Kodak Kodachrome 64 Slide Film

Kodak Kodachrome 64 Slide Film 

DESCRIPTION

KODACHROME 64 Film offers legendary skin-tone and color reproduction. An extremely sharp film with fine grain.

  • Natural color reproduction
  • Extremely sharp
  • Professional version also available

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 48  
    [Jan 16, 2009]
    Pat
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Amazing colors and archival storage ability

    Weakness:

    NONE (except only one place to process--which isn't that bad--heck, you can even send it out through WalMart)

    This film is the BEST film that I have ever used. There is not one flaw to this film. If you are thinking about buying some buy it! You will not be dissapointed

    Similar Products Used:

    All Ektachrome Films

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 06, 2007]
    STEVE O
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Will last a long time, great color(understatement).

    Weakness:

    Have to wait.

    Was going through my old slides----wow, the Kodachromes have stood the test of time! From 1967 and still high res , great color. From the 80's, same story.

    Similar Products Used:

    Velvia , Ektachrome

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 06, 2004]
    Kodachrome Loyalist
    Beginner

    Strength:

    Fine grain, realistic colors, superb sharpness, extreme longevity. It also has that "Kodachrome look" to it that you just can't get in any other film.

    Weakness:

    Survival depends solely on Kodak's whimsy. Requires special K-14 processing, so you won't get it back in a day.

    Kodachrome 64 is a great film. It reproduces color naturally, has fine grain, is exceedingly sharp, and has that special "look" to it that you just can't get with any other film. It is adaptable. I can go from shooting flowers in the garden to my sister's birthday party, and not have to worry about horrible skin tones or overblown colors that happen with Velvia. While it can be a little finnicky to scan (it comes out with a blueish cast to it), simple corrections in Photoshop can easily get around this. Its longevity is un-matched. I've picked up boxes of my grandfather's WWII-era Kodachromes and they looked as good as new. I dug through and found some Ektachromes or other E-4 process films also. What image there was left was hard to discern. Kodak, with their screwed-up ideas about "product marketing" has foolishly decided to put this classic film on the brink of extinction. It's very survival depends upon the results of the next market survey. Also, ther is only one lab left in the entire country (indeed, only two or three in the WORLD) that will process K-14, Kodachrome's special processing. The results are well worth the 2-1/2 week wait, though. That said, it is a great film, and I would reccomend it to anyone who is looking for a great slide film.

    Customer Service

    Excellent. All of my e-mails to Kodak were answered promptly and expertly.

    Similar Products Used:

    While there's nothing like it, I have also used Provia 100F and Velvia 50.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 26, 2004]
    Harley
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Great, accurate colors Beautiful skin tones Extremely sharp Incredible scanning Better contrast then high contrast velvia Little grain

    Weakness:

    None. Unless you're on a tight schedule - processing is a two week turn around.

    I have been a loyal Fujichrome user for all of my landscape photography. That was until I got back my first roll of Kodachrome 64. This was by far the sharpest chrome film I have ever used, along with better and more realistic color reproduction compared to velvia or provia. It scans beautifully, far better than velvia or provia. If there is any grain, I can't see it, even on large projection. Soon I will experiment with E200, which has some great reviews. For now its bye bye to velvia and provia. BTW, the skin tones were beautiful. For print film I will continue to stick with Fuji Reala; it's the sharpest print film I have ever used. In summation, Kodachrome 64 is so good that I will no longer knock Kodak film products.

    Customer Service

    I called Kodak several times. They were surprisingly helpful.

    Similar Products Used:

    Velvia 50 Velvia 100 Provia 100 Sensia 100

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 29, 2003]
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    VERY Sharp True to life colour Archival

    Weakness:

    Slightly more grain than other transparency films, but still small and very acceptable Not for those who want over the top saturation (i.e. Velvia)

    Well, I bought this film with high expectations for realistic, sharp colour, and that's what I got!!! I had heard about Kodachrome's unmatched realistic reproduction of colour and this was true, the sharpness is excellent and the archival qualities of Kodachrome make it an ideal film for preservation. Although the grain was not as fine as many of the new generation films (Velvia, Provia, E-Series), I found it small and acceptable. It's a shame that Kodak doesn't market this product better, its the best one they have. The only problem I had was the 1 month wait for it to be processed and returned to me, but it was worth the wait!

