Fujifilm Fujichrome Velvia 50 Slide Film

Fujifilm Fujichrome Velvia 50 Slide Film 

DESCRIPTION

Professional, high-image quality, daylight-type color reversal film with superb granularity, and world-class levels of image color saturation and vibrancy. Precise modulation, vivid color reproduction and excellent image quality make this the outstanding film for nature, fashion, products, interiors, and artwork photography. Exceptional performance, ISO speed rating of 50, excellent results in push-/pull processing for a wide range of exposures - from -1/2 to +1 stop, enabling a wider array of photo opportunities.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 104  
[Jun 06, 2018]
Argentum


Strength:

An absolute legendary slide film, the only film that ever matched possibly the best slide film ever, that is : Kodachrome 25. In April 2017 i got bored of my boring digital camera that gave me boring flat colours and decided to take up my father's Minolta X-700 35mm SLR. After wetting my feet with a few rolls of colour negative i decided to try Velvia. When i saw my slides i was amazed, shocked, to see those razor sharp images filled with amazing colour, i am never, EVER going back to digital. Velvia has extremely fine grain ( RMS 9 ) , extremely high resolution the widest contrast range of any film, or digital sensor, and sharpness only surpassed by KM25.

Weakness:

Velvia 50 is not meant for people shots, it makes skin turn red in 9/10 occasions. The exposure latitude is very small ( i rate it at 40 )

Price Paid:
13
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2018
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2012]
Damon
Expert

Strength:

Great chrome look.

Weakness:

Needs to be exposed properly.

I use it FOR skin tones. Portraits of my son look better than with any other film, except maybe Portra 160 NC. Both are classics.

Similar Products Used:

all film

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2005]
Ferko
Intermediate

Strength:

In my opinion the best you can get for landscapes and macro shots. "Disney" colors; I maybe wrong, but this is the only film I've ever used and gave back the nature's colors as I've seen. On my own opinion. So I have to say the saturation is perfect. Sharp. Tack sharp, combined with a good lens. Grain: do not think a lot, the RMS 9 and 8 are so close to each other, you won't notice the difference. Even when it is compared to Fuji's new jewel, the Astia 100F, (RMS 7) you can tell only one difference between the two: on the Astia there are people.

Weakness:

No, this is NOT: flesh tones are the worst you can get. "Not well suited for portraits" - be sure, it is NEVER intended to be. If you shoot portraits there's the Astia for you, neither of the Velvias. The film turns everyone's face and skin into red, sometimes adding various spots what are never existed before. If you can't afford to change film and don't want to miss a shot, set it to ISO 40 for better skin tones. Setting to 64 incrases the saturation a little, but visible. Not cheap;

One of the best films for a kind of job. You must keep in mind that this is an "outdoor" film. This isn't an all-in-wonder film. Best for outdoor, worst for others.

Customer Service

For why? (note this is the 101th review to this film. This could mean something, isn'it?)

Similar Products Used:

Velvia 100F, Astia 100 and 100F (altough these aren't similar except the Fuji mark) Provia 100F. (and 400F, too)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 25, 2005]
jwyatt
Intermediate

Strength:

Fine grain (great for slide scanning), saturation without filters, visual "punch" to make a stand-out landscpae shot.

Weakness:

Speed, hassle/cost of all film compared to digital. I've just got an EOS20D - the comparison of that versus my OM1, zuiko primes and velvia will be interesting!

I get through slide film quite slowly so it took me a while to get through my stocks of Astia and Sensia and realise that Velvia really is the best film for landscape shots. I find that my shots look far more natural using Velvia and just a grey grad or no filter compared to other slide films with a polariser and 81B filter.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

Astia 100, Kodak Extra colour 100, Sensia II 100

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 23, 2004]
moouers
Expert

Strength:

Impressive colors Very fine grained and sharp Reacts well to a warming filter or a polarizer Slow ISO (i.e. sharpness, also easier to create moving water images)

Weakness:

Garrish skin tones (good thing it wasn't designed for portraits) A bit finicky with higher contrasts

First things first, I've noticed there are a lot of negative comments about this films color representation. People say it's "too" saturated and fake, kind of cartoonish. To that I say, don't knock it for what it was designed to do. It's made to be very saturated, and the results are absolutely beautiful if the film is used/exposed properly. This film provides absolutely stunning, sharp, moving images. The colors are clean and crisp, as are the color gradations. Lush greens, healthy blues, vivid reds, this film has it all.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Provia 100F Kodak E100VS Kodachrome 64 Fuji Velvia 100F

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2004]
Bill50
Intermediate

Strength:

Fine grain Deeply saturated colors Keeps my mind off of digital SLRs

Weakness:

Skintones not accurate-but that's not what it's for

This film is what everyone expects-over the top color saturation, very fine grain that captures alot of detail,and slow. I like very strong colors, and Velvia really delivers. You don't need a polarizer unless it's for other reasons-cutting glare on water or glass. Some complain of the slow speed, but you knew that before loading it in the camera. Each film has a purpose-and this is not to be used when you need speed. But for nature and landscape shooting on a tripod, it's very good for that.

