WILL FIX MOST PROBLEMS]AND UNLESS YOU MUST HAVE MULTI-SCANNING THIS IS THE SCANNER TO PICK. FROM REVIEWS I EXPECTED THE SLIDE SCANNING TO PRODUCE BETTER RESULTS THAN THE FILM SCANNING. BUT AFTER 100'S OF SCANS FOUND BOTH WORK GREAT. THE SO CALLED FLIMSY FILM HOLDER REALLY WORKS FINE AND THE FACT THAT IT BENDS EASY PROBIBLY WAS DESIGNED TO PREVENT BREAKAGE. YOU SHOULD REALLY ENJOY THIS SCANNER...

    Customer Service

    HAVE ACCESSED WEBSITE FOR INFORMATION BEFORE BUYING AND FOUND IT HELPFUL. BUT NO NEED YET FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. SEEMS LIKE A WELL BUILT PRODUCT

    Similar Products Used: N/A
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Chris Thomas   Expert [Apr 14, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: CanoScan FS2710
    Strength:

    Simple installation and a reasonable price point ($550) make this scanner a good choice for the intermediate/advanced amateur. Currently using on Windows 2000 machine.

    Weakness:

    The film carrier is a bit flimsy; a little stronger plastic would improve the overall feel of the product. Also, there is no auto-feed capability for volume scanning.

    This is a great value when compared to other film scanners. I am using the product much more than I expected, and am very pleased with the results. Unless you are a professional and can justify the higher price of the Nikon products, I believe you will be satisfied with this product.

    Customer Service

    n/a

    Similar Products Used: n/a
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 31  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com