Vivitar 283 Flash Flashes

Vivitar 283 Flash Flashes 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 40  
[Jan 11, 2011]
Thom Hayes
Professional

Strength:

Power
Fairly cheap
Solid

Weakness:

Without the VP-1 adapter or doing the modification yourself, they are not much use.
The VP-1 adapters are hard to find and quite expensive.

I have 3 of these flashes, mainly because of how powerful they are. Yes they look way out of date, and lack some basic functions like a swivel head or built in optical slave, but I don't use either of those 2 features.
I use them mounted on umbrella adapters, attached to CTR-301P triggers (which don't mind the insane voltage the Japan-made ones are) and with the VP-1 adapters so that I can control their output. It is well worth getting hold of the VP-1s, they usually cost more than the flash itself when you find them, but it is worth it. There are also plenty of instructions available online to modify the unit yourself.

I've never had to replace or fix any parts of these flashes despite their age. They are solid workhorse flashes, that provide an insane amount of power. If you don't need the power, then it makes sense to go for some of the new alternatives that offer a few more modern features.

These units with remain a valuable part of my kit for many years.

Customer Service

If it breaks (highly unlikely) you can just replace the unit on ebay for £25-£40.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2010]
theman1050
Expert

I inherited this from my dad's stuff and this is great. I have been using both as a slave and on my D70 and D40. Only problem is after 20+ years of service-the battery pack frizzed so I have o get a new one.
A great workhorse flash for a beginner/intermediate who cant afford the SB 600
This flash paired with my SB800 and a sunpack flash are a dream to shoot BBall with. (I use the flashes on lightstands and use the popup for shots right in front so they dont get blown out. I get great shots all over the court)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 07, 2008]
Don T Ask
Casual

Strength:

versatility, robust, adjustable for bounce flash and still usefull after all these years.

Weakness:

NONE

I have had this flash unit (Vivatar 283) for at least 25 years as a matter of fact I have two units. Within the last five years I switched to digital cameras. Thinking that the vivatars were now obsulete I set them aside. Occasionaly I use them as a slave unit. Well today I found that I can use them with my hot shoed digital cameras and they work just fine. The two digital cameras I have are a Pentax ist DL and an older Cannon G2. It was like discovering new cameras now that I know I can use my old Vivatars.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2005]
Christiano
Professional

Strength:

all

Weakness:

too cheap

You know what? i just dropped... by an incidence my new Nikon SB600 flash and many components indside just broke ..it was smashed..from low height..!? i presented the problem to the nikon service center they could not help me out.The repair cost too much instead of buying a new Nikon sb 600,they told me. I dropped the idea.Otherwise i love the Nikon products ..mine sb 600 was maybe a lemon...well....instead of waiting for new Nikon flash to turn up..>> On a PJ assignment i brought this pearl with me..YOU Know what?? the pics with my Nikon D1 H and this Vivitar 283(manually set)was and IS out of this world..! THEY R Super... wauw man..this made in japan product keeps clicling...i LOVE IT-- and use it now daily BOYs and Girls...its a high end product in tru PRO class.Its an ever green. Please dont stop make it Vivitar.

Customer Service

many from all manufacurers..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2004]
trevor_little
Expert

Strength:

powerful, well priced, solid and versitile.

Weakness:

maybe the shoe. i also dont really like the calculator dail (after using the 285)

great flash, i have it as a backup to my 285HV (also an amazing flash). I often use it with the OM-B diffuser as a secondary off-camera flash. if you are trying to decide between the 283 and the 285 however, i would have to recommend the latter, for its zoom head, and more power.

Customer Service

nope.

Similar Products Used:

2600, 285

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 08, 2004]
lifanus
Intermediate

Strength:

Powerful Guide #, good coverage area, realiable Non-Dedicated flash.

Weakness:

Hot shoe broke twice, but I glued it and keep use it without problems. Got electricity shock one time while I'm touching the PC connector after a full charge...(OUCH!!!)

I bought this one used, but 100% satasified with it's performance as an Non-Dedicated flash.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 28, 2003]
Li Fan
Intermediate

Strength:

Value of Money Auto flash expousre, I dont even need a flash meter... Guide Number And Durability

Weakness:

A bit bulky, Angle of coverage could be better, 24mm at least? Plastic foot...(can be replaced to a metal one for $15)

After read other reviews here, I bought this flash to use with my Nikon FE-2 camera. I was trying to shoot a band performing at night. This flash performed well and captured every frame. In a really LONG distance. And I also shoot indoors and it never let me down. Not too much technical details, but the results I get tells all!

Customer Service

Never need one.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 07, 2003]
Bill
Intermediate

Strength:

Perfectly reliable. It just does what it was designed to do in a simple to use manner.

Weakness:

Eats 4 AA batteries quickly under heavy use.

Just couldn't help adding my 2-bits. I bought my 283 flash in 1977 along with a Minolta 201. The Minolta was replaced with an X700 several years back but the flash just keeps on working. I think I paid $79(guessing) in 1977 and I'm still using it today. I wish everything in this world works as well. If the later models of the 283 work as well, it's a bargain.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2002]
Christian Maldonado Fisker
Professional

Strength:

Good Strong Light !! Strong Made Heavy quality Studio quality as well Stable light performance and quick(1/30000sec) Easy to use Good System accessories. Looks Good.

Weakness:

A little bulky Slow with AA batt. Missing fill F. Plastic foot a little bit dim,but can be changed to better foot.

The Vivitar 283(285)is the FlashGUN indeed!a fine fine strong product which never let you down,due to my experience its a well made product giving you first class pro pics of high quality.I use it mainly with my Manual Nikons and find it just as good as products costing 4 times more!Get the japanese made version and put them everywhere from the back of an umbrella into a socket on your cam...its wonderfull and stable.I think once you have learned to handle it ,it can almost outperfom any flash on the market,the only thing is ;use fast batteries !This is the Chevy 57,Toyota Corolla KE-70,Seiko of a flexible Quality Flash System.Keep up the good work,Vivitar!*****

Customer Service

Never needed it !

Similar Products Used:

Nikon ,Canon ,Metz, Hanimex National, flash of different types and ages.But I find Vivitar 285 equal and even better as well!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 24, 2002]
Nate
Intermediate

Well, I bought my 1st 283, if memory serves, in late 1975, when it first came out. And I sold that flash in 1984 or so. But I just bnought another one, because, for what it's worth, it offers a lot of flash for the money, and can't be beat. I think I spent more in 1975 then I just did now. How many other things can you say that about?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com