Kodak Professional Elite Chrome 200 Slide Film

Professional Elite Chrome 200

Kodak Professional Elite Chrome 200 Film provides higher speed without sacrificing image quality, making it a great general purpose film under variable lighting conditions or at higher shutter speeds.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Heinz Anderle   Expert [Sep 28, 2007]
Strength:

The fil's exposure latitude avoids the blowing out of bright areas while retaining shadow detail. The slight overexposure required for scanning is therefore possible. The film scans very well, and the grain gives a traditional look and plasticity of film photography. Very reasonably priced.

Weakness:

none

A neutral slide film with natural color reproduction, a wide exposure latitude, and high sharpness for its speed, usable as standard slide film.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: Fujichrome Sensia 200; Konica Centuria Chrome 200 (even better than the Kodak film); Agfachrome CT Precisa/RSX 200 (usable only for medium format); Kodachrome 200 (harsh and unforgiving)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
guilfordrail   Intermediate [May 20, 2003]
Strength:

Wonderful for taking pictures of caucasian people. Sharp. Fine grain for its speed. Scans easily. Makes beautiful enlargements. Inexpensive compared to E200. Available at places like Wal-Mart. Wide exposure latitude compared to other slide films.

Weakness:

none

Elite Chrome 200, based on Kodak's professional E200 film, is an excellent general purpose slide film. The extra speed compared to ISO 100 slide films can be useful in many situations, such as when using a zoom lens or when increased depth of field is required. Elite Chrome 200 has less contrast than most slide films, which can be a bonus in many situations. The colors are very accurate and do an excellent job of rendering caucasian skin tones. This film does have saturated colors contrary to what others have said. The difference is that it isn't as contrasty, which to the untrained eye can appear as low saturation.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Elite Chrome 100, Elite Chrome 100 Extra Color
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MrBallroom   Intermediate [Dec 23, 2002]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Price, grain.

I tried this film for a photography class assignment. It was disappointing. The slides were so grainy and skin tones didn't look very good. I can't figure out why they look so bad. I tried the 400 version, and I was so impressed with it. I'll only buy this again, if I have no other choice.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Jerry   Intermediate [Nov 23, 2002]
Strength:

Good for scanning, good color, sharp, warm tones excellent for cloudy days.

Weakness:

As with all kodak products, make sure they are processed per thier specs, kodak films generally are not tolerant of being processed more than 1/10 th of a degree off.

This is a good film, tolerant, sharp and very good for scanning. Hey guys, if you are getting grainy results from this film, check your lab!

Customer Service

Excellent.

Similar Products Used: E200, e100s e100vs, fuji.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Bill50   Intermediate [Apr 08, 2002]
Strength:

available at any Walmart in a small town-why don''t they have EC 100? not too expensive

Weakness:

grainy weak colors slightly cool cast (notice that on EC 100 also, but not as bad as 200)

I forgot my film going to a busy mainline about 100 miles from home to see freight trains(silly me!). I stopped at walmart, and all they had for slide film was EC 200. EC 100 is ok, so 200 should be adequate,right? Wrong. I will not use this again.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Elite Chrome 100 Provia 100F
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Zemlinsky   Intermediate [Dec 22, 2001]
Strength:

Faster than 100 films. Sharpness and its neutral colour. Good for portrait.

Weakness:

Not really good for landscape.

I used 5 rolls of Kodak Elitechrome 200. I was very satisfied with them. Especially upon shooting people. And they were very cheap. However, I prefer E200 or Provia 400F or Provia 100F with push.

Similar Products Used: Eltechrome 100 & 400; Sensia II 100, 200 & 400; Ektachrome 100S, 100VS, 100SW, & E200; Provia 100, 100F, & 400F; Astia 100; Kodachrome 25 & 64, Konica Sinra 100 & R-100; Imation 100; Agfa 50, 100 & 20
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
another view   Intermediate [Oct 25, 2001]
Strength:

Available just about everywhere. Pretty accurate colors.

Weakness:

Colors fairly washed out. Has a bland overall look to it. Not too good in the sharpness department. Average grain for 200 speed. Doesn''t handle bright sun too well.

Not bad, but not great film. Neutral colors, but maybe a little pale for my choice. I''ll probably stick with Provia 100 pushed a stop if I need the speed.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Provia 400F, Ektachrome 400, others pushed a stop.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Mike Farrell   Intermediate [Jul 06, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Elite Chrome ISO 200
Strength:

Excellent color reproduction.
Very fine grain for a 200-speed slide film.

Weakness:

A little grainy, but still very good considering the speed.

This is an excellent general-purpose slide film when you need the extra speed. The color and grain are both very good -- far superior to Kodachrome 200.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: Kodachrome 200
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Larry Bracken   Intermediate [May 26, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Elite Chrome ISO 200
Strength:

Medium speed daylight balanced E-6 film. Enhanced colors with natural looking skintones. Good reproduction of hilights and shadows.

Weakness:

None

Excelent overall reproduction for a slide film over 100ASA.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
R.D. Kenwood   Intermediate [Nov 20, 2000]
Strength:

Pushable! Rate it at 320, then do a one full-stop push. Excellent results! I prefer results at 320 pushed than at 200. Also can be rated at 640 with a two-stop push, with acceptable results.

Weakness:

Oddly, I don't think this film is very good at 200.

Don't rate it at 200 (a lot of 100-speed E6 films are better pushed a stop than this film is at its native 200). Rate it at 320 and develop with a one-stop push. Reserve 640 and plus-two for emergencies, but it'll get the job done.

Customer Service

Excellent website with technical information, but you have to dig for it.

Similar Products Used: Sensia II 200 (decent and a good value), Kodachrome 200 (yuck, but may have been the lab), Sensia II 100 (another decent emulsion) and EliteChrome 100 (my basic E6-of-the-moment).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com