Fujifilm Superia Reala 100 Print Film

Fujifilm Superia Reala 100 Print Film 

DESCRIPTION

Superia Reala is a premium ISO 100 film for photographing people and special occasions, or for images intended for portraits or enlargements. It offers the finest and smoothest grain of all Superia films, and produces beautiful, natural skin tones and rich textures.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Jul 14, 2005]
CanonFDUser
Intermediate

Strength:

- True-to-life colours - Excellent edge sharpness - Retains cloud/sky detail well

Weakness:

- Very occasional 'washed-out' print

I last used REALA about 12 years ago and concluded that it produced ‘nice but nothing special’ prints. Based on the many favourable reviews on this forum I recently gave the film another go, shooting it on a variety of camera/lens combinations. My conclusions are based on comparison to Fuji Superia 400 which has for been my stock print film for several years. REALA clearly does exactly what it claims, namely to deliver sharp prints with true-to-life colours. It produces very nice prints on outdoor subjects, particularly landscape scenes with large amounts of greenery. REALA also seems to possess excellent ‘edge sharpness’ i.e. ability to differentiate areas of similar tonal values. Ironically for a film that is essentially ‘grain-free’ this edge sharpness sometimes gives a slight impression of grain in the print (not actual grain). One significant advantage I’ve noticed is that in situations where other films can ‘blow out’ to produce a pure white sky, REALA typically seems able to retain substantial cloud/sky detail. The only downside to REALA is that I occasionally get a pale ‘washed-out’ print. I suspect this only occurs where the lighting is very flat and the image has been significantly over-exposed. Overall, an excellent film for users seeking ‘true-to-life’ images capable of significant enlargement.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Superia 400

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 16, 2005]
LongLiveFilm
Expert

Strength:

Color, Sharpness

Weakness:

Intense Highlights Reddish cast in shade Can't get it at Albertson's or Sav-On

I bought a few rolls of this to take to Yosemite last year after reading glowing reviews about it. I must say that I was very pleased with the color and sharpness, but this film was kind of funky in that it displays extremely bright highlights and gets a weird reddish-purple color cast under shady conditions. I'll have to give it another try with more varied subjects.

Similar Products Used:

Kodak Gold 100 FujI Super HQ 100

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 26, 2005]
trainiax
Intermediate

Strength:

-Nearly invisible grain -Exceptional sharpness -Medium contrast -Balanced colour -Value

Weakness:

-None...

I tried regular Fujicolor Superia 100 a year ago, and was greatly impressed by the results--in particular, the fine grain. However, I didn't like the occasionally high contrast and saturated reds as much. The results I've seen from Fujicolor Reala 100 are as described by many others--stunning. The strengths of Superia 100 are improved upon and the weaknesses eliminated. The very balanced colour and contrast and incredible sharpness are enough to forget that this is not a professional slide film. For the results it delivers, this film is a bargain, too.

Customer Service

Not Needed

Similar Products Used:

Fujicolor Superia 100, 200, 400 Fujifilm Sensia 100 slide film Kodak 100, 200, 400, 400 H-D

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 01, 2004]
prpctech04
Intermediate

Strength:

ALL the good things everyone writs about plus the best film below $3.

Weakness:

The film is only in 100 ISO I would like to see it in 200 also.

The best amateur film you can get you hands on. I read many reviews here and I will agree with some stating that this film tends to produce more vibrant reds than usual. Nonetheless, the contrast and colors this film reproduces are so accurate so life like that is almost produces a 3D effect on the print (this is really weird. I am a person who uses cheap, but good quality labs (I shop around for the best results) so I get really good prints. Many of my bodies who are PROS in the business are telling me that this film is more of an outdoor than for portrait, but when they see my pictures they have a hard time sticking to that. I use SKY filter on my camera so the pics better reflect skin tones. I will be testing the KODAK HD film, but I do not think it will sway me away from REALA!!

Customer Service

never used

Similar Products Used:

FUIJI SUPERIA, HQ ALL IN VARIOUS SPEEDS, FORGET KODAK AMATEUR FILM.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 15, 2004]
grolschie
Intermediate

Nice colours over all. Blues were really nice. However, dark colours all came out near black. Exposure was dead on and I have a good lab. Perhaps I need to rate the film at 80? Images are nice and sharp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 17, 2004]
Matt_OSU
Beginner

Strength:

Great colors Tiny grain Colors are accurately reflecting reality Not too expensive

Weakness:

requires a tripod, but huh, this is not a weakness :)

As I planned a trip to Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, and some other National PArks in Utah, I needed film I could trust. I read the different reviews posted by the readers of photographyreview.com, and naturally, I purchased two rolls of this film. The results I got where amazing. I am still on my butt. The colors look like what they were in real life. The color balance is great, the grain is perfect. What else to say abotu this film? Hurry up, try it now!

Similar Products Used:

Kodak GOLD 100,200,400. Kodak MAX 400 Kodak HD 400

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 19, 2004]
Christiano
Professional

Strength:

all..also the price

Weakness:

none

This is simply my alltime favorite film for pro assignments. I use it both for 135 mm as well as 120 and my Canon L gear as well as Pentax P67 lenses is a very good match for this unique film.Color sharpness distortion and alike is so close to slide film that its worth every penny ! i put it on 80 iso and my clients cry of joy. Digital Go home.! its pure high end.

Customer Service

nope

Similar Products Used:

many from agfa kodak fuji and so on..you name i tried it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2004]
thegogo68
Intermediate

I have made a decision to take my photography a bit more serious and have begun experimenting with different films and slides. I bought a few rolls of Reala since it seems to have a good reputation. I just picked my pics from the local camera store. Wow!!!! One of the reviews in the section stated that his images had the appearance of a postcard when printed on really nice Fuji paper. They weren't kidding. I am totally thrilled with the image quality, color, saturation and lack of any visible grain. I was also impressed at how well it handle portraits. Really outstanding film. I will definately be ordering more and using this as my print film choice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 18, 2004]
tmaltby
Intermediate

Strength:

Everything!

Weakness:

None!

Reala is outstanding, I find, with my Leica lenses, both R and M. The match is perfection--gorgeous color saturation, superb sharpness, and no grain. What a joy it is to load this into my cameras and get the prints from the Fuji lab. The wait is intolerable, for each time I am over-anxious to see what amazing reality I get on this emulsion.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 25, 2004]
quenchfire
Intermediate

Strength:

Reasonably Cheap...Yep I said cheap...try B&H import (not USA) version to save $$.

Weakness:

None.

Incredible emulsion, this one. I usually shoot Fuji Slide films, Provia 100F or Velvia RDP 50. As far as color saturation, depth, sharpness, scan-ability goes, this is as good as any slide film, and has more exposure latitude to boot!

Customer Service

Never needed...Great Web Site, though.

Similar Products Used:

Fuji NPS 160NC, Kodak Royal Gold 200, Gold 100, Fuji Superia 100, 400.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com