Customer Service

with film?

Similar Products Used:

Kodak E100VS(my oversaturated "fast" film)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 19, 2004]
Canon EOS Rules
Casual

Strength:

Great colors Excellent sharpness

Weakness:

Sometimes a little too cool Horrible skintones If shooting in low light, bring a tripod (or use Velvia 100F)

I've heard great things about this film-it was my photo teacher's favorite color siide film. So, I decided to try it. I love it. The colors are postcard-perfect, the sharpness is supreme, but watch out for those skintones! Skintones aside, Velvia 50 is a great film to shoot. If you haven't tried it, try a roll-it will probably become one of your favorites in no time.

Customer Service

Never needed it

Similar Products Used:

Fujichrome Velvia 100F (see my other review) Kodak Elite Chrome Exrra Color (see my other review)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 21, 2004]
Art Czepczynski
Intermediate

Strength:

Bold Colors, fine grained, standard E-6 processing.

Weakness:

A toss-up with the ISO setting, colors may become a bit over-exaggerated. Not well suited for portraits.

In the niche of transparency film, every photgrapher, as an individual, has their preference, fujichrome films represent one of these niches. Like everything else in life, films are a tool to portray what the photographer wants to show. Before I begin the review I would like to be as objective in the sense that every user has different results with this film partially due to technique, ligting and LENSES, and how long you have had the film in the glove compartment of your car. Fujichrome Velvia 50 is a great film when one uses it what it was intended for, and portraits are not it. The film lends itself well to photography that needs bold colors, allows slower shutter speeds and accurate but slightly exagerrated color rendition. I do agree to the fact that velvia 50 would be more suitable as an ISO 40 film, but like anything else that setting can in some situations, create washed out images. Bracketing, in my opinion, is an insurance policy. From velvia experience, color rendition is wonderful and bold, but I've noticed that bright yellows, and reds tend to produce a fakish but accurate (hard to describe) plasticky color. Blacks and whites complement each other very well with this film. Greens can (not a rule) be slightly overdone, but create a very pleasing bold color. Blues tend to become royal blues, and royal blues tend to become violet-ish. Now remember that with your particular lenses and lighting your results may vary. I've shot this film with both canon and tamron lenses and the results are fairly consistant. Also remember that this film was DESIGNED to create bold saturated colors, there are always other choices. From personal experience, the film holds up well unrefrigirated unexposed, once exposed it is a good idea, especially with velvia, to process it promptly. I would recommend that this film be at least given a chance. You may like it. I have not yet tried the new ISO 100 version of velvia, but I've read some great reviews.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Kodachrome 64 (K-14 a pain) Kodak Elite chrome family Agfachrome family.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 24, 2003]
Bob_Budding
Intermediate

Strength:

None

Weakness:

Hyper-saturated colors Terrible color balance

I think I'm one of the few people on the plant that really, really hate this film. Absolutely everything looks fake. Colors are hyper-saturated. And forget about skin tones. They are terrible.

Similar Products Used:

Kodachrome

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 24, 2003]
geeza
Intermediate

Strength:

No grain. smooooth as Bold, punchy and slightly sureal colours Sharper than a sharp thing

Weakness:

Terrible skin tones Can be tricky to use inside with flash Price (unless you can buy where i do)

More punch than Mikey T, colour to make your retina's burn out and smooth as silk. This is the Ben Hur of slide films, although there are some limitations, you'll either love or hate the reproduction qualities of this film. If you've tried and have'nt had good results "your doing something wrong". Rate it at 40asa (not like the box says)use it outside, don't take portraits (unless you want a sunburnt look) and be very carefull when using a polariser as the high contrast can turn an awfull lot of shadow detail black, including parts of the sky (i have proof). Great for blowing up too as noooooo grainnn!!!! Don't trust your lab (even if their pro's) to print a first run, as my first velvia attempts we're never properly colour matched and are way below the quality of the original, don't be tight people, buy a good lupe and a light box. Some people don't like it, that's cool, but a lot of pro's use it, what does that tell you................

Customer Service

Ummm No

Similar Products Used:

All Fuji Slides

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 104  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com