Fujifilm Fujicolor Superia 800 Print Film

Fujicolor Superia 800

Extra speed and performance for the widest range of shooting conditions - ideal for zoom compacts. FujiColor Superia ISO 800 is a daylight type color negative film with an ISO speed rating of 800. The use of color compensating filters is not required when exposures are made either under daylight conditions or with electronic flash.

User Reviews (28)

Showing 1-10 of 28  
NickTrop   Expert [Aug 18, 2008]
Strength:

- Fast
- Good
- Cheap
- Available everywhere

Weakness:

- Slight tint

Time for a fresh 2008 review of this film. If you shoot digital and wonder why your pictures, while technically okay, are boring. It's because your tiny digicam sensor is incapable if a film speed above 200 that doesn't look like crap. Couple this with a pathetically slow and cheap f3.5 digicam lens, and your photocomputer (digicam) always wants to blind people with its awful pop-up flash, and shine a 1000 watt flood light on people for a microsecond. Yeah - that's natural. Folks will look FINE in pictures taken this way (even if you don't get red-eye).

Get yourself a decent FILM rangefinder on eBay with a FAST and GOOD 50mm lens - old school, real camera... Throw some of this great very fast film in her and take candids WITHOUT a flash.

Real pictures, old school, that require a little skill, that capture people naturally. Not posed, shining a 2000 watt flood light in their eyes. Or spending $$$$ on a DSLR photocomputer that will be obsolete the second you take it out of the box. Film RULZ - and this fine high-speed Fuji is one of the reasons it does.

Similar Products Used: - Kodak 800s (good too but Fuji 4th color layer handles indoor lighting better)
- High speed black and white, which is the best
- Fuji 1600 (faster but not worth the difference in price)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mair2112   Intermediate [Nov 22, 2002]
Strength:

- rich, vivid colours - very sharp - fine granularity for 800 ISO - decent skin tones - works terrificly with or without flash

Weakness:

- overall blue tinge; WARNING: some photofinishers will compensate for this and make the film look beautiful--others leave it with the ugly blue tinge; or worst of all, some may boost

This is one incredible film for it's speed! It is definately the best consumer 800 film on the market right now, no question about that. For a film this fast, its rich vivid colours, fine granularity, medium contrast and unrivaled sharpness is something else! This film's best use, obviously is indoor shots. This film works with on-camera flash terrifically, a trend Fuji is improving on with higher ISO films (don't try on-camera flash shots with Superia 1600 though!) My only problem with this film is INCONSISTENCY. This film has a very blue tinge, and basically the photofinisher is left deciding what looks best to him/her. For example, what the lazy photofinisher does during processing is adding lots of yellow to the color filtration to make up for the heavy blues. Others, (mostly your typical 1-hour mall photofinisher) leave it's cool tinge alone. The best fiddle around with it and make it look beautiful. SO in short, if you know your lab well and have recieved good prints from them before (and they use Fuji paper), chances are you'll get the best out of this film.

Similar Products Used: Kodak Max 800--one word, yuck. Fuji XTRA 400--niiiice, but also pretty blue.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
tomlewis   Expert [Oct 01, 2002]
Strength:

Good sharpness and grain for its speed.

Weakness:

Not as sharp as Superia 100, 200, or 400.

I was quite pleased with this film after photographing a water moccasin in the Phinizy Swamp in Georgia from a bridge with a 300mm lens. The 8x10 was grainless and very sharp.

Similar Products Used: Most of Kodak and Fuji.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mathieu B   Intermediate [Sep 23, 2002]
Strength:

Extremelly fine grain, color rendering

Weakness:

I dont see any weaknesses

I use this film in montreal subway, where light condition are very bad, and the result was fantastic! The grain is very small (on large enlargement: 36/24 inches!), the colors are very saturate. This is the best 800 ISO film I never use.

Similar Products Used: Kodak Max 800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kasand   Expert [Aug 19, 2002]
Strength:

Grain Color Cheap

Weakness:

No

The best 800 iso film that i've used.. The color and the grain are great.. The film is very cheap, i bought ten for about 40$, where i come from thats a good price.. Check out http://www.photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=230588

Similar Products Used: Fuji NHGII
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Amy Marsh   Intermediate [Jul 08, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Fujicolor Superia 800
Strength:

Very good high speed film. Can be easily pushed to 1600 or higher.Much better than competitors "commercial 800's". Fine grain for speed.

Weakness:

Can seem a little muddy at times. Nothing else!

Very, very good high speed film. My choice for low light. I have pushed this film to 1600 with excellent results. I would not buy another brand for high speed, & the price you can't even come close with anything else.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Kodak 800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JEFF JOHNSON   Casual [Jul 07, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Fujicolor Superia 800
Strength:

BOUGHT A TRIAL ROLL. GREAT RESULTS FOR LOW LIGHT AND GENERAL OUTDOOR USE. MY FIRST TRIAL OF 800 FILM. WILL DEFINITELY USE AGAIN. WILL REPLACE MY 400 FILM.

Weakness:

NONE

A GREAT ALL PURPOSE FILM FOR OUTDOOR USE. I HAVEN'T TRIED MANY INDOOR & PORTRAIT SHOTS ON IT YET, BUT I WILL. I'M NOT SURE IT CAN REPLACE A 100 ROLL YET.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: NONE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Farrell   Intermediate [Jul 06, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Fujicolor Superia 800
Strength:

Accurate colors in a variety of lighting
Fine grain for the speed
Pushes very well

Weakness:

None

This is a great film when you need the speed. I often use it in fluorescent lighting without a flash, and the colors usually come out very accurate. The grain is very good for an 800-speed film. Many photographers push this film to 1600 or even 3200, with great results. A good all-around high speed film, and a great value if you buy it as Fuji Press 800 in multi-packs.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: Kodak Ektapress 800
Kodak Max 800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe Andrews   Intermediate [Jun 01, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Fujicolor Superia 800
Strength:

high saturation for spped

Weakness:

farily high contrast for skin

A very fine grained 800 print film- technology is getting so good almost as good as 400 from a few years ago.
Very saturated colors, but loses some film latitude.
High Contrast helps "sharpness" but not skin tones.
excellent if you need the speed.
print on Kodak, not Fuji to give extra saturation

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Roberto A. Flores-Perez   Beginner [Apr 15, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Fujicolor Superia 800
Strength:

Incredible results with P&S. Great on anytime. Brilliant colors, very sharp images.

Weakness:

None

The film is great for anytime. Great value in 4/pack w/$2.00 rebate cupon.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com