Agfa CT Precisa 100 Slide Film

Agfa CT Precisa 100 Slide Film 

DESCRIPTION

With CT precisa 100 every slide-show is a special experience. Because this film reproduces your experiences and impressions with exceptional precision, just as they happened. Every colour stays natural and undistorted – sky blue, sunny yellow or brick red. Another advantage: extremely sharp outlines in all gradations of light and shade. Ideal for sunshine and cloudless sky. Pure radiant colours, extremely sharp and fine-grained. Precise rendition of detail in all areas of light and shade.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Apr 14, 2015]
Arch

Strength:

yet to determine

Weakness:

yet to determine

Re: April 2 2015 - Bob Archer Review.
Thanks Bob. I wonder if you could comment on sharpness.
Provia has a RMS of 8 and yet AGFA CT is nominated at 10.0 (x 1000) .
I don't quite follow the 10.0 (x 1000 description. ?????

Similar Products Used:

Provia 100F, Rollei/AGFA Digibase CR 200

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 02, 2015]
Bob Archer
Professional

Strength:

see review summary

Weakness:

none

I was a died-in-the-wool Kodachrome 64 man, but with my precious K64 withdrawn, I switched to Fuji Provia. This was about 90 % as good as K64. However the price rocketed. Iwas advised to try CT100 Precisa, whichis every bit as good as Provia, but half the price. Mysubjects are mainly aircraft, as I sell original slides of these in action. I recently shot Heathrow approach and was pleased with the colour of the airliners. Magic place, with teh sun shining on these !!! Military subjects likewise looked good. Highy recommended for the dinosaur like me who stillshoot "steam." PSI also shoot digi, but my "steam" is still best.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 14, 2007]
ajuk
Intermediate

Strength:

Looks amazing in C-41, makes ordinary photos look amazing.

Weakness:

Discontinued, what will I do without this stuff

Best film ever to Cross process

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Astia, Provia (x Processed)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 12, 2005]
Heinz Anderle
Expert

Strength:

Natural colors, not the bluish tint of earlier Ektachrome or the magenta cast of Kodachrome, or the strange olive-black instead of green seen with Fuji's earlier slide film. Natural skin tones. In some films I have noticed a pink-brown color shift, but this may result from insufficient quality control in development (I assume temperature deviation). Quite well scannable also with intermediate-level film scanners (Dmax ~ 3).

Weakness:

Grain and sharpness could not meet Kodak's or Fuji's current level.

Say goodbye to the pioneer... Agfacolor slide film was introduced in 1936, now the remaining stock of its last sucessaor is hard to sell out. Also available as OEM film from drug store chains approaching expiration date... Agfa's slide films' strength were the neutral-to slightly warm natural, but never oversaturated colors. It as pity to see them going forever.

Customer Service

Agfa Photo is going out of business.

Similar Products Used:

Agfachrome CTx, RSX, Fujichrome RD 100, Fujichrome Velvia, Ektachrome 100 HC, Ektachrome Elite 100, Kodachrome 200

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 13, 2004]
Roland Mabo
Expert

Strength:

Natural, neutral colour rendition High sharpness Works well even in mixed lightning All-round film, great for both landscapes and portraits

Weakness:

Slightly warm

I like this film for general outdoor photography. The colours are life-like and natural, contrast range good and this film produces very good results even in mixed and hars light conditions. This film captures the scene as my eyes saw it. It's very close to the pro RSX 100 in it's overall character, but slightly warm. This is a great all-round film.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used:

Agfa RSX 100, RSX 50, CTi 100, CTx Precisa 200 Kodachrome 64, Ektachrome 100PPN, Ektachrome 50 Elite

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 03, 2004]
georg molterer
Expert

Strength:

probably nice if you really want a desaturated look, maybe people in the studio or i don't know...

Weakness:

saturation, grain,

it has a very balanced grey - even in the brightest red. colours are dull. i only exposed it at ISO 100, which meant i was at least 1/3 under maybe even half. it also is pretty grainy. i don't know about the sharpness, but i doesn't seem extraordinarily sharp to me (only used a 5x loupe, though) if somebody's going for the look fine, but definitely a bad overall film.

Customer Service

---

Similar Products Used:

sensia, Elite 100, provia 100F, E100G

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 29, 2003]
NZDavid
Expert

Strength:

Accurate colour rendition as opposed to over-the-top poster colours.

Weakness:

Can't think of any really.

If you are tempted to try this film - go for it! I suspect one reason there are few reviews is because Agfa seems to be relatively scarce in the US, although it is in Europe and here in New Zealand, where incidentally it's great value. Also, people may not rate it as highly because they are used to more vivid slide films. I like its neutral colour palette and find it is quite brilliant enough - particularly when we visited Greece, or here in NZ where our light is already very bright and contrasty. It's fine in all light conditions though, except fluoro or excessive tungsten where you need flash anyway. Like any slide film, exposure needs to be bang on.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used:

Lots of slide films from Agfa, Fuji, and Kodak.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 02, 2001]
Vincent Stiekema
Intermediate

Strength:

Beautiful, natural colour. Sharp.

Weakness:

None that I know of.

The main reason I post this review is that I`d like to know what other people think about this film.

I used it in particular in Egypt and I was stunned by the natural colour, and the sharpness, of the resulting slides. I think it`s hardly improvable.

Similar Products Used:

CT Precisa 200. Lots of
print film.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2001]
Karl Wessendorf
Expert

Strength:

Medium Contrast
Accurate Color

Weakness:

A bit too low color saturation. Seems to "produce" a slightly veiled look - like atmospheric haze. Probably accurate to the scene - but I prefer a bit more color saturation to cut through this.

Grain is a bit course and somewhat mottled.

Honest to a fault. A film needs to have a slight boost in color or contrast to make an outdoor scene look as we remember it, rather than what it really looks like. I find Kodak E100S fills this "requirement". Med contrast, slightly increased color saturation - perfect!

Similar Products Used:

Kodak E100S
Kodachrome 64

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 13, 2001]
Douglas Cromby
Expert

Strength:

Very neutral colours.
Relatively sharp.
Cheap to buy.

Weakness:

Quite noticeable grain.
Not very sharp.

I am not a fan of this film. It is just not sharp enough, and is too grainy. Compared to Sensia or Provia, it just does not get a look in. i would consider it for use when very bright colours are not required or where contrast is very great.

Similar Products Used:

Kodachromes
Fuji Sensia, Provia, Velvia.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com