Kodak Professional Ektachrome E100VS Slide Film

Kodak Professional Ektachrome E100VS Slide Film 

DESCRIPTION

f intense color is what you crave, pump up your images with E100VS Film. Get vivid, saturated color, and outstanding sharpness—at true ISO 100 speed for extra versatility. With its unique Color Amplifying Technology, E100VS Film intensifies your saturation to give you a big color edge. Perfect for any subject that begs for dazzling and dramatic hues. Vividly saturated colors, True ISO 100 speed, Exceptional sharpness and fine grain, and Ideal for shooting jewelry, nature, food, wildlife, and scenics.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 57  
[Jan 10, 2005]
another view
Intermediate

Strength:

Bright, strong color palette. Fine grained. Unique look. Readily available.

Weakness:

A little grainier than Provia 100F, and doesn't look as "sharp" to me. Slightly more expensive than Provia and Velvia. Not a good choice with Caucasian skin tones.

Note that "VS" stands for Vivid Saturation. This isn't an all purpose film, but it's great for a lot of uses. I've seen it compared to Fuji Velvia, but it's really a much different film. E100VS is great for bright primary colors, and less contrasty than Velvia so it's a little more forgiving. Greens are nowhere as strong as Velvia - this may be an advantage or disadvantage depending on the subject. Because of this, I think that Fuji Provia 100F is a closer comparison. It is also a very fine grained film, but I do see grain show up in a clear blue sky, more than Fuji Provia - this is a pretty tough test though. I've shot quite a bit of this film but don't generally keep it anymore for a few reasons. First off, most of what I shot on film I'm now shooting on digital. Also, when I do shoot chrome, I try to standardize on fewer types of film. These days Provia 100F and Velvia 50 are about all I use, and those two handle what I need.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Velvia 50 and 100F, Provia 100F and 400F. Kodak Ektachrome E100 S, SW, G, GX, and E200. Agfa RSXII.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 14, 2004]
Bill50
Intermediate

Strength:

skin tones moderate speed fine grain strong colors(if that's what you like)

Weakness:

a little bit pricey can't think of anything else

I used to use Velvia 50 for "super saturated" slides. But when I tried E100VS, I was hooked. The grain is not as fine as Velvia, but it's more than acceptable. And the colors are very close as far as saturation is concerned. It's a stop faster than Velvia and has a slightly warmer color balance than Provia 100F. It also has accurate skin tones unlike Velvia. It seems that I can have it all with this film-100 speed, strong colors that I really like, and skin tones. Good job Kodak.

Similar Products Used:

Velvia 50 Provia 100 E100 SW E100 G E100GX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 28, 2003]
Tim
Expert

Strength:

Vivid, realistic, eyepopping colors Fine grain Shadow detail Warm, inviting images

Weakness:

Cost?

This product and its consumer version (EBX) are essential for capturing exceptional outdoor photographs. The grain is very good, allowing 20x30 enlargements that still show good detail. Contrast range is also good and shadows are not distractingly black like with Velvia. It is a true 100 speed film, so you can use a small enough aperature to keep foreground flowers in focus with a fast enough shutter to keep them from moving in the wind. But its greatest strength is its colors that are wonderful, vivid, true to life without being overdone or cartoonish. Unlike Velvia, the colors are balanced across the spectrum and there is no blue, overall cast to the picture. It is amusing (and sad) to see comments about the colors being overdone or artificial. These folks are so used to the washed out colors of other films (intended to render faces complementarily)that they convice themselves that's what pictures "should" look like. This film is superior to either Velvia of Provia for producing warm, inviting, eyepopping pictures. Anyone that shoots landscapes and macros should use it.

Similar Products Used:

Velvia, Provia, E100S, E100G, EBX, EB

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 23, 2003]
Mark
Expert

Strength:

- Fine grain - Accurate colors - Handles mixed lighting very well - Great all-purpose slide film

Weakness:

- Colors didn't seem extra vivid to me (they were, however, anything but dull)

This is an excellent slide film. Colors are accurate, grain is non-existent (120 size), and the cost is reasonable.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Velvia

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 14, 2003]
hovi
Intermediate

Strength:

If you like brown and yellow

Weakness:

If you don't like brown and yellow in your photos. The VS stands for Velvia Substitute. ;)

I bought two rolls to used and have never used the second one. The photos I took had a nasty yellowish brown tone to them which I absolutely don't like for landscapes. I took some wildlife photos of a grouse and the yellowish brown helped a little in these areas.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Provia 100 Velvia

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 23, 2002]
Jerry
Intermediate

Strength:

Excellent Grain, Sharpness, Color and super for full sun.

