Kodak Gold 200 Print Film

Gold 200

Kodak Gold 200 is great film for bright or partly sunny conditions. It provides a refined combination of color saturation, color accuracy, and sharpness in a 200-speed film.

User Reviews (48)

Showing 1-10 of 48  
anas1993   Beginner [Sep 05, 2011]
Strength:

Good colors skin tone

Great for outdoor shots

Decent for indoor shots too but make sure to use flash

Good price

Weakness:

None

I purchased this kodak gold 200 film in a 3 pack at Target for $6. I used about five rolls of this film this year and was delighted with the results. I use a regular point and shoot camera which is great for this film. I developed and them both at Target and CVS. I highly recommend this film to be developed at Target or CVS because they use kodak paper and products. If you develop this film on fuji paper results wont look good because of the mismatch between the processing and the film. Whenever you use kodak film make sure to process it in kodak paper and whenever you use fuji film process it on fuji paper in order to get good results. Even indoors this film is decent. Just make sure to use flash when shooting indoor shots. Thats all there is to this film. Therefore, I highly recommend this film to anyone who isnt a professional photographer.

Similar Products Used: Fuji superia 100

Fuji superia 200

kodak gold 200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt_OSU   Beginner [Aug 17, 2004]
Strength:

Good overall film Cheap Good colors

Weakness:

well, I like this film, it is not a GREAT film like the Fuji REALA 100, but it is a film that will get the job done.

I used this film to shoot pictures from a private airplane flying over campus. I wanted to blow up the pictures I would take, so I took a film that would be good during good weather and average if there was any clouds. The result turned out to be satisfying, especially at the price I paid for!

Similar Products Used: Kodak ROYAL GOLD 100,400 Kodak MAX 400 Kodak HD 400 Fuji REALA 100
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Bill50   Intermediate [Jul 10, 2004]
Strength:

Available everywhere Price(if bought in 4 packs) Strong color Nice contrast

Weakness:

Hard to find in 36 exposure-I have to reload too often with 24

This has become the main print film for me along with Fuji Super HQ 200. I used to use Fuji Reala, but it only comes in 100 speed and must be mail ordered to be had at a civilized price. Now I go to Wal Mart(or just about anywhere else) and get 4 packs at a great price. The colors are nice and strong, but not over the top. Contrast is just right-not too harsh or too low. About the only waty to see a difference in grain compared to the 100 equivilant is to look at the negatives with a high dollar 5x loupe.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Many color negative films
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LongLiveFilm   Expert [Mar 28, 2004]
Strength:

Nice, rich tones and contrast. Scans nice. Readily available most anywhere. Great white balance when used with flash.

Weakness:

Grainy in out-of-focus areas when scanned. Expensive when bought individually - you can get a four pack for two dollars more than a single roll costs.

Great negative film. No more apparent grain than Gold 100 (AKA "Bright Sun"). This is my standard film for shooting general flash photography, as well as my print film of choice for macro work. It scans really well on my film scanner with more detail and a softer, more extended range of tones than the prints I get back from Costco, but at 1800x1200 pixels the grain is more than apparent.

Similar Products Used: Kodak Bright Sun (Gold) 100 Fuji Super HQ 200
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
LongLiveFilm   Intermediate [Jan 16, 2003]
Strength:

Availability Inexpensive Fine Grain

Weakness:

Blue Cast

This is the film my family always buys. My mother buys this stuff in bulk at Costco and shoots all our family photos on it (To clear this up, I'm not a mama's boy, I'm just 19 years old). Most of the pictures I've shot have been on this film. However, I have a slight problem with the blue hue this film tends to cast over the whole image. But still, most of the pictures look great. It doesn't have the eye-popping clarity of Gold 100, but the pictures that didn't get the blue cast on them look great nonetheless.

Similar Products Used: Gold 100
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
TroyB   Intermediate [Aug 28, 2002]
Strength:

Inexpensive Ok colors, most of the time

Weakness:

Unacceptable grain when shooting shots containing large areas of the sky (especially clear, blue sky)

I shoot a lot of airshows and ran into a problem with this film. It's unacceptably grainy when there are large portions of the sky in the frame. In fact, I would have thought it was a fluke but it happened with three different rolls. What's unusual is the grain wasn't too bad otherwise. Except for that, the colors are ok as are the sharpness and contrast. I wouldn't use it for anything I deemed important.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Fuji Reala Fuji Superia 200 Extra Fuji NPH Fuji NPS
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Alex   Intermediate [Aug 02, 2002]
Strength:

good skin colour cheap average to good sharpness

Weakness:

grain underexposure in cloudy conditions

I will agree and disagree with people who wrote previous reviews. Yes this film isn't good...for SLR camera (which I use), because SLR owners are usually not casual shooters, and require more from their film. But for people who do not use pricey SLR's or expensive point-and-shoots, this film might be perfect

Customer Service

never used. the website is excellently maintained and gives all the detail about the film

Similar Products Used: konica VX, konica centuria, etc
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Mair   Intermediate [May 16, 2002]
Strength:

- good skin tones, contrast. - decent colour, grain. - consistency: thats what this film''s all about.

Weakness:

- slightly cool tinge to every pic. - doesn''t perform well on overcast days for a 200 speed film--grays are very white, but if your a casual shooter, you can tolerate this.

I agree with what some customers are saying about this film--it being very average. But you know what, sometimes, average is good. Especially if your just a casual shooter, or if your beginning and you really don''t know the quirks of a 100 ISO or 800 ISO films, or the certain qualities of the brands like Konika, Fuji, and the like. This is one of the films that I use most often, what got me is it''s sheer consistency (performs well in most, if not all, situations). You can also find it just about anywhere. Good skin tones, sharpness, colour saturation isnt too bad, and grain. With this film, your getting very average results. If you compare this to say, Fuji''s Superia 200, with this film your getting very average results with everything, whereas the Fuji tends to go extremes. Skin tones are anywhere from mediocre to untolerable, and it doesn''t perform as well indoors. But with those downs, your also getting highs--strong colours and sharpness. If you''re not experienced enough to pick out every subtle difference, or if you don''t plan on wanting to deal with those highs and lows, just get this film. Better deal for just about the same price.

Customer Service

umm...uh...GO LEAFS GO!! lol

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
SY   Expert [Nov 23, 2001]
Strength:

Fairly good for everyday use.

Weakness:

None.

This is probably not the perfect film in the world, but it is definitely not the "Worst film from brand name company" as suggested by the previous reviewer. Could it be so poor because you "got this one for free from store with new equipment purchase"? Colour, contrast, sharpness, grain, etc. are fairly good for a "consumer" film.

Similar Products Used: Most of Agfa and Kodak films
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
borvix   Expert [Nov 03, 2001]
Strength:

Everything except the weaknesses.

Weakness:

POOR: quality,contrast and colors.

I’m just wondering of people who gave to this film high (4+). This is Worst film from brand name company that I ever used. Everything is POOR: contrast, colors, and details. I got this one for free from store with new equipment purchase and after years of using nice Fuji films I can’t believe that Kodak produce so low quality junk. Side by side comparing with the same photos taken with Fuji film: Kodak Gold 200 made not from gold ;)))).

Customer Service

NONE

Similar Products Used: Fuji, Fuji and again Fuji !!!!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 48  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com