Sunpak 120J/TTL Flashes

Available At:
120J/TTL

The 120JTTL is the first parabolic reflector flash that offers through-the-lens flash dedication capability with today’s most popular 35mm and medium format cameras.

  • Guide no: 45/150 (m/ft) @ ISO 100
  • Tilt and swivel movement

  • User Reviews (8)

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    sparklephoto757   Professional [Apr 28, 2011]
    Strength:

    Light weight , fast recycle time , easy on power ,versitile , Never been in the shop after 4 years

    Weakness:

    none if you know how to take care of your equipment

    I puchased this item for wedding photography . I shot my first wedding and have not look back . I power it with Quantum turbo which last me all day . the light from my sunpak 120 jttl on my Nikon D200 is unreal . Here's some infomation . I use Paul C Buff cyber Sync to trigger the light on a justrite bracket this bracket standa by itself . Here's something else I love about this unit it takes AA batteries and the Q Flash dont . If you are into strobist photography this is the right flash , Check this out they are selling 60 cm portable softbox for about $45.00 on ebay and you can use 120jttl as a studio strob outside the pictures come out great . I use a Nikon 80-200 2.8 lens on a mono pod with Cyber Sync to fire them .
    In weddings the only time I need to diffuse my light is when I get up close to photograph the toast and cake cutting .

    Customer Service

    NEVER BEEN IN THE SHOP

    Similar Products Used: Nikon SB800 SB600 SB28 SUNPAK 522 SUNPAK 544 SUNPAK 622
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Mike B   Professional [Sep 17, 2008]
    Strength:

    Like every Sunpak legend, it's as reliable as Grandma's apple pie!
    AA Battery powered.
    Fantastic light quality.

    Weakness:

    None.

    I'll never forget the elation stumbling across the 120J while looking for a portable sysrem. At the time, the Broncolor Mobil hed just been released and for more than 5000 GBP, I could have a battery and a couple of heads. I looked at the 120j thinking, it's the same thing! only better, it's lighter, I can replace the batteries as many times as I need uring a shoot and the reflector is in fact bigger. It may not be the most robust piece of kit out there, but then I'm not a combat photographer.

    Customer Service

    Never had a problem

    Similar Products Used: Similar? you must be kidding.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jeff   Professional [Jul 30, 2006]
    Strength:

    Excellent light quality. Light weight (by comparison to Quantum). Works on a variety of battery packs or 4 AA batteries. Excellent price. Just compare it to any other Parabolic reflector flash on the market (i.e. Lumedyne, Norman, Quantum, etc.) So, don't expect a $1000.00+ flash for $200.00 and you won't be disapointed!

    Weakness:

    The flash head may swivel on you when you don't expect it to. Just check it's alignment befoire you shoot.

    I agree with many of the above appraisals. I also own the Quantum T4D which does appear to be a far better built unit. However, I have used the Sunpak for over two years prior to purchasing the Quantum and, although it did feel somewhat weak, I never had any problem as far as damage is concerned. Yes, you do have to keep your eye on it so that it doesn't swivel on you. But, it's about about 1/5 the price of the Quantum and produces the same light! I had to return my Quantum for repair within the first year (they handled it quickly, no complaints) but sometimes looks, and feels, are deceiving. Never had to put the Sunpak in the shop!

    Similar Products Used: Quantum T4D
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    Allan Najjar   Professional [Jul 23, 2000]
    Strength:

    Flash Head very versatile, compatible with Quantum's accessories. Parabolic head provides soft(er) lighting than most units. I have the non-TTL version-the AC to PC connection is very reliable. Can be powered off 4 AAs, which I sometimes prefer over the NICAD pack.

    Weakness:

    Construction/ruggedness is marginal. Detents in head are too weak. Quick movements can swivel the head-I have to keep an eye on this.

    Very versatile flash. Ruggedness could be beefed up.

    Customer Service

    NA

    Similar Products Used: Metz 45CT3, Vivitar 283,285, Sunpak 433
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Richard Thomas   Expert [Jul 20, 2000]
    Strength:

    Very nice lighting, many battery/power options available, powerful.

    Weakness:

    VERY awkward, even with a heavy-duty flash bracket.

    Easy to damage the tube, I'm sure, although I never had that experience personally. It is replacable but at $30 a tube... I would prefer this flash unit if it was a little more solid and had some protection for the tube. As it is, I sold mine after three months.

    Customer Service

    never used it

    Similar Products Used: Vivitar, Metz flashes
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Alan Arseneault   Professional [Jan 14, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: 120JTTL
    Strength:

    Sorry, nothing good to report.

    Weakness:

    Very problematic. Detents on flash head are too weak, causing head to drop from the bounce positions. Never would fire consistently. Sent on two occasions to service with no improvement. Overall build quality far too insufficient for pro work.

    Not a suitable flash for a professional, to whom this unit is marketed. Poor value.

    Customer Service

    Very poor. Service was completely uninterested in making this unit right.

    Similar Products Used: Metz 45, Vivitar 285, Vivitar 283
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Kenneth Brown   Professional [Sep 15, 2000]
    Strength:

    None

    Weakness:

    triggering system is suspect, very hard on batteries, bounce and swivel is too delicate (easy to move - detents should be stronger)

    When this unit works, it does a reasonable job, but it is too flimsy and unreliable for serious professional work. I would recommend a bare bulb flash for all serious people photographers, but I cannot recommend this one - it's just too unreliable.

    Customer Service

    In Canada (excellent)but the fix doesn't last long - service tells me it's an inherit flaw.

    Similar Products Used: No other bare bulb system.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    David Bindle   Professional [Feb 08, 2001]
    Strength:

    Powerfull, reflector light nice, ability to use bare bulb, fast recycling with TRPAKIIa
    TTL with AF assist light

    Weakness:

    Seems a bit flimsy, hope I don't develope weak detent problems with swivel and tilt...
    TTL adapter is weakest link

    I've gone from a conventional flash, 380ex, 430ez, 550ex to now using the 120JTTL with my Canon system. Wow... the quality of light is really quite an improvment. And when I can utilize a low white ceiling and walls... the bare bulb is fantastic. I've only just started using it for weddings, but so far the results are great.
    I am leery about the reliability of the unit due to its lightweight build. At the moment, the detents of the swivel and tilt are firm enough, and I hope that they don't loosen too much with time. It would be nice if the flash foot on the CA1-AF AF TTL module would push just a hair further into the Canon off shoe cord and that it had a locking pin that came down when rotating the fastening knob. I have about twenty weddings coming up in the nex 6 months, so I might have a different opinion in 6 months... but with the first month of use... I'm enjoying it... even if I'm treating it gently...

    Customer Service

    Not had to ... yet.
    Hope not to... ever.

    Similar Products Used: None - but for the price and TTL AF features... it's kind of unique
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-8 of 8  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com