Weakness:

Slightly pickey about processing, make sure it is processed per kodak specs and your lab understands this film. Most labs like to slightly over process this film, giving strange tonal values to people.

This is an excellent, tolerant film, great for landscapes, and outdoors.

Customer Service

Kodak has excellent customer service. I have called Kodak for every film problem I've had and they almost always can help.

Similar Products Used:

E200, E100s, Elite Chrome, Kodachrome

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 01, 2002]
daCaT
Expert

Strength:

--fast, hand holding camera and long lenses are easier. -- color is just a little better than reality but not so exagerated you cant predict what it is going to do. -- Shadow details dont get lost in the contrast and dosent go cold in full shade.

Weakness:

-- skin tones are very unpredictable when used as a portrait film, but works fine when people are 8 feet or more away. I use kodakSW or fuji reala for people.

Over the last year I have found myself choosing this film over all others for everything but people shots. The film has great reds, purples, and whites. While somewhat contrasty holds shadow detail better than velvia and dosent go as cold. Skin tones are somewhat unpredictable and I wouldnt recommend this film for that purpose (at least for whiter skinned people). Do not compensate for dark furred animal photos and overexpose snow by 1 2/3 to 2 stops and colors are very accurate for a very saturated slide film. The greatest advantage of this film is it is a true 100 speed film, where velvia is actually a 40, which gives you a stop and 1/3 for increased depth of field. Since almost all my photography is done while hiking or some other sport this is a great advantage. No tripod to slow you down! One strange thing about this film is on the light table it can look a bit splotchy, especially in the sky, but projects and prints beautifully.

Similar Products Used:

kodak SW, fuji velvia and realia

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 25, 2002]
Maroc7
Intermediate

Strength:

Fine grain... Extra stop of light vs Velvia Saturated colours but more realistic than the Velvet.

Weakness:

None so far but I can see that one might want to be careful with subjects where red is abundant.

Well after chatting to my E6 guy who does me a nice slide in 120 Velvia most of the time, he suggested that I give the E100VS a go. I have just picked up my roll and I rated it bang on Asa-100. Results, nothing short of splendid. I had a look at the 6x7 trannies on Lab guys light box and I have to say even through the loupe I couldn't see a hell of allot of grain difference between this and Velvia. Velvia however isn't a true 50 but rather a 40 ASA and given that VS is a true 100, on my RB at least, this should say allot about this film. On inspection of the images which were taken in early morning, strong sunlight and some in lush gardens by waterside I found the blues beautifully saturated and with the polariser in tow it was just what the doctor ordered. This film held detail in the shadows just as I remembered seeing them. Greens from ferns in dappled shade and sunlight were vibrant and strong but not surreal, and the reds were punchy and in one particular case, a flower in dappled shadow/sun, the reds were stunning. Grain is extremely fine and I found the tones rendered superbly so long as my exposures were bang on, which they were in every situtation where I bracketed. Trust that this film is a true 100 and rate it accordingly. I am delighted with this film for outdoor subjects so far and can't wait to try some other subjects.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Velvia Astia etc etc

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 04, 2002]
ccox
Intermediate

Strength:

Makes colorful underwater slides look 3D.

Weakness:

Doesn't do much good when visibility and lighting are poor.

Tried using the film for underwater slides and loved it for pop-out colors! Compared side-by-side with Provia and Velvia slides and decided I liked the Kodak VS best.

Similar Products Used:

Ectachrome, Kodachrome, E100, Velvia, Provia

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 11, 2002]
Skip Layman
Expert

Strength:

Strong saturation High contrast

Weakness:

Not for anything subtle!

Kodak finally came up with competition for Velvia and with a 100 ISO. I find the grain no problem (I have several 20x30 enlargements from a 35mm slide that you still need to examin closely to see the grain. The thing I like best is the superior saturated blues compared to Velvia

Customer Service

It's mail order. Service is not offered.

Similar Products Used:

Kodachrome, many varieties of Ektachrome, Agfachrome, Fuji Velvia, and some I've forgotten over the 35+ years of photography

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 57  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com