Fujifilm Fujicolor Superia X-TRA 400 Print Film

Fujifilm Fujicolor Superia X-TRA 400 Print Film 

DESCRIPTION

Superia X-TRA 400 film sets a new standard for the 400-speed film category. It delivers excellent results when shooting action subjects or in low-light conditions, and is especially suited for use in compact, automatic cameras. An all-round general purpose, high-performance, high speed color negative film delivering truly fine-grain. Superb for snapshots or action, in low light with flash, outdoors or indoors. Ideal for general use with compact zoom lens cameras.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 35  
[Jan 24, 2018]
mmarquardt


Strength:

Reliable great color negative film.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2010]
spamme
Expert

Strength:

Cheap!!, good performance outdoor

Weakness:

hates mixed light, not to fine grain

I used this film for my last two weddings "reporting" part. Works good outdoors with rich colors and nice contrast. But don't you dare to use it in mixed or even tungsten light. Sure it's a day light film, but that? Grain increases excessively and skin colors become a nasty mix of red and yellow. Excellently converts to b&w in Photoshop, though.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 30, 2010]
bentodd
Intermediate

Strength:

Smooth, Potentially warm film without too much contrast, good blacks.

Weakness:

Red/Brown bias, struggles with whites, poor highlights, lacks sharpness

Not for serious photography. Unreliable colour ballance, Tends towards reds and browns, not particulary sharp but quite smooth. Won't do white! That said, keyhole lighting and rich sunsets come through well, not too over-boosted. Might work well with darker skin types and direct lighting

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 01, 2007]
ajuk
Intermediate

Strength:

Fine grain in all but low light situations. Excellent colours. CHEAP CHEAP

Weakness:

Erm, all I can think of is I wish the 800 speed version can be had so cheap online.
Can be very expensive if you don't shop around, when I see the prices some shops as £5+, I can see why there is such a rush with P&S photographers to go digital.

This is just about the cheapest film I can buy at the moment, I can get it for 93p a roll at 7dayshop. It is also one of the best film I can find, I think it has better colours than Superia 100, great skin tones, and I can't seen any grain even at 9x6". I have used this in a CC to take the candid shots a wedding I was photographing before.

Its not the best film, but at 93p and this good, its probably best on a quality/price scale.

The reviewer below obviously had a bad batch.

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used:

Kodak UC 400, Portra 400NC

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 09, 2007]
Craig McKerlie
Intermediate

Strength:

Granularity
Color Saturation

Weakness:

None, that I care to mention right now. Most problems came for over zealous lab techs.

I love this film. I shoot a lot outdoor locations. Since I live in a very rural area, it is hard to get good film or even processing. The colors are always bright and alive. I mainly use ISO 100 and 400. Action shots are clear even when enlarged to 11 x 14.
I am more than pleased with the granularity and the color saturation of these two speeds. While doing the New York Instituted of Photography course, my instructor also commented on how well she liked the film and the color saturation. For a consumer film, I do not think you can do any better.

Customer Service

unkown

Similar Products Used:

Kodak

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 21, 2006]
stereobyte
Expert

Weakness:

Color cast, extreme grain .. even for a 400 ISO film, low contrast, low color saturation...

A terrible film.

I shot several rolls and all came out with this blue colorcast. I had to scan, edit, and re-print my photograph's.

I'd never use this particular film again.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 07, 2005]
Speed
Intermediate

Strength:

Fast - works great in low light Great colors Great detail One of the best buys out there

Weakness:

None

This is my everyday film, and I always have several rolls of this in my camera bag. It is fast, it delivers great colors, and the detail is very, very good. This film is one of the best buys out there - 6.96 for a four roll pack - and should not be overlooked because it is a consumer grade film. This film is great for shooting sports (where you need fast shutter speeds), for overcast days, and for any low-light situation you may encounter. The colors and details are so good that I have used this film for shooting weddings and portraits.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Superia 100 Fujio Superia 200 Fuji Superia Xtra 800 Fuji NPH Fuji NPS Fuji Reala Kodak Gold 100 Porta 160 Kodak Max 400

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 31, 2005]
ajuk
Casual

Strength:

Pleasing grain, nice colours and skin tones look alright. Cost £1.25 a roll (not $)

Weakness:

Well none I can see but I would guess that it doesnt perform quite as well as the pro neg films like Pro 400H

When I first started using my SLR I would always shoot ISO 100 film because coming from using a Digital compact(Fuji F610 was my first camera), I always thought ISO 400 looked crap(don't get me started on the ISO 800). It wasn't untill I saw pictures taken from this film and other high ISO films in magazines that I finaly bought some, but I was still unsure about using it. Well after the first roll I was hooked it is now my every day film and I only shoot the 100 on nice sunny days. Not sure why some people say why ISO 400+ looks crap this looks great and know there are even better 400 ISO print films out there. Digital P&S put me of high ISOs for a long time, I'm glad I found this.

Customer Service

7Dayshop sent me 5 rolls of 24 exp film instead of 5 rolls of 35 Exp film but I sent it back and they sent me the righ stuff. Cost £1.25 a roll and I have found a great cheap place to get it proccessed ASDA (owned by Walmart) I always get 7x5 with white boarders.

Similar Products Used:

Kodak 400 UC and all the Chromagenic B&W films

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 15, 2005]
nikon_junkie
Intermediate

Strength:

Cost/quality

Weakness:

Something about my local Eckerd's don't like this film. They always screw up one roll, or it's the roll itself.

I've used this in the past three months inside gymnasiums, at a brush fire, and on a cruise and had acceptable results. Alot of poor lighting conditions from not enough to too much. I'm always hunting Walmarts film desk for this film. Look for the Super Value Pack which I bought 5 cartons packed 8 rolls for $6.89. That works out to $.89 cents a roll.Usually they have the 4+1 for the same price. At $1.38 a roll, still not a bad deal. Nothing on the market can compare to cost/value.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Variety of Tungsten Kodak slide

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 08, 2004]
nikonman
Expert

Strength:

Great color, not overbearing. Good contrast. Sharp. Price (I paid less than $3 a roll for 36 exposures at B&H).

Weakness:

None.

I have to concur with all the reviewers on this product. It's a great film thanks to the tweaks FUJI made on it last year. It's actually a faster version of REALA. I use it almost exclusively to shoot my kids' soccer games. The extra 2 stops come in handy on overcast days, especially when there's action involved. I usually rate it at 320 to overexpose slightly (it gets corrected automatically in printing) to ensure the best grain/color.

Similar Products Used:

Haven't used a similar (?) product in quite a while. Thinking of trying Kodak's Ultracolor 400.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com