Hamrick VueScan Scanning Software

Hamrick VueScan Scanning Software 

DESCRIPTION

VueScan is an inexpensive program that works with most scanners to produce high-quality scans that have excellent color fidelity. It takes advantage of the advanced hardware capabilities of most scanners on the market today, and helps you do batch scanning while at the same time producing color-balanced and cropped images. Available for Windows, Linux, and Mac OS 8/9/X

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 33  
[Aug 23, 2018]
esc


Strength:

Nothing that other products don't provide.

Weakness:

Stay away from this software. Vuescan has horrible customer support, and the support is provided by the owner so you're basically screwed. If you purchase and own the product and then later you have a need to reinstall it for any reason, you can forget getting help from Vuescan. The website doesn't let you download the version that you may need. And even the owner will not provide the version that you own. He forces you to have to buy the product again if you want to keep using it. Again stay away!

Price Paid:
30
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2015
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Mar 20, 2018]
tcal


Strength:

I should have read these reviews before purchasing. Customer service does actually exist, believe it or not but it's HORRIBLE and will get you no where. Do not buy this product.

Model Year:
2018
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Dec 30, 2017]
Andre Morony
Intermediate

Strength:

None....it doesnt work

Weakness:

Doesnt work

Dont buy this piece of crap. You will get something that doesnt work followed up by abusive emails if you ask for help.

Customer Service

Doesnt exist in this company

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 11, 2017]
Michael DeMaio
Casual

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Flawed product

Buyer beware!!! This guy is a scam artist. He sells you software that crashes your computer and refuses to even refund the cost of the software. He replies with rude and offensive emails and does not even try to solve any issues. Not only do you waste your money but you risk permanent damage to your computer.

Customer Service

NONE!

Similar Products Used:

Softi Scan Wiz

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 22, 2017]
Ernie M.
Professional

Strength:

None

Weakness:

The bloated UI and menu system make Vuescan extremely difficult to use and the available documentation is not thorough enough to be helpful. The owner is a nasty curmudgeon who refuses to help paying customers.

I was attempting to do a batch scan of several slides and ran into a problem. I checked the Vuescan website, read the available documentation, and did not find an answer to my issue. I noticed the large "Email Us" button.

Ed Hamrick states that he personally replies to all messages seeking support, so I figured this was my best option. I emailed a thorough explanation of my problem and noted that I'm a paid licensed Vuescan owner. I got back a one-line unhelpful reply from Ed Hamrick himself. It was nice to see he replied, as promised, but he didn't offer any usable "support" at all.

I followed up politely to ask if Ed could elaborate on the issue because his reply was not helpful. He then replied angrily and rudely that he would not elaborate because he didn't have the time and was already replying to a list of 50+ emails. I replied, again politely, to suggest that he not offer support email if he can't actually offer support and he replied, verbatim, "You're a jerk. Stop writing to me."

I've never been called a "jerk" for no reason by someone to whom I've just paid $89.95. I suggest nobody buy this software based on that anecdote alone. The fact that the software is difficult to use and doesn't work is just more reason to avoid it.

Customer Service

The owner of Vuescan called me a "jerk" and refused to help me; what more can you say about "customer service"? Avoid this software at all costs.

Similar Products Used:

Silverfast, EpsonScan

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 14, 2016]
Bruce Barton

Strength:

On the Mac side, its one of a few third party programs which works well and is feature rich. Easy to use.

Weakness:

Don't count on getting help with tech support. After a month of trying, I gave up and returned a scanner which was suppose to be compatible but was not.

Great program, very weak support if you have problems

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 10, 2016]
Theo Katsantoni

Strength:

No strengths whatsoever, the software is unstable

Weakness:

Extremely unstable! Works then it doesn't. Almost always. I need to restart my computer to have it work. The actual scans are faint and washed out. You need to photoshop them back to normal.

All I can say is DO NOT BUY this software! Firstly you'll have good scan days, bad scan days. You'll find yourself spending more time restoring the scans true brightness and contrast levels. And to top it all off, when I tried to get advice about why my scanner was extremely unstable or not working under El Capitan, the owner of the business one ED HAMRICK was let's say less than helpful. His first suggestion to switch to Firewire was typed out in 2 short lines, nothing about why? I needed an adapter for this as my Mac only has a Thunderbolt connection, so $40 later and after following his less than 8 words advice the damn thing still didn't work. But the worse is yet to come. when I asked if he could assist with why it still wasn't working his answer was, and I quote: 'Buy and Epson from EBAY, they're pretty reliable' Ed. I could not believe his attitude and when i addressed it with a request for a refund, he answered back ............'Your'e a twit, don't write back'...!!!! Yes Mr. Ed Hamrick would be delighted to take your money but do not expect a decent customer service, unless of course you don't mind being called a 'twit'.

