Microtek ArtixScan 4000T Film Scanners

ArtixScan 4000T

The AS4000t defines a new standard in transparency imaging quality. With up to 4000 dpi optical and 8000 dpi interpolated resolutions. Capturing over twice as many pixels as its competitors, the AS4000t allows users to enlarge a 35mm scan to a full A3 size with no degradation to output quality. At 3.4 Dmax, the AS4000t easily captures the level of detail and sharpness required by the most discriminating imaging professionals.

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
kowen   Intermediate [Feb 17, 2002]
Strength:

Great value, 4000dpi scans, adjustable d-max, Scanmaker software very helpful. Great results. 19" enlargements possible.

Weakness:

None for me, but others should read about the dust issue-making sure film is clean (clean as necessary, swab scanner before use)

I''ve read many user reviews, and wrote to owners of the 4000T before purchasing this scanner. It does not have ICE or Canon''s FARE (which does not soften the image when removing dust), but I must say-this scanner is a joy to use. I make sure my negatives or slides are as clean as possible-something I would do anyhow before scanning. I also do swab the inside of this scanner-the rectangular ccd sensor, and I do cover this scanner with a plastic bag, as the entryway for the film and slide holders is open. I have Microtek''s 8700, so I am familiar with the Scanmaker software. The 4000T has the added capability of adjusting the d-max: either using the automatic mode, or adjusting from .05-4.0 . This, I believe changes the brightness of the scanning lamp. I have found this useful-you can hit automatic, and adjust from there as necessary. In just a few slides or negatives, I have adjusted the black and white points before scanning, or slight adjust in curves, to get better shadow detail, but usually do all correcting in PS 5 LE. Any correcting in pre-scan mode is for better shadow detail in dim-lit situations-if necessary. I have scanned night exposures, with very dark brown or blue shadows and other difficult negatives or slides with very little or no noise. Adjusting the black & white points and or D-Max before scanning can help with this, if necessary; surprisingly often, it is not. This scanner is for an advanced user, but for anyone interested in a great 35mm scanner at a great price who is willing to take the time to learn about scanning and digital archiving his or her film or slide collection, this is a great tool, with great software-hard to beat for the money. The price I paid includes a $100 rebate. It does come with Genuine Fractals, Silverfast, and Kodak''s Q60ES slide(a great value in itself) to do a monitor profile with included software-none of which I have used. This scanner is very sharp, and at 4000dpi will pick up DETAIL-dust, etc. and grain from grainier print or slide films. I have scanned at 3400 or 3600 to lessen this effect in certain shots, from past use of film that showed more grain. I have scanned Kodak Royal Gold 100, Kodachrome from as far back as 1975, Ektachrome, Fuji Velvia, with nice results. While some slides may have color shifted, this was corrected in PS5LE. I find the color scans very tru

Customer Service

Not a toll free number; advanced techs are helpful; 1 year warranty.

Similar Products Used: Microtek 8700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sharon Potter   Intermediate [Nov 13, 2001]
Strength:

Ease of setup and use, quality of scans.

Weakness:

It''s a bit slow, but worth the wait.

Great scans, easy to use and set up. This is my first film scanner...I''ve been sending out for scans up til now. The scans I get form the 4000 are equal to anything I''ve gotten anywhere else.

Customer Service

Not needed so far.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chan Chi Kwong   Intermediate [Jul 17, 2000]
Model Reviewed: ArtixScan 4000T
Strength:

High resolution.
Sharp output.

Weakness:

None so far

I have compared the scanning output using my own slides of this scanner with Nikon's models. I eventually choose this scanner since it provides highest resolution and very sharp output. I can also serve as a backup of my photo because they are scanned in 4000 x 4000 dpi and stored using the CD writer. The provided profile slide also save me much time in tunning color. All the photos (slides) are scanned using this scanner in my home page (www.geocities.com/danielchanhk). Anyway, the scanner is excellent!

Customer Service

No needed so far

Similar Products Used: Nikon LS2000, Nikon LS30, HP Photosmart S2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Denis Ivaneza   Professional [Jun 23, 2000]
Model Reviewed: ArtixScan 4000T
Strength:

Superb Resolution
Brilliant & Accurate colours
Easy to use

Weakness:

Good luck in finding one.

Unbelievable prints to an Epson 1270 inkjet printer even to A3 size which saves me time & money. Even when cropping only a small area off a 35mm neg/tranny A4/A3 sizes still achievable with true optical resolution, no interpolation needed.
Simply, serious amateurs to professional photographers will never know how they managed without one. Tee it up with Photoshop & count the oppportunities it will give you. A winner!

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Canon FS2710
Nikon Coolscan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Prior   Expert [Apr 13, 2000]
Model Reviewed: ArtixScan 4000T
Strength:

4000 dpi optical resolution, Scanwizard Pro software, Kodak Q60 Tranny supplied for Calibration and colorsync profile

Weakness:

None found so far

This is the best film scanner I've tried so far, Polariod's 4000dpi scanner uses the Microtek engine. The Artixscan is cheaper and I prefer the Scanwizard software.

Customer Service

None needed, 2 year warranty

Similar Products Used: Nikon LS20 and Minolta ScanSpeed
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ahming ming   Professional [Sep 15, 2000]
Strength:

it is the est film scanner I ever seen, but after I bought a D1 I seldom scan film again, if anyone in hong kong interested about this scanner, please contact me.

Weakness:

nothing

very fast and good color scanning

Customer Service

no

Similar Products Used: nikon ls-2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dwight Smith   Expert [Oct 12, 2000]
Strength:

Resolution, focusing, speed of scan.

Weakness:

None

Easy to install, painless to operate, and the scans are amazing. I have fed this machine some very difficult slides and gotten the results. No noise, just details. Given the price, I'd say this is not the beginner's scanner, but for a serious photographer it's a steal.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Deb Kney   Intermediate [Dec 03, 2000]
Strength:

easy to install
excellent clarity

Weakness:

no cover - dust gets on to bed ...

Improvise to cover the scan bed ... the scans are incredible!

Similar Products Used: variety of flat bed scanners -- HP photosmart ... this is THE BEST product!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joost van Buul   Professional [Jan 31, 2001]
Strength:

Superhigh quality.
Just pefect till A3.
Easy to operate.
Easy to install.
Film and slide holders are made very well and solid.Two scannerprograms to choose from.
Colortarget for optimum colorcontrol when used with Mac.

Weakness:

Very slow with high-res. scans.
One picture takes up to 7 minutes but allright it is worth waiting for.
Scanwizzard (1.02 TX) program is limited compared to the program wich comes with the Artixscan 1100 ( pro 6.0).
So if anyone can tell me how to use the 4000t with the 6.0 program I would be very happy.

Perfect scanner for very high quality scans.
Even in CMYK!
Absolute top for critical photographers.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used: Minolta multiscan
Microtek Artixscan 1100
Linocolor 1400
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Leif Goodwin   Intermediate [Feb 21, 2001]
Strength:

Well built. Excellent printed manuals. Excellent ScanWizard software allowing full control over the scanner. Q60 slide supplied. Excellent scans with remarkable colour fidelity, no speckle noise and no lens/CCD flare.

Weakness:

The only minor weakness is the lack of batch scan preview. You have to manually preview each slide.

An excellent scanner. High resolution high quality scans with no noise.

Note for Windows 2K users: I found that the W2K ScanWizard at the Microtek site was useless. Instead, I first downloaded and installed the Windows 2000 SCSI drivers from the Adaptec site (w2k_v100b_pci_drvs.exe) and then installed the ScanWizard and calibration software supplied with the scanner.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Nikon LS30
Canon FS2710
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com