    Customer Service

    N/A

    Similar Products Used:

    All the black & white films and slide films

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 22, 2003]
    jbeecham
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Sharpness. Color accuracy. Its archival qualities are legendary. It is dependable and predicatable.

    Weakness:

    Cannot be processed in less than a week it seems. Totally dependent on the whims of Kodak. It is like riding a bike - you can pick it up after a long absence and it's as if you never left.

    Long ago in a place far, far away, I used Kodachrome all the time. Then my camera found the dark recesses of my closet. Six years ago, I picked the camera up again and began using the newer slide films from Ektachome and Fuji instead of Kodachrome. In the past few months, I have been reunited with Kodachrome 64. I now appreciate how great this film truly is. There is nothing better (except perhaps KM25). I have thousands of other slides, but the sharpness and accuracy of Kodachrome is unbeatable and beautiful. It is almost haunting at times to look at Kodachrome slides taken so long ago, they still look like the day they were taken. I hope this film is around for a long time. It will be a sad day if and when it is gone. After delving into digital photography, I find this slide film to be a welcome relief.

    Similar Products Used:

    Fuji provia & velvia, Kodak E100s, E100vs.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Sep 13, 2003]
    Bill Stewart
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    where's the grain? colors are as I remember them

    Weakness:

    a bit slow can only process at a few labs I fear that Kodak may pull the plug on this old favorite

    I've only shot about 5 rolls of this because I'm a big fan of oversaturated colors, like Velvia and E100VS has to offer. But this film reproduces colors the most accurately with almost no grain. When you look at the slides, it looks like you are "there". I missed out on trying K25 and regret not using it while I could. If it's grain is smaller than K64, did it have any at all? I sure hope K14 processing stays alive for awhile because I plan on shooting more of this stuff even though the cartoon colors of some E6 films are what I use most. My only complaint is the slow speed. I am a railfan and shooting moving trains requires a little more speed. When shooting with long lenses, you can't stop down a couple of stops for depth of field and still get a fast shutter speed.

    Similar Products Used:

    many E6 films

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Sep 09, 2003]
    Richard Conolly
    Expert

    Strength:

    Longevity, stability. Sharpness, colour.

    Weakness:

    Processing delay. Kodak's faltering commitment to the film/process.

    I have returned to using K64 after a spell with other films, namely Velvia and Kodak EBX100, and I've found it a refreshing change. As other reviewers have stated, the hyper saturation of other emulsions can get a bit wearing. Underexpose by 1/3 stop and this film gives the genuine 'National Geographic' look (if only I could say the same for my technique!). Also it's a lot more stable and resiliant to temperature changes. I now scan all my slides and if I want more saturation then I can alter the colour balance in Photoshop. As for longevity, my father's K12's from the mid 50's are still perfect. His E6 slides from the same period aren't!

    Customer Service

    Not used.

    Similar Products Used:

    Velvia, EBX100, Kodak 100SW. EPP100

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 28, 2003]
    Tom N
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    excellent and natural color rendition, expecially outdoors; super sharp resolution-scans very well, achival quality

    Weakness:

    slow, works best in daylight-not recommended for indoor skin tones

    Way back in early 70's while in HS & College-Kodachrome 25 & 64 were my slide films of choice. After away from the hobby for 25 years, I returned to photo graphy just this past year. I just received my first roll of processed Kodachrome 64 slides in nearly 30 years. My reaction is WOW. The colors are so real and natural-and the images are supersharp, particularly in outdoor daylight. As a matter of taste, I much prefer the natural colors of Kodachrome to the oversaturated colors of many of today's slide films. If that is what you prefer, than this is a great film, well worth the extra processing time and delay. By the way, I recently scanned my Dad's Kodachrome slides from the 1950's-dating back to the Korean War--they were are bright and as sharp as they were 50 years ago.

    Similar Products Used:

    Elite 100; Ektachrome 100

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 11, 2003]
    Lawrence
    Intermediate

    Strength:

    Consistency of overall "look"; accurate color rendition; excellent longevity in storage.

    Weakness:

    Doesn't pander to popular taste for punchy color; tendency to reciprocity failure with long exposures.

    Gives a very distinctive look: crisp and sharp; someone aptly described it as "steely". Colors are much less saturated than with typical modern films, which will disappoint you if you like the unnaturally rich, deep color that is in fashion now. If you like a more realistic palette, you'll probably like Kodachrome.

    Similar Products Used:

    Agfa RSX 50 Fujichromes (various) Ektachromes (various)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 48  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com