JTL Versalight 300 Monolights

Versalight 300

  • 300 watt seconds output
  • Guide no: 200ft/60m @ ISO 100
  • 5600k
  • Recycle time: 2-4 seconds
  • Flash duration: 1/600-1/1000 second
  • Built-in slave
  • Power settings: 1/4, 1/2, 3/4, full
  • 150 watt modeling lamp

  • User Reviews (7)

    Showing 1-7 of 7  
    JTL Customer Service Department   [Nov 24, 2014]
    Strength:

    general application for photo & video industry

    Weakness:

    new design for new requirement of market

    We appreciate our consumers providing us with their reviews about their experiences with JTL products. We will be working hard to optimize our product design and production, improve the product quality after-sale services as well. Regarding the issues associated with the reviews we would like to make explainations as the follows.

    1. JTL Versalight series (300, 400, 500....) do not come with any battery (indoor AC only). The series was upgraded with entirely new design on 2010. The new models are comletely digital controlled strobe system, i.e. Versalight 301, 401, 501....

    2. Only JTL Mobilight (300, 400 & 600) series are optionally included with a battery powerpack for locations (AC-DC intercahngeable). The series was upgraded as well with brand new design on 2010. The new models are Mobilight 301, 401 and 601. The life-time of the battery are 600 recharge (3 years) at 65-85 Fahrenheit.

    3. The new generations of both Versalight and mobilight no longer have the quality issues any more, such as static shock, over sensitivity of optical slave and unstable operation of battery.

    4. In order to reward our consumers' patronization, We are offering market our seasonal special prices on the new generations of JTL Versilight and Mobilight. Please visit JTL dealers for the details.

    We do appreciate our customers sending us their views, experience, requirement and suggestions through email to service@jtlcorp.com or jtliting@msn.com, or call us at (714) 670-6626 from 9:00am till 5:00pm Mon.-Thu., 9:00am till 12:00pm Fri.

    Jonathan Zhou
    Marketing Director
    JTL Coporation
    14747 Artesia Blvd. 3-G
    La Mirada, CA 90638

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Brian   Professional [Oct 22, 2013]
    Strength:

    Easy set up and consistent 5500 lighting (when it works!)

    Weakness:

    Batteries were dead after a year, had them replaced by JTL...only to last just a year. Had them replaced again at Batteries Plus and 3 years later, working well, holding a charge quite well. The uber-bad-news was that the head has been returned to JTL twice for repair...the first time the circuit card was defective and it cost me over $100 to fix. The second time, the capacitors blew (sparks everywhere...scared the heck out of the customer...very embarrassing). Just today, the same thing happened. It sounds like a machine gun was going off. I opened the unit myself and all the capacitors blew one by one. After 4 years of messing with the JTL product, I am going to throw it in the trash and shop for a better brand (which I should have done earlier).

    Trash product. Unreliable, can't trust it. If you buy this, be ready for the capacitors to blow (with a very loud shotgun sound), be ready to replace the batteries with real ones, and be prepared to spend a lot of money repairing them after the short warranty expires.

    If you buy these, be sure to have another set as a backup. How do you tell a customer "sorry, the studio session is over...my studio lights just blew out"? Not fun, I've been there.

    Customer Service

    JTL is very responsive in the service...but that is because they have had tons of practice at repairing products that should have been built right in the first place.

    Similar Products Used: Headed for Elinchrom 500/500's. Extremely well built. Made to be last and used!
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Anna Cascio   Intermediate [Nov 14, 2008]
    Strength:

    Reliability
    Ease of operation
    Smooth, no jagged edges or sharp corners like some other lights
    Light weight
    No problem being strong enought to hold 6foot softbox

    Weakness:

    Expensive bulbs
    Can't dial the lighting down far enough

    I have been using the versalight 300 for about one year, always with a softbox for portraiture. It has been extremely reliable. I only wish that I could dial it down, since I can't move it far enough away from my subjects at times due to my studio size limitations(no problem if I could go below my sync speed!) Thanks for the info re: shocks- I am astounded. Thank goodness I was standing on an area rug when I did a shoot on a cement floor. I always use it as my main light, with either white lightnings or alien bees (second year photography student, so don't want to invest in more strobes until I figure out which ones are better for me). I was leaning towards buying two more versalights until I read about the shock issues.

    Customer Service

    Haven't had any issues yet

    Similar Products Used: White lightings
    Alien bees
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    motophoto   Expert [Apr 12, 2004]
    Weakness:

    Poor customer service and denial of the problem even though I read here where others have had the same issue before. AVOID THIS COMPANY

    The flash itself works well and I have not had any serious failures. However there is one serious design flaw. When used with a sync cord the flash head leaks almost 30 volts through the cord to the camera and to you if you touch anything metal on the camera and ground yourself. Such as touching anything metal or concrete. Thus it shocks you.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    TLPhotography   Professional [Nov 14, 2003]
    Strength:

    Works well when working

    Weakness:

    Too many problems with the light not working

    I have owned the JTL 300 monolight for just over a year and have returned it to the factory for repair twice. I feel that the light is not dependable and that the quality control at the factory is lacking.

    Customer Service

    Unsatisfactory

    Similar Products Used: None at this point
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    John Steven   Professional [Oct 20, 2003]
    Strength:

    Compact, fair price

    Weakness:

    ELECTRICAL HAZARD! Not as full featured as the Versalight 800 or the Calumet Travelight 375.

    It was a choice between the JTL and the Calumet, in terms of cost, features and accessories. I felt that the JTL was a good deal, and had just what I needed in terms of the 3-head kit. Overall, this monolight worked well, but I was dissapointed in the features when compared to the 800WS units. The real kicker, though, was that I discovered that all three JTL monolights (Versalight series) are electrical hazards. CAUTION: you may get shocked quite severely if you use these lights. I found this out by getting a good shock when doing a portrait session in a studio with a concrete floor. I was wearing shorts and knelt down to get a better angle on the subject and as soon as my knee touched the floor, I felt a strong electrical current run through my arms via the camera. I measured 85 volts AC between the sync cable outer connector and earth ground. THIS IS NOT NORMAL!! I tried contacting the JTL company twice but did not receive a response.

    Customer Service

    No response from two inquiries regarding the electrical hazard when using this product. Not good!

    Similar Products Used: Calumet Travelight
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    adamrendon   Intermediate [Apr 30, 2003]
    Strength:

    Craftsmanship, and versatility are stand- outs right out of the box. JTL lights come with many extra features that serious photographers with need, like the internal slave sensory, cooling fan, strong modeling lamp and more.

    Weakness:

    I see no weaknesses yet, only time will tell.

    Although I've only owned my JTL Versalite 300's for less than a month, I've had many opportunities with my modeling shoots to see just how well they would hold up. And thus for I'm impressed with it's full features and power. These lights are professional grade at a very reasonable price.

    Similar Products Used: All my old stuff doesn't even come close.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-7 of 7  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com