Hamrick VueScan Scanning Software

Hamrick VueScan Scanning Software 

DESCRIPTION

VueScan is an inexpensive program that works with most scanners to produce high-quality scans that have excellent color fidelity. It takes advantage of the advanced hardware capabilities of most scanners on the market today, and helps you do batch scanning while at the same time producing color-balanced and cropped images. Available for Windows, Linux, and Mac OS 8/9/X

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 38  
[May 05, 2021]
wittings


Strength:

Smart and functional software. Especially good for a big number of films. | Block Wall

Weakness:

But do not recommend buying for text scanning. Worst customer support!

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
3
[Dec 04, 2020]
Alex Peter


Strength:

This is a very smart and functional software. Especially it has great power for big numbers of films. There are better competitors.Visit Sparkyreads!

Weakness:

None so far

Price Paid:
500
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2021
OVERALL
RATING
3
[Sep 17, 2020]
algusev


Strength:

Smart and functional software. Especially good for big number of films. But do not recommend to buy for text scanning. There are better competitors

Weakness:

High price and useless ugly customer support. My experience. The smart software with ugly service, trying to make consumers to write support letters according to its desires. They are described nowhere. Buy only Pro version and only with full combination of conditions: You need to scan films in big numbers. Especially of bad quality. There is a lot of software for text scanning with normal support Paperscan is free. There are no drivers or comfortable software for your scanner and for your OS and it is not supported by Silverfast. Their support is not better. But it is cheaper. You can afford 100 dollars, knowing about bad service. The software is functional but such support… You have no free license. You are against piracy. Pirates are robbers, but sometimes they really help in technical issues. That is my situation. Support writes to the consumer - Again, I have no memory of our past emails. The “drivers” means nothing to me. Stop writing to me, this is waste of time.” “Wonderful “ support! Details The Vuescan is installed both on real Windows 10 machine and physical machine with Windows XP. All found full texts of emails with Hamrick software and log are enclosed. I use its Vuescan software to scan films with Hewlett Packard Scanjet 4600 scanner. There are no official Support of the device from Hewlett Packard, when the scanner is installed on Windows XP. So, I spend a lot of time and money to select software, study descriptions on the Vuescan site of all the scanners to find all the film scanners, supported by software . I need those which allow to scan films without cutting. That is why, I looked all descriptions on hamrick.com and info on other sites. They are very rare in my country. Then, bought one. So buy and install Windows XP, on computer imitation (look Vmware software to know or google “virtual machine”). There is some error on the XP. I can not understand its reason. May be, I was asked to send a log. I sent it to Hamrick,. Read it contents in the file enclosed. The support asked to install the driver. It was installed by me on both locations. Nothing changed and I have written about it. And what is the answer: “Again, I have no memory of our past emails. The “drivers” means nothing to me. Stop writing to me, this is waste of time.” There is the essence of my claim: I have a problem with software. I have installed virt

OVERALL
RATING
3
[Jul 14, 2020]
tarnold777


Strength:

Strengths unknown due to the fact that I wasn't able to open it.

Weakness:

Weaknesses: App wouldn't open. File corrupted. Contacted owner requesting refund. Refused refund unless I qualified via 3 points of criteria/troubleshooting that represented too much time and trouble for a $50 app. Avoid this joker and his garbage app. Legalized cyber theft.

Price Paid:
$49.95
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2020
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Dec 08, 2019]
TomasL


Strength:

Used it together with a DigitDia and so far I have scanned some 25K images, colour slides, colour negatives and BW negatives. Have the Pro-version, also bought a set of IT8-targets, and profiling the scanner and printer was very easy with Vuescan. Support is good, I have had no problems getting support, when I had problems

Weakness:

Usage of some of the functions is not very clear, apart from that I haven't found any cons with Vuescan

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 23, 2018]
esc


Strength:

Nothing that other products don't provide.

Weakness:

Stay away from this software. Vuescan has horrible customer support, and the support is provided by the owner so you're basically screwed. If you purchase and own the product and then later you have a need to reinstall it for any reason, you can forget getting help from Vuescan. The website doesn't let you download the version that you may need. And even the owner will not provide the version that you own. He forces you to have to buy the product again if you want to keep using it. Again stay away!

Price Paid:
30
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2015
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Mar 20, 2018]
tcal


Strength:

I should have read these reviews before purchasing. Customer service does actually exist, believe it or not but it's HORRIBLE and will get you no where. Do not buy this product.

Model Year:
2018
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Dec 30, 2017]
Andre Morony
Intermediate

Strength:

None....it doesnt work

Weakness:

Doesnt work

Dont buy this piece of crap. You will get something that doesnt work followed up by abusive emails if you ask for help.

Customer Service

Doesnt exist in this company

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 11, 2017]
Michael DeMaio
Casual

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Flawed product

Buyer beware!!! This guy is a scam artist. He sells you software that crashes your computer and refuses to even refund the cost of the software. He replies with rude and offensive emails and does not even try to solve any issues. Not only do you waste your money but you risk permanent damage to your computer.

Customer Service

NONE!

Similar Products Used:

Softi Scan Wiz

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 22, 2017]
Ernie M.
Professional

Strength:

None

Weakness:

The bloated UI and menu system make Vuescan extremely difficult to use and the available documentation is not thorough enough to be helpful. The owner is a nasty curmudgeon who refuses to help paying customers.

I was attempting to do a batch scan of several slides and ran into a problem. I checked the Vuescan website, read the available documentation, and did not find an answer to my issue. I noticed the large "Email Us" button.

Ed Hamrick states that he personally replies to all messages seeking support, so I figured this was my best option. I emailed a thorough explanation of my problem and noted that I'm a paid licensed Vuescan owner. I got back a one-line unhelpful reply from Ed Hamrick himself. It was nice to see he replied, as promised, but he didn't offer any usable "support" at all.

I followed up politely to ask if Ed could elaborate on the issue because his reply was not helpful. He then replied angrily and rudely that he would not elaborate because he didn't have the time and was already replying to a list of 50+ emails. I replied, again politely, to suggest that he not offer support email if he can't actually offer support and he replied, verbatim, "You're a jerk. Stop writing to me."

I've never been called a "jerk" for no reason by someone to whom I've just paid $89.95. I suggest nobody buy this software based on that anecdote alone. The fact that the software is difficult to use and doesn't work is just more reason to avoid it.

Customer Service

The owner of Vuescan called me a "jerk" and refused to help me; what more can you say about "customer service"? Avoid this software at all costs.

Similar Products Used:

Silverfast, EpsonScan

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 38  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com