Gossen Luna-Pro S Light Meters

Luna-Pro S

  • Incident and reflected readings in ambient light.
  • Extra large measuring range, divided into high light and low light scales.
  • Scales for shutter speeds , F/stops, exposure values, cine speeds, and the zone system.
  • Setting ring for exposure corrections and extension factors
  • Five useful attachments

  • User Reviews (8)

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    Richard   Expert [Nov 20, 2010]
    Strength:

    Accurate, repeatable, rugged, handy, extra sensitive: the needle brake is absolutely necessary when it is measuring light levels where you have to use a flash light to see the reading!

    Linear scaling is the worlds fastest computer for simultaneously revealing every solution of F-stop to Shutter Speed for a film sensitivity. This one advantage alone is worth a semester in the fundamentals of photography.

    Weakness:

    Have to replace the battery once a decade I suppose.

    I've had mine for 40 years. It is impossible for me to invent a superlative that would better the other comments left her.

    I've also got the spot meter attachment, and the darkroom attachment. I use the darkroom attachment to test my video projector's dynamic range (rated at 2000:1).

    Customer Service

    Never needed.

    Similar Products Used: As I am an engineer and scientist with 5 photonics patents, the other light meters were self designs employing Photomultiplier Tubes.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Barry   Professional [May 10, 2010]
    Strength:

    as above

    Weakness:

    none.......kinda big by in camera modes

    Built really well. Accurate, never let me down.

    Low light accurate !
    Batteries last forever.
    Hard leather case, is a good thing

    Customer Service

    never used it.

    Similar Products Used:

    Pentax Konica/Minolta Wien Sekonic
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Robert Kornfeld   Expert [Jan 05, 2010]
    Strength:

    It is the best tool for the job unless you have a specialized need like a flash meter or a color analyzer. To me it has a great feel, like a well broken-in twin lens Rollei or a smooth shifting five speed car. If that is the kind of feel that you like, you will love this meter too.

    Weakness:

    If you want a spot meter with a very small angle for determining your contrast range (like if you are developing b&w sheet film) then the spot attachment may be too imprecise, and a digital spot meter would be better, although I feel that if you are familiar with your equipment you know how to interpret the data.

    If you like digital equipment with a lot of functions and connectivity this might not be a good choice -- it will never be an app on your Ipod.

    I would suggest watching the needle for a few seconds before locking the setting to make sure that the reading is representative.

    Like some others I learned from my dad using this type of meter in the 1960's. Once you get accostomed it is very quick and intuitive. I like this meter more than digitals that I have owned because you can see the whole story in one glance rather than navigating bits of information one at a time. I like using reflected and incident readings, and using the optional spot attachment.

    If you are looking for a light meter and not relying on a built-in or auto meter, you probably will like this one, whether you are a student, serious amateur or professional. Even when I have used a digital flash meter I would keep this old friend packed in my bag. I bought it more than twenty years ago and find it completely reliable.

    Customer Service

    never had a problem

    Similar Products Used: Weston, other Gossen, various digital
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Arty G   Intermediate [Jul 08, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: Luna-Pro S
    Strength:

    Very very accurate. Ease of use - intuitive. Spot attachment. Exposure Range. Analog!!!

    Weakness:

    No mercury batteries however Gossen sells an adapter.

    I first learned photography with my Dad's Luna Pro and an old Exacta when I was 13. The meter has been in use by me ever since. The meter has always worke flawlessly and the readings are still dead nuts on! Although many meters have come and gone the Luna Pro is still in my case!

    Customer Service

    Never needed it in approx 30 years

    Similar Products Used: A multitude of other meters.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Prince Caspian   Professional [Jun 02, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: Luna-Pro S
    Strength:

    Built like a tank/dependable
    Extremely sensitive
    versatile

    Weakness:

    CDS cell exhibits memory effect
    Dirt/dust easily finds itself under dial's poor seal
    meter indicates relative value that has to be interpeted into EV values
    Meter lock rarely captures needle as actual measurement
    Darkroom attachement is a silly fudge that has to be calibrated to a "perfect print/exposure" I.E. exposure comparator type readings.
    Spot meter attachment difficult to view in virtually any ambient light level but actually works very well

    Bought mine in '75 and it's still ticking and just as accurate, so is my Gossen sixtar/super pilot that I bought used the year before. If you do night work or work with very low existing light, this meter is unmatched at it's price to performance. Old meters are the same as current ones and DO NOT require the use of air cells because of mercury batteries being unavailable in the states. Gossen provides an adaptor/converter for alkaline replacement types without any modification or recalibration and is part of current meter. Zone system compensation was originally a field modification of the meter by Fred Picker. Gossen's inclusion is convenience to those students of the Zone System and not a function of the meter or needs additional amplification in the operator's manual. In 28 years, several camera systems/accessories have been used/worn to "beyond economic repair" status. Only my Luna Pro,Sixtar,Leica M4's,Leitz Tiltall,and Bessler 23C have been rugged enough to survive over a quarter century of daily use and abuse to be still dependable and remain in use today. If I had to replace it today, I'd be hard pressed to select anything else that compares.

    Customer Service

    Never needed in 26 years

    Similar Products Used: Weston Ranger
    Gossen Sixtar(super pilot)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Bob Todrick   Expert [Apr 03, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: Luna-Pro S
    Strength:

    Simplicity of operation
    Sturdiness

    Weakness:

    None found so far

    As with watches and pretty well everything else, the fact that the Luna Pro is analogue is its big draw. At a glance you can see the entire F-stop/shutter speed combinations without having to run up or down a scale. No small thing in my mind.
    As well the thing is bullet proof. My digital meters seemed to be constantly in for repair. I purchased a new Luna Pro three years ago (after getting rid of one to go 'digital 10 years ago) and have had no problems.

    Customer Service

    None needed

    Similar Products Used: Gossen digital
    Sekonic digital
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Sandy Rand   Expert [Dec 23, 2000]
    Strength:

    Tremendous accuracy, compact, intuitive operation!

    Weakness:

    None.

    The best meter for the money. Excellent for low light measurements. Accuracy is absolutely the best. One hint for outdoor photographers using the Luna-Pro S in extreme cold: The SR-44 silver batteries stop operating at 10-15F. Use a lithium 1/3N camera battery and it is good to -40F. The 1/3N is totally compatible with this unit, and is less expensive than the silver batteries. 'Nuff said!

    Customer Service

    Never needed.

    Similar Products Used: Most Sekonic digitals.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Shawn McEwen   Intermediate [Nov 24, 1999]
    Model Reviewed: Luna-Pro S
    Strength:

    Accurate. Well made. Ultra reliable. Made in Germany. Have 2 of them!

    Weakness:

    None. And you never will!

    I believe this classic meter is a classic for one reason--it's one of the best handheld meters on the planet. Precision is written all over this thing. It's made in Germany, so what do you expect? Crap? Never. There are two negatives. The instruction book is not that clear. Example-for the life of me I cannot seem to understand how the Zone System part of the meter's dial works. The instructions offer no help. It is absolutely mind boggling. I just cannot figure it out! Second negative-the older Luna Pros use an out-of-production battery. They will only use the dubious Wein battery. The newer meters of course use a more readily available battery. So be careful if you find a good deal on an older unit.

    Customer Service

    Good.

    Similar Products Used: Other Gossen meters.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-8 of 8  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com