Customer Service

Short, in haste and filled with attitude before being abused! This guy doesn't deserve the business.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 22, 2016]
Steve
Intermediate

Strength:

Cross platform support - Linux , Windows
Easy to setup 35mm slide scanning
Seems reliable, I scanned 140 slides with no problems

Weakness:

Slow....it takes twice as long to scan same image same settings as Xsane. If you have a lot of scanning to perform don't buy VueScan. The scanner motor stops and starts about 15 times for a full length scan (11 inches). With Xsane the scanner motor runs slowly throughout the scan and then stops. The stopping as starting can't be good for the scanner mechanism.
I found that the VueScan scan time improves when the bit depth is set to 8. I use 16 bit depth scanning - edit the image and then change to 8 bit when finished editing.

VueScan version 9 x64 9.5.42 Pro
Scanner Epson Perfection 1660 photo. Computer Intel i5-4460 Gigabyte motherboard, 8GB memory , 1tB sata2 drive.
OS Ubuntu 14.04 64bit.
I wrote Ed Hamrick about the slowness and his recommendation was use 8bit pixel depth.
Bottom line is I would not recommend this product.

Customer Service

Ed Hamrick answered my email.

Similar Products Used:

Xsane

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 24, 2015]
Craig Janeway
Professional

Strength:

Totally configurable. Allows complete access to the scanning hardware settings.

Weakness:

Must learn how to scan and make proper settings choices.

There is a learning curve with Vuescan Pro. Reading "The Vuescan Bible" is a help, but it won't teach one how to scan, just the settings to use initially for different applications. Also, don't expect the software to hold your hand and simply press a button to get good negative film scans. Vuescan Pro is completely user configurable, which also mean completely user screwer-upable. Read, study, and practice, and learn what settings to use and what not to use. But more importantly, after finding the settings you like, want, need, make an options file and save these options as a set of settings you'll use for a specific task. The hardest part is hitting preview, dragging the crop box edges to inside the frames, and right clicking on the gray background outside the preview scans, or on something gray or white in that frame you are working on to set color balance. The setting for that frame of crop and color adjustments will be save as you move the crop box to the next frame to do the same thing; and so on, and so forth, until you have adjusted/corrected to each frames needs. Then just hit "scan." The hard part is first learning something about scanning, so you can make the right setting choices for the options file creation. "The Vuescan Bible" has these settings, and you can read about what people like to do over in the Flickr group https://www.flickr.com/groups/isf_scanner/

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 14, 2015]
RB
Intermediate

Strength:

This software has great potential, as the user interface is very clean, straightforward, and easy to understand.

Weakness:

Ed Hamrick, the owner, is an arrogant a**. He is horribly rude and nasty. He thinks all of his customers are stupid and is not shy about saying so. He has outlined his business practices in a recent email on April 13, 2015:

"Here's some background information about how I answer e-mails.

I get about 100 e-mails every day, and in the past 15 years
I've probably gotten 500,000 e-mails. I try to answer most
e-mails within a day, although longer e-mails may not get
answered for a month or two, or maybe not at all.

I have a simple process - I read each e-mail and if the response
can be a sentence or two, I answer it immediately. If it's a
software problem report, I generally look at the vuescan.log file
immediately, and if there isn't a vuescan.log file, I request that
one be sent. Without a vuescan.log file, there isn't really anything
I can do to diagnose problems.

A few other points:

1) I never look at the e-mail address that an e-mail is from.
2) I never look back at old e-mails - all e-mails are deleted when answered.
3) If there are multiple questions in an e-mail, I answer the first question
and then delete the e-mail.
4) If someone sends multiple e-mails in a day, I only look at the most recent
and delete the rest without reading them.
5) If an e-mail is rude or demanding, I stop reading it and delete it.
6) My answers often appear brusque - but I just try to answer directly.
7) My answers sometimes appear rude - but I don't have time to write a few
paragraphs of polite and soothing sentences - I just get to the point.
8) Many of my responses are form letters - because I get the same
questions over and over. The most common is "How do I download VueScan?".

I hope this information is useful to you.

Regards,
Ed Hamrick

Do not buy! There are glitches that cause the program to freeze. There is no tech support whatsoever, as confirmed by Mr. Hamrick. He simply does not care. You only have the database for tech support. It is pretty good for a database support system, but it falls short in addressing the problems that I faced with the program. The PDF interleave feature does not work properly. You also have to click the "scan" button several times to get it to start. Lots of potential to be a great program with a few fixes, but the owner does not care and you will not have any support when you do run into these problems.

Customer Service

There is none other than a database. Owner has confirmed that he does not care and deletes emails from customers routinely.

Similar Products Used:

Readiris Pro, Windows OEM scanning software, Okidata scanning software.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com