Sekonic L-408 MultiMaster Light Meter Light Meters

Sekonic L-408 MultiMaster Light Meter Light Meters 

DESCRIPTION

The world's first weather-proof, digital ambient/flash meter with built-in spot and incident meter reading, ideal for studio as well as outdoor photographers.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Sep 22, 2008]
C.B. Hawley Jr.
Professional

Strength:

Easy to operate and understand.

Weakness:

Some control features take some getting use to.

I have use the meter with my stll film, digital and motion pictures setup.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2003]
JimBlair
Expert

Strength:

Its size, waterproof, built in spot meter and incident capabilities with no attachments. Flash meter capabilities with multiple readings, cord or no cord. Contrast comparison for exposure calculations. Good range of shutter speeds, f-stops and film speeds. Also EV calculations and cine.

Weakness:

Maybe the 5 degree spot meter instead of the 1 degree but to me that's a minor problem.

This is a well engineered meter. The readout is clear and functional. The learning curve to operate this meter is low to zero. I use this meter for shooting weddings and find it very valuable. Its size and ease of use with one hand is wonderful. It's very accurate.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Minolta Spotmeter IV. Luna Pro. Weston. Honeywell

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 26, 2002]
Carney2
Expert

Strength:

Simple to use. Easy to change settings. Large, readable display. Uses AA batteries.

Weakness:

5 degree "spot" is inadequate. No low-light capabilities. Large and bulky. No illuminated display.

An OK meter, I guess. I have had no use to date for the flash capabilities and have been a little disappointed in some of its other aspects. Specifically, the 5 degree "spot" capability is weak and the meter gives me no usable readings in "low light" situations where my camera has capabilities, but the meter won't register. I will be photographing a wedding this weekend and have not yet made up my mind if I will use the 408 to meter for my Hasselblad, or will just strap my F100 over my shoulder - flash bracket and all - and use the meter I trust.

Customer Service

Never used it.

Similar Products Used:

Other Luna and Sekonic meters.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 16, 2002]
berko milleit
Intermediate

Strength:

- fine, solid thing - seems to be accurate

Weakness:

- i can't read all speed/f-stop combinations like on analog meters. well, it's a digital one. - filter correction has to be done with ISO setting - 5 degrees is not enough for landscape and zone system

a price-worth working tool.

Customer Service

- not needed yet

Similar Products Used:

- weimarlux selen - weimarlux cds - gossen sixtomat

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2002]
berko milleit
Intermediate

Strength:

- fine, solid thing - seems to be accurate

Weakness:

- i can't read all speed/f-stop combinations like on analog meters. well, it's a digital one. - filter correction has to be done with ISO setting - 5 degrees is not enough for landscape and zone system

a price-worth working tool.

Customer Service

- not needed yet

Similar Products Used:

- weimarlux selen - weimarlux cds - gossen sixtomat

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 18, 2000]
Jun Madrid
Intermediate
Model Reviewed: L-408 MultiMaster Light Meter

Strength:

1.Has most of the features that a photographer needs
2. Nice large LCD display
3. Uses only 1 pc of AA battery.
4. Can be set to shutter or aperture priority
5. Accurate meter readings w/ 1/3 stop increments.
6. Can be used with or w/o flash cord.
7. Can be used as reflected light meter for both flash and ambient.
8. Built-in spot meter.
9. Water resistant which is an advantage if you shoot near or around water or do major outdoor photography.

Weakness:

1. No LCD illumination. Can be difficult to use at night or twilight.
2. Spot meter measuring circle can be difficult to see at times of low light levels.
3. Tendency to lose battery cover since it's not fixed on to the body.
4. No multiple exposure measuring for ambient setting ; only flash.
5. Somewhat slippery body.Need to have grippable surface.
6. No operating case available. Case supplied has no windows so it can be used while cased.

Overall, a very good full featured meter. Accuracy is superb. It has all you can ask for in a meter except for a few lowdowns. But don't get me wrong. If I 'll need another meter I'll buy this again!

Customer Service

Never used yet.

Similar Products Used:

Gossen Luna Pro

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 22, 2000]
Damion Edwards
Expert
Model Reviewed: L-408 MultiMaster Light Meter

Strength:

The operation of this meter is very simple. Works well as an ambient meter. This meter also has a built in 5 degree spot, which isn't bad, but it's a bit wide for metering of fine areas. Haven't tested it's all weather capabilities but it's I've read it's sealed off pretty well (meets JIS Level 4 Standard for water resistance).

Weakness:

Doesn't have an illuminated LCD

I like it and it's for keeps...

Similar Products Used:

Gossen Luna Pro

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 24, 2000]
Pok Hon Wally Yu
Intermediate

Strength:

- Accurate
- Water resistant
- Flash metering with or without cord

Weakness:

- Dome cannot be rotated: A bit inconvenient for flash metering in studio
- 5 degree spot is a bit wide.
- battery cover does not attached to the body.
- no illuminated display

Well, seems like a lot of complaints, but actually not serious ones. This is actually a very nice light meter. Works very nice for my purposes of landscape and studio photography. Feels very nice in my hand. If you need a multi-functional meter but cannot afford the 508, this is the meter to go.

Customer Service

haven't tried yet

Similar Products Used:

no

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 10, 2001]
Jason Onerheim
Professional

Strength:

Spot and Incident in one package
1/4 stop increments
Water Resistant
PRICE!

Weakness:

5 degree spot instead of 1 degree

I was able to purchase this meter on a student discount deal for really cheap. A 1 degree spot would have been nice. The incident dome retracts and a cover slides over the spot viewing screen, plus the water resistance prove useful in the field. Great meter for a great price in a compact package.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Sekonic 508
Minolta Spot Meter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 10, 1999]
Larry Letzer
Professional
Model Reviewed: L-408 MultiMaster Light Meter

Strength:

It is a very simple meter to use. It has one
1.5 volt battery. Easy to replace. I can take flash readings, ambient light and spot readings. Although the spot meter is very wide for a real spot meter it does OK

Weakness:

None

I would buy another one if I needed another meter

Customer Service

It is made my Sekonic which is really Mamiya and their customer service is the best in the business.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com